Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
C.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Island Lake Post Office, Island Lake, IL
Knee injury claim denial upheld
C.C. claimed right knee and right ankle injuries from a February 7, 2018 work incident. Later medical records addressed left knee symptoms and conditions. The Board found that one physician reported pain without a compensable diagnosis or an adequate causation opinion, while later records also…
J.V. and Department of Agriculture, U.S. Forest Service, Monterey Ranger District, Los Padres National Forest, King City, CA
Refusal to reopen claim upheld
J.V. sought reconsideration of an OWCP claim decision. The Board found that her timely request identified no new legal issue and supplied no pertinent new evidence meeting the standard for a merits review. It affirmed OWCP’s October 30, 2018 refusal to reopen the claim.
J.V. and Department of Health & Human Services, Indian Health Service, Polacca, AZ
Influenza travel claim returned for medical causation findings
J.V. reported contracting influenza while on authorized work travel. The Board held that her travel was in the performance of duty, but OWCP’s denial did not decide whether the medical evidence connected her diagnosed influenza to exposures during that travel. It set aside OWCP’s March 21, 2018…
M.M. and Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard, Boston, MA
Refusal to reopen injury claim upheld
M.M. sought reconsideration of a denied claim arising from an accepted March 25, 2019 work incident. The Board found that his new physician report repeated an earlier causation opinion and that a work capacity note did not address the underlying causation question. It affirmed OWCP’s December 16…
C.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sharonville, OH
Injury claim returned for clear denial reasons
C.M. sought reconsideration of a denied injury claim. OWCP’s later decision gave conflicting statements about whether it changed the basis for the denial, leaving the worker uncertain whether factual or medical evidence was needed. The Board set aside OWCP’s October 3, 2019 decision and remanded…
M.C. and Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management, Las Vegas, NV
Wage capacity challenge returned under correct standard
M.C. disputed an earlier wage-earning capacity determination based on a customer complaint clerk position. OWCP treated her request as an ordinary reconsideration request and denied a merits review. The Board held that OWCP needed to evaluate it as a request to modify the wage capacity finding. It…
S.M. and Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, VA
Claim expansion for hand conditions denied
S.M. sought to add further right upper extremity conditions to an accepted injury claim. The Board found that her medical submissions described symptoms and possible diagnoses but did not give a reasoned opinion connecting additional conditions to the work injury. It affirmed OWCP’s October 2, 2019…
Y.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Evanston, WY
Wage loss claims denied for unsupported disability periods
Y.D. sought wage loss compensation for two periods in 2019 related to an accepted foot injury. The Board found that her medical reports did not explain that the accepted injury disabled her from work during those specific periods. It affirmed OWCP’s September 3, July 30, and April 16 and 17, 2019…
D.K. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Houston, TX
Adjustable bed authorization denial upheld
D.K. requested an adjustable bed with a therapeutic mattress for an accepted lumbar condition. OWCP’s medical adviser found the equipment was not medically necessary, and her treating physician did not provide adequate reasoning to show otherwise. The Board held that OWCP had not abused its…
S.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Fort Point Post Office, Boston, MA
Knee osteoarthritis claim returned for specialist opinion
S.M., a postal mail handler, attributed bilateral knee osteoarthritis to years of walking, lifting, and squatting at work. His physician supplied a reasoned explanation of how those activities could have aggravated the condition. The Board found the opinion sufficient to require further medical…
Secretary of Labor v. The Doe Run Company
Fatal roof-fall citations vacated
A roof fall at Doe Run's underground Missouri metal mine crushed a scaling machine and killed its operator. MSHA cited Doe Run for inadequate ground support and for scaling from a location exposed to falling material. The Commission majority held that the broadly worded standards required the…
C.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Chicago, IL
Hip claim returned to determine correct claim type
C.C. sought benefits for a right hip condition connected to an earlier accepted work injury. OWCP processed her submission as a new occupational disease claim despite her statements that she was seeking relief under the earlier claim. The Board held that OWCP needed to determine whether she claimed…
J.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Concord, NC
Benefit termination reversed; claim expansion remanded
J.T. sought to add conditions to an accepted injury claim while OWCP terminated her wage loss and medical benefits. The Board found that OWCP had not given required advance notice before terminating benefits and had not fully developed the claim expansion question. It reversed the June 18, 2019…
J.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Baytown, TX
Additional arm and leg impairment award denied
J.R. sought a schedule award above the 10 percent left arm and four percent left leg impairment previously compensated. The Board gave weight to the impartial examiner’s impairment assessment and found no greater work-related impairment. It affirmed OWCP’s January 31, 2019 award decision.
D.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Vandalia, OH
Shoulder and neck claim expansion returned for impartial review
D.H. sought to add neck and shoulder conditions to an accepted postal injury claim and claimed further disability. Her treating physician and OWCP’s examiner gave conflicting, reasoned opinions about the additional conditions. The Board set aside OWCP’s February 27, 2019 and November 15, 2018…
Secretary of Labor v. The Monongalia County Coal Company
Unwarrantable-failure settlement approved
The Commission had granted review of findings involving combustible belt-line accumulations and a related preshift-examination violation at Monongalia County Coal's underground mine. The parties settled by reinstating unwarrantable-failure designations on both orders while the Secretary abandoned…
E.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs, West Los Angeles VA Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA
Medical appointment wage loss claim returned for findings
E.P. sought intermittent wage loss compensation during a period that included medical appointments for accepted conditions. OWCP denied the claim as continuous disability without addressing her records of specific missed hours and appointments. The Board set aside OWCP’s September 5, 2019 decision…
J.T. and Department of Veterans Affairs, VA Long Beach Healthcare System, Long Beach, CA
Emotional condition claim reopened for merits review
J.T. sought reconsideration of a denied emotional condition claim. The Board found that his argument about OWCP’s failure to seek an employer response was a new and relevant legal argument. It set aside OWCP’s June 24, 2019 refusal to reopen the claim and remanded for a merits review.
G.B. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, Holtsville, NY
Additional knee impairment award denied
G.B. sought a schedule award above the 25 percent right leg impairment previously awarded after knee replacement. The Board accepted OWCP’s medical adviser’s rating of the existing impairment and found the treating physician’s higher rating inadequately supported. It affirmed OWCP’s May 30, 2019…
Nguyens Goal, Inc.
Business held responsible as employer for four safety violations
Nguyens Goal owned properties and was remodeling an apartment when a worker fell more than eight feet from an attic while installing insulation without fall protection. The worker sustained a serious injury and was hospitalized, but the company did not report the hospitalization to OSHA. The…
B.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Edison, NJ
Leg impairment claim returned for impartial opinion
B.D. sought a schedule award for permanent impairment from an accepted lumbar injury. His physician rated left leg impairment, while OWCP’s medical adviser found no ratable impairment. The Board held that the conflict needed an impartial medical opinion. It set aside OWCP’s October 23, 2018…
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 1002 and United States Department of Energy, Southwestern Power Administration, Tulsa, Oklahoma
IBEW Local 1002 and Southwestern Power Administration (FLRA 0-NG-3442-REC): Authority denies reconsideration of untimely petition
IBEW Local 1002 withdrew an earlier negotiability petition involving two pay proposals and later resubmitted proposals that were only minimally changed. The Authority had dismissed the later petition because it effectively sought review of the agency's earlier nonnegotiability allegation after the…
Christopher Kasule v. Triple Canopy, Incorporated
Kasule v. Triple Canopy (BRB 20-0181): settlement approved on its face, fee questions returned
Christopher Kasule settled a Defense Base Act claim arising from an eye injury while working as a security guard in Iraq. After approval, he appealed without counsel, arguing that the settlement was inadequate and that payments to his attorneys and another firm were improper. The Board found the…
Byrchel Poskas v. Consolidation Coal Company
Poskas v. Consolidation Coal (BRB 19-0450 BLA): black lung benefit award affirmed
An administrative law judge awarded Byrchel Poskas black lung benefits after finding nearly 25 years of coal mine work, including almost 18 years underground, and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Consolidation Coal challenged the constitutionality of the 15-year presumption and the…
Hurbert P. Woolum v. Banner Coal & Land Company
Woolum v. Banner Coal & Land (BRB 19-0421 BLA): black lung benefit award affirmed
An administrative law judge awarded Hurbert Woolum black lung benefits on a subsequent claim after finding at least 17 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Banner Coal and its insurer challenged the total disability finding and the resulting 15-year…
Bobby Lee Cline v. U.S. Steel Mining Company, LLC
Cline v. U.S. Steel Mining (BRB 19-0418 BLA): black lung benefit award affirmed
An administrative law judge awarded Bobby Lee Cline black lung benefits on a subsequent claim after finding more than 26 years of underground coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. U.S. Steel Mining and its carrier challenged the medical findings supporting the 15-year…
Deborah Wilson on behalf of Genell P. Hess v. Beatrice Pocahontas Company
Wilson v. Beatrice Pocahontas (BRB 19-0403 BLA): survivor benefit award affirmed
Genell Hess sought survivor benefits after coal miner Roy Hess died. She died before the administrative law judge issued an award, and their daughter Deborah Wilson continued the claim. The judge found more than 15 years of qualifying coal mine employment and total respiratory disability…
Howard Driver, Jr. v. Drummond Company, Incorporated
Driver v. Drummond Company (BRB 19-0394 BLA): benefit award on modification affirmed
Howard Driver's black lung claim was denied after a judge found he had not proved total respiratory disability. On modification, another judge found 23 years of underground coal mine work and new lung function studies showing total disability. Drummond Company challenged that disability finding…
Cary L. Huffman v. Pammlidd Coal Company
Huffman v. Pammlidd Coal (BRB 19-0387 BLA): black lung benefit award affirmed
An administrative law judge awarded Cary Huffman black lung benefits on a subsequent claim after finding almost 24 years of qualifying coal mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. Pammlidd Coal and its insurer challenged the admission of a doctor's report, the disability finding…
Fasela Sheren v. Lakeshore Engineering Services, Incorporated
Sheren v. Lakeshore Engineering (BRB 19-0373): subcontract worker covered by Defense Base Act
Fasela Sheren was injured while working on a U.S. Air Force construction project in Afghanistan. A judge denied her Defense Base Act claim after concluding that she no longer worked for the project subcontractor when she was injured. The Board held that the undisputed records showed she continued…
James L. Fields v. Island Creek Coal Company
Fields v. Island Creek Coal (BRB 19-0316 BLA): full Board reconsideration denied
Island Creek Coal asked the full Benefits Review Board to reconsider its June 12, 2020 decision in James Fields's black lung case. Fields opposed the timely motion. After considering the employer's arguments, a majority of the Board did not vote to vacate or change the earlier decision. The Board…
Lowell Chappell v. Whitaker Coal Corporation
Chappell v. Whitaker Coal (BRB 19-0168 BLA): full Board reconsideration denied
Whitaker Coal asked the full Benefits Review Board to reconsider its April 28, 2020 decision in Lowell Chappell's black lung case. The motion was timely, and no other party filed a response. After considering the employer's arguments, a majority of the Board did not vote to vacate or change the…
L.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, New Philadelphia, OH
Knee disability recurrence returned for medical development
L.T. sought compensation for renewed total disability after returning to work following an accepted knee injury. Her physician described continuing knee findings related to the original fall, though his reasoning was incomplete. The Board found the reports sufficient to require a specialist…
S.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Brandon Post Office, Brandon, FL
Arm impairment schedule award denial upheld
S.G. sought a schedule award for upper extremity impairment associated with a cervical condition. Her physician used a rating method that did not meet FECA requirements, and a second opinion’s cervical range of motion findings could not support an award for spinal impairment. The Board accepted…
M.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Letcher, SD
Siren exposure hearing claim returned for specialist examination
M.M. reported hearing loss after an accepted workplace siren exposure. The Board found that his doctor’s report did not establish causation, but OWCP had not followed its hearing loss procedure requiring a qualified specialist examination. It set aside OWCP’s November 1 and December 4, 2019…
P.J. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, Houston, TX
Wage loss claim returned for overlooked medical reports
P.J. sought wage loss compensation for missed work in spring 2019. OWCP stated that it had not received medical evidence for the claimed period, although reports covering part of that period had arrived before its decision. The Board set aside OWCP’s December 6, 2019 decision and remanded for…
E.J. and U.S. Postal Service, George W. Young Post Office, Detroit, MI
Counsel fee approval returned for missing agreement
E.J. contested OWCP’s approval of $23,481.28 in former counsel fees. OWCP had requested fee agreements to establish the hourly rate and a reduced charge, but approved the fee without receiving the requested documents. The Board set aside OWCP’s January 16, 2019 decision and remanded for further…
M.R. and Department of the Interior, National Park Service, George Washington Memorial Parkway-Turkey Run Park, Arlington, VA
Overpayment waiver returned for omitted evidence
M.R. challenged an overpayment recovery decision. OWCP said it had received no response to its preliminary determination, although M.R.’s completed financial form had arrived before the final decision. The Board set aside OWCP’s July 17, 2019 decision and remanded for review of that evidence.
Timberline Hardwood Floors LLC
Most violations affirmed with $166,265 in penalties
Timberline manufactured hardwood flooring with woodworking machinery at the same facility used by a predecessor company under the same manager. OSHA cited extensive deficiencies involving hearing conservation, hazard communication, exits, fire-extinguisher training, machine guarding, compressed…
National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation, Inc.
National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation (FLRA 0-PS-39): Direct lobbying allowed on official time, grass roots lobbying prohibited
The National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation asked whether federal employees may use paid official time for union lobbying covered by the Anti-Lobbying Act. The Authority granted the request for policy guidance. It held that the federal labor statute expressly permits union representatives…
Poulter v. Central Cal Transportation, LLC
Truck driver's retaliation award vacated
Truck driver Bernadine Poulter reported that a sealed tire load placed 34,600 pounds on the rear tandem axle, 600 pounds above the legal limit. Her dispatcher told her not to drive the overweight load and instructed her to try a standard braking maneuver to shift its weight, but she refused and was…
S.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Painesville, OH
S.S. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 20-0509): Board recognizes leg and hip injuries from workplace trip
S.S., a postal mail carrier, reported tripping over a box at work and twisting his left leg. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred but denied his injury claim for lack of sufficient medical evidence linking it to his diagnosed conditions. The Board found this a clear-cut traumatic injury: two…
L.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Los Angeles, CA
L.B. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 20-0462): Occupational disease claim sent for medical review
L.B., a postal call center employee, claimed that sitting, computer use, and reaching at work caused or aggravated conditions affecting her neck, back, and right shoulder. OWCP denied the occupational disease claim for lack of medical proof of causation. The Board found that her physician's…
M.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Wilmington, DE
M.G. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1659): Wage-earning capacity determination upheld
M.G., a postal letter carrier, had an accepted back injury and returned to modified work in 1997. OWCP then determined that his actual wages eliminated his wage-loss compensation. After he stopped work in 2013, he asked OWCP to change that determination, claiming that his work-related back…
S.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Surburban Maryland Processing & Distribution Center, Gaithersburg, MD
S.R. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1591): Misaddressed accommodation letter requires medical review
S.R., a postal supervisor working in an accommodated position, claimed an emotional condition after receiving a workplace accommodation letter too late to meet its seven-day response deadline. The Board found that the letter had been sent to an old address and that this administrative error was a…
Secretary of Labor v. M-Class Mining, LLC
Unsupported accident order vacated
MSHA issued a section 103(k) control order after receiving a doctor's report that a miner had suffered carbon-monoxide poisoning underground. The inspector found no elevated carbon monoxide, no affected coworkers, and no mine condition or equipment source connected to the miner's symptoms. The…
Budri v. FirstFleet, Inc.
Review denied in fifth STAA complaint
Adriano Budri alleged in a fifth Surface Transportation Assistance Act complaint that FirstFleet retaliated when the driver-data company Tenstreet maintained or republished negative information originally provided by FirstFleet. Four earlier complaints had already litigated his termination and the…
Secretary of Labor v. James C. Scott and Donnie B. Thomas, employed by Mill Branch Coal Corp.
Secretary of Labor v. James C. Scott and Donnie B. Thomas (FMSHRC VA 2018-0103, VA 2018-0104): Delayed agent-penalty cases remanded
MSHA sought individual penalties against a mine superintendent and shift foreman for allegedly failing to report a dangerous water inundation within 15 minutes. The agency proposed penalties of $4,000 and $3,500 about three years after the event, but only eight days after its special investigations…
New York State Department of Transportation
In re New York State Department of Transportation (EAB CWA Appeal No. 20-(01)): corrected Initial Decision becomes final
Chief Administrative Law Judge Susan L. Biro issued an Initial Decision and Order involving the New York State Department of Transportation and later issued a corrected version on July 14, 2020. Neither party appealed. The Environmental Appeals Board declined to review the case on its own…
L.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Alpharetta, GA
L.B. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1907): Additional right arm condition unproved
L.B., a former postal rural carrier, had an accepted left shoulder, wrist, and neck injury and sought to add a right arm condition as a consequence of it. The Board found that her physician diagnosed right arm conditions but did not explain how the accepted injury caused them. Diagnostic testing…
J.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Scarborough, ME
J.V. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1844): Unsigned reconsideration denial sent back to OWCP
J.V., a postal mail handler, sought reconsideration after OWCP denied his left thumb injury claim. OWCP refused to reopen the merits, but its April 23, 2019 decision was unsigned and did not show that the required senior claims examiner issued it. The Board found that OWCP had not followed its…
L.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Columbia, VA
L.H. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1485): Unproved dual payments defeat overpayment finding
L.H., a former postal rural carrier, elected federal retirement benefits while still receiving FECA wage-loss compensation. OWCP found that she had received both benefits from October 1, 2018 through January 5, 2019 and ordered her to repay $10,421.59. The Board found no proof that the retirement…
T.T. and Department of Health & Human Services, Federal Occupational Health, Atlanta, GA
T.T. and Federal Occupational Health (ECAB 19-0544): Medical conflict requires impartial examination
T.T., a federal physician, sought to add right hand and wrist conditions to an already accepted right arm injury claim. Her treating physicians attributed the added conditions partly to repetitive work, while OWCP's physicians attributed them to an underlying inflammatory condition or found no…
A.B. and Department of Defense, Defense Contract Management Agency, Smyrna, GA
A.B. and Defense Contract Management Agency (ECAB 18-0635): Suspension and removal require medical review
A.B., a contract termination specialist, claimed an emotional condition tied to several workplace events. OWCP denied her claim without finding a compensable employment factor. The Board found that decisions reversing her constructive suspension and removal established employer error in those…
J.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Kailua-Kona, HI
J.K. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 20-0556): Reconsideration denial needs clear-error analysis
J.K., a postal carrier, sought reconsideration of a denied emotional condition claim arising from a dispute over official time to prepare for an employment discrimination meeting. The Board agreed that his request arrived after the one-year reconsideration deadline. It found, however, that OWCP had…
J.R. and Department of Agriculture, U.S. Forest Service, Cibola National Forest, Sandia Ranger District, Tijeras, NM
J.R. and U.S. Forest Service (ECAB 20-0496): Injury and reconsideration denials upheld
J.R., a Forest Service supervisory forestry technician, reported a right thigh injury while running during physical training at work. OWCP accepted the incident but denied the claim because the evidence did not establish a medical diagnosis connected to it. The Board explained that reports from a…
C.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Miami, FL
C.D. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 20-0450): Reconsideration denial needs reasons
C.D., a postal mail handler, asked OWCP to reconsider its denial of her occupational disease claim. OWCP found her request untimely and summarily said it showed no clear evidence of error. The Board agreed that the request was late but found that OWCP had not addressed her arguments or a new…
M.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Deptford, NJ
M.G. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1791): Knee surgery request needs focused medical opinion
M.G., a postal clerk, injured his right knee in a workplace fall and sought authorization for partial knee replacement surgery. OWCP denied the request after its medical adviser focused on whether the surgery would treat osteoarthritis, which OWCP had not accepted as a work-related condition. The…
R.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Garfield, NJ
R.A. and U.S. Postal Service (ECAB 19-1595): Recurrence of total disability unproved
R.A., a postal clerk, had accepted left hand and arm conditions following a workplace fall in 2000 and later worked in a modified position. He claimed a recurrence of total disability beginning in 2012. The Board found that his physician's reports did not explain how objective findings related to…
M.O. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Texas City Veterans Administration Clinic, Texas City, TX
M.O. and Department of Veterans Affairs (ECAB 19-1398): Injury claim lacks medical proof
M.O., a nurse at a veterans clinic, reported knee and ankle pain and leg numbness after standing from a seated position at work. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred but found no medical evidence establishing a diagnosed condition caused by it. The Board agreed that he had not submitted the…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.