Federal Agency Decisions

Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.

60,101 decisions and counting · Latest decision October 28, 2026
60,101 decisions

No decisions match these filters

Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.

COMM

Nicholas Cox (on behalf of and survivor of David Cox) v. Wellmore Energy Company, LLC and Summitpoint Insurance Company

Cox v. Wellmore Energy (BRB 24-0434 and 24-0435 BLA): miner and survivor awards affirmed

Nicholas Cox pursued his late father David Cox's black lung claim and his own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge found that David's restrictive lung disease was due in part to coal mine dust exposure and that it substantially contributed to his total respiratory disability. The Board…

April 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Nicholas Cox (on behalf of and survivor of David Cox) v. Wellmore Energy Company, LLC and Summitpoint Insurance Company

Cox v. Wellmore Energy (BRB 24-0434 and 24-0435 BLA): miner and survivor awards affirmed

Nicholas Cox pursued his late father David Cox's black lung claim and his own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge found that David's restrictive lung disease was due in part to coal mine dust exposure and that it substantially contributed to his total respiratory disability. The Board…

April 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

David D. Hatcher v. Itmann Coal Company and CONSOL Energy Incorporated

Hatcher v. Itmann Coal Company (BRB 24-0290 BLA): black lung benefits award affirmed

David D. Hatcher sought black lung benefits on a subsequent claim after 14.40 years of underground coal mine work. The administrative law judge found a totally disabling respiratory impairment and legal pneumoconiosis, but the 15 year presumption did not apply. Itmann Coal challenged the legal…

April 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Lewis v. Deepwell Energy Services, LLC

Three interlocutory STAA petitions denied and consolidated

Lorenzo Lewis alleged that Deepwell Energy Services fired him for internal complaints about transportation-safety compliance. Before a final decision, he filed multiple petitions asking the Board to review limits on summary-decision filings, denial of interlocutory certification, a recusal request…

April 23, 2025 ·DOL ARB
Procedural
COMM

L.C. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Mid-Atlantic Health Care Network, VA Salisbury Health Care

Board upholds refusal to reopen VA nurse finger claim (ECAB 25-0444)

A VA nurse asked OWCP to reconsider a denied finger condition claim. The Board found her request did not identify a new legal argument or supply relevant new evidence addressing the reason for the denial. It upheld OWCP's refusal to reopen the merits.

April 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

K.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Nashville Post Office

Board upholds denial of remaining intermittent disability claim (ECAB 25-0439)

A postal worker sought compensation for intermittent absences after an accepted injury. The Board found the submitted medical evidence did not adequately establish that the accepted injury caused the remaining claimed disability dates in late 2024. It affirmed OWCP's denials.

April 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

R.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Philadelphia Processing and Distribution Center

Board upholds denial of postal worker neck and back claim (ECAB 25-0361)

A postal equipment worker reported neck, shoulder, and back symptoms after pulling equipment. The Board found the submitted records described pain but did not establish a medical diagnosis connected with the accepted incident. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the claim.

April 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Buford David Hinkle v. Powell Mountain Coal Company Incorporated

Hinkle v. Powell Mountain Coal (BRB 24-0240 BLA): benefits denial returned for disability review

Buford David Hinkle sought black lung benefits after more than 24 years of coal mine work. The administrative law judge denied the claim after finding that Hinkle had not shown a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The Board held that the judge had given controlling weight to the newest…

April 22, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Larry Ison v. Arch of Kentucky/Apogee Coal Company and Arch Coal, Incorporated

Ison v. Arch of Kentucky/Apogee Coal (BRB 24-0055 BLA): benefits award and carrier liability remanded

Larry Ison sought black lung benefits after 24.85 years of qualifying coal mine work. The administrative law judge awarded benefits under the 15 year presumption and held Arch Coal responsible for payment. The Board held that the judge wrongly excluded Arch's liability evidence after treating it as…

April 22, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Socorro Fimbres v. Total Terminals International, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association, Ltd

Fimbres v. Total Terminals International (BRB 23-0484): partial disability award modified

Socorro Fimbres, a port crane operator, received temporary and then permanent partial disability benefits after neck and back injuries from his work. The Board upheld the judge's finding that Fimbres could no longer perform his usual crane job but could do suitable work near his home. It also…

April 22, 2025 ·BRB
Modified
COMM

J.N. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration

Board upholds three percent left-leg impairment award (ECAB 25-0451)

A TSA employee sought a larger schedule award for her left knee condition. The Board reviewed the medical ratings and found they did not establish more than three percent permanent impairment of the left leg. It affirmed OWCP's award decision.

April 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.C. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Border Patrol

Board upholds denial of Achilles impairment award (ECAB 25-0438)

A Border Patrol agent sought a schedule award after an accepted right Achilles tendon injury and repair. The Board found the medical record did not establish that he had reached maximum medical improvement or quantify permanent impairment of a scheduled member. It affirmed the award denial.

April 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Westcliffe Post Office

Board dismisses appeal from informational OWCP letter (ECAB 25-0416)

A postal worker tried to appeal a purported March 2025 OWCP decision. The record contained an informational letter about requesting formal adjudication but no final adverse decision. The Board dismissed the appeal without deciding the underlying compensation claim.

April 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

S.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Central Illinois District

Board upholds denial of late reconsideration request (ECAB 25-0380)

A postal worker requested reconsideration after the one-year filing period. The Board found the request did not clearly demonstrate an error in the prior merits decision. It affirmed OWCP's refusal to reopen the claim.

April 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

United States Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Engraving and Printing and Fraternal Order of Police, District of Columbia Lodge No. 1, Bureau of Engraving and Printing Labor Committee

Bureau of Engraving and Printing and Fraternal Order of Police (FLRA 0-AR-5891): Authority sets aside pandemic hazard pay

Bureau of Engraving and Printing police officers sought a hazardous-pay differential for work performed during the COVID-19 pandemic. An arbitrator found that the agency's mitigation measures did not eliminate the unusual risk and awarded backpay under a contract article referring to the federal…

April 22, 2025 ·FLRA
Set aside
COMM

C.V. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

Board dismisses late appeal of benefits decision (ECAB 25-0429)

A USCIS employee appealed a July 15, 2024 OWCP decision in March 2025. The Board found the 180-day appeal period had ended in January and no documented compelling circumstances excused the delay. It dismissed the appeal without reaching the merits.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

C.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Northern Indiana Health Care System, Fort Wayne VA Medical Center

Board dismisses appeal from evidence-request letter (ECAB 25-0428)

A VA worker appealed an OWCP letter explaining what evidence was needed to adjudicate a compensation claim. The Board found the letter was informational and did not resolve the claim. It dismissed the appeal without deciding entitlement.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

J.B. and U.S. Postal Service, North Shore Post Office

Board dismisses appeal from job-offer correspondence (ECAB 25-0425)

A postal worker appealed an OWCP letter asking the employer to offer work within medical restrictions. The Board found that the letter was informational and did not decide the worker's compensation rights. It dismissed the appeal without a merits ruling.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

R.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Kilmer Post Office

Board upholds denial of later disability after ankle injury (ECAB 25-0410)

A postal letter carrier sought wage-loss benefits after stopping work again months after an accepted ankle injury. The Board found the medical record did not adequately establish that the accepted injury caused disability beginning in July 2024. It affirmed OWCP's denial.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

T.G. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Board upholds denial of brief shoulder disability recurrence (ECAB 25-0407)

A customs officer sought wage-loss compensation for a week in August 2024 after an accepted shoulder injury. The Board found the medical submissions did not adequately connect that specific disability period to the accepted injury. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the recurrence claim.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

E.C. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Board upholds denial of Corps worker stress claim (ECAB 25-0376)

An Army Corps leverman attributed anxiety and stress to workplace climate and alleged harassment. The Board found the record did not substantiate a compensable employment factor, including error or abuse in the personnel matters he described. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the claim.

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.S. and U.S. Postal Service, City Colleges of Chicago Post Office

Board dismisses appeal from void OWCP decision (ECAB 25-0257)

A postal worker appealed OWCP's reconsideration denial concerning an impairment award. The Board found the same underlying issue was already before it when OWCP issued that decision, so OWCP had no concurrent authority to decide it. With the OWCP decision void, the Board dismissed the appeal for…

April 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

Teresa Parrish (on behalf of William Parrish) v. Rend Lake Mine and CONSOL Energy, Incorporated

Parrish v. Rend Lake Mine (BRB 24-0227 BLA): benefits award and start date affirmed

Teresa Parrish continued her late husband William's black lung claim. An administrative law judge found that William had at least 17 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment, triggering the Section 411(c)(4) presumption. The Board upheld the judge's…

April 18, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

A.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Saint Louis Post Office

Board upholds denial of repetitive-duty condition claim (ECAB 25-0454)

A postal rural carrier attributed arm and hand symptoms to repetitive tasks including gripping, lifting, and sorting mail. The Board found the submitted evidence did not establish a diagnosed medical condition connected with those accepted job factors. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the claim.

April 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

T.G. and Department of the Navy, Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility

Board upholds denial of ratable hearing-loss award (ECAB 25-0452)

A Navy shipyard rigger with work-related noise exposure sought a schedule award for hearing loss. The Board found the audiometric evidence did not establish ratable impairment under the applicable method. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the award.

April 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.M. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Board orders impartial review of ICE worker hearing-loss claim (ECAB 25-0386)

An ICE officer claimed federal noise exposure caused hearing loss. OWCP's second-opinion physician and the worker's treating physician disagreed about causation. The Board found their opinions of equal weight and returned the claim for an impartial specialist to resolve the conflict.

April 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

E.G. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, U.S. Border Patrol

Board upholds three percent arm rating and reconsideration denial (ECAB 25-0383)

A customs officer sought a higher schedule award for left arm impairment and asked OWCP to reconsider its rating. The Board found the medical evidence did not establish more than three percent impairment and that the reconsideration submission did not justify reopening the merits. It affirmed both…

April 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Clermont Carrier Annex

Board returns postal disability claim for combined file review (ECAB 25-0377)

A postal carrier sought wage-loss benefits after accepted injuries involving her right hand. OWCP had not combined another right-hand injury file despite an earlier direction to do so. The Board found it could not evaluate the disability claim without the related file and returned the case for a…

April 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Matter of N-N-B-

CAT deferral reversed and respondent ordered removed

The Department of Homeland Security appealed an Immigration Judge's grant of deferral of removal under the Convention Against Torture to a native and citizen of Russia. The Immigration Judge found that the respondent could be tortured for refusing to join the military, but the Board held that this…

April 17, 2025 ·BIA
Vacated
COMM

S.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Greensboro Processing and Distribution Center, Pleasant Ridge Annex

Board upholds health-insurance premium overpayment recovery (ECAB 25-0415)

A postal worker's health-insurance premiums were not properly deducted from FECA wage-loss compensation. The Board found this created a $1,458.40 overpayment for which she was without fault. It upheld OWCP's denial of waiver and repayment through deductions from continuing benefits.

April 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

K.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Paterson Post Office

Board returns postal worker long-term disability claim for specialist review (ECAB 25-0411)

A postal worker sought compensation for disability after an accepted right shoulder injury. His treating physician's reports did not prove the full claimed period but raised a medical question requiring further development. The Board ordered OWCP to obtain a specialist's opinion and issue a new…

April 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

S.I. and Department of the Navy, Norfolk Naval Shipyard

Board upholds overpayment from overlapping VA benefits (ECAB 25-0397)

A Navy shipyard worker received a FECA schedule award while also receiving increased VA service-connected disability benefits for the same condition. The Board found a $49,080.53 overpayment, compromised to $47,789.65. Although he was without fault, his financial documentation did not establish…

April 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Bedford Park Post Office

Board grants some wage loss and returns later period (ECAB 25-0387)

A postal carrier sought compensation after his modified-duty work became unavailable. The Board found he established a disability recurrence for August 31 through September 5, 2024. For later dates, it directed OWCP to combine related files and ask the employer whether work within his restrictions…

April 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

C.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Greensboro Processing and Distribution Center

Board returns continuation-of-pay claim to check filing date (ECAB 25-0300)

A postal carrier requested continuation of pay after an accepted foot injury. OWCP rejected the request as late, but the record indicated he may have filed an earlier injury form electronically. The Board returned the claim for OWCP to resolve that filing-date question and issue a new decision.

April 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
ALJ

Dish Network, L.L.C.

Willful rooftop fall-protection citation vacated

A DISH technician installed a satellite antenna on a flat restaurant roof about 14 feet above the ground in Syracuse, New York. Two OSHA compliance officers observing from a restaurant 175 to 200 feet away believed the technician was not attached to fall protection and OSHA issued a willful…

April 17, 2025 ·John B. Gatto ·OSHRC
Citations vacated
COMM

Matter of O-A-R-G-

Protection claims denied

The lead respondent, a former Colombian police officer, was beaten and threatened by the FARC after participating in a police operation, and his partner and minor daughter joined his applications for relief. The Board held that the harm was tied to his conduct as a serving police officer, not to…

April 16, 2025 ·BIA
Affirmed
COMM

C.M. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

Board upholds denial of TSA inspector arm claim (ECAB 25-0408)

A TSA compliance inspector reported hand and elbow symptoms after pushing carts and writing at work. The Board found the physicians' reports listed diagnoses and restrictions but did not adequately explain how the accepted incident caused a medical condition. It affirmed OWCP's denial.

April 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Y.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Seminole Processing and Distribution Center

Board upholds denial of reopening postal injury claim (ECAB 25-0396)

A postal mail handler asked OWCP to reconsider a denied neck and back injury claim. The Board found the request repeated a prior argument and did not provide relevant new evidence or a new legal basis for review. It upheld OWCP's refusal to reopen the merits.

April 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Saint Johns Place Post Office

Board upholds denial of later knee disability recurrence (ECAB 25-0388)

A postal truck driver sought renewed wage-loss compensation years after an accepted right knee injury. The Board found the medical reports did not adequately connect her claimed 2024 inability to work to the accepted 2015 injury. It affirmed OWCP's denial of the recurrence claim.

April 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.F. and Department of the Army, Anniston Army Depot

Board upholds denial of ratable Army hearing-loss award (ECAB 25-0382)

An Army depot machinist with accepted work-related hearing loss sought a schedule award. The Board found the audiometric results did not produce a ratable permanent impairment under the applicable method. It affirmed OWCP's award denial.

April 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.D. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Malcolm Randall VA Medical Center

Board returns VA worker neck claim for specialist review (ECAB 25-0353)

A VA administrator reported a neck injury after lifting at work. Her physician's report did not itself prove causation but was sufficient to require further review. The Board directed OWCP to treat the filing as a traumatic injury claim, obtain a specialist's reasoned opinion, and issue a new…

April 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Victor Byobusingye v. Aegis Defense Services, LLC and Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania

Byobusingye v. Aegis Defense Services (BRB 23-0409): Defense Base Act claim denial affirmed

Victor Byobusingye sought Defense Base Act benefits for psychological conditions he attributed to his security work in Afghanistan. The administrative law judge found that the employer had rebutted the statutory presumption connecting the conditions to work, then weighed the evidence and denied the…

April 15, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

P.Q. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Audie L. Murphy Memorial Veterans’ Hospital

Board upholds refusal to reopen VA worker claim (ECAB 25-0373)

A VA health care administrator asked OWCP to reconsider an earlier claim decision. The Board found her request repeated an argument already considered and did not provide a qualifying new basis for merits review. It affirmed OWCP's refusal to reopen the claim.

April 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Muskego Post Office

Board recognizes sciatica diagnosis and returns postal claim (ECAB 25-0359)

A postal worker felt back pain while pushing a loaded pallet. An emergency physician diagnosed left-sided sciatica after the accepted incident. The Board found a diagnosed condition established and returned the claim for OWCP to decide whether the work event caused it.

April 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

E.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Fort Lauderdale Post Office

Board reverses postal worker wage-loss termination (ECAB 25-0351)

A postal carrier's wage-loss benefits were terminated after a second-opinion evaluation. The Board found OWCP had not combined her related spine-injury files before referring her for that opinion. Without the complete claim record, OWCP had not carried its burden to justify termination, so the…

April 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Vacated
COMM

J.W. and Department of Health and Human Services, Indian Health Service, Whiteriver Indian Hospital

Board recognizes two facial injuries after work fall (ECAB 25-0331)

An Indian Health Service nurse fell on stairs while leaving work. The Board found medical evidence linked a facial abrasion and orbital contusion to the accepted incident. It found the evidence insufficient to connect additional claimed conditions and returned the case for action consistent with…

April 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

D.M. and Department of Veterans Affairs, New York Harbor Healthcare System

Board rejects three diagnoses and returns pain syndrome issue (ECAB 25-0317)

A VA nurse sought to add several conditions to a claim following a workplace COVID-19 vaccination. The Board found insufficient evidence for three diagnoses. Treating and second-opinion physicians conflicted over complex regional pain syndrome, so it returned that issue for an impartial examination.

April 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

Secretary of Labor v. Consol Mining Company, LLC

Unassessed withdrawal order reopened

Consol requested an MSHA conference to challenge a section 104(b) withdrawal order and expected to contest it with the later penalty assessment for the underlying citation. MSHA assessed no separate penalty for the order, so it was not included as a contestable item in the petition and became final…

April 14, 2025 ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Secretary of Labor v. TM Crushing, LLC

Vague staffing explanation rejected

TM Crushing said a personnel change prevented its proposed penalty assessment from reaching outside counsel before the contest deadline. The operator did not identify who changed roles, when the transition occurred, how responsibilities were covered, when the error was discovered, or what…

April 14, 2025 ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Secretary of Labor v. Consol Pennsylvania Coal Company, LLC

Timely contests misrouted by MSHA

Consol Pennsylvania Coal mailed two penalty contests within days after receiving the assessments, and MSHA's Arlington mail room received them before the deadline. An internal MSHA error kept the forms from reaching the Civil Penalty Compliance Office, leading to delinquency letters. The Secretary…

April 14, 2025 ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Secretary of Labor v. Thomas Crushing, LLC

Omitted MSHA guidance defeated reopening

Thomas Crushing claimed it believed an earlier conference request counted as a penalty contest because MSHA never followed up. MSHA records showed that an official had called the operator the same day, explained how to contest after receiving the assessment, and received an email confirming the…

April 14, 2025 ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Benny Southern v. Alden Resources, LLC and Commerce & Industry Insurance

Southern v. Alden Resources (BRB 24-0341 BLA): black lung benefits award affirmed

Benny Southern sought black lung benefits after 16 years of underground coal mine work. The administrative law judge found total respiratory disability from blood gas studies and medical opinions, then applied the 15 year presumption. Alden Resources argued that the newest blood gas study, which…

April 14, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

M.S. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration

Board returns TSA worker disability claim for further medical review (ECAB 25-0391)

A TSA worker sought wage-loss benefits after an accepted 2018 injury. The Board found the medical record concerning disability beginning in February 2019 needed further development before the claim could be resolved. It set aside OWCP's decision and ordered a new review.

April 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

B.L. and Department of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau

Board upholds suspension of Census worker benefits (ECAB 25-0389)

A Census Bureau field supervisor was asked to complete a Form EN-1032 disclosing information relevant to continuing benefits. The Board found OWCP mailed the form and warned that nonresponse would suspend payments. Because the worker did not return the form, it upheld the suspension.

April 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Fargo Post Office

Board upholds retirement-benefit overpayment (ECAB 25-0327)

A postal worker received FECA wage-loss compensation and Social Security retirement benefits attributable to federal service without the required offset. The Board upheld a $18,910.79 overpayment for which she was without fault. It also upheld OWCP's refusal to waive recovery.

April 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs, North Florida/South Georgia Health Care, Ocala West Specialty Clinic

Board returns VA clerk hand-condition claim for medical review (ECAB 25-0313)

A VA medical clerk attributed hand and arm conditions to repetitive work duties. Her treating physician linked carpal tunnel syndrome to those duties, but the Board found the record needed further medical development before a final causation decision. It returned the claim to OWCP for additional…

April 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Marjorie Spears (on behalf of and widow of Shawn R. Spears) v. Pinnacle Mining Company, LLC and Rockwood Casualty Insurance Company

Spears v. Pinnacle Mining (BRB 24-0378 and 24-0379 BLA): miner and survivor awards affirmed

Marjorie Spears pursued her late husband Shawn's black lung claim and her own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge found Shawn had at least 38 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment, which triggered the Section 411(c)(4) presumption. The Board…

April 11, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Marjorie Spears (on behalf of and widow of Shawn R. Spears) v. Pinnacle Mining Company, LLC and Rockwood Casualty Insurance Company

Spears v. Pinnacle Mining (BRB 24-0378 and 24-0379 BLA): miner and survivor awards affirmed

Marjorie Spears pursued her late husband Shawn's black lung claim and her own survivor's claim. The administrative law judge found Shawn had at least 38 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment, which triggered the Section 411(c)(4) presumption. The Board…

April 11, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Theresa Wolford and Tamara Murray (on behalf of Ferrell W. Mutter) v. C & H Coal Company, Incorporated

Wolford and Murray v. C & H Coal (BRB 24-0293 BLA): black lung benefits denial affirmed

Theresa Wolford and Tamara Murray continued their late father's black lung claim after he died while it was pending. An administrative law judge found that Ferrell Mutter had 26.07 years of qualifying mine work but that the evidence did not establish complicated pneumoconiosis or a totally…

April 11, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Tina Urconis (on behalf of Shelia Hensley, widow of David Hensley) v. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs

Urconis v. Director, OWCP (BRB 24-0254 BLA): survivor claim returned for death causation review

Tina Urconis continued her late mother's survivor claim arising from David Hensley's death. The administrative law judge found clinical pneumoconiosis from coal mine work but denied benefits because she concluded the evidence did not show that it substantially contributed to his death. The Board…

April 11, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded

What these documents are

  • The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
  • Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
  • ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
  • Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
  • Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.