Back to Federal guidance

Correction to OSHA first aid training directive

Summary OSHA notified regional administrators that a first aid training directive incorrectly said the National Safety Council did not conduct courses or certify trainers and trainees. The memo said the council did both and instructed field offices to be notified. OSHA marks the memo as archived and says it may no longer represent agency policy.
Document
Federal guidance
Agency
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Document number
1997-08-21
Date issued
August 21, 1997
Status
Archived by the agency
OSHA labels this an archive document and says it may no longer represent agency policy; the page does not state a withdrawal or replacement.
Status last verified October 9, 2026

Apply this to your situation

This page explains the general guidance. Ask about your specific situation and see what current federal labor law says, with citations.

The current status of this document is unclear
OSHA labels this an archive document and says it may no longer represent agency policy; the page does not state a withdrawal or replacement. It may no longer reflect the agency's current position. Treat this page as historical context, not current guidance, and verify current law before relying on anything here.
About this page: The full text below is the official document from Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Ezel adds the plain-English summary and tracks the document's status. The official source linked on this page is authoritative for any reliance.

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

August 21, 1997

MEMORANDUM FOR: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATORS

FROM: JOHN B. MILES, Jr., Director
Directorate of Compliance Programs

SUBJECT: OSHA Instruction [CPL 02-02-053], Guidelines for First Aid Training Programs

This is a notice that information contained in OSHA Instruction [CPL 02-02-053 (formerly CPL 2-2.53)], Appendix A, referring to the role of the National Safety Council (NSC) is incorrect. The document currently reads as follows: "The National Safety Council provides educational materials to train individuals in basic first aid knowledge and skills. However, they do not conduct training courses or certify trainers or trainees" (emphasis added to highlight incorrect information).
The correct information is: the NSC does conduct First Aid training courses and certifies trainers and trainees.
At this time, the directive does not really need an update, so please take appropriate action to notify the field offices of this correction.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
[Corrected 10/22/2004]

What does federal law require in your situation?

Ezel checks current federal labor law against your facts and answers with citations.

Opens in Ezel Pro.

  • Checks the law as it stands today, not only this page
  • Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
  • Chat, drafting and research in one workspace