Federal Agency Decisions

Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.

60,101 decisions and counting · Latest decision October 28, 2026
60,101 decisions

No decisions match these filters

Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.

COMM

Jerry R. Linville v. Elkay Mining Company

Linville v. Elkay Mining (BRB 24-0212): benefits award affirmed

Jerry R. Linville established 19.36 years of qualifying coal mine employment and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The administrative law judge applied the fifteen year presumption that the disability was due to pneumoconiosis and awarded benefits. The Board upheld the finding that the…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

William G. Parker v. Webster County Coal, LLC

Parker v. Webster County Coal (BRB 24-0101): benefits denial affirmed

William Parker appealed the denial of his subsequent black lung benefits claim after thirty-seven years of qualifying coal mine work. He argued that x-ray evidence and his doctors' opinions showed total respiratory disability. The Board held that x-rays show the presence of lung disease but do not…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

John A. Seaman v. MEPCO LLC

Seaman v. MEPCO (BRB 24-0087): black lung benefits award affirmed

John Seaman received a black lung benefits award after twenty-nine years of underground coal mine work. The judge found total respiratory disability from medical opinions even though the pulmonary function and blood gas studies did not independently meet the regulatory thresholds. MEPCO argued that…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Doris A. Kitts and Tracey Evans on behalf of Clyde Smith, Jr. v. Taywood Mining, Incorporated and West Virginia Coal Workers’ Pneumoconiosis Fund

Kitts and Evans v. Taywood Mining (BRB 24-0041): miner's benefits award affirmed

Doris Kitts and Tracey Evans pursued their late father Clyde Smith's black lung claim on behalf of his estate. The judge found 18.41 years of qualifying coal mine work and total respiratory disability, then awarded benefits under the fifteen year presumption. Taywood Mining and its carrier argued…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

James P. Polly v. Black Energy, Incorporated and Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania / AIG

Polly v. Black Energy (BRB 24-0034): black lung benefits award affirmed

James Polly received a black lung benefits award on a subsequent claim after twenty-five years of underground coal mine work. The judge found total respiratory disability from medical opinions despite pulmonary function studies that did not reach the regulatory disability thresholds. Black Energy…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Jerry Clevinger v. Lodestar Energy, Incorporated and Kentucky Employers’ Mutual Insurance

Clevinger v. Lodestar Energy (BRB 24-0023): modified claim's benefits award affirmed

Jerry Clevinger sought modification after his black lung benefits claim was initially denied. The judge found that new evidence showed complicated pneumoconiosis arising from twenty-five years of qualifying surface coal mine work, giving Clevinger the irrebuttable disability presumption. Lodestar…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Phyllis Hubbard on behalf of Delford W. Hubbard v. I C G Hazard, LLC and Arch Coal, Incorporated

Hubbard v. I C G Hazard (BRB 24-0012): miner's benefits denial affirmed

Phyllis Hubbard appealed without counsel on behalf of her late husband Delford after a judge again denied his black lung benefits claim on remand. The Board had earlier required the judge to reconsider whether Delford was totally disabled, without favoring a later pulmonary function study simply…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Gordon R. Olson v. Energy West Mining Company

Olson v. Energy West Mining (BRB 24-0011): black lung benefits award affirmed

Gordon Olson received a black lung benefits award after 25.18 years of underground coal mine work. The judge reopened the record so both sides could submit evidence about Olson's lung condition after abdominal surgery, which had raised questions about the earlier testing. Energy West argued that…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Mildred Stilwell (on behalf of and widow of Curtis D. Stilwell) v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining Company

Stilwell v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining (BRB 23-0502 and 23-0503): miner's and survivor's benefits affirmed

Mildred Stilwell pursued her late husband's miner's claim and her own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge credited Curtis Stilwell with twenty-eight years of qualifying coal mine employment, found a totally disabling respiratory or pulmonary impairment, and applied the fifteen year…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Mildred Stilwell (on behalf of and widow of Curtis D. Stilwell) v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining Company

Stilwell v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining (BRB 23-0502 and 23-0503): miner's and survivor's benefits affirmed

Mildred Stilwell pursued her late husband's miner's claim and her own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge credited Curtis Stilwell with twenty-eight years of qualifying coal mine employment, found a totally disabling respiratory or pulmonary impairment, and applied the fifteen year…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Leroy A. Nearhood v. James M. Stott Coal Company, Incorporated

Nearhood v. James M. Stott Coal (BRB 23-0496): benefits award affirmed

Leroy A. Nearhood established at least twenty years of qualifying coal mine employment and a totally disabling respiratory or pulmonary impairment. The administrative law judge applied the fifteen year presumption that his total disability was due to pneumoconiosis and awarded benefits. The Board…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Judy A. Mills, widow of Jackie L. Mills, Sr. v. Blacksville Mine/The Monongalia Company and Murray Energy Corporation

Mills v. Blacksville Mine (BRB 23-0482): survivor's benefits award remanded

Judy Mills sought survivor's black lung benefits after the death of her husband Jackie, who had twenty-one years of underground coal mine work. The judge found total respiratory disability and applied the presumption that the death was due to pneumoconiosis. The Board upheld the judge's rejection…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Adeline B. Presley (widow of Harvey L. Presley) v. VP #5 Mining Company

Presley v. VP #5 Mining (BRB 23-0437): survivor's benefits award vacated

Adeline Presley sought survivor's black lung benefits after the death of her husband Harvey, who had twenty-four years of coal mine work. The judge found that Harvey had complicated pneumoconiosis and awarded benefits under the irrebuttable presumption that his death was due to the disease. VP #5…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Rex A. Hatfield v. Rockhouse Creek Development Corporation and Brickstreet Mutual Insurance

Hatfield v. Rockhouse Creek Development (BRB 23-0217): responsible operator finding remanded

Rex Hatfield established complicated pneumoconiosis arising from coal mine work, so the judge awarded black lung benefits under the irrebuttable presumption. Rockhouse Creek and its insurer challenged the designation of Rockhouse as the responsible operator. The Board held that the judge had not…

January 30, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

F.L. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Carl T. Hayden Veterans Medical Center

Board denies nurse’s COVID-19 claim (ECAB 25-0211)

A VA nursing assistant claimed a workplace exposure caused COVID-19. The record included an abnormal laboratory result and a nurse practitioner’s report discussing a positive test and exposure. The Board found the laboratory result alone did not address causation, and the nurse practitioner’s…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

D.P. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Board upholds large overlapping-benefits overpayment (ECAB 25-0068)

A federal immigration employee received VA disability benefits and FECA wage-loss compensation for the same condition over many years. OWCP found a $579,610.20 overpayment from December 2006 through April 2024. The Board found that the benefits overlapped for the same condition and upheld the…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

K.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Iron Mountain VA Medical Center

Board declines added shoulder and leg conditions (ECAB 25-0061)

A VA employee sought to add left leg weakness and several right shoulder conditions to an accepted 2011 injury claim. The Board reviewed the new medical evidence and found it insufficient to establish that the added conditions resulted from the accepted injury. It affirmed OWCP’s refusal to expand…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Florence Post Office

Board overturns fault finding on schedule award overpayment (ECAB 25-0005)

A postal mail handler received schedule award payments for a period when he was not entitled to them. The Board upheld OWCP’s $3,349.36 overpayment calculation for February through March 2021. It found that OWCP had improperly assigned him fault, which had barred consideration of waiver. It…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

M.A. and Environmental Protection Agency, Region IV

Board upholds withdrawal of multiple sclerosis acceptance (ECAB 24-0930)

An EPA environmental specialist had a previously accepted claim for multiple sclerosis after alleged exposure to hazardous waste during an investigation. OWCP later withdrew acceptance after medical review found no sound causal link between the brief exposure and the condition. The Board found that…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
ALJ

Professional Security Consultants, Inc.

Mall workplace-violence citation vacated

A customer carried out a mass shooting at the Boise Towne Square Mall, killing two people, including a security guard employed by Professional Security Consultants, and injuring several others. OSHA cited the security company under the General Duty Clause for allegedly failing to protect its guards…

January 30, 2025 ·Brian A. Duncan ·OSHRC
Citations vacated
COMM

G.B. and Department of State, Bureau of Conflict Stabilization Operations

Board upholds retirement overpayment recovery (ECAB 20-1530)

A State Department employee received FECA wage-loss compensation and Social Security retirement benefits attributable to federal service for the same period. OWCP calculated a $25,365.65 overpayment, for which she was without fault. The Board upheld the amount, found no basis to waive recovery, and…

January 30, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Secretary of Labor v. Bluestone Oil Corporation

Unsupported S&S removals rejected

Bluestone Oil’s proposed settlement covered twenty-four citations and would have reduced total penalties from $51,023 to $30,500. It also would have removed the significant-and-substantial designations from two citations without providing a factual justification. The Administrative Law Judge denied…

January 29, 2025 ·FMSHRC
Remanded
COMM

Carlos D. Matherly v. Mingo Logan Coal Company

Matherly v. Mingo Logan Coal (BRB 23-0297 and 23-0418): benefits and fee awards affirmed

Carlos Matherly received a black lung benefits award after more than twenty years of underground coal mine work. Mingo Logan challenged the judge's authority to decide the case and her findings on total disability and rebuttal of the fifteen year presumption. The Board rejected the appointment and…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Jacqueline McQuigg v. United States Marine Corps

McQuigg v. Marine Corps (BRB 23-0408): partial disability award affirmed

Jacqueline McQuigg worked for Marine Corps Community Services and sustained a work-related back injury. A judge awarded temporary total disability benefits after she stopped working, permanent total benefits after her condition stabilized, and permanent partial benefits from August 19, 2019, when…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Eddie L. Stewart v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining

Stewart v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining (BRB 23-0363): black lung benefits award affirmed

Eddie Stewart received a black lung benefits award on a subsequent claim. The judge credited him with 14.70 years of coal mine work, below the fifteen year presumption threshold, but found that he had independently proved pneumoconiosis and disability due to it. Island Creek challenged the…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Glen A. Green v. Drummond Company, Incorporated

Green v. Drummond (BRB 23-0335): black lung benefits award affirmed

Glen Green received a black lung benefits award after twenty-two years of qualifying surface coal mine work. The judge found total respiratory disability based on medical opinions, although the pulmonary function and blood gas studies themselves did not establish disability. A two-judge Board…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Carlos D. Matherly v. Mingo Logan Coal Company

Matherly v. Mingo Logan Coal (BRB 23-0297 and 23-0418): benefits and fee awards affirmed

Carlos Matherly received a black lung benefits award after more than twenty years of underground coal mine work. Mingo Logan challenged the judge's authority to decide the case and her findings on total disability and rebuttal of the fifteen year presumption. The Board rejected the appointment and…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Peter F. Stegemann v. Stegemann Marine, Incorporated, d/b/a Coastal Marine Services

Stegemann v. Stegemann Marine (BRB 23-0164): compensation rate calculation remanded

Peter Stegemann, a co-owner of a marine construction business, sustained a work-related hip injury and later received temporary total disability benefits at the maximum rate under a stipulated compensation order. His employer sought to modify that order, arguing that his actual average weekly wage…

January 29, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

M.P. and Social Security Administration

Board reverses termination of virus-related benefits (ECAB 25-0200)

A Social Security Administration employee received benefits for an accepted parvovirus condition. OWCP ended them based on a second opinion that called the condition self-limiting and resolved. The Board found the opinion lacked diagnostic testing and a reasoned explanation for that conclusion. It…

January 29, 2025 ·ECAB
Vacated
COMM

C.H. and Department of the Navy, Marine Depot Maintenance Command

Board upholds termination of Navy employee benefits (ECAB 25-0126)

A Navy sandblaster challenged the end of benefits for an accepted work injury. OWCP relied on a referral physician who found no continuing work-related disability or residuals requiring treatment. The Board found that medical opinion sufficient to meet OWCP’s burden. It affirmed termination…

January 29, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Y.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Cardiss Collins Post Office

Board recognizes heat illness diagnoses and remands (ECAB 25-0110)

A postal carrier reported illness after delivering mail on foot during a long shift in temperatures above 100 degrees. Hospital records documented dehydration and related diagnoses, and a physician linked them to the work activity. The Board found that a diagnosed condition had been established…

January 29, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

DeVoe v. AMSA Contractors, Inc.

STAA appeal dismissed after briefing orders ignored

John DeVoe sought Board review after an administrative judge denied his Surface Transportation Assistance Act complaint against AMSA Contractors. The Board ordered him to file an opening brief by December 24, 2024, but he did not do so. It then issued a show-cause order that required both an…

January 28, 2025 ·DOL ARB
Procedural
COMM

N.B. and Department of Agriculture, U.S. Forest Service

Board upholds denial of knee injection authorization (ECAB 25-0210)

An Agriculture Department employee sought a knee injection after an accepted workplace knee sprain and later treatment. His physician proposed the injection among possible responses to persistent pain. The Board found the medical reports did not explain why that procedure was necessary to treat the…

January 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs

Board denies pay continuation and added elbow condition (ECAB 25-0205)

A VA employee sought benefits after OWCP accepted right elbow abrasion and right knee effusion from her workplace fall. She filed her traumatic injury form more than 30 days after the incident, which barred continuation of pay. The Board also found the medical evidence did not link the requested…

January 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

T.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Jacksonville

Board finds postal knee incident insufficiently documented (ECAB 25-0194)

A postal employee reported a bruised knee from broken equipment at work. OWCP asked for a detailed account of the alleged event, but he did not return the development questionnaire. A witness statement mentioned equipment striking him without giving the date or sufficient detail. The Board found…

January 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.M. and Department of Veterans Affairs

Board denies police officer’s leg injury claim (ECAB 25-0186)

A VA police officer reported left leg, knee and ankle problems after a mandatory physical abilities run. The Board accepted the work event but found the medical reports did not adequately explain how it caused or aggravated the claimed conditions. It affirmed OWCP’s denials.

January 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.L. and Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons

Board upholds augmented-rate overpayment recovery (ECAB 25-0078)

A Justice Department employee received FECA wage-loss compensation at an augmented rate to which she was not entitled. OWCP found a $10,652.53 overpayment for July 2020 through November 2021, although she was without fault. The Board upheld the calculation and found that the evidence did not…

January 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Bustleton Post Office

Board reverses termination of postal wage-loss benefits (ECAB 25-0148)

A postal employee challenged OWCP’s decision to end wage-loss benefits for an accepted injury. The Board found the medical evidence did not meet OWCP’s burden to show that his work-related disability had ended. It reversed the termination effective April 9, 2024; a second issue became moot.

January 27, 2025 ·ECAB
Vacated
COMM

K.S. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Board upholds refusal to reopen late injury claim (ECAB 25-0142)

A Border Patrol agent sought reconsideration of an earlier decision about an arm and shoulder injury claim. OWCP found her request outside the one-year period and found no clear evidence that its earlier decision was wrong. The Board agreed and affirmed its refusal to reopen the merits.

January 27, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

D.O. and U.S. Postal Service, North Texas Processing and Distribution Center

Board upholds late reconsideration denial (ECAB 25-0135)

A postal mail dock clerk asked OWCP to revisit an earlier decision on a lumbar condition claim. The Board found that the request came more than one year after the last merits decision. It also found no clear evidence of error that would justify reviewing a late request. It affirmed OWCP’s refusal…

January 27, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

B.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Guam Main Post Office

Board denies continued wage loss after accepted injury (ECAB 25-0067)

A Guam postal clerk sought compensation for continued absence after an accepted workplace injury involving heat exhaustion and a fall. The Board found that later medical reports did not explain how the accepted injury caused disability during the claimed period. It affirmed OWCP’s denial of…

January 27, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

United States Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Southeast Fisheries Science Center and National Association of Independent Labor, Local 20

NOAA Southeast Fisheries Science Center and NAIL Local 20 (FLRA 0-AR-5708): Authority sets aside higher-duty backpay

Two NOAA operations research analysts alleged that they had performed higher-level duties for years and sought temporary-promotion pay. An arbitrator found that both employees performed substantial ZP-3 work while classified at ZP-2 and awarded ongoing higher-level compensation, but did not…

January 27, 2025 ·FLRA
Set aside
COMM

Jessie L. Daniels v. Virginia Pocahontas Company

Daniels v. Virginia Pocahontas (BRB 24-0255): benefits award vacated for work history review

Jessie Daniels received a black lung benefits award after the judge credited him with 15.17 years of underground coal mine work and found a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Virginia Pocahontas challenged both the claim's timeliness and the length of employment finding. The Board upheld the…

January 24, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

John Adams v. Paramont Contura, LLC

Adams v. Paramont Contura (BRB 24-0190): black lung benefits award affirmed

John Adams received a black lung benefits award after thirty-one years of surface coal mine work in conditions comparable to underground work. The administrative law judge found a totally disabling respiratory impairment based on a qualifying pulmonary function study and a medical opinion that…

January 24, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Thomas C. Trader v. Heritage Coal Company, LLC

Trader v. Heritage Coal (BRB 24-0187): attorney fee award affirmed

Thomas Trader's counsel sought fees for work on a successful black lung benefits claim. The administrative law judge awarded $17,172.50 in fees and expenses, less than the $20,907.50 requested, and denied a later request for $848 in additional fees. The Board upheld the judge's refusal to pay for…

January 24, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

M.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Lammond Riggs Post Office

Board orders completion of disability recurrence review (ECAB 25-0180)

A postal employee claimed renewed disability from an accepted orthopedic and psychiatric injury. OWCP sent him for second opinion examinations addressing both sets of conditions but denied the claim before completing that development. The Board found the decision premature and ordered OWCP to…

January 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

R.E. and Department of Veterans Affairs

Board recognizes diagnoses in workplace irritant claim (ECAB 25-0179)

A VA maintenance mechanic claimed illness from debris and irritants while patching and painting walls. A physician diagnosed aggravation of fibromyalgia and allergic rhinitis. The Board found that these were diagnosed conditions, contrary to OWCP’s denial. It remanded for OWCP to decide whether…

January 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

J.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing and Distribution Center

Board denies right knee injury claim (ECAB 25-0167)

A postal processing clerk reported that her knee popped while lifting a tub of mail. Her physician discussed repetitive work activities and a knee diagnosis but did not explain how that specific accepted incident caused the condition. The Board found the causal evidence insufficient. It affirmed…

January 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.M. and Department of the Army, Defense Language Institute

Board denies continuation of pay for late injury form (ECAB 25-0162)

An Army employee reported an elbow fracture from a work incident. She initially used an OSHA incident form and submitted the required traumatic injury form more than 30 days after the injury. The Board found that the OSHA form did not satisfy the filing requirement for continuation of pay. It…

January 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Bedford Park Post Office

Board upholds finding that requested hearing was abandoned (ECAB 25-0160)

A postal mail handler requested an oral hearing after OWCP denied her injury claim. OWCP mailed notice of a scheduled telephone hearing to her address of record. The Board found that the notice was proper and that she did not attend or adequately explain her absence. It affirmed the abandonment…

January 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Eugene R. Martin v. The Marion County Coal Company and Murray Energy Corporate Trust

Martin v. Marion County Coal (BRB 24-0364): black lung benefits award affirmed

Eugene Martin sought black lung benefits in a subsequent claim after twenty-seven years of underground coal mine work. The judge found a totally disabling respiratory impairment based on blood gas studies and medical opinions, invoking the fifteen year presumption. Marion County Coal and its…

January 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Randall L. Hayden v. Ranger Fuel Corporation

Hayden v. Ranger Fuel (BRB 23-0479): black lung benefits award affirmed

Randall Hayden received a black lung benefits award on a subsequent claim. Ranger Fuel challenged the judge's finding of at least fifteen years of qualifying coal mine work, but the Board found that Hayden reached the threshold even under the employer's alternative calculations. The Board also…

January 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Elmwood Park Station

Board denies occupational disease claim without diagnosis (ECAB 25-0201)

A postal employee claimed a medical condition from accepted work factors. OWCP twice requested additional medical evidence, but the record received no response establishing a diagnosis. The Board found there was no medical evidence of a diagnosed condition connected to the work factors. It affirmed…

January 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Buchanan Post Office

Board denies postal worker knee condition claim (ECAB 25-0161)

A postal employee sought compensation for a left knee condition after an accepted July 2024 work incident. One physician recorded the incident and a knee injury but did not explain causation. The Board found the submitted medical reports insufficient to establish that the incident caused a…

January 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.D. and U.S. Postal Service, St. Louis Post Office

Board upholds late reconsideration denial (ECAB 25-0108)

A postal carrier asked OWCP to revisit an earlier decision about an accepted injury claim. His October 2024 request came more than a year after the last relevant merits decision. The Board found that his submission did not demonstrate clear evidence of error that would permit review of a late…

January 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.B. and U.S. Postal Service, North Houston Processing and Distribution Center

Board orders further review of added upper-body conditions (ECAB 25-0083)

A postal carrier sought to add neck, shoulder, elbow and left thumb conditions to an accepted occupational disease claim. Her physician described repetitive duties, examination findings and diagnosed conditions. The Board found a conflict between her physician and OWCP’s second-opinion physician on…

January 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

S.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Sunshine Annex

Board upholds compensation forfeiture and overpayment (ECAB 24-0448)

A postal employee receiving wage-loss benefits failed to report employment activities and earnings on required forms. The Board found that the omission was knowing and upheld forfeiture for January 2018 through January 2024. It also affirmed a $203,167.65 overpayment and OWCP’s finding that she was…

January 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Peter L. Welch v. Aracoma Coal Company

Welch v. Aracoma Coal (BRB 23-0439): black lung benefits award affirmed

Peter Welch sought black lung benefits in a subsequent claim after 35.46 years of qualifying coal mine work. The administrative law judge found that pulmonary function tests, a later exercise blood gas test, and medical opinions established total respiratory disability, triggering the fifteen year…

January 22, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

James I. Cowfer, Jr. v. James I. Cowfer Contracting and American Mining Insurance Company

Cowfer v. Cowfer Contracting (BRB 23-0434): benefits denial vacated for disability review

James Cowfer sought black lung benefits after 22.3 years of qualifying coal mine work. An administrative law judge denied the claim because she found he had not established a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The Board held that she had mixed the question of whether Cowfer was disabled with…

January 22, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

R.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing and Distribution Center

Board upholds late reconsideration denial (ECAB 25-0146)

A postal employee asked OWCP to reconsider a previous compensation ruling. The Board found the request was outside the one-year filing period and did not demonstrate clear evidence of error. It affirmed OWCP’s refusal to reopen the merits.

January 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed

What these documents are

  • The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
  • Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
  • ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
  • Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
  • Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.