Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
C.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Atlantic Branch, Coral Springs, FL
C.A. (ECAB 10-2295): Disability period lacked medical proof tied to wrist injury
C.A., a postal employee with an accepted left wrist contusion, sought disability compensation for October 2008 through December 2009. The Board found that medical reports did not explain why the accepted injury prevented work during that period. The employer’s records also did not support her…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Airport Station, Mobile, AL
M.M. (ECAB 10-2252): Elbow impairment claim returned to clarify impartial rating
M.M., a postal employee, sought a schedule award for permanent arm impairment after treatment of both elbows. An impartial specialist rated six percent impairment in each elbow but did not apply the required grade modifiers under the medical guides. OWCP’s medical adviser found no impairment and…
D.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Dickson, TN
D.T. (ECAB 10-2218): Reconsideration request lacked relevant new evidence
D.T., a postal employee, requested reconsideration of a disability claim. She relied on a physician assistant’s notes and an argument about accepted diagnoses, but offered no relevant new physician evidence on the disability issue. The Board found that the request did not meet the legal or…
E.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cleveland Heights, OH
E.P. (ECAB 10-2184): Conflicting accounts defeated claimed back injury
E.P., a postal employee, alleged that reaching for mail at work injured his back in December 2009. The accounts he gave to medical providers and in testimony differed about when and how symptoms began. The Board found that the inconsistent accounts cast serious doubt on the reported work event. It…
A.D. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, San Francisco, CA
A.D. (ECAB 10-2158): Termination of compensation and medical care reversed
A.D., a VA employee, received benefits for accepted neck, wrist, and elbow conditions. OWCP ended compensation based on a second opinion that said the conditions had resolved. The same physician, however, restricted repetitive upper extremity work and did not explain whether the limits reflected…
R.J. and U.S. Postal Service, J.J. Buchanan Post Office, Chicago, IL
R.J. (ECAB 10-2114): Temporary job could not support wage-earning capacity finding
R.J., a postal employee, challenged a wage-earning capacity finding based on a modified carrier assignment. The Board found the assignment was not shown to be permanent; the employer had lacked full-time work in it and sought another position. That undermined the original capacity determination…
N.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Nashville, TN
N.J. (ECAB 10-2018): Shoulder claim lacked a reasoned medical link to mail-tray incident
N.J., a postal employee, attributed a right shoulder condition to moving mail trays at work. Physicians diagnosed several shoulder conditions, but their reports did not adequately explain how the reported incident caused or aggravated them. One physician also noted conflicting accounts of what…
M.V. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Regional Airport, Tallahassee, FL
M.V. (ECAB 10-1642): Budget analyst wage-capacity reduction reversed
M.V., a TSA employee, completed training for an entry-level budget analyst job. OWCP reduced his wage-loss compensation to zero using that constructed position. The Board found that the labor market figures did not show how many available jobs were entry level, so they did not establish that…
Summer & Winter Contruction, LLC
Roofing safety violations yield $89,000 in penalties
OSHA inspected Summer & Winter roofing crews at two New Hampshire sites and found extensive fall-protection and related safety violations. At the first site, workers used body belts, shared anchors, worked beneath a raised lift, used a damaged ladder, and accessed a steep roof without compliant…
American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1547 (Union) and United States Department of the Air Force, Luke Air Force Base, Arizona (Agency)
AFGE Local 1547 and Luke Air Force Base (FLRA 0-NG-2924): Bargaining ordered on two layoff proposals
AFGE Local 1547 proposed measures for employees affected by a planned reduction in force at Luke Air Force Base. The Authority found two proposals within the duty to bargain: one would make certain positions held by probationary excepted-service employees available in the reduction process, and the…
American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1592 (Union) and United States Department of the Air Force, Hill Air Force Base, Utah (Agency)
AFGE Local 1592 and Hill Air Force Base (FLRA 0-AR-4637): Attorney-fee award upheld
An employee at Hill Air Force Base won an arbitration award of three hours of compensatory time off after the agency denied his request. On remand from an earlier Authority decision, the arbitrator awarded attorney fees. The agency argued that it had granted the time before the merits award and…
R.L. and Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration, Auburn, WA
R.L. (ECAB 11-0115): Work-related emotional conditions established; disability remains open
R.L., an FAA employee, sought compensation for emotional conditions after accepted coworker incidents. OWCP’s referral psychiatrist said those incidents contributed to major depression and panic disorder, though other events were more significant. The Board held that even a partial work…
J.J. and Department of the Navy, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Portsmouth, VA
J.J. (ECAB 10-2368): Late compensation claim and abandoned hearing rulings upheld
J.J., a Navy shipyard employee, challenged OWCP’s finding that his compensation claim was filed outside the legal time limit. The Board upheld that ruling. It also found that he was properly mailed notice of a scheduled telephone hearing but did not attend, request postponement, or give a timely…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Phoenix, AZ
M.M. (ECAB 10-2276): Leg impairment award and hearing abandonment affirmed
M.M., a postal employee, sought a larger schedule award for his legs. Dr. Dohring rated 10 percent impairment, but the Board found his report insufficient because it identified no scheduled member and did not apply the impairment guides. The Board accepted a three percent right leg rating and found…
B.R. and Department of the Army, Directorate of Logistics, Joint Base Lewis-McChord, WA
B.R. (ECAB 10-2251): Knee claim lacked physician evidence linking injury to work
B.R., an Army employee, reported a left knee injury after unloading a truck and leaving a forklift. The Board found that the work events occurred as described. Her supporting records came from a nurse and physician assistant, however, rather than a physician who could explain medical causation…
D.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Northfield, NJ
D.K. (ECAB 10-2026): Seven percent left arm impairment award upheld
D.K., a postal employee, sought a left arm schedule award above seven percent. The Board found the supported range-of-motion rating under the current impairment guide established seven percent, more than the diagnosis-based rating. It rejected the argument that an older guide edition should apply…
P.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, San Diego, CA
P.V. (ECAB 10-1977): Continuation-of-pay and reconsideration denials upheld
P.V., a postal employee, sought continuation of pay after an injury claim. The Board found the medical record insufficient to establish that he was disabled during the claimed period. His later request for reconsideration provided no relevant new physician evidence or legal argument; one submitted…
P.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Madison Main Post Office, Madison, WI
P.P. (ECAB 10-1851): Part-time job could not support wage-earning capacity finding
P.P., a postal employee, challenged a wage-earning capacity finding based on a modified job of four and one-half hours a week. She had worked full time when injured, and OWCP had not explained why the part-time position fairly represented her capacity. The Board found the original determination…
A.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Lincolnton, NC
A.H. (ECAB 10-1850): Six percent left hand impairment award upheld
A.H., a postal employee, sought a schedule award above six percent for left hand impairment. An attending physician estimated five percent impairment of the left index finger but did not identify the guide edition or tables used. OWCP’s examiner and medical adviser used the applicable guide tables…
A.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, San Francisco, CA
A.N. (ECAB 10-1830): Disability recurrence claim lacked specific proof
A.N., a postal employee, sought compensation for total disability beginning in March 2009. Her physician did not explain how her accepted condition worsened or identify the work restrictions allegedly exceeded. A coworker’s statement also lacked dates and details showing a change in her light-duty…
T.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Lexington, KY
T.B. (ECAB 10-1541): Physician-reviewed notes require further knee injury review
T.B., a postal carrier, reported a left knee injury while stooping for mail. OWCP discounted treatment notes because a physician assistant wrote them. The Board found that a physician had reviewed and initialed the notes, so they could be considered medical evidence. Though the notes did not prove…
D.M. and Department of the Navy, Military Sealift Fleet Support Command, Norfolk, VA
D.M. (ECAB 10-1539): Overpayment hearing returned after missed deployment notice
D.M., a Navy employee, requested a hearing before OWCP collected an asserted $2,035.81 overpayment. OWCP scheduled the hearing after it had been told he was deploying overseas. The Board found the evidence supported that D.M. did not receive the hearing notice while away. It set aside the…
Kembel Sand & Gravel
Reopening request dismissed as moot
Kembel Sand & Gravel asked the Commission to reopen a penalty assessment involving two other dockets. In one docket, the operator had timely contested the assessment and the case was already proceeding before the Chief Administrative Law Judge after a show-cause response. In the other, the parties…
M.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Trenton, NJ
M.H. (ECAB 10-2310): Hearing abandonment upheld after missed telephone session
M.H., a postal letter carrier, sought a hearing after OWCP denied her back injury claim. OWCP mailed notice more than 30 days before the scheduled telephone hearing, but she did not call in. She neither requested a postponement nor explained her absence within ten days. Her explanation that she…
M.E. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Independence, OH
M.E. (ECAB 10-2277): Leg impairment award denied for accepted lumbar injury
M.E., a postal custodian, sought a schedule award for leg impairment after OWCP accepted lumbar subluxation from shoveling compost. His chiropractor rated a seven percent left leg impairment, but the Board found that opinion outside the statutory scope of chiropractic services. An orthopedic…
J.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Lancaster, KY
J.A. (ECAB 10-2227): Termination of back injury benefits reversed
J.A., a postal rural carrier, received wage loss and medical benefits for an accepted lumbar disc condition. OWCP ended those benefits after a referral physician said the condition had resolved. The Board found that the physician did not explain how his examination supported that conclusion. OWCP…
E.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System, North Little Rock, AR
E.P. (ECAB 10-2213): Higher left leg award denied after hip replacement
E.P., a VA nursing assistant, received a schedule award for 25 percent impairment of his left leg after a work related hip injury and replacement. His surgeon reported a stable, functional replacement in good position, supporting that rating. A radiologist later reported a 74 percent impairment but…
T.M. and Department of Justice, Federal Correctional Institute, Dublin, CA
T.M. (ECAB 10-2157): Late reconsideration request denied without new evidence
T.M., a federal prison HVAC supervisor, sought reconsideration of a denied back injury claim. His request came more than one year after the last merit decision and supplied no new evidence. He questioned why OWCP had changed the stated basis for denying his claim, but the Board found that his…
S.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bellmawr, NJ
S.L. (ECAB 10-2133): Sixth edition impairment guide applied to shoulder award
S.L., a postal clerk, received a three percent left arm schedule award for an accepted shoulder condition. Her earlier physician rating used the fifth edition of the impairment guide and proposed five percent. She argued that OWCP’s delay deprived her of that earlier rating. The Board held that…
J.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Morgan Processing & Distribution Center, New York, NY
J.O. (ECAB 10-1980): Termination of back injury compensation upheld
J.O., a postal mail processor, received benefits after OWCP accepted back muscle spasms from lifting a machine cover. Her treating and referral physicians disagreed about continuing work related disability. OWCP obtained an impartial specialist’s opinion that her accepted condition had resolved and…
R.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Callicoon, NY
R.F. (ECAB 10-1974): Cervical disc claim returned for further medical review
R.F., a postal rural carrier, claimed that repetitive reaching and sorting caused a cervical disc condition with radiculopathy. OWCP denied the occupational disease claim. His treating physicians linked the diagnosed condition to his work duties, though their reports did not fully establish…
K.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Lockbourne, OH
K.C. (ECAB 10-1966): Earlier disability recurrence denied; later surgery period accepted
K.C., a postal rural carrier, had accepted carpal and cubital tunnel conditions and returned to full duty after surgery. She later claimed a recurrence of disability beginning in April 2009. Her medical reports near that date allowed full duty, and later reports did not explain why any new…
United States Department of the Air Force, Air Force Materiel Command, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida (Agency) and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1897 (Union)
Eglin Air Force Base and AFGE Local 1897 (FLRA 0-AR-4716): Standby-pay award set aside
Before Hurricane Ida, Eglin Air Force Base told security personnel to remain reachable by telephone and ready for possible recall. An arbitrator treated that period as paid standby duty and awarded backpay, liquidated damages, and attorney fees. The Authority set aside the award because the…
Social Security Administration (Agency) and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 3239 (Union)
Social Security Administration and AFGE Local 3239 (FLRA 0-AR-4673): Reduced discipline upheld
Social Security suspended an employee for three days for discourteous conduct toward a manager and disruption at work. An arbitrator found that the conduct warranted discipline but that the agency had not shown it was severe enough to skip the written-reprimand step in the parties'…
Matter of N-C-M-
TPS child status measured at initial registration
The Board reviewed an El Salvadoran respondent's appeal involving asylum, withholding of removal, protection under the Convention Against Torture, and late initial registration for Temporary Protected Status. It upheld the denial of the asylum-related claims because the evidence did not establish a…
C.D. and U.S. Postal Service, River Grove Facility, Carol Stream, IL
C.D. (ECAB 10-2222): Five percent arm awards upheld
C.D. sought an increase in her schedule awards for bilateral arm impairment. OWCP’s medical adviser rated the nerve findings under the sixth edition impairment guide and assigned five percent to each arm. The Board found that the grade modifiers supported those ratings. Even a higher modifier for…
R.W. and Department of the Army, National Guard, Jefferson City, MO
R.W. (ECAB 10-2211): Extremity impairment award denied without medical rating
R.W. sought a schedule award after OWCP accepted a knee contusion, back strain, and cervical disc injury. OWCP had authorized cervical fusion surgery, but he submitted no current medical evaluation rating permanent arm or leg impairment. A prior physician’s report addressed surgical authorization…
S.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Cleveland, OH
S.L. (ECAB 10-2170): Neck occupational disease claim denied
S.L., a postal employee, attributed a cervical condition to stamping, casing, and carrying mail. The record contained diagnoses of radiculopathy, stenosis, and degenerative joint disease. Her physician did not explain medically how the identified duties caused or aggravated those conditions. The…
F.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Las Vegas, NV
F.G. (ECAB 10-2060): Knee disability claim denied for April and May 2010
F.G., a postal carrier, sought compensation for hours he did not work from April 9 through May 7, 2010. OWCP had accepted a left knee strain from a 2002 incident. His later physician discussed arthritis and work limits but did not explain how the accepted strain caused disability during the claimed…
H.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Grand Rapids, MI
H.C. (ECAB 10-2016): Employment interviewer wage capacity reduction reversed
H.C., a postal employee, received compensation for a work injury. OWCP reduced her benefits based on wages it said she could earn as an employment interviewer. The Board accepted the medical finding that she could physically do the job. It found that OWCP had not explained how her prior fast food…
C.S. and Department of the Navy, Marine Corps Logistics Base, Barstow, CA
C.S. (ECAB 10-1988): Reconsideration of carpal tunnel claim denied
C.S. asked OWCP to reconsider its denial of a right carpal tunnel claim. His new surgeon reports diagnosed the condition but did not address whether the accepted work injury caused it. Physical therapy notes and a duplicate report also did not supply relevant new medical evidence. The Board…
S.C. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Aviation & Missile Command, Redstone Arsenal, AL
S.C. (ECAB 10-1968): Termination of RSD benefits upheld
S.C. received benefits for accepted bilateral reflex sympathetic dystrophy. OWCP ended them after a referral specialist found no objective evidence of continuing residuals from that condition. Her treating physician discussed pain and fibromyalgia but did not establish ongoing disability caused by…
J.M. and Department of the Interior, National Park Service, George Washington Memorial Parkway, McLean, VA
J.M. (ECAB 10-1833): Late wage capacity reconsideration denied
J.M. requested reconsideration of a wage capacity decision based on a sorter-pricer position. His request came more than one year after the last merit decision. He argued that OWCP had overlooked his literacy and other limitations, but the Board found that the vocational record had considered them…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Navarre, FL
M.M. (ECAB 10-1812): Additional accident conditions returned for medical review
M.M., a postal rural carrier, was injured in a motor vehicle accident on her way to work. OWCP accepted a left shoulder strain and later expanded the claim to a rotator cuff tear and impingement syndrome. Her physicians also linked cervical and foot findings to the accident. The Board found that…
Spartan Mining Company
Prompt reopening request granted
Spartan Mining missed the deadline to contest a proposed penalty assessment after it was delivered to a temporary receptionist during the holidays and did not enter the parent company's internal handling process. MSHA also had an acknowledged understanding that assessments for the parent company's…
Mammoth Coal Company
Nearly one-year reopening delay was too long
Mammoth Coal asked the Commission to reopen a final penalty assessment containing violations it said it intended to contest. The company attributed the missed contest to a new in-house handling procedure and uncertainty over whether its safety director sent the assessment to the legal department…
D. Holcomb & Co.
Quarry citations largely upheld with reduced penalties
D. Holcomb & Co. operated a small sand and gravel quarry with four workers when MSHA issued 17 citations involving fall protection, ladders, machine guarding, electrical conditions, access, and lockout procedures. Judge Richard W. Manning vacated three citations and affirmed or modified the…
Calico Coal, Inc.
Reopening request denied as moot
Calico Coal asked the Commission to reopen civil penalty matters in two dockets. The Commission issued a show-cause order because Calico appeared to have paid the penalties, which would make the reopening request moot. Calico did not respond within the 30-day period set by the order. The Commission…
Robert Coleman, Employed by Carmeuse Lime and Stone
Penalty case remanded because Coleman lacked notice
MSHA proposed an individual civil penalty against Robert Coleman under section 110(c) of the Mine Act. The assessment was delivered to the mine and signed for by another employee, but Coleman said he never received it and first learned of the penalty through a delinquency notice. The Commission…
MRM Mining, Inc.
Reopening request denied without prejudice
MRM Mining asked the Commission to reopen a final penalty assessment covering 15 citations. The assessment and later notices were returned undelivered after the company changed from a physical mailing address to a post office box. The Commission found that MRM had not adequately explained when it…
Matter of N-M-
Anticorruption retaliation requires nexus proof
The Board reviewed the Department of Homeland Security's appeal from an Immigration Judge's grant of asylum and withholding of removal to a Colombian respondent who had resisted corruption at a state-run medical agency and later received threats against herself and her son. The Board held that…
S.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Clement J. Zablocki Medical Center, Milwaukee, WI
S.S. (ECAB 10-2314): Knee injury claim denied for lack of medical link
S.S., a VA food service worker, said a 1999 fall at work caused continuing knee problems. OWCP accepted that the fall occurred but denied the claim for lack of medical proof linking a diagnosed condition to that event. The Board treated her claim as a traumatic injury despite the occupational…
E.L. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Seattle, WA
E.L. (ECAB 10-2219): Two disability recurrence claims denied
E.L., a VA employee, sought wage loss for October and November 2009 after working in a light duty assignment. Her attending physician said she could perform full duty, while a chiropractor’s disability opinion lacked the x-ray basis required for medical evidence under FECA. The Board found no…
P.B. and Department of Defense, Defense Finance & Accounting Service, Indianapolis, IN
P.B. (ECAB 10-2175): Shoulder and thumb disability recurrence denied
P.B. sought benefits for a claimed disability recurrence beginning October 6, 2009. OWCP had accepted right shoulder tenosynovitis and a right thumb condition. She described demanding typing and writing in her light duty job, but the record did not show that its requirements had changed. Her…
A.O. and Department of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau, Panorama, CA
A.O. (ECAB 10-2118): Back injury claim denied for inadequate medical explanation
A.O., a Census Bureau recruiting assistant, carried a crate of test materials into an office and later developed back and leg pain while moving among applicants. The Board accepted that the workplace event occurred. Her orthopedic surgeon attributed multiple herniated discs to lifting heavy crates…
J.S. and Department of the Army, Public Works Department, Naval Air Station, Marietta, GA
J.S. (ECAB 10-2093): Arm impairment awards unchanged after impartial review
J.S. sought a larger schedule award for injuries to both arms. After a prior medical conflict, OWCP obtained an impartial physician’s detailed impairment rating. The Board found that opinion adequately supported nine percent right arm and four percent left arm impairment, the amounts already…
B.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Hampton Main Post Office, Hampton, VA
B.B. (ECAB 10-2082): Late reconsideration of recurrence denial rejected
B.B. asked OWCP to reconsider the denial of a disability recurrence claim more than one year after the last merit decision. Her additional medical reports discussed sacroiliac, hip, and back conditions but did not establish disability from the accepted injury during the period at issue. The Board…
C.S. and Department of the Navy, Commander Fleet Forces Cmd - Shipyard, Portsmouth, VA
C.S. (ECAB 10-2030): Hearing loss claim returned for noise exposure inquiry
C.S., a Navy shipyard employee, claimed hearing loss from years of workplace noise. His job descriptions and physician reports described machinery noise and regular hearing conservation testing. The Board found that the record warranted further development of the extent of occupational noise…
E.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Atlanta, GA
E.M. (ECAB 10-1838): Termination of accident benefits upheld
E.M., a postal carrier, received benefits for accepted back, neck, shoulder, arm, and knee sprains after a vehicle collision. A referral orthopedist found that the accepted sprains had resolved. Later treating reports addressed other conditions but did not show continuing residuals of the accepted…
T.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Lake City, FL
T.S. (ECAB 10-1674): Hernia-related compensation termination upheld
T.S., a VA employee, received benefits for accepted right femoral and recurrent right inguinal hernias. A referral physician reviewed her history, examined her, and found no recurring hernia or objective residuals from those conditions. The Board gave that opinion weight over reports that did not…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.