Personal Representative Deed Requirements in Vermont
At a glance
| Governing law and transaction scope | 14 V.S.A. ch. 75 court-license model: Probate Division may order necessary/beneficial estate sale and licensed deed conveys authorized realty (§§ 1611, 1651-1652) |
|---|---|
| Property subject to representative control | Court may license all/part of realty when necessary or beneficial; beneficial license cannot conflict with will. Separate routes cover debts/legacies elsewhere, legacy, decedent contract, trust property, and encumbered property (§§ 1611, 1651, 1656-1662) |
| Will power and independent authority | Express will power does not eliminate license: court issues it without notice/hearing for property subject to power, except occupied dwelling; beneficial license cannot contradict will (§ 1651(10)-(11)) |
| Court petition and required findings | Motion states facts showing necessity/benefit; court finds sale necessary/beneficial and license/order includes findings on motion, required consents, hearing route, and any new bond (§ 1651(1)-(8)) |
| Notice, hearing, and objections | File written consents when required; missing required consent triggers hearing and Probate Rules notice. Interested person may prevent license by bond paying debts/expenses; will-power route usually skips notice/hearing except occupied dwelling (§§ 1614, 1651) |
| Sale method, price, credit, and appraisal | Court authorizes public or private sale; auction order states notice method. Statute states no universal appraisal, minimum-price percentage, credit term, or overbid formula (§ 1651(6)-(7)) |
| Confirmation, report, and deed execution | No separate confirmation stated. Fiduciary must be sworn before sale; licensed deed conveys authorized realty. Court may order report within 60 days after sale (§§ 1651(5), (9), 1652) |
| Recording the order and companion documents | Certified license/order must be recorded where deed records; deed is signed, acknowledged, and recorded with town clerk where land lies (§ 1651(8); 27 V.S.A. §§ 301, 341) |
| Purchaser protection and title effect | § 1652 validates deed of fiduciary holding certified license/order to convey authorized realty. No general no-inquiry or good-faith defect shield stated; deed effectiveness against others depends on acknowledgment/recording (27 V.S.A. § 342) |
Requirements one by one
Vermont starts with a court license
Under 14 V.S.A. §§ 1611 and 1651, the Probate Division may authorize the sale of all or part of estate real property when the sale appears necessary or beneficial. The executor or administrator files a motion stating the facts that support that finding. The resulting license or order identifies the property and authorizes a public or private sale.
Section 1651 does not state an independent no-order sale route. Section 1652 makes the fiduciary's deed valid to convey the real estate authorized by the certified license or order.
Consent, hearing, bond, and oath vary by branch
When interested-person consent is required, § 1651 requires the written consents to be filed. If required consent cannot be obtained, the court schedules a hearing and notice follows the Rules of Probate Procedure. Before issuing the license, the court may require a new bond securing the representative's duty to account for the proceeds.
The executor or administrator must also be sworn, and the certificate returned to the court, before a sale under the license. Separately, § 1614 allows an interested person to prevent a real-estate license by posting the court-directed bond conditioned to pay estate debts and administration expenses.
A will power changes procedure but not the license requirement
If the will expressly grants a sale power, § 1651(10) directs the court to issue a license without notice or hearing for property covered by that power. The exception is a dwelling occupied by the surviving spouse or an heir, devisee, or legatee.
Section 1651(11) also bars a beneficial-sale license inconsistent with the will's provisions or intent. A will power therefore streamlines the route; it does not replace the court-issued license.
The court controls the sale method and may require a report
The court may authorize either a public or private sale. If it orders an auction, the license or order states how notice of the time and place will be given. The statute states no universal appraisal, minimum-price percentage, credit limit, or courtroom-overbid formula.
If the court orders a report, § 1651(9) requires it within 60 days after the sale. The statute does not state a separate post-sale confirmation step before the fiduciary executes the deed.
Record the certified license or order with the deed
Section 1651(8) requires a certified copy of the real-estate license or order of sale to be recorded in the same office where the deed is recorded. Under 27 V.S.A. §§ 301 and 341, the authorized fiduciary executes and acknowledges the deed and records it with the town clerk where the land lies.
Section 1652 supplies the deed's probate title effect: a deed by the executor or administrator holding the certified license or order validly conveys the realty authorized to be sold. The statute does not add a broader good-faith no-inquiry shield for defects outside that authority.
Chapter 75 also supplies narrower licensed routes. Sections 1656 and 1657 cover out-of-state debts and legacies and a legacy unsupported by personal property; § 1659 covers a decedent's land contract; § 1661 covers realty held in trust; and § 1662 directs the first use of proceeds from licensed encumbered-property sales to the secured debt.
What trips people up
An express will power is not a no-court shortcut. The Probate Division still issues the license; the statutory benefit is that notice and hearing are omitted for covered property unless the property is an occupied dwelling.
Common questions
Can the court authorize a private sale?
Yes. Section 1651(6) allows the license or order to authorize either a public or private sale.
Can an interested person prevent the sale?
Section 1614 permits that person to prevent issuance of the license by giving the court-directed bond conditioned to pay estate debts and administration expenses within the time set by the court.
Does the sale need later confirmation?
Chapter 75 does not state a separate confirmation step. It requires the license or order before sale and permits the court to order a report within 60 days afterward.
Statutes and sources
- 14 V.S.A. §§ 1611, 1614, and 1651-1662 — license findings, consent, hearing, bond, oath, public/private sale, auction notice, will power, deed effect, report, and special sale routes. Official Vermont Legislature text, accessed 2026-08-12: http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/14/075
- 27 V.S.A. §§ 301, 341, and 342 — authorized deed, acknowledgment, town-clerk recording, and effect against third parties. Official Vermont Legislature text, accessed 2026-08-12: http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/27/005
Source links
Every statute quoted above, linked, with the date we checked it.
What does Vermont law mean for your facts?
You just read the general rule. Ask your own question and see which parts of current Vermont law apply to your situation, with citations you can check.
Opens in Ezel Pro.
- Starts from the statutes this survey is built on
- Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
- Chat, drafting and research in one workspace