Federal Agency Decisions

Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.

60,101 decisions and counting · Latest decision October 28, 2026
60,101 decisions

No decisions match these filters

Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.

COMM

L.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Philadelphia Processing and Distribution Center

Board dismisses postal worker's appeals of old decisions (ECAB 25-0631)

A Philadelphia postal worker appealed two OWCP decisions on June 17, 2025. The Board calculated that the 180-day appeal deadlines had expired in December 2023 and March 2025. Because both deadlines had passed and no compelling delay was documented, it dismissed the appeal without a merits ruling.

July 28, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

C.G. and Department of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau

Board upholds Census worker's benefits suspension after missed exam (ECAB 25-0652)

A Census Bureau worker missed a scheduled second opinion medical examination. She said the appointment letter arrived late, but offered no proof to overcome the presumption that a properly mailed letter was delivered. She also gave no timely good cause after OWCP's proposed suspension. The Board…

July 25, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

F.M. and U.S. Postal Service, West Milwaukee Post Office

Board upholds end of postal worker's wage loss and medical benefits (ECAB 25-0599)

A Milwaukee postal employee received benefits after an accepted 2019 knee injury. OWCP's medical evidence found the accepted conditions had resolved and he could return to work. The Board found the examiner's opinion sufficiently supported the end of work-related disability and residuals. It upheld…

July 25, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

D.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Dallas Network Distribution Center

Board returns Dallas postal worker's limb impairment claim (ECAB 25-0131)

A Dallas postal worker sought larger impairment awards for his right arm and both legs. An impartial examiner rated the limbs but used an incomplete approach to the right knee procedures and did not fully explain several rating choices. The Board found the opinion insufficient to resolve the…

July 25, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Donald J. Whetzel v. Consol Mining Company, LLC

Whetzel v. Consol Mining (BRB 24-0484 BLA): benefits award upheld

Donald Whetzel sought black lung benefits after twenty-five years of qualifying coal mine employment. The judge found that medical opinions established a disabling respiratory impairment despite nonqualifying test results, and awarded benefits under the fifteen year presumption. The Board upheld…

July 24, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Ronald W. Renfrow v. Hoke Company, Incorporated

Renfrow v. Hoke Company (BRB 24-0463 BLA): black lung benefits award affirmed

Ronald W. Renfrow worked 15.43 years in surface coal mining conditions substantially similar to underground work and had a totally disabling respiratory or pulmonary impairment. The administrative law judge applied the Section 411(c)(4) presumption and awarded benefits after finding the employer…

July 24, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

R.K. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Perry Point VA Medical Center

Board returns VA worker's shoulder impairment rating for review (ECAB 25-0624)

A VA employee sought more than a seven percent right arm impairment award. The district medical adviser compared rating methods but did not address all treating doctors' reports or all claimed shoulder findings. The Board returned the case for a supplemental review and new decision.

July 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

J.A. and Department of Justice, U.S. Marshals Service

Board returns marshal's arm impairment claim for neutral examination (ECAB 24-0416)

A U.S. Marshals Service employee sought higher permanent impairment awards for both arms. His physician and OWCP's medical adviser gave conflicting ratings for nerve deficits linked to the accepted injury. The Board found the conflict required an impartial examiner before a new award decision.

July 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

K.W. and U.S. Postal Service, West Avenue Carrier Annex

Reissued Board decision denies postal worker's treatment visit pay (ECAB 24-0049)

A Stamford postal worker sought pay for time lost to a July 12, 2023 medical appointment. The Board found the submitted records did not establish that she attended a visit that day for treatment of the accepted 2019 injury. It affirmed the wage loss denial.

July 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

V.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Weathers Post Office

Reissued Board decision returns postal worker's disability claim (ECAB 23-1013)

A St. Louis postal worker sought wage loss after retiring from a job linked to an accepted emotional condition. OWCP's consulting psychiatrist referred to her retirement but did not explain whether the accepted injury caused disability during the claimed period. The Board ordered a new medical…

July 24, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Matter of O-Y-A-E-

CAT deferral vacated and removal ordered

The Department of Homeland Security appealed an Immigration Judge's grant of deferral of removal under the Convention Against Torture to a Venezuelan former military officer. The Board held that the Immigration Judge made a material factual error about when the respondent was last threatened and…

July 23, 2025 ·BIA
Vacated
COMM

William Vanover v. Dove Coal, Incorporated

Vanover v. Dove Coal (BRB 25-0025 BLA): black lung benefits award affirmed

William Vanover worked 22 years in underground coal mining and claimed black lung benefits on a subsequent claim. The administrative law judge found a totally disabling respiratory impairment, applied the Section 411(c)(4) presumption, and found a change in an applicable condition of entitlement…

July 23, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

T.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Carmel Mountain Postal Store Post Office

Board denies postal carrier's claim after seizure-related fall (ECAB 25-0672)

A postal carrier fell at work after a seizure and injured his head and buttock when he hit the ground. The Board found the fall came from a personal medical condition, with no work hazard or special condition contributing. It upheld the claim denial because the injury did not occur in the…

July 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

E.B. and Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons

Board keeps prison worker's benefit cutoff but returns residual claim (ECAB 25-0650)

A Bureau of Prisons worker had benefits for a left hip injury. The Board found OWCP's medical evidence supported ending benefits in November 2024. A later physician report described continuing hip problems and conflicted with OWCP's examiner. The Board returned that later residuals claim for an…

July 23, 2025 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

D.G. and Department of Labor, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs

Board returns DOL worker's disability claim for missing opinion (ECAB 25-0654)

A DOL employee sought wage loss for a long period after an accepted 1988 injury. OWCP requested a supplemental physician report on her ability to work but denied the claim before receiving it. The Board ordered OWCP to complete that medical development and decide again.

July 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

A.P. and National Archives and Records Administration

Board denies Archives worker's lumbar injury claim (ECAB 25-0629)

A National Archives employee reported a work incident and later sought compensation for a lumbar condition. His doctor said the condition was related to the incident but did not explain the medical basis for that conclusion. The Board found the causal evidence insufficient and upheld the denial.

July 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.C. and Department of Veterans Affairs, West Palm Beach VA Medical Center

Board returns VA technician's disability claim for period-specific review (ECAB 25-0613)

A VA surgical technician sought wage loss after an accepted ankle injury. OWCP's examiner said she could work as a technician but had not been asked whether she was disabled during the specific period starting December 2022. The Board returned the claim for a supplemental opinion addressing that…

July 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

M.G. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Federal Air Marshal Service

Board denies border worker's total disability claim (ECAB 25-0427)

A federal air marshal sought wage loss after accepted neck, back, and right leg injuries. His doctor's forms took him off work for part of the period but did not explain why those accepted conditions caused total disability throughout the claimed period. The Board found the medical evidence…

July 22, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Matter of Diego Geovanny BURI MORA

Cancellation grant vacated and removal ordered

The Department of Homeland Security appealed an Immigration Judge's grant of cancellation of removal to an Ecuadorian respondent with three United States citizen children and a United States citizen wife. The Board held that the record did not show exceptional and extremely unusual hardship from…

July 21, 2025 ·BIA
Vacated
COMM

Cecil R. Marcum v. Sea “B” Mining Company

Marcum v. Sea “B” Mining (BRB 25-0022 BLA): black lung benefits award affirmed

Cecil R. Marcum had 26 years of underground coal mine employment and a subsequent black lung claim. The administrative law judge found simple clinical pneumoconiosis and complicated pneumoconiosis, applied the irrebuttable Section 411(c)(3) presumption, and awarded benefits. The Board affirmed the…

July 21, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Linda F. Layton (on behalf of and Widow of Clifford V. Layton, Jr.) v. Southern Appalachian Coal Company

Layton v. Southern Appalachian Coal (BRB 24-0444 and 24-0445): benefits awards remanded for employment findings

Linda F. Layton pursued a black lung claim on behalf of her late husband, Clifford, and a survivor's claim. The administrative law judge awarded benefits after finding 16 years of qualifying underground coal mine employment, a totally disabling respiratory impairment, and no rebuttal of the Section…

July 21, 2025 ·BRB
Mixed result
COMM

Linda F. Layton (on behalf of and Widow of Clifford V. Layton, Jr.) v. Southern Appalachian Coal Company

Layton v. Southern Appalachian Coal (BRB 24-0444 and 24-0445): benefits awards remanded for employment findings

Linda F. Layton pursued a black lung claim on behalf of her late husband, Clifford, and a survivor's claim. The administrative law judge awarded benefits after finding 16 years of qualifying underground coal mine employment, a totally disabling respiratory impairment, and no rebuttal of the Section…

July 21, 2025 ·BRB
Mixed result
COMM

Randy Hamilton v. Redhawk Mining LLC

Hamilton v. Redhawk Mining (BRB 24-0365): benefits award remanded for disability findings

Randy Hamilton filed a subsequent black lung claim after an earlier denial for failure to establish total disability. The administrative law judge found 21.81 years of underground coal mine employment, a totally disabling respiratory impairment, and a basis for the Section 411(c)(4) presumption…

July 21, 2025 ·BRB
Mixed result
COMM

Horace McAroy v. Trapac, LLC

McAroy v. Trapac (BRB 23-0490): permanent partial disability award affirmed

Horace McAroy worked as a longshoreman and injured his neck and lower back in an August 2021 workplace incident. The administrative law judge found the injury work related and awarded permanent partial disability benefits. The employer sought Special Fund relief under Section 8(f), arguing that a…

July 21, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

R.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Dominick V. Daniels Processing and Distribution Center

Board again denies postal worker's continuing disability claim (ECAB 25-0637)

A postal worker sought ongoing benefits from an accepted 2004 injury. A prior Board decision had rejected continuing disability after September 2021. The Board found the later evidence did not establish ongoing work-related disability or residuals and affirmed OWCP's renewed denial.

July 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Richmond Post Office

Board declines to reopen postal worker's recurrence claim (ECAB 25-0611)

A Richmond postal carrier sought reconsideration of a recurrence claim after an accepted knee injury. Her argument focused on expanding the accepted conditions rather than the recurrence issue under review. The Board found no relevant new evidence or legal argument requiring OWCP to reopen the…

July 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Olivehurst Post Office

Board denies postal carrier's tarsal tunnel claim (ECAB 25-0567)

A postal carrier linked tarsal tunnel syndrome to long hours walking delivery routes. Her doctor's report said work could aggravate a foot condition but did not provide a firm, reasoned link to tarsal tunnel syndrome. The Board found that evidence too speculative and affirmed the denial.

July 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

P.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Jacksonville Post Office

Board returns postal worker's hand claim for combined file review (ECAB 25-0539)

A Jacksonville postal worker claimed bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome from repetitive mail handling. OWCP reviewed that claim separately from an earlier claim involving overlapping neck, back, and limb evidence. The Board found the files needed to be combined for a full review. It returned the…

July 21, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Matter of K-E-S-G-

Sex-based social groups rejected and cancellation issue remanded

The Board reviewed a Salvadoran respondent's applications for asylum and withholding of removal after a remand from the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. The Board held that proposed social groups defined only by sex, or by sex and nationality, are too broad and insufficiently…

July 18, 2025 ·BIA
Remanded
COMM

Joseph L. Lechner, Jr. v. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs

Lechner v. Director (BRB 25-0019 BLA): benefits denial remanded for review of pulmonary tests

Joseph L. Lechner, Jr. filed a subsequent black lung claim after an earlier denial based on failure to establish total disability. The administrative law judge accepted that he had 30.42 years of qualifying coal mine employment and pneumoconiosis, but denied benefits after finding that he did not…

July 18, 2025 ·BRB
Mixed result
COMM

Sarah Kunselman (on behalf of Donald M. Kunselman) v. Rosebud Mining Company

Kunselman v. Rosebud Mining (BRB 25-0008 BLA): benefits denial remanded for medical review

Sarah Kunselman pursued her late husband's black lung claim after the Benefits Review Board had already remanded the case twice. The administrative law judge again denied benefits after finding that the medical opinions did not establish total disability, even though one physician supported total…

July 18, 2025 ·BRB
Mixed result
COMM

Ora P. Robinette (widow of Roy Robinette) v. Big Lump Coal Company and Travelers Insurance Company

Robinette v. Big Lump Coal (BRB 24-0485 BLA): survivor's benefits award affirmed

Ora P. Robinette pursued survivor's black lung benefits after the district director denied her claim. The administrative law judge found that Roy Robinette had at least 15 years of qualifying underground coal mine employment and a totally disabling respiratory impairment, invoked the Section…

July 18, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

David A. Eavenson v. ERP Federal Mining Complex, LLC and Brickstreet Mutual Insurance Company, Incorporated

Eavenson v. ERP Federal Mining Complex (BRB 24-0425 BLA): benefits denial partly vacated and remanded

David A. Eavenson sought black lung benefits after an administrative law judge denied his request for modification. The judge accepted that Eavenson had 31 years of underground coal mine employment but found that he had not established total disability based on the pulmonary tests and medical…

July 18, 2025 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

D.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Cardiss Collins Post Office

Board keeps postal worker's overpayment but returns waiver and leg rating (ECAB 25-0595)

A postal employee received total disability benefits for two weeks after returning to work. The Board upheld the $1,481.23 overpayment but found he was without fault for that first incorrect deposit, so OWCP must consider waiver. It also found the right leg impairment record incomplete and returned…

July 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

R.B. and Department of Defense, Department of Defense Education Activity

Board rejects late reconsideration of Defense worker's claim (ECAB 25-0543)

A Defense Department worker sought reconsideration of a claim expansion denial more than one year after the last merits decision. The Board found the request late and the submitted argument insufficient to show clear error in the earlier ruling. It upheld OWCP's refusal to reopen the claim.

July 18, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Nano-C Inc.

In re Nano-C Inc. (EAB TSCA Appeal No. 25-04Q): $64,138 penalty paid and matter resolved

EPA alleged that Nano-C Inc. violated Sections 12(b) and 13 of the Toxic Substances Control Act and related reporting requirements at 40 C.F.R. part 707. EPA's complaint sought a $64,138 penalty. Nano-C paid the full proposed penalty, which waived its rights to contest the allegations and appeal…

July 17, 2025 ·EPA EAB
Settled
COMM

Simmons v. Fourteenth Avenue Cartage Co., Inc.

STAA appeal dismissed after missed briefing and show-cause deadlines

Raymond Simmons appealed an order denying his STAA claim against Fourteenth Avenue Cartage. The Board directed him to file an opening brief by June 9, 2025, but he did not do so. It then gave him until July 2 to submit the brief and explain the missed deadline, warning that silence could lead to…

July 17, 2025 ·DOL ARB
Procedural
COMM

Administrator, Wage and Hour Div., USDOL v. A&M Labor Management, Inc.

Job-order penalties restored while layoff findings and no debarment stand

The Wage and Hour Administrator appealed rulings concerning A&M Labor Management's corn-harvesting operations under the H-2A program. The Board upheld the finding that 13 U.S. workers were fired for refusing to work in rain and mud, rather than unlawfully laid off, and rejected the related…

July 17, 2025 ·DOL ARB
Mixed result
COMM

M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Morgan Processing and Distribution Center

Board dismisses appeal of postal case development letter (ECAB 25-0665)

A New York postal employee appealed an OWCP letter asking for more claim evidence. Although the letter mentioned appeal rights, it was a follow-up development request and did not decide the claim. The Board dismissed the appeal for lack of jurisdiction.

July 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Procedural
COMM

M.B. and Architect of the Capitol, Employee Benefits and Services Branch

Board declines to reopen Capitol worker's dust exposure claim (ECAB 25-0612)

An Architect of the Capitol worker sought reconsideration of a claim involving toner dust exposure. His lawyer repeated arguments previously made about the incident and medical evidence. The Board found no relevant new argument or evidence requiring OWCP to reopen the claim and upheld the refusal.

July 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Oklahoma City VA Medical Center

Board keeps VA worker's existing leg impairment awards (ECAB 25-0610)

A VA employee sought awards above 11 percent right leg and 12 percent left leg impairment. The Board reviewed the medical ratings under the applicable guide and found the evidence did not establish a higher permanent impairment in either leg. It upheld the existing award determination.

July 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Brownsville Post Office

Board returns postmaster's intermittent disability claim (ECAB 25-0243)

A Brownsville postmaster sought pay for intermittent missed work after accepted emotional and physical conditions, including an aggravation of rheumatoid arthritis. OWCP's mental health examiner did not explain the full claimed period, and OWCP had not obtained a specialist opinion on the…

July 17, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

T.E. and Department of the Navy, Military Sealift Command

Board declines to reopen Navy worker's injury claim (ECAB 25-0616)

A Military Sealift Command worker requested reconsideration of an earlier injury ruling. The Board found his request did not identify a relevant legal error or present pertinent new evidence. It upheld OWCP's refusal to reopen the claim.

July 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Palatine Processing and Distribution Center

Board declines to reopen postal worker's injury claim (ECAB 25-0608)

A Palatine mail processing clerk asked OWCP to reconsider a prior injury decision. The Board found her submission did not show a legal error or provide relevant new evidence requiring another merits review. It upheld the refusal to reopen.

July 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Boggs Road Post Office

Board recognizes mold exposure in postal worker's vehicle (ECAB 25-0600)

A Duluth postal worker reported mold in her delivery vehicle and an aggravation of allergic rhinitis. Samples, a coworker statement, and a workplace grievance supported her account of mold exposure. The Board found the exposure occurred but left open whether it caused an injury. It returned the…

July 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

D.H. and Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation

Board denies reclamation engineer's workplace stress claim (ECAB 25-0538)

A Bureau of Reclamation engineer linked an emotional condition to supervisory actions, project disputes, and alleged harassment and discrimination. The Board found no reliable evidence of error or abuse in administrative actions or of the alleged harassment. Without a compensable employment factor…

July 16, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
ALJ

Secretary of Labor on behalf of Caesar Miranda v. Dixon Rock and Materials, LLC

Temporary reinstatement ordered

Caesar Miranda worked as a laborer at Dixon Rock and Materials, an aggregate surface mine. He alleged that he raised safety concerns about work pace and requested a respirator, after which he was sent home, removed from the schedule, and told to leave the mine. Judge Jacqueline R. Bulluck found…

July 15, 2025 ·Jacqueline R. Bulluck ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Clarence Napier v. J & G Holdings, Incorporated and Kentucky Employers' Mutual Insurance

Napier v. J & G Holdings (BRB 24-0477 BLA): complicated pneumoconiosis award affirmed

Clarence Napier sought benefits in a subsequent black lung claim after an earlier denial. The administrative law judge found complicated pneumoconiosis based on positive CT scan evidence, invoked the irrebuttable presumption of total disability, and awarded benefits. J & G Holdings and Kentucky…

July 15, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Lisa DiRocco (widow of Rocco DiRocco) v. Electric Boat Corporation

DiRocco v. Electric Boat (BRB 24-0070): COVID-19 death claim denied

Lisa DiRocco sought survivor's benefits after her husband, Rocco DiRocco, died from COVID-19 complications. The administrative law judge found that the circumstances could invoke the Act's Section 20(a) presumption of a work-related injury, but held that Electric Boat rebutted the presumption with…

July 15, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Robles v. Quirch Foods, LLC

Administrative dismissal affirmed after employee elected federal court

Alex Robles alleged that Quirch Foods violated the STAA when it terminated him. While his administrative case remained pending, he filed a federal district-court complaint after the statutory 210-day period had elapsed without a final Labor Department decision. The administrative judge dismissed…

July 15, 2025 ·DOL ARB
Procedural
COMM

D.C. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration

Board rejects TSA worker's claim expansion request (ECAB 25-0621)

A TSA employee asked OWCP to expand an accepted 2021 injury claim to include more conditions. The Board considered the new medical evidence and found it did not adequately establish that the accepted injury caused or aggravated the requested conditions. It upheld OWCP's denial.

July 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.T. and Department of Veterans Affairs, American Lake Medical Center

Board keeps VA worker's existing arm impairment awards (ECAB 25-0619)

A VA employee sought permanent impairment ratings above 34 percent for the right arm and 12 percent for the left arm. The Board found the submitted medical evidence did not support larger ratings under the required impairment guide. It upheld the existing award determination.

July 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Southfield Post Office

Board denies postal worker's occupational disease claim (ECAB 25-0593)

A Shreveport postal worker sought compensation for a condition she attributed to work duties. After a prior Board ruling, she submitted more medical evidence. The Board found it still did not provide a sufficient reasoned link between accepted work factors and the diagnosed condition. It upheld the…

July 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

P.D. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Fiscal Service

Board finds VA worker's emotional condition claim timely (ECAB 25-0488)

A VA fiscal service employee filed an emotional condition claim more than three years after leaving work. Her supervisor, however, had received notice of work-related psychological problems within 30 days of her last exposure to the alleged work factors. The Board found that notice satisfied a…

July 15, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

J.M. and Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons, United States Penitentiary Big Sandy

Board denies prison officer's left shoulder claim (ECAB 25-0609)

A prison officer struck a steel plate with his left shoulder during a work incident. His doctors diagnosed shoulder conditions, but their reports did not adequately explain how that event caused or aggravated them. The Board upheld the claim denial for lack of reasoned medical causation evidence.

July 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Tampa Post Office

Board returns postal worker's concussion expansion claim (ECAB 25-0544)

A Tampa postal worker sought to add vertigo, headaches, and a cervical condition to an accepted concussion claim. OWCP's examiner rejected the claim partly because he said there was no proof of a concussion, despite OWCP's acceptance of that injury. The Board found his opinion could not resolve the…

July 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

E.M. and U.S. Postal Service, White Plains Processing and Distribution Center

Board returns postal worker's disability recurrence claim (ECAB 24-0860)

A White Plains postal worker sought wage loss after an accepted knee injury, saying she was sent home because no suitable adjustable chair was available. The Board found the record did not adequately resolve the work accommodation facts or related disability question. It returned the claim for more…

July 14, 2025 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Sharon R. O'Quinn (on behalf of and widow of Carlos W. O'Quinn) v. Triple B Coal Company

O'Quinn v. Triple B Coal (BRB 24-0347 and 24-0348 BLA): benefits affirmed after remand

Sharon R. O'Quinn pursued miner's and survivor's black lung benefits after Carlos W. O'Quinn died. On remand, the administrative law judge found legal pneumoconiosis and total disability causation, awarded benefits in both claims, and found Triple B Coal responsible for payment. The Board held that…

July 11, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Sharon R. O'Quinn (on behalf of and widow of Carlos W. O'Quinn) v. Triple B Coal Company

O'Quinn v. Triple B Coal (BRB 24-0347 and 24-0348 BLA): benefits affirmed after remand

Sharon R. O'Quinn pursued miner's and survivor's black lung benefits after Carlos W. O'Quinn died. On remand, the administrative law judge found legal pneumoconiosis and total disability causation, awarded benefits in both claims, and found Triple B Coal responsible for payment. The Board held that…

July 11, 2025 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

A.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Houston-North Shepherd Post Office

Board upholds Houston postal worker's benefit forfeiture (ECAB 25-0579)

A Houston postal worker contested the maximum improvement date used for a schedule award and the loss of compensation benefits. The Board upheld the medical date. It also found federal court records showed her guilty plea for fraud in receiving FECA benefits was accepted on June 13, 2024. Under…

July 11, 2025 ·ECAB
Affirmed

What these documents are

  • The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
  • Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
  • ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
  • Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
  • Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.