Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
B.W. and Department of the Navy, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Honolulu, HI
Termination of wage loss and medical benefits reversed
OWCP ended benefits for an accepted lumbar sprain, relying on a medical examination that addressed only that condition. An earlier OWCP examiner had identified possible additional work-related lumbar conditions, but OWCP had not resolved whether to accept them. The termination opinion also relied…
P.H. and Department of the Air Force, Tinker Air Force Base, OK
Appeal dismissed one day after deadline
P.H. appealed an October 10, 2019 OWCP decision on April 8, 2020. The Board calculated the 180-day appeal deadline as April 7. With no documented compelling circumstance explaining the late filing, it found it lacked jurisdiction and dismissed the appeal.
B.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Los Angeles Customer Care Facility, Los Angeles, CA
Related knee injury files must be combined
B.M. sought wage-loss compensation after an accepted workplace fall. OWCP denied benefits for a later period without combining records from two earlier accepted right knee injuries. The Board found those files relevant to a fair assessment of her current disability. It remanded for administrative…
C.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Huntington Post Office, Huntington, WV
Lumbar condition claim denial affirmed
C.D. attributed lumbar conditions to her postal duties. Her work excuse notes did not provide a diagnosis or link the conditions to work. A later physician diagnosed lumbar problems but offered only a tentative, unexplained connection to employment. The Board found no reasoned medical causation…
M.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Carol Stream, IL
Multiple related injury files must be combined
M.P. had several prior claims involving overlapping shoulder, limb, spinal, and pelvic conditions. OWCP denied reconsideration of a later claim without combining all files bearing on the same body parts. The Board found that the missing records prevented a fair merits decision. It remanded for file…
M.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Millersburg, PA
Knee injury benefit termination reversed
OWCP relied on a physician report to end benefits for an accepted left knee sprain. That report described continuing knee findings, used inconsistent condition labels, and did not clearly say the work-related residuals had ended. The Board found it too equivocal to support termination. It reversed…
M.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Carol Stream, IL
Related pelvic condition files must be combined
M.P. appealed OWCP’s denial of her request for a hearing on a pelvic condition claim. Three other claim files contained medical evidence about related conditions. The Board found that OWCP needed to combine all four files for a full and fair review. It set aside the hearing decision and remanded…
C.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cleveland, OH
Higher left leg impairment award denied
C.N. sought an increased schedule award for her left leg after knee replacement. Her physician and OWCP’s medical adviser each rated current impairment at 31 percent under the governing impairment guide. The Board found no qualifying medical evidence showing impairment above the 58 percent already…
J.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cleveland, OH
Termination of injury benefits affirmed
OWCP ended benefits for accepted physical and posttraumatic stress conditions from an earlier postal injury. Its current psychiatric and physical examiners found that the accepted conditions had resolved and that J.O. could return to full duty. The Board gave less weight to reports from 2008 and…
D.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, West Palm Beach, FL
Knee impairment award requires merits review
D.L. sought reconsideration of a right knee impairment award. His representative argued that the rating should include the total impairment of the leg at examination, including impairment from a condition that OWCP had not accepted. The Board found this a relevant legal argument OWCP had not…
Y.I. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Federal Way, WA
Lumbar injury benefit termination affirmed
OWCP had accepted a lumbar strain with left-sided sciatica after Y.I. lifted a sack of parcels. His treating physician and an OWCP examiner disagreed about continuing work-related restrictions. An impartial examiner found that the accepted strain had resolved and that remaining symptoms came from…
F.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Miami International Service Center, Miami, FL
Shoulder and neck claim files must be combined
F.J. claimed a workplace shoulder, neck, and back injury. OWCP denied the claim after finding inconsistent reports of the incident date. A second file concerned the same body parts and a different reported incident date. The Board found that the two files needed to be reviewed together before OWCP…
V.S. and U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, DC
Expanded injury acceptance denied
OWCP had accepted cervical conditions after V.S. moved boxes at work. She sought acceptance of additional lumbar and related conditions. The Board found that her treating physician did not explain how the accepted injury caused conditions reported years later. Other reports lacked a causation…
United States Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (Agency) and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 2266, National Border Patrol Council (Union)
CBP and AFGE Local 2266 (FLRA 0-AR-5473): Canine handler award stands
Customs and Border Protection removed a Border Patrol agent from canine handler duties after counseling her about her dog's care. An arbitrator found that the agency violated its labor agreement and canine policy and discriminated against the agent based on sex. The arbitrator ordered reinstatement…
Tony L. Brown and Joshua A. Brown d/b/a Riverview Cattle
In re Tony L. Brown and Joshua A. Brown d/b/a Riverview Cattle (EAB CWA Appeal No. 20-(04)): EAB declines review and Initial Decision becomes final
Tony L. Brown and Joshua A. Brown, doing business as Riverview Cattle, were respondents in an EPA Clean Water Act penalty proceeding. An Administrative Law Judge issued an Initial Decision and Order on October 15, 2020, and neither party appealed. The Environmental Appeals Board declined to review…
Holtec Decommissioning International LLC
In re Holtec Decommissioning International, LLC (EAB NPDES Appeal No. 20-03): petition dismissed after settlement
Holtec Decommissioning International, LLC, Holtec Pilgrim, LLC, and Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. petitioned the Environmental Appeals Board to review a permit renewal for the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station in Massachusetts. The permit authorized continued surface-water intake and certain…
Q.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Inglewood, CA
Fraud based benefit termination reversed
OWCP terminated Q.M.’s compensation after reporting a guilty plea to a state insurance fraud charge. The appeal record lacked the indictment, accepted plea agreement, or judgment required to support forfeiture under FECA. The Board also found the record did not establish that the plea concerned a…
V.S. and Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons, Federal Correctional Institution Terre Haute, Terre Haute, IN
Right knee injury claim denial affirmed
V.S. reported knee pain after stepping on uneven concrete while responding to a fight at a federal prison. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred. The Board found that pain alone was not a compensable diagnosis, and the physicians’ forms did not explain how the incident caused the diagnosed knee…
Y.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Troy Madison Heights Carrier Annex Post Office, Troy, MI
Lumbar occupational disease denial affirmed
Y.L. attributed lumbar conditions to years of carrying mail. Her imaging showed lumbar findings, but the medical submissions did not explain how her accepted work activities caused them. Her reconsideration request added no relevant evidence or legal argument that required a new merits review. The…
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Logan Station, Pittsburgh, PA
Leg impairment claim needs clarified examination
P.B. sought a schedule award for lower extremity impairment after an accepted lumbar injury. Her physician and OWCP’s examiner disagreed about ratable impairment. The impartial examiner found none, but did not adequately explain why accepted conditions had resolved or why nerve study findings came…
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Brooklyn, NY
Benefit overpayment recovery affirmed
P.B. received FECA wage-loss benefits while also receiving Social Security retirement benefits without the required offset. The Board agreed that he was without fault but held that he had not supplied enough documentation of his income and expenses for OWCP to evaluate waiver of recovery. It also…
N.T. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Oklahoma City, OK
Lower extremity schedule award denial affirmed
N.T. sought an award for right leg impairment related to an accepted back injury. Her physician rated impairment based on lumbar radiculopathy. A second examiner found no radiculopathy, and OWCP’s medical adviser found that the nerve study did not support the proposed rating. With no valid rating…
D.M. and Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command Southwest, San Diego, CA
Disability claim for two month period denied
D.M. claimed he could not work during that period after an accepted injury. His physician noted neck and shoulder problems and stated he was disabled, but did not explain how the accepted conditions caused disability on the claimed dates. Diagnostic studies also did not establish that link. The…
E.W. and Department of Homeland Security, Customs & Border Patrol, Spokane, WA
Higher ankle impairment award denied
E.W. injured his left ankle when a scuba tank valve failed at work. His physician rated the permanent impairment at seven percent, and OWCP’s medical adviser agreed under the governing impairment guide. The Board found no qualifying evidence of a higher rating. It affirmed the existing schedule…
Jerald Lynn v. Reefer Express, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association, Ltd.
Lynn v. Reefer Express (BRB 20-0390): appeal dismissed for modification review
Jerald Lynn and Reefer Express jointly asked the Board to return their Longshore Act case to the district director for consideration of a petition and proposed order of modification. The Board granted the request and dismissed the employer’s appeal without prejudice. If the district director denies…
Troy E. Owen v. TEMCO, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association Limited
Owen v. TEMCO (BRB 20-0249 and 20-0249A): partial disability award affirmed
Troy Owen injured his right shoulder while working as a longshoreman. A judge awarded temporary total disability benefits and continuing permanent partial disability benefits based on suitable longshore jobs Owen could still perform. Owen argued his retirement meant those jobs should not count…
Troy E. Owen v. TEMCO, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association Limited
Owen v. TEMCO (BRB 20-0249 and 20-0249A): partial disability award affirmed
Troy Owen injured his right shoulder while working as a longshoreman. A judge awarded temporary total disability benefits and continuing permanent partial disability benefits based on suitable longshore jobs Owen could still perform. Owen argued his retirement meant those jobs should not count…
Jack B. Bowron v. Jones Stevedoring Company
Bowron v. Jones Stevedoring (BRB 20-0237): hearing-loss denial affirmed
Jack Bowron, a retired longshoreman, sought benefits for hearing loss. A judge denied the claim because the 1991 audiogram closest to his longshore work showed no measurable impairment. After further proceedings, Bowron argued that audiogram was unreliable. The Board held the judge could credit the…
Donald E. Coleman v. Jim Walter Resources, Incorporated
Coleman v. Jim Walter Resources (BRB 20-0070 BLA): disability denial remanded
Donald Coleman sought modification of a denied black lung claim after more than twenty-six years of qualifying mine work. The judge found he had not established total respiratory disability and denied benefits again. The Board found flaws in the judge’s evaluation of the pulmonary function tests…
Lillie A. Tiller, widow and on behalf of Harold M. Tiller, v. Left Fork Coal Company, Incorporated and Old Republic Insurance Company
Tiller v. Left Fork Coal (BRB 20-0017 and 20-0018 BLA): miner and survivor denials remanded
Lillie Tiller pursued Harold Tiller’s later black lung claim and her own survivor claim without a lawyer. The judge denied both claims after finding too few years of qualifying mine work for the fifteen-year presumption and insufficient proof of pneumoconiosis. The Board found that relevant…
Lillie A. Tiller, widow and on behalf of Harold M. Tiller, v. Left Fork Coal Company, Incorporated and Old Republic Insurance Company
Tiller v. Left Fork Coal (BRB 20-0017 and 20-0018 BLA): miner and survivor denials remanded
Lillie Tiller pursued Harold Tiller’s later black lung claim and her own survivor claim without a lawyer. The judge denied both claims after finding too few years of qualifying mine work for the fifteen-year presumption and insufficient proof of pneumoconiosis. The Board found that relevant…
Samuel L. Cummings, Jr. v. Island Creek Coal Company
Cummings v. Island Creek Coal (BRB 20-0013 BLA): black lung denial affirmed
Samuel Cummings appealed a denial of black lung benefits on a later claim. The judge found that the evidence did not establish total respiratory disability or complicated pneumoconiosis, so neither statutory presumption applied. The Board upheld the judge’s weighing of x-rays, CT scans, and medical…
R.O. and U.S. Postal Service, New Braunfels Post Office, New Braunfels, TX
Late appeal dismissed
R.O. appealed an August 26, 2019 OWCP decision on August 18, 2020. The 180-day deadline had expired on February 22, 2020. She provided no documented compelling circumstance to excuse the late filing. The Board found it lacked jurisdiction and dismissed the appeal.
J.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, North Houston, TX
Late appeal dismissed
J.J. appealed an April 15, 2020 OWCP decision on November 3, 2020. The 180-day deadline had expired on October 12. No documented compelling circumstance justified the late filing. The Board found it lacked jurisdiction and dismissed the appeal.
C.G. and Department of the Army, Presidio of San Francisco, CA
Late appeal dismissed
C.G. appealed a January 15, 2020 OWCP decision on October 21, 2020. The 180-day deadline had expired on July 13. No documented compelling circumstance justified the late filing. The Board found it lacked jurisdiction and dismissed the appeal.
J.V. and Department of the Air Force, Travis Air Force Base, CA
Bilateral knee condition claim denial affirmed
J.V. attributed conditions in both knees to his federal work. The Board found that the submitted medical evidence did not adequately connect the diagnosed conditions to accepted employment factors. It also found his reconsideration request did not satisfy the requirements for a new merits review…
C.W. and Department of the Treasury, U.S. Mint, West Point, NY
Recurring disability claim denial affirmed
C.W. had an accepted right middle finger crush injury from work at the Mint. She later claimed renewed disability from work. Her physician described symptoms involving both hands and took her off work, but did not adequately explain how the accepted earlier injury caused the claimed recurrence. The…
P.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Raleigh, NC
Reconsideration denial affirmed without merits review
P.M. sought reconsideration of an emotional condition claim and said she still had symptoms and was gathering evidence. The Board found her statement repeated earlier arguments, raised no new legal point, and supplied no new evidence. It affirmed the reconsideration denial without deciding the…
L.C., Jr. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Milford, CT
Lower limb occupational claim needs more development
L.C. attributed lower limb arthritis to years of carrying mail and climbing stairs. A physician described those duties and explained how they could aggravate existing arthritis. The Board found the opinion insufficient to prove the claim outright but strong enough to require OWCP to develop the…
F.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Fort Knox, KY
Shoulder injury claim needs further development
F.M. attributed a rotator cuff tear to repetitive reaching while delivering mail from her vehicle. Her physician explained how repeated movements could have caused the tendon injury. The Board found the reports did not conclusively prove causation, but they supplied enough support to require OWCP…
S.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Main Post Office, Grand Rapids, MI
Reduced wage loss compensation affirmed
S.C. had an accepted left foot fracture. His physicians found he could perform sedentary work within lifting restrictions. OWCP used vocational evidence to identify check cashier as a suitable position and calculated his earning capacity from it. The Board found the reduction justified and affirmed.
National Labor Relations Board and National Labor Relations Board Professional Association
NLRB and NLRB Professional Association (FLRA 0-AR-5563): Authority allows surveillance grievance to proceed
The NLRB Professional Association alleged that the agency unlawfully monitored Union officers after a management official obtained an email between Union officers and the media. An arbitrator held that the grievance was arbitrable because it alleged interference with protected rights under 5 U.S.C…
Matter of Roberto Carlos PADILLA RODRIGUEZ, Respondent
Matter of Roberto Carlos PADILLA RODRIGUEZ (BIA ID 4001): terminated TPS did not cure inadmissibility
The Board reviewed the Department of Homeland Security's appeal after an Immigration Judge terminated removal proceedings against a Salvadoran respondent who had entered the United States without admission or parole and later received temporary protected status. The Board held that terminating TPS…
Administrator, Wage and Hour Div., USDOL v. CTO/CHF Partnership
Administrator, Wage and Hour Division v. CTO/CHF Partnership (DOL ARB 2020-0022): dismissal of H-2A claims involving J-1 participants affirmed
The Wage and Hour Division assessed Cider Hill Farm for unpaid wages, benefits, and penalties under the H-2A agricultural worker program. Part of the assessment treated 24 J-1 exchange program participants as workers in corresponding employment with H-2A workers. The ALJ held that the regulatory…
P.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Jenks Post Office, Jenks, OK
Fall related injury claim denial affirmed
OWCP accepted that P.C. fell at work. Her physicians diagnosed spinal, knee, and shoulder conditions, but the Board found that their reports either offered no causal opinion or did not explain how the fall caused the diagnoses. It affirmed the claim denial.
S.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, West Roxbury, MA
Right hip aggravation claim needs further review
S.B. claimed that postal work permanently aggravated his existing right hip osteoarthritis. An impartial examiner first found a temporary work-related aggravation, but his later report said the arthritis could not be influenced by work activities without addressing OWCP’s acceptance of that…
P.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Vehicle Maintenance Facility, Detroit, MI
Injury claim and reconsideration denials affirmed
P.W. claimed a medical condition after a March 2019 work incident. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish a causal link between the incident and a diagnosed condition. It also found her reconsideration request did not meet the requirements for merits review. Both OWCP decisions…
S.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sutter Creek, CA
Retirement benefit overpayment recovery affirmed
S.W. received FECA wage-loss compensation and Social Security retirement benefits without the required offset. OWCP found an overpayment for March 2013 through March 2019. The Board agreed that she was without fault but held that the record did not justify waiving recovery. It affirmed OWCP’s…
United States Department of Veterans Affairs, John J. Pershing VA Medical Center and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 2338
Pershing VA Medical Center and AFGE Local 2338 (FLRA 0-AR-5572): Authority sets aside weekend-rounding award
Physicians at the Pershing VA Medical Center challenged weekend patient-rounding assignments that added work outside their regular forty-hour schedules. An arbitrator found that the agency violated the agreement and a VA handbook, and ordered shorter weekday schedules plus retroactive rest time…
United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons, Federal Correctional Institution, Talladega, Alabama and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 3844, Council of Prison Locals #33
FCI Talladega and AFGE Local 3844 (FLRA 0-AR-5493): Authority sets aside lunch-break award
AFGE Local 3844 alleged that FCI Talladega failed to provide employees with a duty-free thirty-minute lunch break or compensation in its place. An arbitrator found that the Union filed the grievance with the wrong agency official but treated that error as harmless, then ruled for the Union on the…
Secretary of Labor v. Inwood Quarry, Inc.
Default vacated and case remanded
Inwood Quarry said it never received the hearing packet before the case defaulted. The penalty assessment form listed the company's correct post-office box, but the certificate of service and later show-cause order used a different address. The Secretary did not oppose reopening but urged the…
Secretary of Labor v. Imerys Carbonates USA, Inc.
Misdirected contest package supported reopening
MSHA issued Imerys 130 citations during a nine-week inspection and divided them between two proposed assessments. Imerys said it timely mailed two contest packages, but sent them with payments to MSHA's St. Louis address instead of the contest address in Arlington. Only the first package was…
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
In re Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation (EAB RCRA Appeal No. 20-01): permit remanded and petition dismissed without prejudice
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation petitioned the Environmental Appeals Board to review a RCRA permit for its facility in East Hanover, New Jersey. Novartis and EPA Region 2 later entered settlement negotiations and resolved their differences about technical details in the permit. The parties…
Secretary of Labor v. Huber Carbonates, LLC
Settled withdrawal order made reopening moot
Huber Carbonates sought permission to file a late contest of a section 104(b) withdrawal order. The company had already timely contested the penalty assessment for the underlying citation, which allowed the withdrawal order to be challenged in that penalty case. While the reopening motion was…
Jesus Flores v. National Steel and Shipbuilding Company
Flores v. National Steel and Shipbuilding (BRB 20-0199): Special Fund denial affirmed
Jesus Flores injured his back while working for National Steel and Shipbuilding and received Longshore Act disability benefits. The employer sought to shift part of its payment obligation to the Special Fund based on an alleged preexisting disability. A judge denied modification because the…
Amenra Nasrueloh v. MTC East/Ports America and Ports Insurance Company, Incorporated
Nasrueloh v. MTC East/Ports America (BRB 20-0194): later back benefits denied
Amenra Nasrueloh sought Longshore Act benefits after reporting a back aggravation from lifting at work in 2014. A Georgia workers’ compensation decision found the aggravation was temporary and had resolved by June 2015, with later symptoms due to his preexisting condition. The federal judge gave…
Ressel L. Clifton v. Sea “B” Mining Company
Clifton v. Sea B Mining (BRB 19-0521 BLA): complicated pneumoconiosis award affirmed
Ressel Clifton sought black lung benefits after at least thirty years of underground mine work. The judge found complicated pneumoconiosis on the x-ray evidence and awarded benefits under the irrebuttable presumption. The employer challenged the evaluation of the imaging. The Board held the judge…
J.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Staten Island, NY
Injury benefit termination affirmed
J.N. appealed the end of benefits tied to an accepted workplace injury and claimed continued disability afterward. The Board found the medical record supported termination because accepted injury residuals had ended. It also found he had not proved continuing work-related disability or residuals…
M.L. and Department of Homeland Security, Customs & Border Patrol, Dulles International Airport, Sterling, VA
Related left elbow claims must be combined
M.L. claimed worsening left elbow symptoms from computer work and dog training. OWCP denied the claim without incorporating an earlier accepted left elbow injury file. The Board found that the related files must be considered together for a fair decision. It remanded for a new ruling.
D.J. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Ann Arbor VA Medical Center, Ann Arbor, MI
Related right shoulder files must be combined
D.J. sought benefits for right shoulder and other conditions from repetitive work. She had also filed a recurrence claim involving an accepted right shoulder injury. OWCP decided the new claim without combining the earlier file. The Board required a joint review and remanded for a new merits…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.