Statute Annotations › Oregon › Or. Rev. Stat. § 656.005

Or. Rev. Stat. § 656.005

Definitions: the cases that interpreted this section

Jurisdiction
Oregon
Case notes
521
Cited in passing
280
Citing cases indexed
1,445
Case dates
1976–2026
Screened through
2026-06-10
Checked for later law changes
2026-10-20
Courts' treatment: live
No reviewed case has held this section invalid, preempted, superseded or repealed.
This reflects what the reviewed cases said, not legislative action: a later amendment or repeal by the legislature would not appear here unless a reviewed case discussed it.

801 citing cases reviewed of 1,445 in the citation index: 521 interpreted the section (annotated below), 280 cited it only in passing. Cases filed after 2026-06-10 may not have been reviewed yet.

Have a situation under Or. Rev. Stat. § 656.005?

These notes show how courts have ruled. Ask about your specific facts and see which of these rulings apply, with citations you can check.

Later changes in law

Changes after the earliest notes below. A note stating a rule one of these changed is marked "Law changed since".

  • 1990-07-01 Or. Laws 1990 (Special Session), ch. 2, § 3 imposed a major contributing cause standard for consequential conditions and injuries combining with preexisting conditions, replacing the former material cause rule. Source
  • 1995-06-07 Or. Laws 1995, ch. 332, § 1 limited combined-condition compensation to the period and extent that the otherwise compensable injury remains the major contributing cause; § 656.262(6)(c) permits later denial of an accepted combined condition when that standard ceases to be met. Source
  • 1995-06-07 Or. Laws 1995, ch. 332, § 1 tightened the definition of objective findings to require verifiable indications of injury or disease, superseding decisions that accepted unverified subjective reports. Source
  • 2002-01-01 Or. Laws 2001, ch. 865, § 1 narrowed preexisting conditions for injury claims to previously diagnosed or symptom-treated conditions, except arthritis, and excluded mere susceptibility; it also removed “predisposes” from the occupational disease definition. Source
  • 2002-01-01 Or. Laws 2001, ch. 865, § 2 amended § 656.266(2)(a) so that, after a worker proves an otherwise compensable injury, the employer bears the burden to prove it is not the major contributing cause of the combined condition's disability or need for treatment. Source
  • 2002-01-01 Or. Laws 2001, ch. 865, § 1 limited temporary total disability after voluntary withdrawal from the workforce under the amended worker definition. Source
  • 2008-01-02 Or. Laws 2007, ch. 252 increased the outside-managed-care chiropractor attending-physician limit from 30 days or 12 visits to 60 days or 18 visits. Source
  • 2009-07-01 Or. Laws 2007, ch. 241 replaced guaranty-contract filing terminology in the noncomplying-employer definition with insurance policy and proof-of-coverage requirements. Source
  • 2017-03-30 Brown v. SAIF held that, for an accepted combined condition, the otherwise compensable injury is the accepted medical condition. Source
  • 2022-01-01 Or. Laws 2021, ch. 257 removed the employer's secured right to direct and control from the employer definition and the worker's subjection to direction and control from the worker definition; the latter now expressly excludes independent contractors. Source
  • 2026-04-07 Or. Laws 2026, ch. 109, § 43 included nurse practitioners and physician associates in the physician and attending-physician definitions and removed the physician associate's 180-day attending limit. Source
  • 2027-07-01 (prospective): Or. Laws 2025, ch. 78, §§ 22–23 will replace the temporary-service-provider definition's cross-reference to § 656.850 with a new section. Source

Arising out of and in the course of employment

When a known work activity causes an accidental injury, the claimant must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the injury arose out of and in the course of employment, but need not disprove all idiopathic causes.

Folkenberg v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. · filed 1984-07-11(8)(a)

Under these circumstances, claimant is not required to disprove all idiopathic causes to permit an inference of work connection; his only burden of proof is to show by a preponderance of the evidence that his injury “arose out of and in the course of employment.” See ORS 656.005(8)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) does not cover an injury sustained on a personal side trip after the trip’s business purpose has ended, even when the employee is on call.

Johnson v. Employee Benefits Insurance · filed 1976-04-19(8)(a)

The central issue in this workmen’s compensation appeal is whether or not the injuries which claimant suffered in an automobile-truck collision arose out of and in the course of claimant’s employment, as required by former ORS 656.002(7)(a) (now ORS 656.005(8)(a)). ... Based upon our de novo review, and assuming without deciding that under Bebout v. SAIF, 22 Or App 1, 537 P2d 563, aff'd 273 Or 487, 541 P2d 1293 (1975), claimant’s claim was filed within the time prescribed by law, we conclude that claimant’s injury did not arise out of and in the course of his employment. The collision occurred on claimant’s day off while he was traveling on a personal side trip. The business purpose of the trip ended at Bend.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires an injury to occur in the course of employment to be compensable.

Hansen v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-01-24(8)(a)

Taken as a whole the weight of the evidence included in the record before us indicates that claimant was not injured in the course of his employment as a ski instructor; his injury is not, therefore, compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during a lunch break may arise out of and in the course of employment when it occurs on the employer’s premises while the employee helps a coworker with transportation to work.

Olsen v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-04-20(8)(a)

To be compensable under the Workmen’s Compensation Law an accidental injury must of course be one "arising out of and in the course of employment.” ORS 656.005(8)(a). ... Under these circumstances we agree with the circuit court that the injury arose out of and in the course of employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires a sufficient connection between a personal errand and employment for an injury during the errand to arise out of employment.

Allen v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-06-01(8)(a)

Looking to all the circumstances, we hold that the decedent’s death may conceivably have occurred in the course of his employment, but that there is not sufficient connection of decedent’s personal errand with the employment to justify a holding that it arose out of the employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires proof that an injury arose out of and in the course of employment.

Napier v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-10-24(8)(a)

Claimant has failed to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the act which he contends precipitated his heart attack arose out of and in the course of his employment, ORS 656.005(8),... and, also, he has failed to prove that the heart attack which, as noted above, occurred four days after the act in question was materially contributed to by that activity.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A parking-lot fall on the way to work, on facts identical to Rohrs, is not a compensable injury under § 656.005(8)(a).

Williams v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-12-27(8)(a)

The relevant facts are identical to those in Rohrs v. SAIF, 27 Or App 505, 556 P2d 714 (1976). For the same reasons, claimant’s injury is not compensable. We affirm the portion of the judgment below which so finds.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An on-call employee’s injury while bringing groceries home outside fixed duty hours, when she has not been called, does not arise out of and in the course of employment.

Morgan v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1978-02-07(8)(a)

Claimant, an assistant manager of an apartment complex, injured her ankle while bringing her groceries home at a time outside of her fixed duty hours and when she was on call, but not called. Both the hearing officer and the Workers’ Compensation Board concluded that the injury did not arise out of and in the course of employment. See ORS 656.005(8)(a). We agree for the reasons we have previously stated in Allen v. SAIF, 29 Or App 631, 564 P2d 1086 rev den (1977), and Walker v. SAIF, 28 Or App 127, 558 P2d 1270 (1977).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury on the employer’s premises during an extended trip to work can arise out of and in the course of employment even when the employee arrived early and was heading back to meet a co-worker.

Benafel v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1978-04-17(8)(a)

It is no doubt unusual for an employe to misset an alarm clock and arrive early for work. The occurrence of such unusual event should not preclude claimant from recovering for injuries suffered on employer’s premises during what was actually an extended trip to get to work.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires a compensable injury to arise out of employment; worsening symptoms alone is insufficient unless work caused the injury or significantly worsened the underlying condition.

Weller v. Union Carbide Corp. · filed 1978-08-01(8)(a)

We now hold that a worsening (purposely avoiding the term of art "aggravation”) of symptoms is not compensable. Only the onset or significant worsening of injury or disease arising out of, i.e., caused by, employment can be compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires a causal connection between employment and injury for an injury to arise out of employment.

Otto v. Moak Chevrolet, Inc. · filed 1978-09-06(8)(a)

While Oregon, like Arizona, gives effect to the personal comfort doctrine, the "arising out of" language of ORS 656.005(8)(a) requires that there be a causal connection between the employment and the injury.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) does not cover an injury from an employee’s self-directed exercise to meet a job fitness requirement when the employer does not prescribe the activity.

Haugen v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1978-12-18(8)(a)

The critical fact is that the risk of injury from claimant’s physical conditioning program did not arise out of but rather was a condition to or qualification for the employment. Claimant’s employment contract requires that he maintain himself in good physical condition and establishes objective criteria in terms of weight and a biennial physical for measuring that qualification. The employer does not prescribe what police officers must do to satisfy those criteria. The employee assumes the responsibility for, and correspondingly any attendant risk of, meeting the job qualifications. He may follow a program of careful diet and walking, or engage in vigorous contact sports. In either event, the activity and any injury resulting therefrom is neither in the course of nor does it arise out of the employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury from arm wrestling during a lengthy personal delay on a work trip does not occur in the course of employment when the activity has no relationship to the employer’s business.

Hackney v. Tillamook Growers Co-Op. · filed 1979-04-23(8)(a)

The sole issue is whether the "arm wrestling" arose in the course of claimant's employment as required by ORS 656.005(8)(a). ... In the instant case, the claimant's injury arose after 5 1/2 hours of delay and the consumption of "three or four" beers. Claimant's arm wrestling had no relationship to his employer's business. ... We conclude that the injury did not occur while claimant was acting in the course and scope of his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury occurs in the course of employment when it is closely connected in time and place to a work-related altercation, even if the worker has briefly left the work area.

Youngren v. Weyerhaeuser Co. · filed 1979-07-30(8)(a)

His departure from that place and his almost immediate encounter with the steel drum, while not on a route designed to carry claimant directly back to his duty station, were nonetheless so closely connected in time and space with the altercation that we find them to have occurred within the scope of claimant’s employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) is satisfied when an injury has a sufficient relationship to the worker’s employment, assessed through a unitary work-connection inquiry.

Rogers v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1980-09-10(8)(a)

If the injury has sufficient work relationship, then it arises out of and in the course of employment and the statute is satisfied.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during an off-premises break is compensable when the employee’s activity has a sufficient connection to the work, even if the injury occurs during a scheduled unpaid lunch period.

Compensation of Halfman v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1980-11-03(8)(a)

We conclude that, although claimant’s injury occurred off the employer’s premises and during the time scheduled for an unpaid lunch period, claimant has established a sufficient work connection between the activity which resulted in the injury and his employment. That activity was of some benefit to the employer, it was contemplated by the employer and employe at the time of hiring or thereafter, it was an ordinary risk and incidental to this particular employment situation, it was acquiesced in by the employer, and claimant was not on a personal mission of his own when injured. The injury is compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) covers an injury sustained while preparing for work when the activity is sufficiently related to the employment.

Bailey v. Peter Kiewit & Sons · filed 1981-03-30(8)(a)

We conclude that claimant’s activity was sufficiently work-related to make his injury compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury on a public street while arriving at work does not arise out of and in the course of employment when the employer does not control the street and the employee faces no greater risk than the public.

Adamson v. Dalles Cherry Growers, Inc. · filed 1981-09-28(8)(a)

Finally, we do not think that use of the street exposed the claimant to a greater risk of injury than any other member of the public. ... We conclude that the injury was not related to claimant’s employment and did not arise out of and in the course of her employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury from walking can arise out of employment when walking is part of the worker’s job and the injury has a sufficient work relationship.

Hubble v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. · filed 1982-03-08(8)(a)

Walking was part of claimant’s job; hence the risk of injury from walking was a risk of that job. He has established a sufficient work relationship between his injury and his job to recover under the statute.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury sustained while playing softball on an employer-sponsored team may fall outside the requirement that it arise out of and in the course of employment.

Puderbaugh v. Woodland Park Hospital · filed 1986-05-14(8)(a)

Applying the analysis we used in Rose v. Argonaut Ins. Co., 77 Or App 167, 711 P2d 218 (1985), and Richmond v. SAIF, 58 Or App 354, 648 P2d 370, rev den 293 Or 634 (1982), to the facts here, we conclude, on de novo review, that his injury did not arise “out of and in the course of employment.” ORS 656.005(8)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) requires an injury to arise out of and in the course of employment; the parties’ employment agreement helps determine whether it does.

State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Reel · filed 1987-04-14(8)(a)

We believe that the problem is best resolved, not by reference to any "traveling employe rule," but by examining the contractual relationship of the parties to determine if the claimant's injury "arose out of and in the course of" his employment. ORS 656.005(8)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury is compensable only if it arises out of and in the course of employment.

Timberline Lodge v. Kyle · filed 1989-06-14(7)(a)

To be compensable, an injury must arise out of and in the course of employment. ORS 656.005(7)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury does not arise in the course of employment when the task causing it is outside the employee’s work and serves another party’s benefit.

Progressive Casualty Insurance v. Marca · filed 1989-11-29(7)

Moving the tractor, however, was not shown to be an integral part of the salvage project and, therefore, was not a part of Robbins’ employment. On this record, moving the tractor was entirely for the benefit of the fire department, not Marca.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A temporary departure from a worker’s usual duties can remain in the course of employment under the compensable injury definition.

Progressive Casualty Insurance v. Marca · filed 1990-03-14(7)(a)

The fact that Robbins was killed while performing a task that was unrelated to the salvage project just before he and Marca were to depart from the work site did not remove Robbins from the protection of the Workers' Compensation Law. ... We hold that the task performed by Robbins, although it was a departure from his usual duties, was in the course of his employment and that the trial court properly held that Progressive had no duty to defend or indemnify Marca in the wrongful death action.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An assault by a third person arises out of employment when it results from the nature of the work or a risk of the work environment.

Barkley v. Corrections Division · filed 1992-01-22(7)(a)

An assault by a third person is deemed to arise out of a claimant’s employment when the assault is the result of the nature of the work or when it originates from some risk to which the work environment exposes the employee.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Under former § 656.005(8)(a), an injury sustained while leaving work on the employer’s premises is compensable if the employer expressly or impliedly allowed the conduct that caused it.

Agripac, Inc. v. Zimmerman · filed 1989-07-12(8)(a)

Claimant’s on-premises injury occurred as he was leaving work. Therefore, whether his injury is compensable turns on whether employer expressly or impliedly allowed him to jump from the dock.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury is compensable when it arises out of and in the course of employment; both elements are assessed together to determine its work connection.

Henderson v. S.D. Deacon Corp. · filed 1994-04-20(7)(a)

An injury is compensable if it “aris[es] out of and in the course of employment.” ORS 656.005(7)(a). ... Both elements of the work-connection-test are sufficiently satisfied here to support the holding that claimant’s injury was work related.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury from a neutral risk arises out of employment only if work conditions put the worker in a position to be injured; efforts to jump start a car after work can break that causal connection.

SAIF Corp. v. Marin · filed 1996-03-13(7)(a)

Claimant’s efforts to jump start his car and the circumstances that followed more directly caused him to be in a position to be injured by the flower box. We conclude that those activities were sufficiently removed from his normal ingress and egress to and from work as to break the causal connection between his normal conditions of employment and his injury. Thus, the Board erred in holding that claimant’s injuiy arose from his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) requires a work-connection analysis that addresses both whether a condition arose out of employment and whether it occurred in the course of employment.

Freightliner Corp. v. Arnold · filed 1996-07-03(7)(a)

The determinative question is whether the Board’s work-connection analysis— by reference to seven factors or otherwise — adequately addresses both the “arising out of’ and the “in the course of’ components of the unitary work-connection test.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A coworker assault provoked by an employee’s racially derogatory remarks does not arise out of employment when the dispute is personal rather than work-related.

Redman Industries, Inc. v. Lang · filed 1996-07-31(7)(a)

The question here is whether the risk of being assaulted by a coworker for using racially derogatory remarks is sufficiently connected with claimant’s employment. For the following reasons, we hold that it is not.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury arises out of employment when the events giving rise to it are causally related to the worker’s employment.

SAIF Corp. v. Burke · filed 1996-12-24(7)(a)

An injury is compensable if it “aris[es] out of and in the course of employment.” ORS 656.005(7)(a). ... We conclude that the totality of those events gave rise to claimant’s injury and that the injury was causally related to his employment. Consequently, the Board did not err in holding that claimant’s injury arose out of his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury in an employer’s parking lot may arise out of employment when the events causing it are causally connected to the work; the employer’s control over the hazard is not the sole test.

Torkko v. SAIF Corp. · filed 1997-04-30(7)(a)

Here, as in Marin, the Board improperly focused on whether the employer controlled the instrumentality that caused claimant’s injury. The proper focus is on whether claimant’s injury, which was caused when her head struck an object in her employer’s parking lot while she was taking school materials from her car to her classroom, is causally connected with her employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) includes a reasonable period after work to leave the employer’s premises within the course of employment, and requires the injury to arise from a risk connected with the work or work environment.

Fred Meyer, Inc. v. Hayes · filed 1997-08-07(7)(a)

"In the course of" employment also includes a reasonable period of time after work for the worker to leave the employer's premises, including the employer's parking lot. ... Rather, a worker's injury is deemed to "arise out of" employment if the risk of the injury results from the nature of his or her work or when it originates from some risk to which the work environment exposes the worker.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury may arise out of employment even when a worker uses an unusual method to carry out a work-related task.

Wilson v. State Farm Insurance · filed 1998-02-12(7)(a)

In short, the fact that employer did not contemplate or expect claimant’s precise method of rounding the corner as she returned to her office does not render her resulting injury noncompensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7) covers a coworker assault when workplace interactions created the risk, while its active-participant exclusion requires more than having earlier angered the assailant.

Redman Industries, Inc. v. Lang · filed 1997-08-21(7)(a), (7)(b)(A)

An injury arises out of employment if the risk of injury results from the nature of the claimant’s work or from the work environment. That test does not require that the motivation for a coworker’s assault be an argument over job performance or some other work-related factor. ... Based on the foregoing reasoning, we hold that the risk of an assault by a coworker in the workplace is a risk to which the work environment exposes an employee. ... Those terms require more than that a claimant anger an assailant in such a way that the assailant later assaults the claimant.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Compensability depends on the totality of the circumstances connecting the injury to employment; the risk of injury alone is not dispositive.

SAIF Corp. v. Fortson · filed 1998-09-02(7)(a)

Rather, it is the totality of the circumstances surrounding the injury that determines compensability.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during an employer-directed trip to deliver an off-work authorization can occur in the course of employment.

Iliaifar v. SAIF Corp. · filed 1999-04-28(7)(a)

In light of the Board's finding under the circumstances that "the employer directed claimant to drop off a copy of his off-work slip," the requirement that the injury occur in the course of his employment is satisfied.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) requires some support for both the course-of-employment and arising-out-of-employment prongs of a single work-connection test; strong support for one can offset minimal support for the other.

McTaggart v. Time Warner Cable · filed 2000-10-18(7)(a)

The requirement that the injury occur in the course of employment concerns the time, place and circumstances of the injury; the requirement that it arise out of employment requires a causal link between the injury and the employment. Although they are stated separately, those requirements are two prongs of what is in fact a single work-connection inquiry. There must be some support for each prong, but neither is dispositive. Strong support for one prong and minimal support for the other may be sufficient to satisfy the test. The basic question is whether the causal connection between the injury and the employment is sufficient to warrant compensation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) requires some showing that an injury both occurred in the course of employment and arose from a risk connected to the work.

RFPD v. Leopard · filed 2002-03-27(7)(a)

Consequently, on this record, claimant did not meet his burden of establishing a causal connection between the injury and work, and he therefore did not satisfy the arises-out-of-employment prong of the work-connection test. Because both prongs of the test must be satisfied to some degree, the board erred in concluding that claimant’s injury was compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) makes the assailant’s motivation decisive in determining whether a workplace assault arose out of employment.

Panpat v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc. · filed 2002-07-11(7)(a)

Stated another way, whether the motivation for the assault was a workplace event or an “event unique” to the romantic relationship is determinative.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An on-call worker’s injury can be compensable when a required work errand and a risk connected with the job sufficiently link the injury to employment.

American Medical Response v. Gavlik · filed 2003-08-20(7)(a)

Under ORS 656.005(7)(a), only injuries that “aris[e] out of and in the course of employment” are compensable. ... Having examined both parts of the statutory test, we agree with the board that there is a sufficient connection to claimant’s work to hold her injury compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) covers an injury sustained during a medical arbiter exam when the injury arises out of and in the course of employment.

McAleny v. SAIF Corp. · filed 2003-11-26(7)(a)

In light of the foregoing principles, we conclude that the injury sustained by claimant in the MAE arose out of and in the course of his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during a worker’s return from a road relief location to retrieve a vehicle is compensable when the trip is reasonably incidental to the job and exposes the worker to a risk arising from employment.

Tri-Met, Inc. v. Lamb · filed 2004-06-09(7)(a)

Her return to the garage to retrieve her personal vehicle was within the course of her employment because it was reasonably incidental to the performance of her ongoing employment duties for that day. ... That incident of employment exposed her to the risk of injury and satisfies the requirement that her injury arises out of her employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury sustained on an employer-controlled path while returning from lunch can arise out of and occur in the course of employment.

Hearthstone Manor v. Stuart · filed 2004-02-11(7)(a)

Her injury arose out of her employment as we have construed that phrase, and for that reason it met both aspects of the unitary work-connection test.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during a dispute over work-related discipline can arise out of employment even when the worker’s conduct is not a job duty.

Columbia River Dairy v. Sepulveda · filed 2006-11-08(7)(a)

Although claimant’s act of placing his foot near the tire in order to prevent his supervisor from driving away was not a specific duty of his employment, because claimant’s conduct occurred in the context of employment discipline, we agree with the board that the injury arose out of the employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury can occur in the course of employment despite a worker’s violation of an employer’s instruction about how to perform assigned work.

Sisco v. Quicker Recovery · filed 2008-03-12(7)(a)

How claimant interacted with police officers, including with respect to presenting identification upon demand, related to the “method” of performing that “ultimate work.” Consequently, claimant’s violation of employer’s directive notwithstanding, his injury was incurred “in the course of’ his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during an activity outside the worker’s duties that the employer prohibits does not occur in the course of employment.

Van Der Vaarte v. SAIF Corp. · filed 2009-05-13(7)(a)

Consistently with the Supreme Court’s explanation of “reasonably incidental,” in the context of an activity that is not “fulfilling the duties of employment,” if an employee was injured while engaged in an activity that was neither expressly nor impliedly allowed by the employer—or, as in this case, was prohibited by the employer—that injury cannot be deemed to have occurred in the course of employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury arises out of employment when a worker encounters a risk of employer-required home work premises in connection with performing work, even if the employer does not control that risk.

Sandberg v. JC PENNEY CO. INC. · filed 2011-06-01(7)(a)

If an employer, for its own advantage, demands that a worker furnish the work premises, the risks of those premises encountered in connection with the performance of work are risks of the work environment, even if they are outside of the employer’s control, and injuries resulting from those risks arise out of the employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury arises out of employment when the worker’s duties expose the worker to the risk that caused the injury.

City of Eugene v. McDermed · filed 2012-06-27(7)(a)

With respect to risks associated with the nature of claimant’s work, the nature of that work — that is, claimant’s job responsibilities — included a community policing component, which, as the board found, “required interacting with people on the streets to discuss public issues.” That, in turn, exposed claimant to the risks of street-based interactions, including being struck by a motor vehicle as she crossed the street.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury arises out of employment only if the worker’s duties or work environment exposed the worker to the risk that caused it.

Legacy Health Systems v. Noble · filed 2012-06-27(7)(a)

We conclude, on review, that claimant’s injury did not arise out of her employment because neither claimant’s work nor her work environment exposed her to the risk of the injury that she suffered.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury occurs in the course of employment when a worker performs a job duty in a manner allowed by the employer and for the employer’s benefit.

Mendoza v. Liberty Northwest Insurance · filed 2013-06-12(7)(a)

In sum, claimant’s injuries occurred while she was performing a duty of her employment in a manner allowed by employer and for employer’s benefit. Accordingly, her injuries occurred in the course of her employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) requires a causal link between a worker’s injury and employment, which can be satisfied by injury during work-related air travel.

Toohey v. Aviation Adventures, LLC · filed 2015-03-04(7)(a)

Second, we reject plaintiffs argument that the trial court erred in concluding that there was a causal link between Toohey’s injuries and Ketcheson’s employment, as required by ORS 656.005(7)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury during travel to work can satisfy the course-of-employment requirement when the worker is subject to the employer's direction and control at the time of injury.

SAIF Corp. v. Massari (In re Massari) · filed 2018-04-18(7)(a)

And an injury incurred when the worker is going to work is compensable if the worker is within the employer's direction and control at the time of the injury.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury from an unexplained fall at work may satisfy the requirement that a compensable injury arise out of employment.

Sheldon v. U.S. Bank (In re Comp. of Sheldon) · filed 2019-05-23(7)(a)

Thus, a claimant may prove that an injury arose out of employment if the injury resulted from an unexplained fall that occurred on the job.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury on a leased common area can occur in the course of employment when the employer has some control over that area, including the right to request repairs.

Bruntz-Ferguson v. Liberty Mutual Ins. · filed 2021-04-14(7)(a)

Therefore, we conclude that those facts, taken together, establish that employer had “some control” over the area in the parking lot where claimant was injured. Accordingly, because employer had some control over the area where claimant was injured, we conclude that the “in the course of” prong is satisfied.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) treats an injury caused partly by an employment risk as arising out of employment even when a personal risk also contributes.

SAIF v. Blankenship · filed 2021-08-18(7)(a)

When an injury results at least in part from an employment-related risk, it arises out of the employment, even if a personal risk is also in play.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7)(a) makes an injury compensable when it arises out of and occurs in the course of employment, including when work exposes an employee to a hazard in a parking lot over which the employer exercises some control.

Miles v. Bi-Mart Corp. · filed 2021-12-22(7)(a)

Ultimately, we conclude that the injury arose out of and in the course of claimant’s employment, and that the injury is compensable. ... When a person is injured at work, that injury is compensable if it “aris[es] out of and in the course of employment.” ORS 656.005(7)(a).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An injury caused by a neutral risk arises out of employment when work conditions place the worker in a position to be injured.

SAIF v. Chavez-Cordova · filed 2021-08-18(7)(a)

We conclude that the board did not err in determin- ing that claimant’s employment placed him in a position to be injured and that the injury therefore arose out of the employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Employment and worker status

An employe can have more than one employer for workers’ compensation purposes; compensation and the right to direct and control help establish the relationship.

Blacknall v. Westwood Corp., Developers & Contractors · filed 1987-12-30(13), (27)

The tests for the existence of an employer-employe relationship include the payment of compensation and the right to direct and control. For purposes of worker’s compensation, an employe can have more than one employer.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(28) defines a worker as someone who furnishes services for remuneration; a person who voluntarily retires from the work force no longer meets that definition.

Cutright v. Weyerhaeuser Co. · filed 1985-06-25(28)

There is not one word in the statute that refers to a person who no longer engages in furnishing services for remuneration. Certainly, one who retires voluntarily from the work force is no longer a "worker" as defined.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A person who was a worker when originally injured remains a worker for increased disability benefits after aggravation, even if retired when the aggravation occurs.

Pacific Motor Trucking Co. v. Standley · filed 1988-09-28(27)

Implicit in our opinion is our conclusion that a person is a “worker” for purposes of increased disability benefits for aggravation if he or she was a “worker” at the time of the original compensable injury, whether or not he or she is retired at the time of the aggravation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(27) includes a person who works for remuneration under an employer’s direction and control even when another company pays that person directly.

Blacknall v. Westwood Corporation · filed 1988-11-16(27)

In deciding whether the plaintiff was a “subject worker of the [defendant] employer,” we first look to the definition of “worker” contained in ORS 656.005(27). ... That his remuneration came directly from Adia does not take him out of the definition of “worker.”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Or. Laws 2021, ch. 257 removed the statutory direction-and-control requirements from the employer and worker definitions effective January 1, 2022; independent contractors remain excluded, but this note states the former definition or status test.

To establish that someone is an employer’s subject worker, the employer must have contracted to pay for the worker’s services and secured the right to direct and control them; a subcontract and the worker’s hourly pay alone do not establish the remuneration requirement.

Childress v. Short · filed 1984-11-21(14), (28)

The two elements required to establish that plaintiff was a “subject worker” of Wilson’s for purposes of a defendant’s immunity under ORS 656.018 are whether Wilson (1) had contracted to pay a “remuneration for * * * [plaintiffs] services” and (2) had the “right to direct and control the services.” ... Simply because Richard Wilson Logging subcontracted with Wilson and paid plaintiff at an hourly wage to haul logs “in conformity with the log hauling subcontract” does not establish either that Wilson had “contracted] to pay a remuneration for * * * the services” of plaintiff or that defendants have carried their burden to establish that there is here no genuine issue of material fact.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An independent contractor is not a worker under the statutory definition.

Bisbey v. Thedford · filed 1984-05-09(28)

If a person is an independent contractor, then he is not a worker as defined in ORS 656.005(28).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005 defines employer and worker through the employer’s right to direct and control services; applying that test, the court classified a magazine salesperson as an independent contractor.

Henn v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. · filed 1982-12-08(14), (28)

By the express provisions of the Oregon Workers' Compensation Act, [1] the right to direct and control the services of a person is an essential ingredient in the test for determining who is an employer within the meaning of the Act. ... On de novo review, we conclude that claimant was an independent contractor.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

For workers’ compensation purposes, the right to control a worker’s services is decisive over who pays wages when identifying the employer.

Matter of Compensation of Hunter · filed 1981-11-16(16)

First, Harris holds that, as between control and payment of wages, control is the decisive factor for determining employment. Here, the State’s right to control court reporters is undisputed.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005 excludes an unpaid vocational trainee from the definition of “worker” and a contracting rehabilitation organization from the definition of “employer.”

Firkus v. Alder Creek Lumber · filed 1980-09-22(16), (31)

Under the Act, neither a contracting vocational rehabilitation organization nor an employer supplying an on-the-job position is required to provide compensation coverage for a trainee placed in a non-remunerative, on-the-job training program, because the organization is not an "employer” and the trainee is not a "worker” within the meaning of the Act, ORS 656.005(16), (31).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(16) and (30) recognize an employment relationship when a person agrees to perform specific work for specific compensation under another’s direction.

Crampton v. Bullis · filed 1980-09-08(16), (30)

Claimant testified that there was an explicit agreement that she do specific work for specific compensation, under the direction of respondent. Accepting that testimony as credible, we conclude, as did the referee and the Board, that an employment relationship existed. See ORS 656.005(16) and (30).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Sections 656.005(16) and (31) use compensation and the right of control to determine whether an employer-employe relationship exists.

Robinson v. Omark Industries, Inc. · filed 1980-05-27(16), (31)

The employer-employe relationship issue is determined by a two-pronged test: compensation plus right of control. ORS 656.005(16), 656.005(31).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An owner's instructions for a one or two race engagement do not make a freelance jockey the owner's employee.

Bell v. Hartman · filed 1980-01-14(30)

We agree with the Illinois court's reasoning. Freelance jockeys are engaged as specialists in their field, and an owner's instructions about how to ride a horse during a one or two race engagement no more makes the jockey the owner's employee than a patient's informed consent to a surgical procedure makes the physician an employee of the patient.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) makes the right to control a central test of worker status, even when the employer does not exercise that control.

Collins v. Anderson · filed 1979-06-25(30)

If the requisite right of control exists the relationship of employer and employee is established even though the control is not actually exercised.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(28) requires an express or implied contract of hire and an employer’s right of control to establish workman status.

Hix v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1978-06-13(28)

In this case, the evidence is insufficient to establish either an express or implied contract, or a right of control in the employer over the claimant.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A log hauler’s own workers’ compensation coverage and a potential subrogation action do not affect whether he is the logger’s workman.

Louvring v. Excel Logging Co. · filed 1977-11-29(28)

We hold that this circumstance is irrelevant to whether plaintiff was defendant’s "workman” or was an "independent contractor.”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005 makes the right to control, rather than the actual exercise of control, determinative of whether a worker is an employe.

Marcum v. State Accident Insurance Fund · filed 1977-06-13

ORS 656.005 provides that control is the essential ingredient in the test for determining who is a servant. It is right of control, rather than actual exercise of control, that is determinative.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005 requires employer control when determining whether a worker is an employee under the Workmen’s Compensation Act.

Woody v. Waibel · filed 1976-09-16(28), (14)

Thus it is clear that by express provisions of the statute control is an essential ingredient in the test for determining who is a servant within the meaning of the Workmen’s Compensation Act.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(16) makes the right to control a worker’s services, rather than the actual exercise of control, determinative of employer status.

Carlile v. Greeninger · filed 1978-07-05(16)

ORS 656.005 provides that control is the essential ingredient in the test for determining who is a subject employe.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(25) allows a worker employed by one company to be a subject worker of another company that controls the worker’s work.

Gibson v. Safeway Stores, Inc. · filed 1988-11-16(25)

As in Blacknall, and for the reasons set forth in Black-nall, it is established that the plaintiff was a subject worker of the defendant, ORS 656.005(25), and that the defendant was the plaintiffs employer under ORS 656.017(1).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A job applicant performing a welding test without remuneration is not a worker under the statute.

BBC Brown Boveri v. Lusk · filed 1991-09-04(27)

As in Dykes, claimant was not performing services for remuneration when his hearing loss was first discovered. It follows that ... he was not a “worker,” and that BBC could not have been an employer under ORS 656.005(13).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(27)’s definition of “worker” may include someone who left the work force voluntarily but seeks to return and is prevented by a compensable injury.

SAIF Corp. v. Stephen · filed 1989-05-31(27)

A claimant who seeks to re-enter the work force after voluntary withdrawal, but is prevented from doing so by a compensable injury, may qualify as a worker although not presently engaged “to furnish services for a remuneration.”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A person who was a worker when the initial claim was filed does not lose worker status for temporary disability benefits merely because of later incarceration.

Forshee & Langley Logging v. Peckham · filed 1990-03-14(27)

Here, claimant was a “worker” when he filed his initial claim. He injured his back while engaged in regular gainful employment. His departure from the workforce was the direct consequence of the disabling effects of that compensable injury.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(27) defines a worker as someone subject to an employer’s direction and control; an independent contractor does not meet that definition.

Wood v. Dunn · filed 1991-10-09(27)

If claimant is an independent contractor, he is not subject to the direction and control of an employer and is not a worker entitled to coverage.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

An employer-worker relationship requires remuneration for the worker’s services and the right to direct and control them; a contractor’s payment to a subcontractor does not by itself establish remuneration for the subcontractor’s worker.

Martelli v. RA Chambers and Associates · filed 1989-12-06(13), (27)

Although the lack of a direct transfer of funds between the parties is not determinative, “remuneration” contemplates a more direct quid pro quo between payment and services than the possibility that plaintiffs compensation as a worker will ultimately come from the contract payment to his employer.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(14) makes the right to direct and control a worker’s services the test for employer status when workers’ compensation immunity is at issue.

Martelli v. RA Chambers and Associates · filed 1990-11-08(14)

Likewise, the “right to direct and control” was and is the test for employer status when the immunity based on that status is in issue.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(13) defines an employer by a contract to pay remuneration and the right to direct and control services; control is assessed through evidence of control, payment, equipment, and the right to fire.

Broadway Deluxe Cab Co. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1992-06-24(13)

ORS 656.005(13) defines “employer” as “any person * * * who contracts to pay a remuneration for and secures the right to direct and control the services of any person.” ... The determinative issue is whether Broadway exercised sufficient direction and control over the shift lease drivers to fall within that definition. To resolve that issue, we consider “(1) direct evidence of the right to, or the exercise of, control; (2) the method of payment; (3) the furnishing of equipment; and (4) the right to fire.” ... Accordingly, DIF erred in concluding that Broadway is the employer of the shift lease drivers and that it is liable for their workers’ compensation coverage.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

A person who is not a “worker” under subsection (28) is not covered by workers’ compensation, regardless of whether the person is a statutory independent contractor.

Blackledge Furniture Co. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1994-04-14(28)

Because it is undisputed that the installers were not “workers” under ORS 656.005(28), whether or not they are statutory “independent contractors” under ORS 670.600 is not determinative of their workers’ compensation coverage. DIF did not err in making its determination under ORS 656.005(28).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Worker status under subsection (28) is determined before applying the independent-contractor definition in ORS 670.600.

Lake Oswego Hunt, Inc. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1994-04-14(28)

DIF correctly made its determination initially under ORS 656.005(28), without reference to ORS 670.600.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Former subsection (27) requires use of the nature of the work test to determine worker status when the right to control test is inconclusive.

Cy Investment, Inc. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1994-06-22(27)

Because the “right to control” test is inconclusive, DIF erred in basing its determination that the dancers were not “workers” on that test. We remand for DIF to apply the “nature of the work” test and to make additional findings, if necessary.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Under former subsection (27), worker status depends on the right to control the person's work; if that test is inconclusive, the relative nature of the work test applies.

Bob Wilkes Falling, Inc. v. Filings of the National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1994-07-27(27)

In analyzing whether NWT and LPL were under the “direction and control” of Wilkes, we apply the “right to control” test. If that test proves to be inconclusive, we apply the “relative nature of the work” test.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(28) requires both remuneration for services and an employer’s direction and control for a person to be a worker.

Independent Contractors v. Construction Contractors Board · filed 1995-07-26(28)

Under that definition, two elements must exist before a person is considered a worker: the person must engage to furnish services for a remuneration, and the person must be subject to the direction and control of an employer.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) defines a worker using the right to control test; if that test is inconclusive, the nature of the work test determines worker status.

Trabosh v. Washington County · filed 1996-04-17(30)

The court first applies the right to control test; if that test proves inconclusive, it moves to the nature of the work test.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

When the right-to-control test is inconclusive, the relative nature of the work determines whether a person is a worker under the statutory definition.

Coghill v. National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1998-09-02(30)

Because the “right to control” test is inconclusive, we look to the relative nature of the work. ... DCBS concluded that, under the nature of the work test, the installers were workers and not independent contractors. We agree.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) defines a worker by whether the employer has the right to direct and control the person’s work, even if it does not exercise that control.

Oregon Drywall Systems, Inc. v. Filings of the National Council on Compensation Insurance · filed 1998-04-29(30)

As defined in ORS 656.005(30), a worker is a person who engages to furnish services for remuneration, “subject to the direction and control of an employer.” It is the right to control, not actual control, that is dispositive.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) defines who is a worker; courts apply the right to control test first and use the relative nature of the work test only if the first test is inconclusive.

Stamp v. Department of Consumer & Business Services · filed 2000-08-23(30)

We must first determine whether the individual is a "worker" as defined under ORS 656.005(30). To make that determination, we apply the "right to control" test. If, and only if, that test is inconclusive, we apply the "relative nature of the work" test.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

A worker under § 656.005(30) furnishes services for remuneration and is subject to the employer’s direction and control.

Demilly v. Butler Amusements, Inc. · filed 2001-10-03(30)

The facts show that plaintiff agreed to furnish his services to Butler and that Butler in turn accepted those services. Butler also attempted to pay plaintiff $36 by giving it to his brother. That is sufficient to satisfy the first statutory element of furnishing services for remuneration. ... Because three of the four factors weigh in favor of finding that Butler had the right to direct and control plaintiff, we hold that the second statutory element is also satisfied.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(30)’s engagement requirement can be satisfied by an express or implied contract for hire.

Montez v. Roloff Farms, Inc. · filed 2001-08-01(30)

A contract for hire that satisfies the “engagement” requirement of ORS 656.005(30) may be based on either an express or implied contract.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) requires some employer control over the method and details of the work; when control exists in some respects but not others, worker status also depends on the nature of the work.

Rubalcaba v. Nagaki Farms, Inc. · filed 2002-04-11(30)

Rather, Woody establishes that, in situations in which there is some evidence suggesting that an employer retained the right to control the method and details of a claimant’s work, a conclusion about the claimant’s status depends on the analytical factors relevant to both tests. ... In sum, we hold that the board erred in concluding that claimant in this case is not a “worker” under ORS 656.005(30).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(30)'s definition of “worker” does not require a person to choose freely to enter or leave the work relationship.

Wallowa County v. Fordice · filed 2002-05-01(30)

Indeed, ORS 656.005(30) explicitly excludes from the definition of “workers” those “whose services are performed as an inmate or ward of a state institution or as part of the eligibility requirements for a general or public assistant grant.” Had the definition of “worker” inherently included a volitional requirement, this part of the statute would have been unnecessary.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Under § 656.005(30), the nature of the work test does not apply when the putative employer is not engaged in a business.

Bovet v. Law · filed 2007-08-01(30)

The ALJ applied the nature of the work test without recognizing that the very premise of the test — proper distribution of the costs of doing business — does not exist here, where the Bovets were not engaged in a business. ... Rather, because the evidence is inconclusive under the right to control test and the nature of the work test is inapplicable to this situation, claimant failed to carry his burden of establishing that he is a worker within the meaning of the statute.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(30) defines a worker as someone who agrees to provide services for remuneration subject to an employer’s right to direct and control those services.

DCBS v. Clements · filed 2010-12-29(30)

The statute, we have explained, has two components: (1) "an agreement between the claimant and the employer that the employer will provide remuneration for the claimant's services," and (2) "the employer's right to direct and control the services the claimant provides."
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

When there is some evidence of a right to control a person’s work, determining whether that person is a worker under § 656.005(30) requires both the right to control and nature of the work tests.

SAIF Corp. v. Department of Consumer & Business Services Insurance Division · filed 2012-06-06(30)

Because there was some evidence that NWCT had a right to control the performance of its instructors, production designers, and actors, DCBS erred when it failed to apply the “nature of the work” test in addition to the “right of control” test to decide whether individuals in those positions were “workers” and “subject workers” for whom NWCT was required to provide workers’ compensation insurance.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An applicant who performs actual work during a pre-employment evaluation can be a worker because the law implies an obligation to pay for that work.

Gadalean v. SAIF Corp. · filed 2017-06-14(30)

Thus, claimant was “engage [d] to furnish services for a remuneration” under ORS 656.005(30), and the board erred in concluding otherwise.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A person invited to orientation and paid training may qualify as a worker before completing the orientation.

Meyers v. SAIF Corp. (In re Meyers) · filed 2018-04-18(30)

In light of the evidence in the record and the board's findings, we conclude that the board's conclusion that claimant was not a "worker" at the time of her injury within the meaning of ORS 656.005(30) is not supported by substantial evidence or substantial reason.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(30) requires a person furnishing services to reasonably expect remuneration; a legal entitlement to pay alone does not make that person a worker.

Gadalean v. Saif Corp. (In re Comp. of Gadalean) · filed 2019-04-18(30)

The statute's requirement that a claimant have reasonably expected remuneration is at odds with an application of an implied-in-law contract that would make a claimant a "worker" based entirely on an entitlement to remuneration, in the absence of any expectation of that benefit.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A person invited to an unpaid orientation immediately before paid training can be a worker before completing the orientation if she reasonably expects to be paid for the training.

Randall v. SAIF · filed 2020-10-07(30)

Thus, as distinct from Gadalean, at the time claimant arrived for the orientation, she had a reasonable expectation that she would be paid for the training.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Employer definition and benefit eligibility

Section 656.005(14) defines the class of employers considered for Second Injury Fund benefits, but does not require benefits for every employer in that class.

Crouse v. Workmen's Compensation Board · filed 1976-09-20(14)

The establishment of eligibility criteria within the statutory delegation does not conflict with the statutory definition of that class, employers, among whom eligibility is established. ORS 656.005(14) defines "employer” as used in ORS 656.622. The administrative rule determines which among that class receive benefits.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Under § 656.005(14), employers who share control need not each control every aspect of an employee’s work.

Spore v. Camac Veneer, Inc. · filed 1983-04-13(14)

It also follows that, where there is mutual control, neither of the two employers can singly control everything the employe does.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(13) defines an employer by a contract to pay remuneration and the right to direct and control a worker’s services; limited supervisory direction does not itself establish an employment relationship.

Osborn v. CRANE EQUIPMENT MANUFACTURING CORPORATION · filed 1995-06-21(13)

An “employer,” for purposes of ORS chapter 656, is defined in ORS 656.005(13) as “any person * * * who contracts to pay a remuneration for and secures the right to direct and control the services of any person.” ... The evidence supports the trial court’s determination that NMC’s involvement with plaintiff did not give rise to an employment relationship with NMC.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A supervisor who hires and directs a worker on an employer’s behalf does not thereby become that worker’s employer.

Vestal v. Barrett Business Services · filed 2000-01-05(13)

As Barrett points out, however, those actions are consistent with the Board’s conclusion that Allen acted as Jackson’s supervisory employee rather than on his own account. ... The evidence supports the Board’s conclusions, and the Board adequately explained how it reached them.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(13)(a) includes a trustee within the definition of an employer, allowing a trust to employ workers separately from its creator.

US Bancorp v. Mulrooney · filed 2005-03-02(13)(a)

Consequently, the trustee of the Bula Buck Arveson Trust — an entity legally distinct from Bula Arveson individually — had the ability to hire and retain its own employees; and the trust (again, as distinct from Arveson individually) had the ability to secure workers’ compensation coverage for those employees. See ORS 656.005(13)(a) (“[e]mployer” includes, inter alia, “trustee”).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Law changed since Same change as noted above.

Section 656.005(13)(a) makes the right to direct and control a factor in employer status; a factual dispute about the right to discharge a worker can preclude summary judgment on that status.

Brehm v. CATERPILLAR, INC. · filed 2010-05-12(13)(a)

An employer is defined as “any person * * * who contracts to pay a remuneration for and secures the right to direct and control the services of any person.” ORS 656.005(13)(a). ... In our view, the parties’ submissions create a genuine issue of material fact regarding the nature and scope of defendant’s right to discharge Brehm.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(13)(a) defines “employer” for chapter 656 to include public employers, including school districts.

Preble v. Centennial Sch. Dist. No. 287 · filed 2019-06-26(13)(a)

The law then provides, in ORS 656.005(13)(a), that the term "employer" as used in chapter 656, means "any person, including receiver, administrator, executor or trustee, and the state, state agencies, counties, municipal corporations, school districts and other public corporations or political subdivisions, who contracts to pay a remuneration for and secures the right to direct and control the services of any person." Thus, when ORS 656.019(2)(a) states a limitation period that applies to actions against an "employer," that expressly includes public employers.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A temporary service provider’s client is not the employer of the workers it supplies; an implied-in-fact contract can establish the client relationship.

Employer Solutions Staffing Group v. SAIF · filed 2025-09-04(13)(b)

“[T]he client of a temporary service provider is not the employer of temporary workers provided by the temporary service provider.” ORS 656.005(13)(b) (2023), amended by HB 2800 § 24 (2025). ... The conclusion that BRF was a client of ESSG through an implied-in-fact contract also leads us to reject the remainder of ESSG’s arguments. There was no employer-employee relationship between decedent and BRF for several reasons.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Definition of compensation

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation as benefits provided for a compensable injury; it does not include attorney fees for legal services.

Dotson v. Bohemia, Inc. · filed 1986-07-02(9)

We think that the legislature intended “benefits * * * provided for a compensable injury” to refer to those set forth in ORS 656.202 to ORS 656.258. These include payments for a worker’s death, disability, medical services and vocational assistance. Attorney fees are provided for legal services, and not for a compensable injury, and are addressed in ORS 656.382 to ORS 656.388.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) distinguishes an award of compensation or benefits from a finding that a condition is compensable.

Shoulders v. SAIF Corp. · filed 1985-05-22(9)

A referee’s finding of compensability is not the same as an award of compensation, or benefits, as the term is defined by ORS 656.005(9).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) includes chiropractic treatment within compensation when the treatment is related to the injury and is reasonable and necessary.

State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Belcher · filed 1984-12-19(9)

The Board reasoned that chiropractic treatments are a form of compensation to which claimant is entitled if he establishes that the treatments are related to his injury and that they are reasonable and necessary for treatment of the condition resulting therefrom. ORS 656.005(9); 656.245(1); ... We agree with the Board’s reasoning in Dykstra.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) includes medical services expenses within the definition of compensation.

State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Mathews · filed 1982-01-25(9)

On appeal, SAIF first contends that because ORS 656.313(1) speaks in terms of “compensation to the claimant,” payments to medical services providers are not compensation within the meaning of the former rule. We indicated the contrary in ... Compensation, as defined by ORS 656.005(9), includes medical expenses of the type at issue here: “ ‘Compensation” includes all benefits, including medical services, provided for a compensable injury ***.’”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) includes medical services in the definition of compensation.

Dethlefs v. Hyster Co. · filed 1983-07-19(9)

Medical services are included in the term “compensation.” ORS 656.005(9).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation to include medical expenses for a compensable injury.

Wisherd v. Paul Koch Volkswagen, Inc. · filed 1977-02-14(9)

Compensation, as defined by ORS 656.005(9),includes medical expenses of the type at issue here: " 'Compensation’ includes all benefits, including ... medical services, provided for a compensable injury ‡ ”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9)’s definition of compensation is not strictly binding when context requires a different meaning; compensation includes interim payments under ORS 656.262.

Jones v. Emanuel Hospital · filed 1977-10-18(9)

However, the definitions in ORS 656.005 are not meant to be strictly binding in all situations. ... In the context of ORS 656.262, the word "compensation” includes what we have called interim compensation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation to include medical services.

State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Parker · filed 1982-12-22(9)

“Compensation” includes medical services. ORS 656.005(9).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation under Oregon’s workers’ compensation law to exclude VA disability benefits.

American Building Maintenance v. McLees · filed 1983-09-21(9)

We are left with the conclusion that ORS 656.222 applies only to successive awards for disability for injuries to the same scheduled member — those enumerated in ORS 656.214(2) through (4) — when both awards are made pursuant to ORS ch 656, the Oregon Workers’ Compensation law. Our reading of ORS 656.005(9) confirms that conclusion. Accordingly, we hold that “compensation” as that term is used in ORS 656.222, does not include disability benefits received from the VA.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation as benefits paid under Oregon’s workers’ compensation laws; prior VA disability benefits do not qualify.

American Building Maintenance v. McLees · filed 1984-04-17(9)

Under ORS 656.005(9) “compensation” means benefits for a compensable injury as well as benefits payable to particular individuals. The statute uses the words “subject worker.” We interpret this to mean a worker who is subject to the provisions of the Oregon workers’ compensation laws and who is to be paid by a direct responsibility employer or the State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation pursuant to the Oregon workers’ compensation laws. Applying this interpretation to ORS 656.222, we conclude, and now hold, that the provisions of this statute requiring that an award of compensation for a subsequent disability shall be made with regard to the combined effect of his injuries and his past receipt of money for such disabilities refers only to previous compensation paid a worker under the Oregon workers’ compensation system.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation to include medical services for a compensable injury.

Shoulders v. SAIF Corp. · filed 1986-03-25(9)

Thus, when a claim is determined to be compensable, medical services must be provided and, under ORS 656.005(9), medical services are defined as compensation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) defines compensation to include all benefits provided to a worker for a compensable condition, including temporary total disability.

Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. Hughes · filed 1987-05-06(9)

“Compensation” under chapter 656 consists of all the benefits provided to a worker for a compensable condition, including temporary total disability. ORS 656.005(9).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(9) includes vocational rehabilitation assistance within compensation.

Nicholson v. Blachly · filed 1987-08-05(9)

Compensation includes vocational rehabilitation assistance. ORS 656.005(9); ORS 656.340(3).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

A payment under a disputed claim settlement that leaves the claim denied is not “compensation” under the statutory definition.

Howard v. Liberty Northwest Insurance · filed 1988-12-07(8)

“Compensation” is defined as “all benefits, including medical services, provided for a compensable injury to a subject worker or the worker’s beneficiaries by an insurer or self-insured employer pursuant to this chapter.” ORS 656.005(8). (Emphasis supplied.) ... On the merits, as we have stated, the payment to which claimant was entitled under the agreement is not “compensation.”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) excludes an insurer’s reimbursement to a private health insurer from “compensation” because the payment is not made to the worker.

Lloyd v. Employee Benefits Insurance · filed 1989-05-17(8)

That construction ignores the limiting phrase, “to a subject worker.” The payments by EBI to Bankers Life were not made to claimant and thus were not “compensation” within the meaning of ORS 656.005 (8).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines “compensation” to include both permanent and temporary disability benefits.

Trice v. Tektronix, Inc. · filed 1990-11-28(8)

Unlike its predecessor, which solely concerned permanent partial disability, the current version of ORS 656.218 expressly refers to “compensation,” ORS 656.218(1), which includes both permanent disability and temporary disability benefits. See ORS 656.005(8).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) includes medical services resulting from an accepted condition within compensation.

Stratis v. Georgia-Pacific Corp. · filed 1989-05-24(8)

Compensation, however, includes medical services resulting from the accepted condition. ORS 656.005(8).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation to exclude attorney fees.

Harrington v. Board of Trustees · filed 1990-03-14(8)

However, ORS 656.027(6) provides for equivalent “compensation.” That term does not include attorney fees.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation to include disability benefits and medical services provided for a compensable injury.

Buddenberg v. Southcoast Lumber · filed 1993-05-06(8)

Thus, “compensation” encompasses benefits paid for death, ORS 656.204, permanent total disability, ORS 656.206, temporary total disability, ORS 656.210, temporary partial disability, ORS 656.212, and permanent partial disability, ORS 656.214, as well as medical services, ORS 656.245.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Under § 656.005(8), noncompensable palliative care is not compensation.

Hathaway v. Health Future Enterprises · filed 1994-12-02(8)

We conclude that claimant’s request for a hearing regarding insurer’s disapproval of noncompensable palliative care is not a “matter[] in which a worker’s right to receive compensation, or the amount thereof, [is] directly in issue,” within the meaning of ORS 656.704(3), because noncompensable palliative care is not “compensation” within the meaning of ORS 656.005(8).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Noncompensable palliative care is not compensation under § 656.005(8), and the director’s disapproval does not change that status.

Nicholson v. Salem Area Transit & Saif Corp. · filed 1994-12-02(8)

Nothing in the text suggests that disapproval by the director changes the noncompensable character of the requested care.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) excludes a penalty under ORS 656.268(4)(g) from “compensation” because the penalty is imposed to penalize the employer, not to compensate the worker for an injury.

Nero v. City of Tualatin · filed 1996-07-31(8)

Furthermore, a penalty under ORS 656.268(4)(g) is “provided” to penalize the employer, and not to compensate the claimant for his or her injury. Therefore, the penalty here is not “compensation” out of which attorney fees may be paid under ORS 656.386(2), and the Board correctly denied attorney fees on that basis.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) treats a lump sum payment for past, present, and future benefits of an accepted injury claim as compensation.

Turo v. SAIF Corp. · filed 1994-12-14(8)

Under the wording of the CDA, the $15,000 paid to claimant was a lump sum payment of past, present and future benefits of an accepted injury claim. We agree with the Board that the payments are “compensation.”
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) treats medical services as compensation for an injury.

Rogers v. Hewlett-Packard Co. · filed 1998-04-22(8)

Because medical services are themselves compensation for the injury, ORS 656.005(8), an actual worsening that requires only medical services could justify an aggravation claim under this section.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation as benefits provided for a worker’s compensable injury; rights to compensation under that definition are the claimant’s rights.

Rash v. McKinstry Co. · filed 1999-04-28(8)

ORS 656.005(8) defines compensation for purposes of the Workers' Compensation Statutes as including "all benefits, including medical services, provided for a compensable injury to a subject worker or the worker's beneficiaries by an insurer or self-insured employer pursuant to this chapter." The phrase "all rights to compensation" in ORS 656.236(1)(a) by definition relates only to claimant's rights.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(6) treats an employer’s knowledge of a compensable injury as a workers’ compensation claim, even before the worker gives written notice to perfect it.

McPhail v. Milwaukie Lumber Co. · filed 2000-02-23(6)

ORS 656.005(6) defines a workers’ compensation claim as “a written request for compensation from a subject worker or someone on the worker’s behalf, or any compensable injury of which a subject employer has notice or knowledge” (Emphasis added.) Thus, if Milwau-kie Lumber knew that plaintiff had an occupational disease, then that knowledge constituted a claim, even if plaintiff had not given the written notice that was required to perfect it.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation as benefits provided to a worker or beneficiary and excludes an insurer’s lien from that definition.

Rash v. McKinstry Co. · filed 2001-03-15(8)

Thus, by definition, the phrase “all rights to compensation” in ORS 656.236(l)(a) relates only to a worker’s right to benefits and does not include an insurer’s statutory lien, which is a benefit to the insurer.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) does not treat reclassification of an injury as compensation when the order awards no benefits.

Express Services, Inc. v. Conradson · filed 2002-04-10(8)

While the reclassification from nondisabling to disabling created the possibility that there might be compensation when the claim was closed, no compensation was awarded by the reconsideration order, and therefore an award of compensation was not upheld.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)’s definition of compensation includes the costs and related services an insurer must pay for a worker to attend an insurer medical examination, even after claim denial.

Darling v. Johnson Controls Battery Group, Inc. · filed 2003-06-12(8)

And such benefits plainly satisfy the definition of compensation. See ORS 656.005(8).
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) includes medical services in compensation but excludes attorney fees paid to a claimant’s attorney.

Liberty Northwest Insurance v. Watkins · filed 2008-12-24(8)

Compensation is defined in ORS 656.005(8) as including all benefits, including medical services, provided for a compensable injury to a claimant by an insurer or employer. Because an insurer or employer does not provide attorney fees to a claimant and instead provides attorney fees to an attorney, attorney fees are not compensation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation to include benefits for a compensable injury; penalties and attorney fees are not compensation.

Cayton v. Safelite Glass Corp. · filed 2013-06-19(8)

“Compensation” includes “all benefits, including medical services, provided for a compensable injury to a subject worker or the worker’s beneficiaries by an insurer or self-insured employer pursuant to this chapter.” ORS 656.005(8). It is well settled that penalties and attorney fees are not “compensation,” and that attorney fees are not awarded for prevailing on an issue of penalties and attorney fees.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8) defines compensation to exclude penalties.

Cayton v. Safelite Glass Corp. · filed 2013-09-11(8)

As we recently reiterated in another case arising from claimant’s claim, penalties are not “compensation” under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Personal comfort doctrine

An injury from an on-premises personal comfort activity is compensable for a resident employee continuously on call if the employer expressly or impliedly allowed the activity.

Wallace v. Green Thumb, Inc. · filed 1983-02-16(8)(a)

We hold that the Clark test applies to injuries from on-premises personal comfort activities of resident employees who are on call continuously. An injury is compensable if the employer has expressly or impliedly allowed the conduct in question.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

An employer’s acquiescence in a workplace personal comfort activity continues until it communicates a new prohibition to the affected workers, so an injury during that activity can be compensable.

U. S. Plywood v. Clark · filed 1983-05-11(8)(a)

Because the employer acquiesced in the practice before the charger was added, that acquiescence continued after the addition of the charger in the absence of the employer’s communication to the graveyard shift of the new prohibition. We conclude that the preponderance of the evidence supports the conclusion that no such communication to that shift occurred here; therefore, the employer’s acquiescence in the use of the press for heating lunches on the graveyard shift continued. Accordingly, the claim is compensable.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(8)(a) excludes injuries from personal comfort conduct so unreasonable that it cannot fairly be considered incidental to employment.

Clark v. U. S. Plywood · filed 1979-02-06(8)(a)

ORS 656.005(8)(a) provides that only injuries which arise out of and in the course of covered employment are compensable. ... Unreasonableness of the employee’s conduct in pursuit of personal comfort must be determined in light of all the circumstances. ... The conduct from which Clark’s fatal injuries resulted was so unreasonable that it cannot fairly be considered incidental to his employment.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

For on-premises injuries during personal comfort activities, Section 656.005(8)(a) asks whether the employer expressly or impliedly allowed the worker’s conduct.

Clark v. U. S. Plywood · filed 1980-01-02(8)(a)

We believe that the compensability of on-premises injuries sustained while engaged in activities for the personal comfort of the employee can best be determined by a test which asks: Was the conduct expressly or impliedly allowed by the employer?
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Definition of claim

A medical report identifying a disease does not constitute a claim without notice that the worker alleges the disease arose from employment.

U. S. Bakery v. Duval · filed 1987-06-24(7), (8)(a)

Without an allegation that the disease arose from work, the medical report did not constitute a claim. ORS 656.005(7); ORS 656.005(8)(a). The absence of notice to employer that claimant was asserting that the disease arose from his employment prevents the medical reports of Paget’s Disease from constituting a claim.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Section 656.005(7) does not treat a request for compensation that has already been acted on and paid as a continuing claim for a new hearing.

Reed v. Del Chemical Corp. · filed 1979-06-11(7)

We conclude from this definition that petitioner no longer has "a claim” under ORS 656.283. Petitioner long ago acted under the first provision by making a request for compensation and did, in fact, receive compensation.
Read the full opinion on CourtListener →

Notes 1–150 of 521, oldest cases first.

280 more cases cited this section only in passing

These cases mention the section without interpreting it (a string cite, a footnote, background). Listed so you can see the full citation record, not just the annotated rulings.

Bakker v. Baza'r, Inc., the discussion of § 656.005(12) is in a dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Norgard v. Rawlinsons & New System Laundry, the court decides whether the insurer’s refusal was unreasonable under ORS 656.262(8), not a rule of ORS 656.005(9). opinion →
Tucker v. Jack Ensley Company, the court treats the distinction as a factual issue and does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005(8)(a). opinion →
Kempf v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the reference appears only in a dissent, not in this court’s decision. opinion →
Botts v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., the court decides coverage under a private insurance policy. Its footnote mentions the workers’ compensation statute but does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
Williams v. Burns International Security Services, Inc., this court decides the meaning of compensation under ORS 656.262; its discussion of ORS 656.005(9) identifies the contrasting definition construed in an earlier decision. opinion →
Knoetzel v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the express application of this section is in the dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Lane v. Volkswagen, this is a dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Neely v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the citation appears in a hypothetical example, not in the court’s decision on this claim. opinion →
Logue v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the court decided claim closure under ORS 656.268; it mentioned the later amendment to ORS 656.005 only to explain why its definition did not apply. opinion →
Perez v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance, the court quotes § 656.005 only as an example of statutory wording while deciding what ORS 743.800 requires; it does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
Wright v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the court decides the firefighters’ rules in ORS 656.802; it mentions ORS 656.005(8) to describe the law considered in Weller. opinion →
Bell v. Hartman, the court decides eligibility for interim compensation under ORS 656.262, using an existing finding that the claimant was not a worker; it does not decide the meaning or scope of ORS 656.005(31). opinion →
Austin v. State Accident Insurance Fund, the court cited § 656.005(21) as a later-added definition but decided the claim under the law in effect at the time. opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Broadway Cab Co., the section appears only in a description of rulings below; this court decided jurisdiction without deciding whether the drivers were subject workers. opinion →
Hedlund v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court quotes the definition while deciding entitlement to temporary total disability; it does not decide the definition’s meaning or scope. opinion →
Hewitt v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court cites § 656.005(6) as background while deciding the constitutionality and remedy of ORS 656.226; it does not decide the definition's meaning or application. opinion →
Schlecht v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the references to § 656.005 appear in the board’s reasoning and the claimant’s argument; the court does not adopt either as a decision about that section. opinion →
Employment Division v. Surata Soy Foods, Inc., the court recites this definition as background but decides whether the members received remuneration under ORS 657.015. opinion →
State Ex Rel. Adult & Family Services Division v. Bradley, the court cites § 656.005(6) as background while deciding the limitation period for filiation proceedings; it does not decide this section’s rules. opinion →
Argonaut Insurance v. King, the court expressly declined to decide the compensable-injury issue under § 656.005 and ruled only on the notice requirement under § 656.295. opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Maddox, the court mentions § 656.005 as background but decides whether § 656.313 permits a disability determination while compensability is on appeal. opinion →
United Pacific Reliance Insurance v. Banks, the court decides which insurer is responsible, but does not decide the meaning or application of § 656.005(19)’s definition of “party.” opinion →
Carr v. SAIF Corp., the court treats the injury’s status under § 656.005(8) as undisputed and does not decide the definition’s meaning or scope. opinion →
McGarrah v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the references to § 656.005 appear only in Justice Lent’s separate concurrence, not in the court’s decision. opinion →
Love v. Northwest Exploration Co., the court decides whether ORS 656.029 requires an actual employer-employe relationship; it does not construe the definition in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Poole v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court assumed the request was a claim under § 656.005 for the sake of argument; it did not decide that definition. opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Gatti, the court decides the repayment rule under ORS 656.313; it does not decide any rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Haret v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court cites § 656.005(8)(a) as background while deciding whether interest is available; it does not decide the definition in that section. opinion →
Johnson v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court cites § 656.005’s definition as background but decides when an occupational disease injury occurs and whether the Occupational Disease Law applies retroactively. opinion →
Adsitt v. Clairmont Water District, the court expressly declined to decide the meaning of § 656.005(8)(a) and resolved the occupational-disease claim under a different provision. opinion →
North Side Lumber Co. v. Industrial Indemnity Co. (In Re North Side Lumber Co.), the court cites the definition as background but decides the validity of a lien under other provisions; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Casteel, the only mention of ORS 656.005 appears in quoted statutory text, not in this court's own decision about that section. opinion →
Linday v. SAIF Corp., the court accepted a medical conclusion and upheld claim closure; it did not decide the meaning or scope of § 656.005(17). opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Noffsinger, the court decides how to apply the occupational disease statute, ORS 656.802; it uses ORS 656.005(8)(a) for comparison. opinion →
Colvin v. Industrial Indemnity, the court leaves application of § 656.005(8)(a) for the Court of Appeals to decide on remand. opinion →
City of Portland v. Thomas, the court decides the scope of ORS 656.029. It mentions ORS 656.005(21) only as a possible definition and does not decide its meaning. opinion →
Portland Mailing Services, Inc. v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court decides whether SAIF’s premium demand is reviewable, but does not decide any rule in the definitions section. The citation to § 656.005(12) appears only in quoted statutory text identifying the director. opinion →
Runyan v. Pickerd, the court decided tort vicarious liability and expressly declined to decide the workers’ compensation question governed by § 656.005. opinion →
Hunter v. Chang, the court decides whether interim compensation must be paid pending review under ORS 656.313. Section 656.005 appears only in the quoted text of that statute; the court does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Gwynn v. State Accident Insurance Fund Corp., the court uses § 656.005’s definitions as background while deciding entitlement to additional compensation under § 656.273; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Nolan, the court quotes the definition for context but decides whether the employer could stop paying benefits awarded by a determination order, not a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. Hughes, the court decides what counts as compensation under ORS 656.313, rather than construing the definition in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. Piwowar, the court mentions § 656.005 only as background and does not decide its definitions; its ruling concerns payment obligations under other sections. opinion →
Scarino v. Saif Corp., the court takes beneficiary status as an agreed premise and decides the lien calculation under ORS 656.593; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Palmer v. Bi-Mart Company, the reference to § 656.005(7)(a) appears in defendants’ argument. The court decided the effect of § 656.018’s exclusivity provision, not the definition in § 656.005. opinion →
State Accident Insurance Fund Corp. v. Zorich, the parties agreed on the payment’s status as compensation; the court decided jurisdiction under other sections, not the meaning of ORS 656.005(8). opinion →
Liberty Northwest Ins. Corp. v. Short, the court quotes § 656.005(7)(a) as context but decides how the waiting period in § 656.210(3) applies to an aggravation claim. opinion →
Wacker Siltronic Corp. v. Satcher, the court applied ORS 656.313(4)'s definition for pending review; it did not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Green Thumb, Inc. v. Basl, the court recites the definition of medically stationary as background but decides whether the employer’s denial of current treatment was impermissibly prospective, not a rule of § 656.005(17). opinion →
Triad Painting Co. v. Blair, the opinion reports an Oregon appellate court’s reading of § 656.005(8)(a) as a comparison; this court decides Colorado law. opinion →
Kerns v. Guido-Lee, the court did not decide the definition in ORS 656.005(27); it held the cross-petition raising that issue moot. opinion →
Toole ex rel. Professional Liability Fund v. EBI Companies, the court decides the scope of the third-party recovery provisions. It cites § 656.005(7)(a) only in a footnote explaining the facts of an earlier case; it does not decide that definition’s scope. opinion →
Power Master, Inc. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance, the court recites the definition as background but decides the workers’ geographic employment status under ORS 656.126, without construing section 656.005(25). opinion →
Lasiter v. SAIF Corp., the citation accompanies a reported agency determination, not this court’s own decision about § 656.005. opinion →
Liberty Northwest Ins. Corp. v. Spurgeon, the only discussion of § 656.005(7)(a) appears in the dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Tri-Met, Inc. v. Odighizuwa, the court decides whether supervisors’ knowledge can be imputed when assessing an unreasonable denial; it does not decide the meaning or application of § 656.005(7). opinion →
Northwest Greentree, Inc. v. Cervantes-Ochoa, the court cites the definition as background but decides the worker’s status by applying the permanent employment relation test governing temporary work across state lines; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005(26). opinion →
Weinberg v. ARA Vending Co., this court quotes the Oregon definition while describing a decision by the Supreme Court of Oregon; it does not decide the meaning of § 656.005 itself. opinion →
Toole v. EBI Companies, the reference to § 656.005(7)(a) appears in a description of the Court of Appeals’ ruling, not this court’s own decision about that definition. opinion →
Fields v. Jantec, Inc., the court decides the scope of immunity under ORS 656.018(1); it cites ORS 656.005(13) without deciding a rule of that definitions section. opinion →
Colclasure v. Washington County School District No. 48-J, the court decides the meaning of ORS 656.313(4); ORS 656.005 appears only in the quoted text of that provision. opinion →
McLeod v. Tecorp International, Ltd., the court cites the section as an analogy while deciding the meaning of an insurance policy exclusion; it does not decide the section’s own rules. opinion →
Bird v. Bohemia, Inc., the court decides which version of ORS 656.313 applies; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Normandeau v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., the court cites the definition as background but decides the claim’s classification and aggravation period under other sections. opinion →
Fields v. Jantec, Inc., the court cites this definition as context for deciding immunity under ORS 656.018; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Allen, these definitions appear only in a concurring opinion; the court's decision addresses attorney fees under ORS 656.386(1). opinion →
Port Blakely Tree Farms v. National Council on Compensation Insurance, the section-specific determination was DIF’s; the court did not itself decide the definition in § 656.005(28). opinion →
McLeod v. Tecorp International, Ltd., this court decides the meaning of an insurance-policy exclusion, not the definition in § 656.005(7)(a). opinion →
Nero v. City of Tualatin, the court uses § 656.005’s definitions to decide how the penalty provision in § 656.268(4)(g) applies; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005 itself. opinion →
Leo v. Cornucopia Restaurant, No. The court mentions the Oregon provision as a comparison while deciding how New Mexico law treats preexisting impairments. opinion →
Moustachetti v. State of Oregon, the court used § 656.005(7)(a)'s definition to distinguish two injuries, but decided the scope of immunity under ORS 30.265(3)(a), not a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Fuls v. SAIF Corp., the court decides the scope of ORS 656.802; its references to ORS 656.005(7) recount the referee’s analysis and another court’s decision. opinion →
Roseburg Forest Products v. Owen, the court decides limits on impairment evidence under ORS 656.245 and ORS 656.268. Section 656.005 appears only as a cross-reference in the quoted text of ORS 656.268(7); the court does not decide its definitions. opinion →
Knutzen v. Department of Insurance & Finance, the court cites § 656.005(9) only to identify the agency’s new name; it does not decide this section’s rules. opinion →
Ellis Forest Improvements Co. v. Filings of the National Council on Compensation Insurance, the court mentions § 656.005(9) only to identify the agency's new name; it does not decide a rule under that section. opinion →
Agripac, Inc. v. Beem, the court expressly assumed without deciding whether Feinberg qualified under this definition; the footnote reports the Board’s view. opinion →
Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Purdy, the court mentions the department’s name in a footnote but does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Yokum, the citation to § 656.005(7)(a)(B) appears in AMA’s argument, which the court did not adopt. The court decided the application of § 656.308(1). opinion →
First Interstate v. Morris, the discussion citing § 656.005(12)(b) reports the referee’s reasoning, not this court’s decision. The court decides entitlement to benefits under § 656.245(3)(b)(B). opinion →
Ledbetter v. SAIF Corp., the opinion attributes the ORS 656.005(7)(a)(B) ruling to the Board; this court decided the scope of SAIF’s acceptance instead. opinion →
Broadway Deluxe Cab Co. v. National Council on Compensation Insurance, the discussion of § 656.005(28) quotes another court’s ruling. This court declined to decide the worker-status issue because it was unpreserved. opinion →
Reynolds Metals v. Mendenhall, the citation to § 656.005(7)(a)(B) appears only in the Board’s quoted ruling, which the court did not adopt. The court decided whether the partial denial was premature without construing this section. opinion →
Fuls v. SAIF Corp., the court decided how ORS 656.802 applies to a mental disorder; its reference to ORS 656.005(7) describes a hypothetical physical injury and does not decide that section’s rules. opinion →
Worthen v. Lumbermen's Underwriting Alliance, Inc., the court uses the definition to identify who may share in the wrongful death recovery, but decides the distribution rules under ORS 30.030 and ORS 656.593, not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Saif Corp. v. Jones, the court applies ORS 656.802(2). ORS 656.005(7) appears only as a reference within that provision; the court does not decide what the definition means or covers. opinion →
Bostick v. Ron Rust Drywall, the court quotes § 656.005(7)(c) to frame the claim classification, but expressly decides the rules of § 656.210(3). opinion →
Viking Industries, Inc. v. Crowell, the court orders reconsideration in light of the amendments but does not decide a rule of § 656.005(7). opinion →
Jackson v. Fred Meyer, Inc., the court did not decide a rule of § 656.005(7)(a); it cited the subsection while describing plaintiff’s argument, then declined to consider that contention. opinion →
Kenfield v. Health Future, Inc., the court decides jurisdiction over palliative care disputes; § 656.005 appears only in a quotation of another statute and is not construed. opinion →
Sanford v. Balteau Standard/SAIF Corp., the court quotes a reference to § 656.005(7) within § 656.308(1), but decides responsibility under § 656.308(1) without deciding any rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Lankford v. Copeland, the court decided the Board’s jurisdiction under ORS 656.704; it did not decide the worker definition in ORS 656.005(30). opinion →
Goodman v. Continental Casualty Co., the cited interpretation of § 656.005(7) is a ruling in Mathel that this court reports while deciding an insurance contract dispute. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Moe, the court cites the definition but decides whether the worker’s time outside Oregon was temporary under ORS 656.126(1), without construing § 656.005(28). opinion →
Saif Corp. v. Moe, the court decided temporary out-of-state coverage under ORS 656.126(1); it cited § 656.005(28) only for background on subject workers. opinion →
Kellow v. Tillamook County Creamery, the court leaves the amended section’s applicability for the Board to decide; it does not decide the section’s rules. opinion →
Jones v. Precision Castparts, the court finds substantial evidence for the Board’s medically stationary determination; the § 656.005(17) text appears only in a footnote, without an interpretation of that definition. opinion →
S-M Motor Co. v. Mather, the court quotes § 656.005(8) as context but decides whether § 656.313 stayed payment of medical expenses during review. opinion →
Nordstrom, Inc. v. Windom-Hall, the court says compensability is possible and remands for the Board to decide it in the first instance; it does not decide the section’s application. opinion →
Armstrong v. Rogue Federal Credit Union, the discussion of ORS 656.005(7)(a) is in the dissent; the majority decides the reinstatement requirement under ORS 659.415. opinion →
Marshall v. SAIF Corp., the court decides the corroborative-evidence requirement of ORS 656.128(3); it cites ORS 656.005(7) only to identify the components of compensability. opinion →
Counts v. International Paper Co., the court treated the compensable injury as established and decided whether the diagnostic services were payable under ORS 656.245(1)(a), without deciding a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Williams v. West Coast Grocery, the court upheld a finding about the evidence without deciding a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Roseburg Forest Products v. Boqua, the reference to § 656.005(9) recounts the reasoning in Shoulders; this court decides attorney fees under ORS 656.382(2). opinion →
Johnson v. Beaver Coaches, Inc., the discussion of ORS 656.005(7)(a) appears only in a dissent, not the court’s decision. opinion →
Granner v. Fairview Center, the cited conclusion is the Board’s ruling; this court decided the scope of SAIF’s acceptance. opinion →
Roseburg Forest Products v. Long, the court decided which insurer was responsible for a conceded compensable disease; it did not decide how § 656.005(7)(a) applies. opinion →
Garibay v. Barrett Business Services, the court decided the responsibility and disclaimer rules under ORS 656.308(2), not the meaning or application of ORS 656.005(24). opinion →
Garibay v. Barrett Business Services, the court decides the effect of the employer’s failure to disclaim responsibility under ORS 656.308(2), not the meaning or application of ORS 656.005(24). opinion →
Chard v. Beauty-N-Beast Salon, the reference to former ORS 656.005(27) describes a prior decision in a string citation, not this court’s decision about that section. opinion →
Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., the court decides the effect of amended ORS 656.018, using § 656.005(7)(a) only to identify the definition of compensable injury. opinion →
Sheridan v. Johnson Creek Market, the cited subsection appears in the Board’s ruling; this court expressly declined to address that ruling. opinion →
Farmers Insurance Group v. Huff, the court recites the definition of “claim” but decides entitlement to attorney fees under ORS 656.386(1), not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Carothers v. Robert Westlund Construction, the court cites § 656.005(26) as background but decides which test applies to an out-of-state injury under § 656.126; it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
State Farm Insurance v. Lyda, the direct citation reports the administrative law judge’s ruling, not this court’s decision. The court decides a dispute under ORS 656.262(6)(c). opinion →
Liberty Northwest Insurance v. Frymire, the discussion of ORS 656.005(2) appears only in a dissent, not in the court’s decision. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Frank, the court recites these definitions in a footnote but decides the requirements of ORS 656.273 and ORS 656.277, without construing § 656.005. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Falconer, the citation reports earlier Supreme Court decisions; this court decides ORS 656.802. opinion →
Liberty Northwest Ins. Corp. v. Koitzsch, the references to § 656.005 appear only in the dissent, not in the court's majority decision. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Belden, the court describes this section as background while deciding whether ORS 656.262(7)(b) applies retroactively; it does not decide a disputed rule under § 656.005. opinion →
Roseburg Forest Products v. Langley, the reference to ORS 656.005(7) appears only in the opinion’s quotation of ORS 656.245; the court makes no decision about § 656.005. opinion →
Marshall v. SAIF Corp., the court cites § 656.005(7)(a) for the definition of compensability, but decides the corroboration requirement under § 656.128(3), not a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Labor Ready, Inc. v. Mann, the court only assumed that the conversation was a claim under § 656.005(6); it did not decide that section's meaning or application. opinion →
Dibrito v. Adult & Family Services, the court affirms the Board’s factual assessment of medical testimony about the alleged injury; its citation to § 656.005(7)(a) frames the claim and it states no rule of that definition. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Coburn, the court decides the redetermination rule in ORS 656.268(9). ORS 656.005(7) appears only within the quoted text of that provision; the court does not decide its definition. opinion →
Shaw v. Steinfelds Products, Inc., the court decides the requirements of ORS 656.218 and 656.268; ORS 656.005(7) appears only within a quotation of ORS 656.268(4)(a), and the court does not decide its definition. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Reid, the court cites the definition and recounts a prior holding, but decides the meaning of “claim” in ORS 656.245(4). opinion →
Alcantar-Baca v. Liberty Northwest Insurance, the court cites § 656.005’s definitions as background; it decides the deadline and procedure under § 656.277, not a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Shaw v. PACCAR Wagner Mining, the court recites these definitions as background but decides the procedure for reclassification under ORS 656.277, without construing ORS 656.005. opinion →
Kaib's Roving R.Ph. Agency, Inc. v. Employment Department, this sentence reports another court’s ruling on § 656.005(28); this court’s decision concerns ORS 670.600. opinion →
Wyatt v. Body Imaging, P.C., the citation appears only in a dissent's list of statutory definitions; the court's majority does not decide anything about ORS 656.005. opinion →
Barrett Business Services v. Morrow, the court decides the effect of ORS 656.262 and ORS 656.308; it does not decide the meaning or application of a definition in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Closet Maid v. Sykes, the reference to § 656.005 appears in a dissent, not the court's decision. The dissent discusses it as a model for Florida law. opinion →
Franke v. Lamb-Weston, Inc., this statement is from the ALJ’s opinion quoted by the court, not the court’s own decision. opinion →
Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Woda, the court decided how ORS 656.802 classifies the condition; it did not construe a rule in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Blamires v. Clean Pak Systems, Inc., the court decided the acceptance requirement under ORS 656.262(6)(c), not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Koskela v. Willamette Industries, Inc., the court quotes the definition in a footnote but does not decide what § 656.005(17) means or requires. opinion →
SAIf Corp. v. Alton, the court cites the definition as background to the claimant’s burden of proof; it does not decide what § 656.005(19) means or whether particular findings satisfy it. opinion →
Roy v. McCormack Pacific Co., the court decides the claim-closure procedure under ORS 656.268; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
B & L Services, Inc. v. Coach USA, this discussion appears in a dissent and reports the Oregon Supreme Court’s ruling; it is not this court’s own decision about § 656.005. opinion →
Keller v. SAIF Corp., the only discussion of § 656.005(7) appears in the dissent, not the court's majority decision. opinion →
Fox v. Ross Bros., the court decides ORS 656.268(9). ORS 656.005(7) appears only in the quoted text of that provision; the court does not decide the definition’s meaning or application. opinion →
Menasha Corp. v. Crawford, the court quotes a definition from § 656.005 as background, but decides the retroactive benefit limit under § 656.262(4)(g). opinion →
Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society v. Bonham, the court mentions the definitions as context but decides the meaning and effect of ORS 656.262(7)(a), not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., the court cites § 656.005(7)(a) to describe the major contributing cause standard while deciding the constitutionality of the workers’ compensation exclusive remedy; it does not decide this definition’s scope. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Henwood, the court uses the phrase initial claim in § 656.005(24) as context but decides whether the occupational disease claim is a worsening claim under ORS 656.802 and ORS 656.273. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Custer, the court decided the scope of SAIF’s acceptance, not the meaning or application of the definitions in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Logsdon v. SAIF Corp., the only statement interpreting § 656.005(17) appears in the dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Allen v. Paula Insurance, the court decides the qualifying language of ORS 656.226; it does not construe the definition in ORS 656.005(5). opinion →
Stone v. Finnerty, the court decides immunity under ORS 30.265(3)(a), using § 656.005(7)(a) only to distinguish injury compensability from claim coverage. opinion →
Kaeo v. SAIF Corp., the court decides whether a denial is authorized under ORS 656.262; it does not decide the meaning or application of the definitions in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Lecangdam v. SAIF Corp., the court cites § 656.005(7) as context but decides what counts as the disease under § 656.802. opinion →
South Lane County School District 45-J3 v. Arms, the court decides claim closure under ORS 656.268, not the definitions in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Holdren v. SAIF Corp., the court quotes a reference to ORS 656.005(7) while deciding when disability payments are due; it does not decide the definition in that section. opinion →
Braden v. SAIF Corp., the court decided claim-processing requirements under ORS 656.262, not the meaning or application of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Smith v. Arizona Public Service Co., the court cites the Oregon definition to explain its interpretation of New Mexico law; it does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
Cloud v. Klamath County School District, the citation explains the insurer’s denial, while the court decides the scope of the insurer’s earlier acceptance. opinion →
Stockdale v. SAIF Corp., the court cites § 656.005(7)(a)(B) as background while deciding the timing of a denial under § 656.262(6)(c); it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Tri-Met, Inc. v. Wolfe, the citation to ORS 656.005(8) appears only in the dissent, not in the court’s majority decision. opinion →
Ake v. SAIF Corp., the court quotes the definition but decides the right to a hearing under ORS 656.283; it does not decide what ORS 656.005(6) means or covers. opinion →
Lederer v. Viking Freight, Inc., the court decides the authorization requirement in ORS 656.262(4), not any rule in ORS 656.005. Its references to ORS 656.005 identify the accepted condition and appear within a quotation of another statute. opinion →
Goddard v. Liberty Northwest Ins. Corp., ORS 656.005(30) appears only in the quoted text of ORS 656.278(2)(b); the court decides the availability of permanent disability benefits under ORS 656.278, not the definition of “worker.” opinion →
Boeing Company v. Cole, the court decided whether the board adequately explained its factual finding; it did not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Raytheon Constructors v. Tobola, the court expressly declined to decide the disability issue related to § 656.005(7)(c); its holding concerns § 656.802. opinion →
Vsetecka v. Safeway Stores, Inc., the court decided whether the notice satisfied ORS 656.265; it cited § 656.005(7)(a) only for the definition of compensable injury. opinion →
Randall v. Ocean View Construction Co., the court decides how ORS 656.027(7)(b) applies; it quotes a cross-reference to ORS 656.005(30) without deciding that definition's rules. opinion →
Morales v. SAIF Corp., the court recites these definitions as background but decides when disability benefits cease under ORS 656.325(5)(b). opinion →
Clelland v. Cilione, the court quotes § 656.005(21) in a footnote but remands for findings on whether the employer received timely notice under ORS 656.295(2); it does not decide the party definition. opinion →
Ahlberg v. SAIF Corp., the court decided how ORS 656.802(2)(b) applies; it did not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Dedera v. Raytheon Engineers & Constrs, the court quotes the definition as context but decides whether a change in attending physician ends temporary disability authorization under ORS 656.262(4)(g); it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Van Raden Industries v. Smith, the court decided that the board misread a medical opinion; it did not decide whether the condition met the definition in ORS 656.005(24)(b). opinion →
Bowen v. Fred Meyer Stores, the court expressly declined to decide whether the acromion met this section’s definition; it decided which causes must be considered under ORS 656.802. opinion →
Godfrey v. Fred Meyer Stores, the discussion of § 656.005(6) appears only in a concurrence; the majority decides the notice requirement under § 656.265. opinion →
Havi Group LP v. Fyock, the court decides the hearing-request rule in ORS 656.283(3). It cites ORS 656.005 for definitions but does not decide a rule of that section. opinion →
Port of Portland Ocip v. Cierniak, the court decided responsibility under ORS 656.802; ORS 656.005(7) appears only as a cross-reference in the quoted statute, and the court did not decide its definition. opinion →
Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Rich, the court uses § 656.005(7) as background for its decision about authority under § 656.704; it does not decide the definition or any exception in § 656.005(7). opinion →
Mize v. Comcast Corp-AT & T Broadband, the court uses § 656.005 as context while deciding the meaning of § 656.245(1); it does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Solberg v. TICE ELECTRIC, the discussion of ORS 656.005(7)(a) recounts a prior decision; this court decides the claim under ORS 656.802. opinion →
Nelson v. SAIF Corp., the citation to § 656.005(28) reports the board’s determination. The court does not decide the definition in that section. opinion →
Taylor v. Lane County, the court cited § 656.005(7) while deciding immunity under ORS 30.265(3)(a); it did not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Sorenson v. LaTour, the court recites the definition to describe the division’s finding, but decides Sorenson’s liability under ORS 656.029(1), not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Sprague, the court decides which medical-services standard in ORS 656.245(1)(a) applies; it cites § 656.005(7) for the definitions referenced by that standard, without deciding this section’s own rules. opinion →
Young v. Hermiston Good Samaritan, the court cites § 656.005(24)(a) as context while deciding what qualifies as a medical condition under § 656.267(1); it does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
In Re Fedex Ground Package System, Inc., Employment Practices Litigation, this statement is quoted from an Oregon Supreme Court decision; the opinion does not show this court making its own decision about § 656.005. opinion →
Carreon v. Commerce and Industry Ins. Co., the court did not decide the meaning of ORS 656.005(30); worker status was undisputed, and the decision concerned ORS 656.340(7). opinion →
Lloyd v. American Manufacturers Mutual Insurance, the court notes that § 656.005 does not define “closed” while deciding how claim closure works under ORS 656.278 and ORS 656.268; it does not decide a rule of this definitions section. opinion →
Behurst v. Crown Cork & Seal USA, Inc., the court quotes § 656.005(2) in response to an argument but decides who may benefit from an action under ORS 656.156(2) and ORS 30.020(1). opinion →
Interstate Metal v. Gibler, the court uses the nondisabling injury definition by analogy while deciding when an occupational disease became disabling; it does not decide a rule for injuries under § 656.005(7)(d). opinion →
Pilgrim v. Delta Airlines, Inc., the court expressly declined to decide whether the condition met § 656.005’s definition and resolved the claim under § 656.802. opinion →
Ds Waters of America, Lp v. Prabucki, the court decides whether the board’s findings and explanation are adequately supported; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Ds Waters of America, Lp v. Prabucki, the court reviewed the board's assessment of the evidence; it did not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Multnomah County v. Shults, the cited determinations about § 656.005 were the ALJ’s, not this court’s. opinion →
Halton Co. v. Nacoste, the court quotes a reference to § 656.005 in another statute but does not decide any rule of § 656.005. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Swartz, the court cites the definition in ORS 656.005(7) but decides the compensability of medical services under ORS 656.245(1)(a), without deciding a rule of the definitions section. opinion →
Mentor Graphics Corp. v. Velazquez, the court cited the definition in § 656.005(19), but the undisputed existence of objective findings was not what it decided. Its decision concerned proof of an occupational disease under § 656.802. opinion →
Washington County - Risk v. Jansen, the court uses this section as background while deciding how ORS 656.266 allocates the burden of proof; it does not decide a disputed rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Cortez v. Nacco Materials Handling Group, Inc., the court cited the definitions in § 656.005 while deciding whether § 656.018 extends exclusive remedy protection to an LLC member; it did not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Avanti Press, Inc. v. Employment Department Tax Section, the court discusses § 656.005(28) while recounting an earlier case; its own analysis concerns ORS 670.600. opinion →
Garrett v. New Hampshire Insurance, the court decides the insurance policy exclusion, using § 656.005(7)(a) as a comparison; it does not decide the statute’s own rules. opinion →
Department of Consumer & Business Services v. Zurich American, the only discussion of § 656.005(14) is in a footnote to the passage the court deleted on reconsideration, so it is not part of this court’s operative decision. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Otwell, the court decides the scope of reconsideration under ORS 656.268; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Enterprise Rent-A-Car Co. v. Frazer, the supplied opinion is a dissent, not the court's decision. opinion →
Balcom v. Knowledge Learning Enterprises, the citation to ORS 656.005(7)(a)(B) appears in a summary of claimant’s argument. The court held that the argument was unpreserved and did not decide the section’s meaning or application. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Matt Jenkins Contracting, the discussion of this definition appears in a dissent, not the court’s decision. opinion →
TriMet v. Wilkinson, the court decided whether the employer accepted the combined condition before denying it; it did not decide the meaning or scope of § 656.005’s definition. opinion →
Baker v. Liberty Northwest Insurance, the court quotes § 656.005(7) only as a reference within § 656.802(2)(b); it does not decide any rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Alcutt v. Adams Family Food Services, Inc., the court cites § 656.005 while recounting the workers’ compensation denial, but decides the scope of ORS 656.019 and the constitutional remedy clause. It does not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Fredrickson v. Starbucks Corp., this is a magistrate judge’s recommendation, and the opinion text does not show that a district judge adopted it. opinion →
Cejas Commercial Interiors, Inc. v. Torres-Lizama, the court cites ORS 656.005(13) as an example while deciding which employment test applies under ORS 653.010(2); it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Dynea USA, Inc. v. Fairbanks, the court interprets the occupational disease definition in ORS 656.802(1)(a); the citation to section 656.005 supplies background, not the rule decided. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Carlos-Macias, the court decides whether diagnostic services are compensable under ORS 656.245; it does not decide the meaning or application of ORS 656.005(7). opinion →
Camacho v. SAIF Corp., the court decides how to weigh evidence under ORS 656.310(2) and leaves the compensability determination to the board; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Easton v. SAIF Corp., the court decides the standard for medical services under ORS 656.245(1)(a); it quotes a reference to ORS 656.005(7) but does not decide that definition's meaning. opinion →
Cortez v. Nacco Materials Handling Group, Inc., the court decides whether LLC members receive immunity under ORS 656.018; it cites § 656.005 only for definitions. opinion →
Cortez v. Nacco Material Handling Group, the opinion attributes the point about § 656.005 to the Court of Appeals; this court decides immunity under § 656.018. opinion →
Kraai v. Bureau of Fire & Police Disability & Retirement Fund, the court cites ORS 656.005(7)(d) as context while deciding the city fund’s rules; it does not decide what this section requires. opinion →
Liberty Northwest Insurance v. Olvera-Chavez, the court quotes the definition as background but decides the claim-closure requirements under ORS 656.268, not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Arms v. SAIF Corp., the court rejected an alternative argument because it conflicted with the board’s findings; it did not decide a rule under ORS 656.005. opinion →
Vukasin v. Liberty Northwest Insurance, the court decided compensability under ORS 656.245(1)(a). ORS 656.005(7) appears only in the quoted text of that statute; the court did not decide its definitions. opinion →
Luton v. Willamette Valley Rehabilitation Center, the cited proposition reports the ALJ’s reasoning, not this court’s own decision about § 656.005. opinion →
Labor Ready v. Mogensen, the cited application of § 656.005(7)(a)(A) is the board’s decision, which the court reports; the court does not decide that section’s standard. opinion →
Nacoste v. Halton Co., the court recounts its earlier interpretation of ORS 656.005 in Brown; its decision here concerns aggravation claims under ORS 656.273. opinion →
Royer v. Touch of Grey Ranch, the court treats claimant’s status as a worker as undisputed and decides the exemption under ORS 656.027(2), not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Landis v. Liberty Northwest Insurance Corp., the court used the definition of “medically stationary” for an undisputed fact while deciding compensability under ORS 656.245; it did not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Shearer's Foods v. Hoffnagle, the court decided whether the employer’s letter accepted a condition; it did not decide any definition in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Lowells v. SAIF Corp., the court decided causation under ORS 656.802; it cited § 656.005(24)(b) only to identify a definition that was not at issue. opinion →
Orowheat-Bimbo Bakeries USA-BBU, Inc. v. Vargas, the court treated Miller’s qualification under the definition as undisputed and decided whether ORS 656.245 allowed a non-MCO attending physician for a denied claim. opinion →
Bundy v. NuStar GP, LLC, the court cites the definition in ORS 656.005(6) as context for deciding the meaning of “the claim” in ORS 656.019; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005 itself. opinion →
Bundy v. NuStar GP, LLC, the court used the definition in ORS 656.005(6) as context, but decided the meaning of “claim” in ORS 656.019, not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Pilling v. Travelers Ins. Co. (In re Pilling), the worker determination was made below. This court decided partnership status and whether the insurance application covered a partner under other sections. opinion →
Kiltow v. SAIF Corp., the court treats diabetes as excluded by an unchallenged ALJ order; it does not construe subsection (7)(a)(B). opinion →
Elsea v. Liberty Mutual Insurance, the statute is discussed in a footnote and expressly does not apply to the claim; the court applies an earlier workforce rule. opinion →
McDermott v. SAIF Corp., Arthritis as a preexisting condition is undisputed; the court decides apportionment under other provisions. opinion →
Carrillo v. SAIF Corp. (In re Carrillo), the interpretation of § 656.005(7)(a)(B) is the Supreme Court's ruling in Brown; this court remands without deciding claimant's statutory contentions. opinion →
Acn Opportunity, LLC v. Dep't, the court describes an earlier decision about ORS 656.005(28); it does not decide that section's meaning here. opinion →
Fred Meyer Stores, Inc. v. Deboard (In re Deboard), the court does not decide any rule of § 656.005; it appears only in a footnote quoting § 656.266. opinion →
Arms v. SAIF Corp. (In re Arms), the court decides the medical-services rules under ORS 656.245 and ORS 656.225; it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005 itself. opinion →
Netherton v. Aerotek Inc.-Allegis Grp. Inc. (In re Netherton), the court decides whether impairment may be apportioned under ORS 656.214 and ORS 656.268. Its only reference to ORS 656.005(7) appears in a quotation of ORS 656.268(1)(b); it does not decide the definition's meaning or application. opinion →
Miller v. SAIF Corp. (In re Miller), the citation to § 656.005(7)(a)(B) accompanies SAIF's argument before the ALJ, which the court did not adopt or decide. opinion →
SAIF Corp. v. Dunn (In re Dunn), the court decides responsibility under ORS 656.308(1); it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005(7), which appears only in the quoted text of ORS 656.308(1). opinion →
Graham v. Liberty Nw. Ins. Corp. (In re Graham), the citation to § 656.005(7)(a) accompanies the administrative law judge’s combined-condition theory, which this court did not adopt. opinion →
Griffin v. Dish Network Servs. (In re Comp. of Griffin), the court cites § 656.005 to explain the combined-condition framework, but decides the effect of the earlier board order and the scope of the employer's acceptance, not a rule of the definitions section. opinion →
Garcia-Solis v. Farmers Ins. Co. (In re Comp. of Garcia-Solis), the court assumes an interpretation of § 656.005(7)(a) for argument and decides the meaning of § 656.245(1)(a). opinion →
Simi v. LTI Inc. - Lynden Inc., the court decides the requirements for an occupational disease under ORS 656.802; it cites ORS 656.005(7)(a) only while describing the injury and disease distinction raised by the employer. opinion →
Bledsoe v. City of Lincoln City, the court quotes the definition of medically stationary but does not decide what § 656.005(17) means or requires; it decides whether the employer established an overpayment that permits an offset. opinion →
Fleming v. SAIF, the court decides the effect of a settlement under ORS 656.289(4); it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Cilione v. Techfive, LLC, section 656.005 appears in support of Defendants’ retracted argument, which the court did not adopt. opinion →
Coleman v. SAIF, the court cites its earlier interpretation of § 656.005(6) while deciding whether a physician may initiate a claim under § 656.267(1); it does not decide a rule of § 656.005(6) here. opinion →
Robinette v. SAIF, the court did not decide whether the conditions met § 656.005’s definition; it decided whether the employer could reduce impairment benefits without a preclosure denial. opinion →
SAIF v. Ward, the court cites the definitions section while interpreting the exemption in ORS 656.027(15); it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Edwards v. Cavenham Forest Industries, the court decided medical-services coverage under ORS 656.245(1)(a). It recited ORS 656.005(7)'s definition, but the denial of the consequential-condition claim was not before it. opinion →
Simi v. LTI Inc. - Lynden Inc., the court recounts an existing rule under § 656.005(7)(a), but decides the reopening requirement under § 656.262(7)(c). opinion →
Davis v. SAIF, No. The court leaves the statutory exclusion for the board to address on remand. opinion →
Multnomah Cty. v. Mult. Cty. Corrections Deputy Assn., the court mentions ORS 656.005 only as an example of substantive matter appearing in definitions; it decides the meaning of ORS 243.650(4). opinion →
Sedgwick CMS, Inc. v. Dover, the court cited § 656.005(14) for the definition of “insurer” but decided who qualifies as a “paying agency” under § 656.576; it did not decide a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
SAIF v. Ward, the court cites § 656.005 for the definitions of “worker” and “subject worker,” but the parties agree that claimant is a worker. The court decides whether the exemption in § 656.027(15) applies. opinion →
Sexton v. Sky Lakes Medical Center, the court decides whether the employer had to issue an acceptance for the preexisting condition, a processing question; the quoted ruling does not interpret section 656.005(7)(a)(B). opinion →
Johnson-Chandler v. The Reed Institute, the court expressly declined to address the argument invoking ORS 656.005(7)(a), so it decided no rule of this section. opinion →
Robinette v. SAIF, the court expressly declined to decide whether the claim qualified as a combined condition under § 656.005; it decided the meaning of impairment under § 656.214. opinion →
Giltner v. SAIF, the court notes that the phrase is absent from the definitions section while deciding the meaning of ORS 656.230(1); it does not decide a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Giltner v. SAIF, the court notes the absence of a definition in ORS 656.005 while deciding the meaning of ORS 656.230(1); it does not decide a rule under ORS 656.005. opinion →
Preble v. Centennial School Dist., No. 287, the reference to § 656.005 appears in a quotation from Preble I, not in this court’s own decision about that section. This opinion construes § 656.019. opinion →
Preble v. Centennial School Dist., No. 287, the court construes ORS 656.019(1)(a). It cites ORS 656.005(7)(a)(B) only in quoted background and does not decide that section’s rules. opinion →
Gramada v. SAIF, the court used § 656.005(7)(a) as context for deciding entitlement to benefits under § 656.214; it did not decide a rule of the definitions section itself. opinion →
City of Salem v. Stadeli, the court decides the rebuttal standard in ORS 656.802(5)(b); ORS 656.005(7) appears only in a quotation of another statute. opinion →
City of Salem v. Stadeli, the court decides ORS 656.802(5)(b). Its only reference to ORS 656.005(7) appears in quoted text from another statute; the court does not decide a rule of the definitions section. opinion →
Artunyan v. SAIF, the court decides whether any permanent impairment is attributable to the compensable injuries; it does not decide the meaning or operation of ORS 656.005. opinion →
Fisher v. SAIF, the court decided whether substantial evidence supported the board’s finding that claimant conceded a claim under ORS 656.802(2)(b). It did not decide any rule in ORS 656.005(7), which appears only in a quotation of another statute. opinion →
Fisher v. SAIF, the court decided whether substantial evidence supported a finding that claimant conceded his claim was outside ORS 656.802(2)(b). It did not decide any rule of ORS 656.005; that section appears only in a quotation of ORS 656.802(2)(b). opinion →
Teitelman v. SAIF, the court recites this definition as background but decides the worker’s examination rights under ORS 656.325(1)(e), not a rule of § 656.005. opinion →
Teitelman v. SAIF, the court cites this definition as background; it decides the meaning of ORS 656.325(1)(e), not a rule in ORS 656.005. opinion →
Robey v. Weir Esco, the court cited § 656.005 while describing the industrial-injury standard, but decided that this claim was properly analyzed as an occupational disease. opinion →
Dumanovskiy v. Oregon Youth Authority, the court quotes the definition as context but decides immunity under the Oregon Tort Claims Act, not a rule of ORS 656.005. opinion →
SAIF v. Krusenstjerna, the court recites the definition in § 656.005(17), but decides whether the claim closure was unreasonable under § 656.268(5)(f). opinion →
SAIF v. Krusenstjerna, the court accepts the prior determination about medically stationary status and decides whether the claim closure was unreasonable under ORS 656.268(5)(f), not a rule of ORS 656.005(17). opinion →
Crandall v. State of Oregon, the court mentions this definition as background while deciding the constitutionality of ORS 30.265(6)(a); it does not decide a rule under § 656.005. opinion →
InteliStaf Healthcare v. Daniels, the court decides which medical-services standard applies under ORS 656.245(1)(a); it cites § 656.005(7) to identify types of conditions but does not decide that section’s rules. opinion →
Gramada v. SAIF, the court decided permanent disability under ORS 656.214; its discussion of ORS 656.005(7)(a) supplied context from earlier cases. opinion →
Timm v. Maley, the court mentions the section’s former definition of compensable injury while deciding which insurer is responsible for the claim. opinion →
Pilgrim v. Clatskanie People's Utility District, the court uses the workers’ compensation definition of “worker” as context for interpreting a BOLI rule under a different statute. opinion →

Which of these rulings fit your facts?

Describe your situation under Or. Rev. Stat. § 656.005. Ezel checks it against the cases on this page and answers with citations.

Opens in Ezel Pro.

  • Checks the law as it stands today, not only this page
  • Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
  • Chat, drafting and research in one workspace