Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
R.K. and Department of the Army, Army Benefits Center -- Civilian, Fort Riley, KS
Wage-loss benefit termination reversed
OWCP ended R.K.’s wage-loss benefits effective August 29, 2019. The Board found that the medical opinion used to support termination was inconsistent and did not adequately explain why he was no longer disabled from the accepted injury. OWCP therefore had not met its burden of proof. The Board…
E.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Houston, TX
Therapy visit wages allowed; other claims denied
E.B. sought intermittent wage-loss compensation during September and October 2018 and mileage reimbursement for a December medical visit. The Board allowed up to four hours of wage-loss compensation for each of five physical therapy appointments in October. It found the remaining claimed disability…
B.W. and Department of the Navy, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, Portsmouth, VA
Occupational disease claim denied for insufficient causation proof
B.W., a secretary, claimed carpal tunnel, hip, and back conditions from work duties including prolonged sitting and document scanning. OWCP accepted the described work factors. The Board found that her medical evidence did not adequately connect a diagnosed condition to those factors. It affirmed…
R.M. and Department of Defense, Defense Logistics Agency, Texarkana, TX
Four days of claimed disability denied
R.M. sought wage-loss compensation for two days in January and two days in February 2018 following an accepted May 2016 injury. The Board found that his medical evidence did not establish disability on those dates caused by the accepted injury. It affirmed OWCP’s two denials.
Tessier's, Inc.
Roof-hole fall protection violation affirmed
Tessier's employees were installing HVAC roof curbs when they decided to trim a wooden cover that protected a roof opening. The employees assumed the cover was attached to the building, but it was a friction-fit cover and was not fastened to the structure. As an employee leaned on the cover while…
National Labor Relations Board Professional Association and National Labor Relations Board
NLRB Professional Association and NLRB (FLRA 0-AR-5461): Authority upholds untimely health-unit grievance ruling
The National Labor Relations Board told its professional employees' union that a headquarters health unit would close as part of approved cost-saving measures. The union filed a grievance more than ten business days after that notice but one day after an agency-wide email announced the closing…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Delta, OH
Left knee meniscus claim denied for lack of causal proof
M.M. claimed a left lateral meniscus tear following an accepted April 23, 2018 work incident. The Board found that her medical evidence did not adequately establish that the incident caused the tear. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.
A.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Newark-Bear Carrier Annex, Bear, DE
Medical condition claim denied for insufficient causation evidence
A.M. sought compensation for a medical condition after a July 10, 2019 work incident. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred. The Board found that her medical evidence did not adequately connect a diagnosed condition to it. It affirmed denial of the claim.
R.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Portland, ME
Hip disease claim returned for second medical opinion
R.S. claimed that mail delivery duties caused or aggravated right hip arthritis. His physician’s reports did not fully prove causation, but they explained a possible physiological link and were not contradicted by other medical evidence. The Board found that OWCP needed to develop the claim…
T.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Trenton, NJ
Knee fracture claim returned for further medical development
T.M. sought to add a left femur fracture and knee insufficiency fracture to an accepted injury claim and sought wage-loss compensation. His physician explained how carrying packages down a ramp could have aggravated an underlying stress fracture. The Board found that the opinion was insufficient to…
Y.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Jenkintown, PA
Shoulder claim returned as occupational disease claim
Y.M. reported right shoulder symptoms from hand-brake use and repeated mail handling over several workdays. OWCP decided her filing as a single-day traumatic injury claim. The Board found that the facts called for an occupational disease analysis and that a prior accepted shoulder claim should be…
United States Department of the Army, U.S. Army Aviation Center of Excellence, Fort Rucker, Alabama and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1815
Army Aviation Center of Excellence and AFGE Local 1815 (FLRA 0-AR-5419): Authority strikes post-access remedy
The Army barred a former employee who served as a union vice president from Fort Rucker after a security investigation and a reported confrontation at the security office. Years later, the union challenged the continuing bar, and the parties submitted questions about the grievance procedure and…
G.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Milwaukee, WI
Insurance premium overpayment returned for missing election form
OWCP found that G.C. received a $3,418.52 overpayment because health and life insurance premiums were not deducted from her compensation. The record contained a health plan election but no signed election establishing which life insurance coverage she chose. The Board found that OWCP had not…
Carbon v. Shire Pharmaceuticals
Petition dismissed one day late
Russell Carbon filed his petition for review one day after the 14-day deadline for appealing the ALJ's denial of reconsideration in a Sarbanes-Oxley case. His attorney argued that a three-day service extension applied and that problems with the Board's electronic filing system justified equitable…
Heckman v. M3 Transport, LLC
Dismissal affirmed for vexatious litigation
OSHA found that Benjamin Heckman's former trucking employers violated the Surface Transportation Assistance Act, but the agency declined to prosecute when the employers requested an ALJ hearing. Over several years of self-representation, Heckman filed repeated motions and discovery demands that the…
A.W. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Overton Brooks VA Medical Center, Shreveport, LA
Carpal tunnel claim returned for impartial medical opinion
A.W., a nurse, claimed that performing CPR on a mannequin aggravated bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome. Her treating physicians supported aggravation, while an OWCP referral physician disagreed. The Board found a medical opinion conflict requiring an impartial specialist. It set aside the denial and…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Little Rock, AR
Emotional condition claim denied for lack of covered work factor
M.M., a postal manager, attributed an emotional condition to workload and management actions. The Board found that he had not adequately established overwork or error or abuse in the administrative decisions he challenged. Without a compensable employment factor, the emotional condition claim could…
M.M. and Department of the Navy, Naval Weapons Center, China Lake, CA
Reconsideration denial returned to review omitted reports
M.M. sought reconsideration and submitted medical reports about additional claimed knee and back conditions. OWCP denied the request without addressing several reports received before its decision. The Board set aside the nonmerit denial and directed OWCP to consider those reports, then issue a new…
T.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, New York, NY
Left shoulder condition claim denied
T.S., a postal carrier, claimed a left shoulder condition from work factors. OWCP accepted the described factors. The Board found that her medical evidence did not adequately establish a causal relationship. It affirmed denial of the claim.
J.A. and Department of Homeland Security, Immigration & Customs Enforcement, El Centro, CA
Hand injury claim denied for lack of diagnosed condition
J.A., a deportation officer, reported a hand and wrist injury during an arrest on May 20, 2019. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred. The Board found that his evidence did not establish a diagnosed medical condition caused by it. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.
G.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Chicago Loop Clark Street Post Office, Chicago, IL
Arm claim returned to combine related injury files
G.D. claimed that increased use of her left arm caused injury while a prior right arm condition limited her. OWCP denied the current claim without combining several earlier accepted shoulder and arm injury files. The Board found that relevant medical evidence in those files needed to be part of the…
B.T. and U.S. Postal Office, Martech Post Office, Atlanta, GA
Existing bilateral arm impairment awards upheld
B.T., a postal carrier with accepted shoulder conditions, sought larger schedule awards for both arms. She had already received ratings of six percent for the right upper extremity and 12 percent for the left. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish greater impairment. It…
K.W. and Department of the Air Force, JBSA-Randolph Air Force Base, San Antonio, TX
Back occupational disease claim denied
K.W., an electronic mechanic, claimed that work duties aggravated a preexisting low back condition. OWCP accepted the described duties. The Board found that her medical evidence did not adequately establish that the work factors caused or aggravated the condition. It affirmed the denial.
K.C. and Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, Manteca, CA
Retirement offset overpayment returned for explanation
OWCP assessed a $52,343.04 overpayment from a Social Security retirement offset covering January 2006 through March 2019. Part of that period included a FECA schedule award, which can overlap retirement benefits without an offset, and wage-loss payments did not resume until March 2010. The Board…
V.C. and Department of Health & Human Services, Pinon Health Center, Pinon, AZ
Existing right leg impairment award upheld
V.C. sought a schedule award above the 25 percent permanent impairment rating already assigned to her right lower extremity. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish a greater rating. It affirmed OWCP’s decision.
J.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Palo Alto Healthcare System, Palo Alto, CA
Suitable-work benefit termination reversed
OWCP ended J.S.’s wage-loss compensation and schedule award eligibility after finding that she refused a suitable nursing assistant job. She said she could not accept because her professional license had lapsed. The employer later confirmed that the offered job required no license, but OWCP did not…
J.P. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Secret Service, Washington, DC
Medical condition claim denied for insufficient causation evidence
J.P., a Secret Service telecommunications specialist, claimed several upper body conditions after a December 27, 2013 work incident. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred. The Board found that his medical evidence did not adequately connect a diagnosed condition to it. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.
James Doherty, Jr. v. Electric Boat Corporation
Doherty v. Electric Boat (BRB 20-0103): attorney fee denial reversed
James Doherty filed a Longshore claim for work-related hearing loss and obtained employer authorization for hearing aids. A district director initially awarded his lawyer $4,508.75 in fees, then withdrew that award on reconsideration because Electric Boat had asked for records within 30 days of…
Charlie W. Presley v. Island Creek Coal Company
Presley v. Island Creek Coal (BRB 19-0276 BLA): benefit award affirmed
Charlie Presley received black lung benefits after a judge accepted 23 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Island Creek Coal did not dispute the facts invoking the 15-year presumption, but challenged the presumption's constitutionality and argued that…
Elwood Carrington v. Southern Ohio Coal Company
Carrington v. Southern Ohio Coal (BRB 19-0259 BLA): benefit award affirmed
Elwood Carrington received black lung benefits after a judge found 23 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Southern Ohio Coal challenged the disability finding, noting that most pulmonary function and blood gas tests did not meet the regulatory…
Patty L. Loudy, widow of Woodrow E. Loudy, v. Consolidation Coal Company
Loudy v. Consolidation Coal (BRB 19-0256 BLA): survivor benefits affirmed
Patty Loudy sought survivor benefits after her husband Woodrow's death. A judge found he had 34.58 years of underground coal mine employment and a totally disabling respiratory condition, invoking the 15-year presumption that pneumoconiosis caused his death. Consolidation Coal challenged the total…
James E. Miles v. Lone Mountain Processing, Incorporated
Miles v. Lone Mountain Processing (BRB 19-0255 BLA): benefit award affirmed
James Miles received black lung benefits after a judge found at least 15 years of qualifying mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Lone Mountain Processing challenged the 15-year presumption and argued that its doctor's opinion ruled out coal mine dust as a cause. The Board…
Sadie Jude, on behalf of Cliston Jude, v. Shell Coal & Terminal Company, doing business as Wolf Creek Collieries
Jude v. Shell Coal (BRB 19-0230 BLA): miner benefit award affirmed
Sadie Jude pursued her late husband's black lung claim after he died while the case was pending. A judge credited Cliston Jude with 15.02 years of qualifying surface coal mine work and found him totally disabled by a respiratory impairment. Shell Coal challenged those findings and argued it had…
Tabatha Robinson Baker and Kendra Mercer, on behalf of the Estate of Roger Robinson, v. Coal Mountain Trucking, Incorporated
Robinson estate v. Coal Mountain Trucking (BRB 19-0224 BLA): miner benefit award affirmed
Roger Robinson's daughters pursued his pending black lung claim after his death. A judge found that his 26 years of surface mine work did not qualify for the 15-year presumption, but that medical evidence independently established legal pneumoconiosis, total respiratory disability, and a link…
Joyce Ann Hicks v. Magic Mining, Incorporated
Hicks v. Magic Mining (BRB 19-0155 BLA): en banc reconsideration denied
Magic Mining asked the Benefits Review Board to reconsider an earlier decision in Joyce Ann Hicks's black lung survivor claim and suggested review by the full Board. The Board reported that a majority had not voted to vacate or change its earlier decision. It therefore denied the motion for…
Joyce Ann Hicks, widow of and on behalf of Carl Hicks, v. Magic Mining, Incorporated
Hicks v. Magic Mining (BRB 19-0155 BLA and 19-0278 BLA-A): miner denial and survivor award affirmed
Joyce Hicks pursued her late husband's black lung claim and a separate survivor claim. The judge denied the miner claim on modification because the evidence did not establish pneumoconiosis, but awarded survivor benefits under the 15-year presumption. The Board upheld the miner denial, noting that…
Willie Anderson Chapman v. Raider Mining, Incorporated, Mine 3
Chapman v. Raider Mining (BRB 19-0100 BLA): operator liability and fee award affirmed
Willie Chapman's black lung benefit award had already been upheld, but the Board had sent back the question of which mine operator must pay it. On this second appeal, Raider Mining challenged its designation as the responsible operator and the judge's appointment. The Board rejected the appointment…
Torrence T. Palms v. SSA Marine Terminals
Palms v. SSA Marine Terminals (BRB 15-0096 and 19-0447): benefit and mileage amounts increased
Torrence Palms appealed two rulings about compensation and expense reimbursement after injuries sustained while working as a longshoreman. The Board reviewed the disability periods and found that the judge had understated certain benefits due for 2011. It added $562.20 for an earlier period of…
V.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Bay Pines Medical Center, St. Petersburg, FL
V.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs (ECAB 19-1942): Knee schedule award returned for comparison with earlier claim
A Veterans Affairs medical support assistant sought a schedule award after an accepted left knee injury and surgery. OWCP denied it because he had already received a six percent award for the same leg under an earlier claim. The Board found that the current record lacked the medical reports…
Y.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bessemer, AL
Y.W. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1877): Emotional condition claim returned for causation review
A rural carrier claimed an emotional condition after a threatening altercation with a coworker at work. OWCP denied the claim on the view that she had not submitted a medical diagnosis. The Board found that her psychiatrist’s leave form identified post-traumatic stress disorder and linked worsening…
J.N. and Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, New York, NY
J.N. and Drug Enforcement Administration (ECAB 19-1847): Back injury claim returned for combined review
A Drug Enforcement Administration agent claimed a back injury after lifting a heavy case file at work. OWCP denied the claim because the medical evidence did not distinguish the new injury from preexisting conditions. The agent had earlier accepted claims involving his neck and lower back, but…
T.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Jenison, MI
T.K. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1700): New medical explanation requires merit review
A postal carrier sought reconsideration of a denied claim for leg and back symptoms after a missed step at work. His physician submitted a new explanation of how the incident might have stretched a leg nerve and aggravated back degeneration. The Board found that the report was relevant new evidence…
C.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Clifton Park, NY
C.B. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1559): Injury denial returned after development letter went to old address
A postal employee claimed a right leg injury after falling at work. An OWCP hearing representative had directed the claims examiner to obtain a causal relationship report from the treating physician. Instead, OWCP sent a request to the employee at his former address and denied the claim before he…
M.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Phoenix, AZ
M.A. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1551): Injury claim denial upheld for lack of medical explanation
A postal mail handler claimed injuries after tripping over a bar at work. OWCP accepted that the fall occurred but denied compensation because the medical evidence did not establish a condition caused by it. The Board found that the physicians’ reports did not adequately explain how the fall caused…
T.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Nampa, ID
T.P. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1533): Reconsideration denial returned for missing findings
A postal carrier sought reconsideration after OWCP ended medical benefits for a work injury. She submitted medical reports with her request. OWCP denied reconsideration as untimely and said she had not shown clear evidence of error, but it did not address the reports or finish the sentence intended…
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Royersford, PA
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1532): Knee claim returned for combined review of prior injuries
A postal carrier claimed that his continuing work aggravated knee conditions. His record also included an earlier hip and knee claim and an accepted traumatic left knee injury. OWCP had decided the new occupational disease claim without combining those related files. The Board found that a full…
I.S. and Department of the Navy, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Portsmouth, VA
I.S. and Norfolk Naval Shipyard (ECAB 19-1461): Emotional condition claim returned for medical review
A shipyard rigger claimed that depression and post-traumatic stress disorder followed an accepted fall into an uncovered hole aboard a ship. His psychiatrist linked the conditions to the injury and described worsening symptoms after his return to work near ships. The Board found that the…
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Scarborough, ME
P.B. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1396): Late reconsideration denial returned for reasons
A postal worker sought reconsideration of a denied claim for wrist and thumb injuries after falling from a pallet jack. The Board agreed that his request came after the one year deadline, so the clear evidence of error standard applied. OWCP had not discussed the evidence submitted with the request…
P.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Washington, DC
P.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs (ECAB 19-1359): Bloodborne infections accepted after workplace needle stick
A Veterans Affairs nurse reported a needle stick while cleaning a patient bed. Subsequent tests showed HIV and hepatitis C after initial negative results. The Board found that his high risk work, the timing of the tests, and the absence of another identified source established that both infections…
B.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Martech Carrier Annex, Atlanta, GA
B.T. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1331): Wage loss denial returned to clarify job offer
A postal carrier sought wage loss benefits for October 5 through 26, 2018 after an accepted back injury. OWCP denied the claim on the premise that she had refused temporary modified work. The Board found that the job offer in the record did not establish whether the assignment was temporary or…
A.J., widower of P.J., and Department of Agriculture, Rural Housing Service, St. Louis, MO
A.J., widower of P.J. (ECAB 19-1261): Survivor benefit overpayment returned for a complete record
OWCP found that a deceased federal employee’s widower had forfeited survivor benefits and owed $453,652.20 after remarrying before age 55. The Board found that the case record lacked the forms and other evidence from the start of the claimed forfeiture period in 1993. Without that material, it…
C.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Harrison, OH
C.H. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1114): Wage earning capacity challenge misclassified as late reconsideration
A former rural carrier challenged a formal determination that she could work as an insurance clerk. She argued that the medical examiner had relied on an inaccurate statement of accepted facts and had not properly evaluated her limitations. OWCP treated her filing as an untimely reconsideration…
T.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Bulk Mail Center, Jersey City, NJ
T.J. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-0735): Schedule award denial returned after missed examination notice
A postal mail handler sought an additional schedule award for an accepted knee condition. OWCP denied the claim using a second opinion examination, but the record did not show that it notified his authorized representative of the referral. The Board found that the missing notice deprived the worker…
V.G. and Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons, Federal Correction Center, Coleman, FL
V.G. and Federal Bureau of Prisons (ECAB 19-0670): Schedule award claim returned for combined review
A correctional counselor sought an additional schedule award for permanent impairment of his left leg. He had several accepted injury claims involving his back and left leg, but OWCP assessed the new award without reviewing medical records from all of them together. The Board found that correct…
D.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sioux Falls, SD
D.P. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 18-1439): Disability claim returned for clarification of work restrictions
A postal maintenance worker sought wage loss benefits for a period after an accepted back injury. An OWCP referral physician limited him to four hours of standing a day, while his modified job required five hours. The Board found that this discrepancy required clarification of whether the accepted…
L.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, North Chicago, IL
L.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs (ECAB 18-1208): Workplace assault claim returned for investigation
A Veterans Affairs employee reported a sexual assault at work and sought compensation for an emotional condition. OWCP denied the claim without addressing the usual criteria for an assault claim or clearly explaining its reasons. The Board found that OWCP had also failed to seek relevant evidence…
D.R. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, West Palm Beach, FL
D.R. and Transportation Security Administration (ECAB 18-1197): Wage earning capacity decision returned after shoulder surgery
A transportation security officer with an accepted shoulder and neck injury challenged a reduction in her compensation based on her ability to work as a customer complaint clerk. She argued that later shoulder surgery increased her disability. OWCP treated the surgery period as a possible temporary…
J.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Elmhurst, IL
J.S. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 18-1111): Reconsideration denial returned for review of medical reports
A postal worker claimed a lower back injury from a July 2016 work incident. OWCP initially denied his claim for lack of a diagnosed condition and later refused to reconsider it as untimely and unsupported. The Board found that OWCP had overlooked medical reports already in its record, including a…
L.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Troy Customer Care Center, Troy, MI
L.T. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 18-1034): Asthma claim returned for proper classification
A postal customer care agent claimed that workplace construction pollutants aggravated her asthma. Although she filed a traumatic injury form, her account described exposure over a period longer than one work shift. OWCP developed the claim as an occupational disease but denied it as a traumatic…
Seward Ship's Drydock, Inc.
Prior decisions vacated after notice of contest withdrawn
The Ninth Circuit reversed the Commission's earlier decision in the Seward Ship's Drydock case and returned the matter to the Commission. After the court's mandate, the company withdrew its notice of contest under Commission Rule 102. The Commission therefore vacated both its 2018 decision and the…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.