Direct Deposit and Payroll Card Requirements in Maine
At a glance
| Governing law and coverage | 26 M.R.S. § 621-A(7) governs direct-deposit fees and employee-designated accounts, subject to § 623 entity/owner-employee exemptions. The separate § 663(5) electronic-payment condition belongs to the minimum-wage subchapter and its § 663(3) employee exclusions |
|---|---|
| Permitted wage-payment methods | General § 621-A(7) defines direct deposit but does not list all permitted methods. For employees covered by the minimum-wage subchapter, wages include U.S. legal tender, demand-cashable bank checks, direct deposit, ATM card, or other electronic transfer meeting § 663(5)'s no-cost condition |
| Direct-deposit mandate or employee opt-out | General statute is silent on whether direct deposit may be mandatory and states no consent or opt-out rule; it bars a direct-deposit fee and requires the destination to be the employee's designated institution/account. Limited § 663(5) electronic payments need either free initial full-net-pay access or another no-cost method |
| Consent, notice, revocation, and change timing | No general direct-deposit or payroll-card consent, advance-notice, revocation, or method-change deadline stated in §§ 621-A(7) or 663(5) |
| Employee choice of bank or account | Direct deposit must go to the employee's account in an accredited financial institution designated by the employee (§ 621-A(7)); no payroll-card issuer-choice rule stated |
| Payroll-card disclosures, records, and fees | No general payroll-card-specific disclosure, fee-schedule, balance, history, privacy, dispute, or prohibited-fee framework stated. Section 663(5) only conditions covered electronic wages on free initial full-net-pay access or another no-cost payment choice |
| Fee-free full-wage access and alternative payment | General direct deposit: employer may not charge a fee. Limited minimum-wage rule: employee must be able either to make an initial withdrawal of all net pay without added cost or choose another payment method with no added cost (§§ 621-A(7), 663(5)) |
| Final pay, enforcement, and remedies | No method-specific final-pay rule; employee leaving employment is due full pay by next established payday (§ 626). A § 621-A violation carries a $100-$500 fine; unpaid-wage actions may add interest, twice the unpaid wages, costs, and attorney fee. Minimum-wage-subchapter remedies include unpaid minimum wages, equal liquidated damages, fees, $50-$200 criminal fine, and possible AG injunction (§§ 626-A, 670-671) |
Requirements one by one
The general direct-deposit rule is narrow
Section 621-A(7) says an employer “may not charge a fee” for direct deposit. It defines direct deposit as an electronic funds transfer into the employee's own account at an accredited financial institution “designated by the employee.”
The provision does not say whether an employer may make direct deposit mandatory. It states no written-consent requirement, opt-out, revocation procedure, advance notice, or deadline for changing methods. It also does not create a general payroll-card framework.
Section 623 excludes certain owner-employees of limited liability partnerships, S corporations, cooperatives, and associations from § 621-A, subject to the employee-request language stated there.
The electronic-payment safeguard has limited coverage
Within Maine's minimum-wage subchapter, § 663(5) defines wages to include direct deposit, an automated teller machine card, or another electronic transfer only if the employee can either initially withdraw the entire net pay without additional cost or choose another no-cost method.
This is an either-or safeguard. It does not necessarily require both a free full-pay withdrawal and a separate alternative. Nor does it require unlimited free transactions after the initial withdrawal.
The rule is not a general payroll-card statute. Section 663(3) excludes listed categories from that subchapter, including most agricultural workers, certain commission workers, taxicab drivers, specified camp workers, listed fishing and marine workers, some homeworkers, dependent family members, and qualifying salaried executive, administrative, or professional employees.
Maine does not add a payroll-card disclosure code
The reviewed provisions state no card-specific fee schedule, account terms, balance-information method, transaction-history period, privacy or dispute notice, inactivity-fee ban, overdraft rule, replacement-card rule, or card- issuer choice. Section 663(5)'s express protection is the initial full-net-pay withdrawal without added cost or the employee's ability to choose another no-cost payment method.
Final wages follow the ordinary deadline
Section 626 requires an employee leaving employment to be paid in full no later than the next established payday. It does not specify a separate final-wage delivery method or override the electronic-payment conditions described above.
Section 626-A makes a violation of § 621-A subject to a $100-to-$500 fine. When wages are unpaid, the employee or Department of Labor may bring an action, and a favorable judgment may include interest, twice the unpaid wages as liquidated damages, costs, and a reasonable attorney fee. For the separate minimum-wage subchapter, §§ 670-671 provide unpaid-minimum-wage recovery, an equal amount as liquidated damages, costs and attorney fees, a $50-to-$200 criminal fine, and possible Attorney General injunction proceedings.
What trips people up
Employee bank choice does not answer the mandate question. Section 621-A(7) places designation of the receiving financial institution with the employee, but it does not expressly say whether the employee may reject direct deposit altogether.
The ATM-card sentence is not a general card code. It appears in the minimum-wage subchapter's definition of wages and carries that subchapter's employee exclusions.
The no-cost condition is disjunctive. For covered electronic wages, § 663(5) allows either free initial access to the entire net pay or another payment choice that costs the employee nothing.
Common questions
May my employer charge me for direct deposit?
No. Section 621-A(7) expressly prohibits an employer fee for paying wages by direct deposit.
May I choose the bank for direct deposit?
The transfer must go into your account in an accredited financial institution that you designate. The statute does not state a deadline or procedure for changing that designation.
Does Maine require a written payroll-card consent form?
The reviewed provisions state no general written-consent requirement for a payroll card. Employees covered by § 663(5) must instead receive the specified no-cost full-pay access or no-cost alternative.
Statutes and sources
- 26 M.R.S. §§ 621-A(7), 623. Direct-deposit fee ban, employee-designated institution and account, and exemptions. Official § 621-A and official § 623 (accessed July 15, 2026).
- 26 M.R.S. § 663(3), (5). Minimum-wage-subchapter coverage exclusions, recognized wage forms, and the no-cost electronic-payment condition. Official statute (accessed July 15, 2026).
- 26 M.R.S. §§ 626, 626-A. Final-pay timing, fine, unpaid-wage action, and remedies. Official § 626 and official § 626-A (accessed July 15, 2026).
- 26 M.R.S. §§ 670-671. Minimum-wage-subchapter employee remedies, criminal fine, and injunction authority. Official § 670 and official § 671 (accessed July 15, 2026).
Source links
Every statute quoted above, linked, with the date we checked it.
What does Maine law mean for your facts?
You just read the general rule. Ask your own question and see which parts of current Maine law apply to your situation, with citations you can check.
Opens in Ezel Pro.
- Starts from the statutes this survey is built on
- Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
- Chat, drafting and research in one workspace