Direct Deposit and Payroll Card Requirements in South Carolina

Short answer South Carolina permits an employer-adopted wage-deposit plan without stating an employee consent or opt-out right. The deposit must go to the employee's credit at a federally insured financial institution doing business in South Carolina, and the employee gets at least one service-charge-free withdrawal per deposit. The Payment of Wages Act does not mention payroll cards or affirmatively authorize a mandatory card program.
State
South Carolina
Statute checked
July 15, 2026
Sources
6 statutes

At a glance

Governing law and coverageSouth Carolina Payment of Wages Act, S.C. Code §§ 41-10-10 to -110; applies to all employers, including public employers, but § 41-10-30 notice/records/statement duties exclude private-home domestic labor and employers consistently under 5 workers
Permitted wage-payment methodsLawful U.S. money; negotiable warrant or check dated on payday; deposit to employee's credit at federally insured financial institution doing business in South Carolina (§ 41-10-40(A)-(B))
Direct-deposit mandate or employee opt-outEmployer may adopt a wage deposit plan; § 41-10-40(B) states no employee-consent or opt-out requirement. The chapter does not mention payroll cards or establish mandatory-card authority
Consent, notice, revocation, and change timingNo deposit authorization, revocation, or switch deadline stated. Employers subject to § 41-10-30 disclose time/place of payment at hire and give at least 7 calendar days' written notice before changes
Employee choice of bank or accountStatute does not assign institution choice to employee. Deposit must be to employee's credit at a federally insured institution doing business in South Carolina
Payroll-card disclosures, records, and feesNo payroll-card definition, consent form, fee schedule, transaction-history rule, balance disclosure, privacy term, or itemized prohibited-fee list; deposit wages require an earnings-and-withholdings statement
Fee-free full-wage access and alternative paymentAt least one withdrawal per deposit free of service charge; statute does not expressly say the free withdrawal must cover the entire deposit and does not require cash/check alternative or method-change right
Final pay, enforcement, and remediesSame lawful methods may deliver separation pay due within 48 hours or next payday, no later than 30 days. § 41-10-40 violations can draw up to $100 each; unpaid wages under §§ 41-10-40/-50 can support 3× wages, costs, fees, and 3-year action

Requirements one by one

An employer may adopt a wage-deposit plan without statutory consent

S.C. Code § 41-10-40(B) says an employer may deposit all wages due to the employee's credit at a qualifying financial institution and refers to a wage deposit plan “adopted by an employer.” It does not condition the plan on the employee's consent, written authorization, or continuing right to opt out.

The institution must be doing business in South Carolina and be insured by a federal agency. The statute requires the deposit to the employee's credit, but does not say the employee chooses the institution. It also states no deposit- authorization form, revocation process, account-change deadline, or alternative cash-or-check election.

This rule generally reaches every employer, including state and local public employers, under S.C. Code §§ 41-10-10 and 41-10-20. Section 41-10-20's domestic-labor and consistently-under-five-worker exceptions apply only to § 41-10-30's notice, record, and statement duties, not to § 41-10-40's payment- method provision.

Covered employers disclose and give notice of payment terms

For employers subject to § 41-10-30, the employee must receive written notice at hiring of the time and place of payment, or the employer may conspicuously post the terms at or near the workplace. A change in those terms requires written notice at least seven calendar days before it takes effect.

Section 41-10-40(B) separately requires a statement of earnings and withholdings whenever wages are deposited at a financial institution. The general pay-period statement in § 41-10-30(C) shows gross pay and deductions, but South Carolina supplies no separate direct-deposit authorization form.

One free withdrawal is required, but the statute does not say “entire pay”

Every employer-adopted wage deposit plan must give each employee at least one withdrawal for every deposit free of any service charge. Unlike statutes that expressly require a full-balance or entire-net-pay withdrawal, § 41-10-40(B) does not state the amount that the free withdrawal must cover.

The chapter does not require a cash or check alternative, a split-deposit option, a convenience check, a particular ATM or branch network, or a deadline for changing away from the deposit plan.

The Payment of Wages Act does not create a payroll-card code

The current Chapter 10 text does not use “payroll card” or “paycard.” It does not define a card account, expressly authorize an employer to require a card, or assign who selects a card issuer. It also has no card-specific consent form, fee schedule, transaction-history rule, balance access notice, privacy or dispute disclosure, or itemized activation, loading, inactivity, replacement, ATM, or overdraft fee prohibition.

A program that relies on § 41-10-40(B)'s wage-deposit authority still must fit that subsection's actual terms: wages credited at a qualifying financial institution, a statement of earnings and withholdings, and at least one free withdrawal per deposit. The statute's silence does not independently establish that every payroll-card design or a mandatory card-only program is lawful.

Final wages and remedies follow the Payment of Wages Act

Section 41-10-50 applies after separation for any reason. All wages due must be paid within 48 hours or by the next regular payday, which may not be more than 30 days after separation. The payment-method requirements do not extend that deadline.

Under § 41-10-70, an employee may submit a written complaint to LLR, which may investigate and seek informal resolution. S.C. Code § 41-10-80 allows a civil penalty of up to $100 for each § 41-10-40 violation. When the payment-method violation is also a failure to pay wages due under § 41-10-40 or § 41-10-50, the employee may bring a civil action within three years for three times the unpaid wages, plus court-allowed costs and reasonable attorney's fees.

What trips people up

The statute does not require direct-deposit consent. Its wording focuses on an employer-adopted plan, the receiving institution, the employee's credit, and free withdrawal rather than authorization or opt-out.

One free withdrawal is not written as one free full-pay withdrawal. The law does not specify the amount of the protected withdrawal, so a summary should not insert “entire balance” into the text.

Direct-deposit authority is not a detailed payroll-card statute. Chapter 10 does not name cards or supply the disclosures, prohibited-fee list, or alternate- method right common in states that expressly regulate payroll cards.

Common questions

Can a South Carolina employer require direct deposit?

The Payment of Wages Act permits an employer-adopted deposit plan and states no employee-consent or opt-out requirement. The plan still must deposit wages to the employee's credit at a federally insured institution doing business in the state and provide at least one free withdrawal per deposit.

Does the employee choose the bank?

Section 41-10-40(B) does not assign bank choice to the employee. It requires a qualifying institution and a deposit to the employee's credit.

Can an employer require a payroll card?

The South Carolina Payment of Wages Act does not answer that question expressly. It never mentions payroll cards, so its direct-deposit provision should not be described as categorical authorization for every mandatory card program.

Statutes and sources

  • S.C. Code §§ 41-10-10 to -40. Coverage, hire/change notice, lawful wage- payment forms, deposit-plan conditions, earnings statement, and the free- withdrawal rule. Official Chapter 10 (accessed July 15, 2026).
  • S.C. Code §§ 41-10-50, -70, and -80. Separation deadline, LLR complaint process, civil penalties, unpaid-wage action, and limitations period. Official Chapter 10 (accessed July 15, 2026).
  • South Carolina LLR, Payment of Wages. Agency administration, complaint screening, investigation, citations, and warnings. Official agency page (accessed July 15, 2026).

Source links

Every statute quoted above, linked, with the date we checked it.

S.C. Code §§ 41-10-10 and 41-10-20 · accessed 2026-07-15
S.C. Code § 41-10-30 · accessed 2026-07-15
S.C. Code § 41-10-40 · accessed 2026-07-15
S.C. Code § 41-10-50 · accessed 2026-07-15
S.C. Code § 41-10-70 · accessed 2026-07-15
S.C. Code § 41-10-80 · accessed 2026-07-15
This page is general legal information about state-law wage-delivery methods, not legal advice about a direct-deposit mandate, payroll card, fee, account, final paycheck, or wage claim. The result can depend on the employer and employee category, the employee's consent or opt-out, the selected financial institution, the notice and disclosures provided, and access to wages without fees. Separate federal, state, and local rules govern electronic fund transfers, banking, pay frequency, wage statements, deductions, unclaimed wages, and public employment. Verified against the official statute, regulation, or agency material on the date shown; confirm current law or consult the state labor agency or a licensed attorney before relying on it.

What does South Carolina law mean for your facts?

You just read the general rule. Ask your own question and see which parts of current South Carolina law apply to your situation, with citations you can check.

Opens in Ezel Pro.

  • Starts from the statutes this survey is built on
  • Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
  • Chat, drafting and research in one workspace