Personal Representative Deed Requirements in New Hampshire

Short answer New Hampshire generally uses either a probate-court license or a written-consent route. A license is required when estate land must be sold because personal property is insufficient for debts and legacies, but no license is required when the will directs the sale or the surviving spouse and heirs or devisees give the written consents required by statute; licensed sales have court-set sale authority and a later return, while consent sales shift specified estate claims to the proceeds.
State
New Hampshire
Statute checked
August 12, 2026
Sources
9 statutes

At a glance

Governing law and transaction scopeRSA chs. 554 and 559 plus Probate Division Rules 106-107 create licensed and no-license sale tracks; 'administrator' includes an executor (§ 553:1)
Property subject to representative controlInventory lists known realty and date-of-death fair market value (§ 554:1). License may reach decedent land, estate-acquired land, a specified non-fee interest, timber/wood, or the whole parcel when partial sale would injure interested persons (§§ 559:1 through 559:4)
Will power and independent authorityNo license when the will directs the sale or all required consents are obtained (Prob. Div. R. 107; § 559:18). Written-consent route requires surviving spouse plus heirs/devisees, or disability representatives; will may provide otherwise (§ 559:18)
Court petition and required findingsDebt/legacy sale requires motion after inventory acceptance; show insufficiency/necessity, inventory and current value, legal description, and deed book/page. Court licenses only when personalty is insufficient; heirs/devisees may stop it with a sufficient bond (§§ 554:17, 559:1, 559:7; Rules 106-106-A)
Notice, hearing, and objectionsMotion copies go to counsel, appearing parties, and beneficially interested persons; court holds an unassented motion 10 days, objections are due in 10 days, and hearing occurs only on timely written request (Prob. Div. R. 21, 58). Public-sale notice is reported after sale (§ 559:15)
Sale method, price, credit, and appraisalLicensed sale may be auction or private sale as the license directs; fiduciary takes statutory oath, sale must occur within 2 years, and price cannot be below inventory value unless court orders otherwise (§§ 559:9, 559:10, and 559:14; Rule 106). Consent sale requires fidelity and impartiality (§ 559:18)
Confirmation, report, and deed executionNo separate pre-deed confirmation. Licensed fiduciary who took the oath and followed the license executes the deed, then within 1 year returns license, sale account, and sworn notice affidavit for approval/record (§§ 559:11, 559:15). No-license fiduciary reports net proceeds within 30 days (Rule 107)
Recording the order and companion documentsDeed is signed, acknowledged, shows grantee address, and records in county registry (§§ 477:3, 477:3-a). Probate records are exempt from § 477:3-a recording; surveyed statutes state no universal certified-license/order companion-recording condition
Purchaser protection and title effectA § 559:18 consent sale conveys title free of decedent-creditor and decedent/will claimant claims, which attach to proceeds (§ 559:19). Licensed-sale statute says compliant deed is valid (§ 559:11); recording protects against later bona fide value purchasers (§ 477:3-a), with no broader statutory no-inquiry shield

Requirements one by one

New Hampshire has a licensed route and a no-license route

RSA § 554:17 requires the administrator to seek a license when personal estate is insufficient and real property must be sold to pay debts or legacies. RSA § 559:1 gives the judge authority to license the sale. Probate Division Rule 106 holds the motion until the inventory has been filed and accepted, and Rule 106-A requires a sworn statement of estate assets, debts, legacies, and expected administration expenses.

There are two important alternatives. Probate Division Rule 107 says no license is required when the will directs the sale or all heirs or devisees consent. For the consent route, RSA § 559:18 more specifically requires the written consent of the surviving spouse and the heirs or devisees, with guardians or conservators acting for those under disability. A guardian ad litem may be appointed for a person under disability or whose whereabouts are unknown, or for unknown heirs.

The motion and license define the property and sale authority

The licensed route may reach decedent-owned land, land taken by the administrator in payment of an estate debt, a reversion, timber or wood, or another interest in land. Under RSA §§ 559:2 and 559:3, a non-fee interest must be specified in the application, notice, and license, and the court may authorize sale of the whole parcel when selling only part would injure interested people.

Rules 106 and 106-A require the motion to state inventory value, current market value if different, an adequate legal description, and the book and page of the decedent's recorded title. The court ordinarily cannot authorize a price below inventory value unless it orders otherwise. Heirs or devisees can prevent the license by giving a sufficient bond to pay the chargeable demands and indemnify the administrator under RSA § 559:7.

Motion service and objections come before the license decision

Probate Division Rule 21 requires the filer to provide the motion to attorneys, appearing self-represented parties, and beneficially interested people unless the court excuses service. Under Rule 58, the court holds an unassented motion for 10 days, objections are due during that period, and oral argument or an evidentiary hearing is scheduled only if timely requested in writing with an explanation of why it would help.

For a public sale, RSA § 559:15 does not state the advance publication formula, but it does require the later sworn return to identify the times, places, and manner in which sale notice was given. The court's statewide Return/Notice of Sale form separates private sales from public auctions and asks the filer to report posting and newspaper advertising for the auction route.

The license controls auction or private sale

RSA § 559:9 allows auction or private sale. The license either selects the method or lets the administrator select the mode that serves the estate's best interest. Before receiving either form of license, the administrator takes the oath in RSA § 559:10; the auction version additionally addresses fixing and advertising the time and place. The sale must occur within two years after the license under RSA § 559:14.

The no-license consent sale has no statutory inventory-value floor in RSA § 559:18, but the executor or administrator must conduct it with fidelity and impartiality.

The deed precedes the licensed-sale return

Under RSA § 559:11, the licensed administrator who took the oath and sold under the license may execute and deliver a valid conveyance. Within one year after the sale, RSA § 559:15 requires return of the license with the sale account and sworn notice affidavit. If the judge approves them, the account and affidavit are recorded in the probate proceeding and become prima facie evidence that notice was properly given.

For a will-directed or consent sale, Rule 107 requires notice to the court of the net proceeds within 30 days after receipt, together with the property description and recorded-title reference. A fiduciary with waiver of administration is excepted from that notification rule.

Record the deed in the county registry

RSA § 477:3 requires the deed to be signed, acknowledged before a justice, notary, or commissioner, and to show the grantee's mailing address. RSA § 477:3-a requires recording in the registry of deeds for the county where the land lies and protects later bona fide purchasers for value until recording. That section expressly exempts probate records from its recording command. The surveyed statewide statutes do not state a universal requirement to record a certified sale license or probate order beside the deed.

The consent route expressly shifts claims to proceeds

RSA § 559:19 gives the § 559:18 consent sale its distinctive title effect. The sale conveys the real estate free of claims by the decedent's creditors and by people claiming under the decedent or the will; those claims instead attach to the sale proceeds. The representative accounts for the proceeds to the probate court, which may deduct debts, legacies, inheritance taxes, and administration expenses before distribution to those who otherwise would have received the land.

The licensed-sale provision is narrower: RSA § 559:11 calls the compliant deed a valid conveyance but does not state a general good-faith purchaser no-inquiry rule. Ordinary recording protection under RSA § 477:3-a therefore remains important.

What trips people up

A will direction and unanimous family consent are different routes. Rule 107 recognizes both, while § 559:18 supplies the detailed written-consent requirements. A deed should not treat a general appointment as proof that one of those routes exists.

The post-sale filing deadline depends on the route. A licensed sale has a one-year statutory return deadline. A will-directed or consent sale has a 30-day net-proceeds notification under Rule 107.

The license expires for sale purposes. Under § 559:14, a sale more than two years after the license was granted cannot be sustained by that license.

Common questions

Can the court license a sale below the inventory value? Yes, but Rule 106 requires a court order allowing it. The motion must disclose both inventory value and current market value when they differ.

Can heirs stop a debt-payment sale? They or the devisees can prevent the license by giving the judge a sufficient bond to pay the chargeable demands and indemnify the administrator under § 559:7.

Does every probate sale receive a later confirmation order? No separate confirmation step appears in these provisions. The licensed fiduciary executes the deed after complying with the license and later files the return; the no-license fiduciary instead files the Rule 107 proceeds notification.

Statutes and sources

  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 553:1 — “administrator” includes executors. https://gc.nh.gov/rsa/html/LVI/553/553-1.htm (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 554:1 and 554:17-:18 — inventory and mandatory debt/legacy license duty. https://gc.nh.gov/rsa/html/LVI/554/554-mrg.htm (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. ch. 559 — licensed and written-consent sale routes, deed, return, and title effect. https://gc.nh.gov/rsa/html/LVI/559/559-mrg.htm (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Probate Division Rules 106 and 106-A — inventory acceptance, value floor, and motion contents. https://www.courts.nh.gov/rules-circuit-court-state-new-hampshire-probate-division/rule-106-motions-license-sell-mortgage-or (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Probate Division Rule 107 — sales without a license and 30-day proceeds notice. https://www.courts.nh.gov/rules-circuit-court-state-new-hampshire-probate-division/rule-107-sales-without-license (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Probate Division Rules 21 and 58 — service, objections, and hearing requests. https://www.courts.nh.gov/rules-circuit-court-state-new-hampshire-probate-division/rule-58-motions-objections-and-oral (accessed 2026-08-12)
  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 477:3, 477:3-a, and 477:7 — deed execution, county recording, priority, and validity. https://gc.nh.gov/rsa/html/XLVIII/477/477-3-a.htm (accessed 2026-08-12)

Source links

Every statute quoted above, linked, with the date we checked it.

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 553:1 · accessed 2026-08-12
N.H. Probate Division Rule 107 · accessed 2026-08-12
N.H. Probate Division Rules 21 and 58 · accessed 2026-08-12
This page is general legal information about state-law authority and procedure for an executor or administrator to sell and convey probate real property, not legal, tax, title, fiduciary, probate, valuation, recording, or closing advice about a particular estate, will, appointment, parcel, sale, purchaser, heir, creditor, lien, or court proceeding. Authority may depend on the will, letters, administration type, court orders, bond, property character, debts, exemptions, appraisal, sale terms, notice, consent, objections, confirmation, and recorded documents. A deed that satisfies ordinary signing formalities may still fail for lack of probate authority, and purchaser protection may preserve existing liens or actual-knowledge claims. Verified against the cited official sources on the date shown; consult a licensed probate and real- estate attorney and confirm current court and recorder requirements before listing, contracting to sell, signing, accepting, or recording a deed.

What does New Hampshire law mean for your facts?

You just read the general rule. Ask your own question and see which parts of current New Hampshire law apply to your situation, with citations you can check.

Opens in Ezel Pro.

  • Starts from the statutes this survey is built on
  • Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
  • Chat, drafting and research in one workspace