Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
M.B. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Vicksburg, MS
M.B. (ECAB 12-1728): Back injury denial affirmed with incident established
M.B., an Army Corps electrician, claimed a lower back injury while lifting pole cross arms at work. OWCP denied the claim, finding that the incident had not been established and that the medical evidence was insufficient. The Board found M.B.’s account and a coworker’s statement established the…
T.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Teterboro, NJ
T.M. (ECAB 12-1654): Schedule award decisions set aside for further review
T.M., a postal mail processor, received a schedule award based on one percent permanent impairment of his left leg and sought a higher rating. OWCP relied on an impartial examiner, but the facts sent to him omitted a left knee condition accepted under another claim file. The Board found that…
K.P. and Department of Commerce, Census Bureau, Louisville, KY
K.P. (ECAB 12-1450): Wage capacity ruling reversed, overpayment upheld
K.P., a temporary Census Bureau enumerator, received compensation after an accepted leg injury and later worked intermittently as a field representative. OWCP treated that later job as showing no wage loss, denied a related wage loss claim, and found an earlier $9,510.07 overpayment from using the…
Woodway Stone Company
Default reopened and remanded for further proceedings
Woodway Stone defaulted after failing to answer a penalty petition and show-cause order. The operator said it had negotiated a settlement, and the Secretary did not oppose reopening for the limited purpose of allowing the settlement motion to be considered. The agency representative had filed that…
Powell Mountain Energy, LLC
Default reopened and case remanded
Powell Mountain Energy timely contested an assessment but said it never received the later penalty petition at its new address. The Secretary did not oppose reopening but argued that Powell was responsible for keeping an accurate address, arranging mail forwarding, and sending documents to counsel…
Shenandoah Stone, LLC
Default reopened after timely fax and insufficient address
Shenandoah Stone timely answered a penalty petition and produced a certificate of service and fax confirmation. The later show-cause order was sent to the mine's physical address rather than its mailing address and was returned as insufficient, so the operator did not receive it. Shenandoah…
Maymead Materials, Inc.
Default reopened after MSHA received timely answers
Maymead Materials defaulted even though it had answered the penalty petition on time and later sent MSHA another answer in response to the show-cause order. MSHA's representative confirmed receipt and had also filed a motion to approve settlement. The Secretary did not oppose reopening. In the…
Fools Gold Energy Corporation
Default reopened with address warning
Fools Gold Energy defaulted after failing to answer a penalty petition and show-cause order. The company said it contacted MSHA's litigation representative, while the Secretary reported several unreturned calls and an undeliverable delinquency notice. The Commission noted that the petition, order…
M.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Devils Lake, ND
M.O. (ECAB 13-0413): Reconsideration denial set aside for evidence review
M.O., a rural postal carrier, sought reconsideration of a denied claim for neck and arm symptoms. The Board found OWCP received his completed request more than a year after its last merits decision, so the request was untimely. OWCP had declined to consider a physician’s later report when deciding…
J.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sandy Springs, GA
J.W. (ECAB 13-0250): Carpal tunnel claim denial affirmed
J.W., a postal maintenance worker, used power tools and other equipment and was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome in both hands. OWCP accepted his account of his duties but denied the occupational disease claim for lack of medical proof of causation. His surgeon said heavy gripping and…
J.C. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration Medical Center, Buffalo, NY
J.C. (ECAB 13-0195): Shoulder award denial set aside for medical review
J.C., a VA housekeeping aide, sought a schedule award after an accepted left rotator cuff rupture and surgery. His surgeon submitted an impairment worksheet rating his left arm at seven percent, but OWCP denied the award without sending the medical evidence to its medical adviser. The Board found…
J.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Alexandria, LA
J.H. (ECAB 13-0190): Denial of additional leg award affirmed
J.H., a temporary postal letter carrier, had already received a schedule award for two percent left leg impairment after a fall at work. He sought an additional award using a physician’s higher rating. An impartial orthopedic examiner found no permanent impairment from the accepted leg conditions…
V.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Versailles, KY
V.S. (ECAB 13-0122): Lumbar spine claim denial affirmed
V.S., a rural carrier associate, attributed her lumbar disc problems to a 2006 work incident and later postal duties. OWCP did not dispute the duties but denied the claim for lack of medical evidence linking them to her back condition. Two treating practitioners did not address that link. An…
A.P. and Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration, Renton, WA
A.P. (ECAB 13-0116): Continuing injury benefits denial affirmed
A.P., an FAA aviation safety inspector, had an accepted neck sprain from a work related vehicle accident. OWCP ended his benefits effective October 6, 2010, and the Board had previously upheld that termination. A.P. later submitted a physician’s report attributing numbness in his legs and feet to…
D.S. and General Services Administration, Burlington, NJ
D.S. (ECAB 13-0029): Arm impairment claim remanded for medical review
D.S., a GSA materials handler, had accepted bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome and prior schedule awards for five percent impairment of each arm. He sought additional awards, and OWCP relied on an impartial orthopedic examiner who rated his current arm impairment at zero. The Board found that…
S.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Islandia, NY
S.L. (ECAB 12-1805): Termination of back injury benefits affirmed
S.L., a postal letter carrier, received benefits for accepted lumbar conditions. OWCP ended them after an impartial orthopedic specialist concluded that the work related conditions had resolved and S.L. could return to full duty. The Board found the specialist’s opinion sufficiently reasoned to…
C.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Philadelphia, PA
C.M. (ECAB 12-1730): Recurrence of disability denial affirmed
C.M., a postal mail handler, returned to limited duty after an accepted back injury and surgery. He sought compensation for a claimed recurrence of total disability and said his employer could no longer accommodate updated restrictions. The Board found no supporting documentation or witness…
C.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Placida, FL
C.M. (ECAB 12-1619): Back injury claim denial affirmed
C.M., a postal sales and service associate, reported sharp back pain after stepping off a mat while handling a package at work. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred but denied her injury claim for lack of a medical link. One physician checked a form box indicating a work connection without…
C.G. and Department of State, Washington, DC
C.G. (ECAB 13-0292): Fume exposure injury claim denial affirmed
C.G., a State Department driver, reported headache and dizziness after breathing fumes from a car defroster at work. OWCP accepted that the exposure occurred but denied his injury claim. The Board found he had submitted no medical evidence giving a firm diagnosis or explaining how the exposure…
A.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Southeastern Processing & Distribution Center, Southeastern, PA
A.P. (ECAB 13-0231): Denial of shoulder claim reconsideration affirmed
A.P., a postal mail handler, had an accepted right shoulder injury and sought further treatment for a claimed recurrence. OWCP had denied that recurrence claim, and A.P. later requested another merits review with a physician’s report supporting shoulder surgery. The Board found the report repeated…
T.O. and Department of the Navy, Puget Sound Naval Shipyard, Bremerton, WA
T.O. (ECAB 13-0186): Hearing loss award denial affirmed
T.O., a retired Navy shipyard foreman, had accepted hearing loss from workplace noise but sought a schedule award. A 2011 test showed greater loss, yet his physician attributed hearing loss after his 1991 retirement to causes other than the earlier workplace noise. The Board used the 1991 test…
G.L. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, National Office, IRS Workers’ Compensation Center, Richmond, VA
G.L. (ECAB 13-0019): Termination of arm injury benefits affirmed
G.L., a former IRS data transcriber, received benefits for accepted bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome and a right elbow condition. She later worked as a preschool teacher while receiving reduced compensation based on her earnings. OWCP ended the remaining wage loss and medical benefits after a…
K.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Rancho Cucamonga, CA
K.F. (ECAB 13-0015): Denial of disability claim affirmed
K.F., a postal rural route carrier, had an accepted claim for right shoulder tendinitis, cervical arthritis, and right carpal tunnel syndrome. She later sought compensation for a period when she could not perform her modified job. The Board treated her claim as a recurrence of disability because…
C.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Royers Ford, PA
C.R. (ECAB 12-1757): Disability claim remanded after postal light duty was withdrawn
C.R., a postal letter carrier with an accepted cervical condition, worked full time in a light duty position. The Postal Service withdrew that assignment and offered him only two hours of work per day. He sought compensation for the lost hours. The Board found that OWCP had not applied its guidance…
N.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Elyria, OH
N.K. (ECAB 12-1637): Termination of knee injury benefits reversed
N.K., a postal carrier, received benefits for an accepted right knee injury, including an anterior cruciate ligament tear. OWCP ended her medical and wage loss benefits after obtaining a supplemental report from an impartial orthopedic surgeon. The Board found that the surgeon did not adequately…
R.W. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Safety Administration, Chantilly, VA
R.W. (ECAB 12-1627): Knee and lung impairment awards returned for new medical review
R.W., a federal air marshal, received schedule awards for two percent impairment of his right leg and five percent impairment of his right lung after a knee injury, deep vein thrombosis, and pulmonary embolism. He sought higher awards. The Board found that OWCP’s medical adviser had not adequately…
C.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Leavenworth, KS
C.S. (ECAB 12-1573): Denial of additional injury conditions and shoulder surgery affirmed
C.S., a Veterans Affairs medical center employee, fell in a workplace parking lot and had an accepted claim for a left knee contusion and left shoulder sprain. She asked OWCP to recognize additional conditions affecting several parts of her body and to pay for left shoulder surgery. The Board found…
G.A. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, East Orange, NJ
G.A. (ECAB 12-0884): Spinal surgery denial affirmed in part and modified
G.A., a nursing assistant, had accepted neck and lower back conditions after an injury while moving a patient. OWCP initially authorized spinal decompression and injections but denied a separate procedure to remove part of a lumbar vertebra. An impartial examiner concluded that none of the…
Claude Layne v. Excel Mining, LLC
Discrimination claim survived motion to dismiss
Claude Layne alleged that he complained about an unsafe haul road, was injured in a truck accident, and later sued Excel Mining over the road conditions. He claimed that Excel barred him from the mine the day after learning of the lawsuit, which caused his trucking employer to discharge him. Excel…
D.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cleveland, OH
D.L. (ECAB 13-0308): Denial of lower back injury claim affirmed
D.L., a postal supervisor, reported back pain while lifting mail containers at work on September 7, 2010. The Board accepted that the lifting incident occurred but found that he had not proved it caused a lower back injury. His physician diagnosed back conditions without explaining how the incident…
L.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sarasota, FL
L.H. (ECAB 13-0280): Denial of left knee schedule award affirmed
L.H., a postal distribution clerk, injured his left knee while throwing parcels in 1995. OWCP accepted a knee sprain and torn medial meniscus, and he later underwent surgery. He applied for a schedule award in 2012. OWCP asked for a current medical report describing any permanent impairment under…
S.T. and Department of the Navy, Naval Air Station, Millington, TN
S.T. (ECAB 13-0215): Firefighter hearing loss claim remanded for medical opinion
S.T., a former Navy firefighter, reported hearing loss after years of exposure to airfield and station noise. OWCP’s consulting physician diagnosed severe hearing loss but concluded that most of it developed after S.T. retired. The Board found that this opinion did not adequately explain why…
R.C. and Department of Defense, Defense Intelligence Agency, Pearl Harbor, HI
R.C. (ECAB 13-0181): Denial of skin and respiratory condition claim affirmed
R.C., an information technology specialist, reported rashes and respiratory symptoms during renovations at his workplace. OWCP accepted that construction occurred there but denied his claim for a work-related condition. The Board found that some physicians’ opinions about the cause of his…
C.E. and Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Indianapolis, IN
C.E. (ECAB 13-0178): Emotional conditions found work related; disability issue remanded
C.E., a former FBI special agent, claimed post-traumatic stress disorder and major depressive disorder related to events the Board had previously recognized as compensable work factors. An OWCP psychiatrist connected both diagnoses to those factors, including a projectile striking a window at his…
J.H. and Department of the Army, Community Food Services, Schweinfurt, Germany
J.H. (ECAB 13-0078): Part-time babysitting could not set wage-earning capacity
J.H., an Army food service worker, received compensation for accepted shoulder and carpal tunnel conditions. OWCP reduced her benefits based on wages she earned babysitting part time. After she stopped babysitting, she sought a change in that wage-earning capacity decision. The Board found that she…
M.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Columbia, SC
M.H. (ECAB 12-1865): Termination of shoulder injury benefits affirmed
M.H., a postal rural letter carrier, received benefits for accepted rotator cuff conditions in both shoulders. OWCP ended her wage loss and medical benefits after an impartial orthopedic examiner concluded that the accepted conditions had resolved. The examiner attributed her continuing inability…
W.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Providence, RI
W.F. (ECAB 12-1844): Mail hamper incident established, injury claim still denied
W.F., a postal mail handler, reported knee and back pain after pushing a heavy mail hamper onto a scale. OWCP denied his claim because it found that the incident had not been established. The Board disagreed on that factual point, finding his account consistent with the record. It nevertheless…
E.M. and Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Dallas, TX
E.M. (ECAB 12-1238): Emotional condition claim denied for lack of compensable work factor
E.M., a Department of Labor employee, claimed an emotional condition arising from alleged harassment and unfair treatment by supervisors and a senior analyst. The Board found that many disputed actions involved assignments, performance reviews, leave, and accommodation decisions. It found no…
H.B. and Department of the Navy, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Portsmouth, VA
H.B. (ECAB 13-0332): Award for 22 percent hearing loss affirmed
H.B., a Navy shipyard toolmaker, received a schedule award for 22 percent hearing loss in both ears. His examining physician calculated a higher rating by adding one percent for tinnitus in each ear. The Board found that she had not explained how his occasional tinnitus affected daily activities…
R.R. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Border Patrol, Yuma, AZ
R.R. (ECAB 13-0188): Denial of renewed back treatment affirmed
R.R., a Border Patrol agent, had an accepted lumbar sprain from training in 2005 and returned to full duty within days. Years later he sought additional treatment for back symptoms and attributed them to that injury. The Board found that later physical training and incidents at home intervened…
E.B. and Department of the Interior, BIA Emergency Firefighters, Gallup, NM
E.B. (ECAB 13-0136): Firefighter illness claim denied for lack of incident details
E.B., an emergency firefighter, reported becoming ill while eating at a work camp. He listed symptoms but said he did not know how the illness occurred. OWCP asked him for details about the claimed incident, and he did not respond. The Board found that this record did not establish the first…
C.J. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Jesse Brown Veterans Administration Medical Center, Chicago, IL
C.J. (ECAB 12-1927): Emotional condition denial and refusal to reopen affirmed
C.J., a former Veterans Affairs clerk, claimed an emotional condition related to work responsibilities and having to wait for coworkers to finish tasks. OWCP asked for specific details of the events and work conditions, but the Board found that her submissions remained too general to establish a…
C.Y. and Department of the Navy, Naval Supply Systems Command, Mechanicsburg, PA
C.Y. (ECAB 12-1530): Workplace fall claim remanded after impact with file cabinet
C.Y., a Navy supply specialist with preexisting back problems, fell at work when his knee or legs gave way. Before reaching the floor, he struck a file cabinet. OWCP denied his injury claim, finding that personal medical conditions caused the fall and that he had not proved an injury from the…
M.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing and Distribution Center, Denver, CO
M.R. (ECAB 12-1461): Refusal to change wage-earning capacity affirmed
M.R., a postal distribution clerk, worked in a modified position after accepted back and arm injuries. OWCP used her actual earnings in that job to set her wage-earning capacity. When the Postal Service later said no work within her restrictions was available, she sought to change the earlier…
W.M. and Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command Stations, Colts Neck, NJ
W.M. (ECAB 12-0773): No additional right leg schedule award
W.M., a Navy employee with an accepted back condition, sought a larger schedule award for impairment of his right leg. A physician for W.M. rated the leg at 33 percent using an older examination, while a later OWCP examination supported a lower rating. The Board found that the older findings did…
Greenwood Industries, Inc.
Hoist-area fall citation vacated
Greenwood employees handed sheet metal from the ground to coworkers on an approximately 11-foot-high roof. One worker fell while walking back toward the roof edge. The judge found that the cited hoist-area standard did not apply because the crew used no crane, winch, or other mechanical lifting…
L.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Margate, NJ
L.S. (ECAB 12-0414): Wage loss termination and recurrence denial affirmed
L.S., a postal carrier, received benefits for an accepted lumbar sprain and later returned to modified work. OWCP ended his wage loss compensation after a consulting physician found that the accepted sprain had resolved and his remaining limitations arose from other conditions. The Board found that…
Mike Neri Sewer & Water Contractor
Trench violations affirmed with $5,000 penalty
Mike Neri Sewer & Water Contractor excavated a trench for water and sewer work. An employee entered the 5.6-foot-deep trench without a ladder, cave-in protection, or the required setback between the spoil pile and trench edge. The judge credited the compliance officer's testimony and photographs…
Dickenson-Russell Coal Company, LLC
Contest withdrawn and $971 citation affirmed
Dickenson-Russell Coal withdrew its contest after paying the penalty for a single citation. The Commission had previously accepted interlocutory review of a settlement question but vacated that review order and remanded after the withdrawal. Judge Thomas P. McCarthy found the proceeding moot and…
Stonehaven Energy Management, LLC
In re Stonehaven Energy Management, LLC (EAB UIC Appeal No. 12-02): Permit remanded for geological analysis, other issues denied
EPA Region 3 issued Stonehaven Energy Management, LLC a permit to convert an existing well in Pennsylvania into a Class II brine-disposal injection well. The petitioner challenged the Region's treatment of nearby wells, geological formations, earthquake risk, and financial responsibility. The Board…
Matter of Central California Legal Services, Inc.
Initial accreditation requires immigration fundamentals training
The Board reconsidered Central California Legal Services, Inc.'s application to accredit Janie Munoz-Tafoya as a representative before the Department of Homeland Security. It held that an application for initial accreditation must show that the proposed representative recently completed at least…
S.A. and Department of the Air Force, Shaw Air Force Base, SC
S.A. (ECAB 13-0164): Fall injury claim and refusal to reopen affirmed
S.A., an Air Force electrician, fell while working on a bucket truck and later reported back and neck pain. The Board accepted that the fall occurred but found that his physician did not explain how it caused a diagnosed condition. Reports from a physician’s assistant and unidentified providers did…
M.C. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, Andover, MA
M.C. (ECAB 13-0150): Overpayment upheld, fault findings divided by reporting period
M.C., an IRS employee, continued receiving the higher compensation rate for a dependent spouse after her divorce. The Board upheld OWCP’s finding that this produced a $17,112.36 overpayment. Medical records showed that dementia and related symptoms affected her ability to understand the benefit…
T.E. and Department of Labor, Office of Workers’ Compensation, New York, NY
T.E. (ECAB 13-0113): Denial of total disability compensation affirmed
T.E., a claims examiner, sustained accepted neck and back sprains when his chair broke at work. He sought wage loss compensation for a period of total disability. His physician supplied an excuse slip and treatment reports but did not explain how the examination findings prevented him from…
R.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Oak Ridge, TN
R.M. (ECAB 13-0102): Wage loss and wrist medical benefit termination affirmed
R.M., a postal employee, received benefits for an accepted right wrist condition and left foot plantar fasciitis. OWCP’s consulting physician found that the wrist condition had resolved and the remaining foot symptoms did not prevent her from performing her former job. The Board found his report…
R.B. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, Fresno, CA
R.B. (ECAB 13-0088): Denial of requested treating physician affirmed
R.B., an Internal Revenue Service revenue officer, had accepted claims for bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome and right arm causalgia. He asked OWCP to authorize Dr. Hebrard as his attending physician, saying he could not find a nearby doctor willing to treat him. Dr. Hebrard practiced 215 to 225…
AR Medical LLC d/b/a San Pablo Medical Clinic
Late contest dismissed
OSHA cited San Pablo Medical Clinic for three serious violations and one other-than-serious violation after inspecting its Dalton, Georgia facility. The clinic received the citations on April 27, 2012, but did not file its notice of contest until September 6, 2012. In response to an order to show…
K.H., claiming as widow of N.H., and Department of Justice, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Oxford, MS
K.H. (ECAB 12-1930): Widow’s survivor benefit claim remanded
K.H. claimed survivor benefits after her husband, a Justice Department employee, died in 2006. OWCP had accepted his bilateral venous thrombosis and other conditions related to work travel, but denied that his death resulted from the accepted injury. An OWCP referral physician considered a…
L.C., claiming as administratrix of the estate of J.C., and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, New York, NY
L.C. (ECAB 12-1924): Posthumous schedule award denied
J.C., a postal letter carrier, had filed a claim for a schedule award for a left knee injury. His attorney formally withdrew that claim in March 2006 while J.C. pursued a recurrence claim, and J.C. died that June. L.C., his widow and estate administrator, requested a schedule award after his death…
D & A Construction
Soap item vacated, paint safety-data item affirmed
D & A Construction employees performed touch-up painting during airport renovations in Saipan. OSHA cited the company because the nearest restroom's soap dispenser was empty and the worksite lacked the correct material safety data sheet for the industrial enamel paint in use. The judge vacated the…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.