Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
Secretary of Labor v. Carmeuse Lime & Stone, Inc.
Crane-capacity citation vacated for lack of quantitative proof
Carmeuse used an underground crane to lift a 10,000-pound conveyor-belt counterweight at its Maysville limestone mine. MSHA alleged that an outrigger rested on unstable ground, the outriggers were extended unequal distances, and the crane was therefore used beyond the manufacturer's design…
Nalco Company
In re Nalco Company (EAB FIFRA Appeal No. 12-01C): $225,000 civil penalty approved
Nalco Company was the respondent in a Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act matter involving pesticide products distributed to pulp and paper mills. The Consent Agreement states that EPA alleged Nalco distributed three products that were not registered as pesticides under FIFRA. Nalco…
G.C. and Department of the Navy, Naval Weapons Station, Charleston, SC
G.C. (ECAB 12-1783): Employer hearing tests made late claim timely
G.C., a former Navy ordnance equipment repairman, filed a hearing loss claim long after retiring from noisy work. The Board found the ordinary three-year filing period had expired. However, employer hearing-conservation tests and a physician’s report had shown ratable hearing loss while he was…
L.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Scottsbluff, NE
L.M. (ECAB 12-1705): Reconsideration request repeats old evidence
L.M., a postal distribution clerk, asked OWCP to reopen a claim involving shoulder pain. She repeated arguments previously considered and resubmitted an earlier note with an illegible signature. The Board found no new relevant medical evidence or qualifying legal argument. It affirmed OWCP’s…
D.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Lapeer, MI
D.R. (ECAB 12-1697): Back injury benefits termination upheld
D.R., a postal rural carrier, had accepted back injuries after lifting mail trays. OWCP later ended wage-loss and medical benefits based on an impartial examiner’s opinion that no work-related disability or residuals remained. The Board gave that reasoned opinion special weight. Later treating…
M.B. and Department of the Navy, Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD
M.B. (ECAB 12-1695): Right wrist impairment award not established
M.B., a Navy food service worker, had an accepted right wrist sprain and later sought a schedule award. The attending surgeon supplied no opinion rating permanent impairment. A nurse practitioner reported examination findings but gave no impairment rating and advised follow-up with the surgeon, who…
T.E. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Indianapolis, IN
T.E. (ECAB 12-1691): Existing 11 percent arm award remains
T.E., a postal mail processing clerk, sought an award above her existing 11 percent right arm impairment rating after a rotator cuff injury. The Board reviewed the medical adviser’s calculation under the current impairment guides and found it supported the same 11 percent rating. T.E. described…
E.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Albuquerque Processing & Distribution Center, Albuquerque, NM
E.C. (ECAB 12-1524): Reopening of wrist condition claim refused
E.C. sought reconsideration of a denied left wrist condition claim. OWCP had found that she had not established the alleged work factors or adequately connected the condition to them. The new MRI report did not address those issues, and her physician listed heavy lifting without identifying the…
W.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Chester, PA
W.F. (ECAB 12-1475): Continuing disability after 2010 not established
W.F. sought continued compensation after a 2000 postal injury. Diagnostic studies gave no causal opinion. Her later physician described a lifting injury, although the record said a box had fallen on her back, and did not explain why the accepted conditions still caused disability ten years later…
S.M. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Tuscaloosa Veterans Hospital, Tuscaloosa, AL
S.M. (ECAB 12-0946): Alleged stairway fall not established
S.M., a hospital nurse, alleged that she fell on a work stairway in June 2010. She filed a claim months later and did not obtain medical treatment until about a year and a half after the alleged fall. The record lacked witness statements or timely notice to the employer, and the later medical…
J.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Baton Rouge, LA
J.T. (ECAB 12-1959): Missed telephone hearing treated as abandoned
After OWCP denied an emotional condition claim, J.T. requested an oral hearing. OWCP mailed instructions for a scheduled telephone hearing, but he did not call at the appointed time. He neither sought postponement nor explained his absence within ten days. The Board affirmed the finding that he…
R.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Tampa, FL
R.M. (ECAB 12-1880): Shoulder and neck conditions not linked to carrier duties
R.M., a letter carrier, attributed right shoulder and cervical conditions to repetitive mail handling and lifting. OWCP accepted the duties and diagnoses but found the medical causal link unproven. The Board found one physician had not explained how the duties caused or worsened her degenerative…
N.B. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Sarasota, FL
N.B. (ECAB 12-1726): Reopening of fall claim refused
N.B. sought reconsideration after OWCP denied her fall claim because it found she was off the employer’s premises. She resubmitted witness statements and other material already considered, plus a shoulder MRI that did not address where the fall occurred. The Board held that she presented no new…
I.A. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Brockton Veterans Administration Medical Center, Brockton, MA
I.A. (ECAB 12-1702): Left hip disease not linked to work duties
I.A., a medical center health technician, attributed left hip osteoarthritis to years of work on hard surfaces. OWCP accepted her duties but found no sufficiently reasoned medical link to the hip condition. The Board held that the main physician did not explain how the duties caused or worsened the…
D.S. and U.S. Postal Service, James Crews Station, Kansas City, MO
D.S. (ECAB 12-1648): Shoulder condition not caused by accepted reaching incident
D.S. alleged that reaching into a mail case injured his left shoulder. OWCP accepted that the reaching incident occurred. His orthopedic surgeon diagnosed shoulder impingement but indicated that work had not caused or aggravated the condition. The Board held that the record lacked medical evidence…
D.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cincinnati, OH
D.B. (ECAB 12-1492): Overpayment and fault upheld after award expired
D.B. received compensation after his leg schedule award expired and continued receiving the augmented rate after losing his only eligible dependent. The Board upheld the combined $29,882.70 overpayment. OWCP had stated the award’s end date and instructed him to report a change in dependent status…
R.Z. and Department of the Army, McAlester Munition Plant, McAlester, OK
R.Z. (ECAB 12-1391): Recurrence of back disability not established
R.Z. sought compensation for a recurrence of disability from April 2007 after an accepted lumbar strain. His new physician described a significant back injury and impairment but did not address whether the accepted injury disabled him during the claimed period. The Board held that the report did…
N.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Fort Worth, TX
N.B. (ECAB 12-1368): Earlier cervical disability period returned for development
N.B. sought total disability compensation for a period preceding a later recurrence that OWCP had accepted. Her physician’s reports described cervical symptoms, examination findings, and work limitations for the disputed period. The Board found those reports insufficient to prove entitlement…
C.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Barberton, OH
C.R. (ECAB 12-1330): Emotional condition not linked to accepted work factor
C.R. claimed an emotional condition related to postal work. The Board accepted stress from carrying out assigned duties as a compensable work factor. Her treating psychologist linked symptoms generally to a supervisor but did not address that accepted factor and noted other personal problems. An…
Peabody Western Coal Company
In re Peabody Western Coal Company (EAB CAA Appeal No. 12-01): Petition for review denied
Peabody Western Coal Company operated the Kayenta Complex, a coal-mining operation in Arizona, under a federal Clean Air Act Title V permit administered by the Navajo Nation Environmental Protection Agency under delegated EPA authority. After the permit was amended to correct its issuance and…
C.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bolton, NC
C.B. (ECAB 13-131): Missing schedule award decision requires record reconstruction
C.B. appealed an apparent schedule award, but the transmitted record contained only a fiscal payment record and no final adverse OWCP decision on the award. Without that decision the Board could not verify the complete record or review the award. It remanded for OWCP to reconstruct the record and…
S.F. and Department of Veterans Affairs, South Texas Veterans Health Care System, Corpus Christi, TX
S.F. (ECAB 12-1821): Compensation suspension reversed after timely form
OWCP suspended S.F.’s compensation for allegedly failing to return a requested Form EN-1032. The Board found that she had signed and returned the form with information about disability retirement payments. OWCP’s contrary assertion was erroneous. The Board reversed the suspension and remanded for…
J.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Greater Boston Performance Cluster, Boston, MA
J.J. (ECAB 12-1782): Overpayment decision returned for requested hearing
OWCP found that J.J. had received a $5,564.20 overpayment from overlapping retirement and Social Security benefits and was at fault. She requested a prerecoupment hearing within the allowed period, but OWCP issued a final decision without holding it. The Board set aside the decision and directed…
W.J. and Department of Commerce, Kenosha, WI
W.J. (ECAB 12-1752): Late reconsideration lacked clear evidence of error
W.J. sought OWCP reconsideration more than a year after a decision denying his injury claim for lack of medical causation. His later medical report described a rotator cuff tear and a possible injury mechanism, but did not provide clear evidence that OWCP’s original decision was erroneous. The…
I.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Philadelphia, PA
I.P. (ECAB 12-1683): Overpayment waiver returned for current financial proof
A prior Board appeal upheld I.P.’s two overpayments but required OWCP to revisit waiver because it had not fully considered his finances. On remand, OWCP reused the old evidence without resolving discrepancies or obtaining current financial information. The Board again set aside the waiver denial…
G.D. and Department of Homeland Security, Customs & Border Protection, San Antonio, TX
G.D. (ECAB 12-1633): Twenty-eight percent binaural award upheld
G.D. sought a larger schedule award for occupational hearing loss. The Board reviewed the audiogram and impairment calculations under the applicable A.M.A. Guides. The 23.4 percent binaural figure, plus five percent for tinnitus, rounded to 28 percent; the record contained no evidence of greater…
F.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Hartford, CT
F.A. (ECAB 12-1616): Cervical injury not linked to lifting incident
F.A. felt right arm and neck pain while lifting mail. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred but found no adequate medical causal opinion. His physician diagnosed cervical sprain and degenerative disease, yet did not explain how the specific lifting incident caused or aggravated either condition…
F.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, New Orleans, LA
F.W. (ECAB 12-1598): Part-time sorter wage capacity finding reversed
OWCP reduced F.W.’s compensation using a part-time sorter job. Its labor market survey showed only that sorter work was generally available; it did not establish enough part-time openings within her commuting area. The Board held that OWCP could not use a full-time market finding and simply…
G.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Columbus, OH
G.L. (ECAB 12-1571): Termination of injury benefits upheld
G.L. challenged termination of benefits for an accepted lower back injury. OWCP had sent conflicting medical views to an impartial orthopedic specialist. The Board found that his detailed examination and review supported that the accepted strain and disc aggravation had resolved, while continuing…
V.H. and Department of Housing and Urban Development, HUD Region II, Alexandria, VA
V.H. (ECAB 12-1523): Back recurrence claim returned for proper adjudication
V.H. sought benefits for a recurrence linked to an accepted 2011 back injury, but OWCP treated the filing as a new traumatic injury and denied it. The Board found the basis for denial unclear. It set aside both decisions and directed OWCP to combine the relevant claim records, decide the recurrence…
S.B. and Department of the Interior, National Park Services, U.S. Park Police, Washington, DC
S.B. (ECAB 12-1489): Left knee schedule award not established
S.B. sought an award for permanent left leg impairment after accepted knee bursitis. Her physician estimated three percent impairment but did not show how the rating followed the applicable A.M.A. Guides or clearly establish maximum medical improvement. The Board held that the medical description…
L.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Southeastern, PA
L.M. (ECAB 12-1396): Referee doctor selection record inadequate
L.M. contested OWCP’s denial of surgery authorization and expansion of an accepted elbow nerve claim. OWCP relied on a referee physician to resolve a medical conflict, but the record held only an appointment notification and did not document selection under the required rotation system. The Board…
B.C. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, Oakland, CA
B.C. (ECAB 12-1388): Intermittent wage loss for appointments denied
B.C. sought wage loss for one full day and portions of three other days for medical appointments. Her physician had released her to work on the full day claimed. The record also lacked medical evidence that the other appointments treated her accepted work injury or supported disability for those…
K.M. and Department of Labor, Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program, Denver, CO
K.M. (ECAB 12-1349): Postmarked reconsideration request was timely
K.M. mailed a reconsideration request one day before the first anniversary of OWCP’s latest merits decision, although OWCP received it after that anniversary. Under the applicable OWCP procedure, mailing within the year made the request timely. The Board set aside OWCP’s use of the stricter…
H.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Omaha, NE
H.D. (ECAB 12-0927): Duplicate right knee claim denied
H.D., a postal employee, filed a new occupational disease claim for a right knee condition attributed to years of walking and climbing at work. OWCP had already denied a knee condition under an earlier claim after medical development. The Board found the new filing identified no additional work…
S.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Brooklyn, NY
S.G. (ECAB 12-397): Back injury not linked to accepted lifting event
S.G. alleged a back injury after lifting a large package at work. She initially gave a December date, then clarified that the accepted incident occurred in November 2008. Her physicians either did not address the accepted event, used the earlier date, or failed to explain how it caused the…
G.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Hartford, CT
G.G. (ECAB 12-346): OWCP hearing denial upheld; Board oral argument denied
G.G. asked OWCP for an oral hearing after she had already requested and received reconsideration of an occupational disease denial. The Board held that the earlier reconsideration ended her hearing entitlement as of right and that OWCP had not abused its discretion in denying a hearing. It also…
A.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Hialeah, FL
A.M. (ECAB 13-17): Withdrawn light duty claim returned for findings
A.M.’s light-duty postal job was withdrawn during a reassessment program. OWCP rejected her disability claim on the theory that the withdrawal alone did not constitute a recurrence. The Board held that OWCP also needed to evaluate current medical evidence of work-related residuals under its…
D.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Peekskill, NY
D.D. (ECAB 12-1890): New factual material requires merits review
D.D. sought reconsideration after denial of a traumatic injury claim on factual grounds. Her husband’s new statements and photographs of work tables addressed the incident, although his lack of firsthand knowledge could affect their weight. The Board held that the material was new and relevant…
G.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Richmond, VA
G.F. (ECAB 12-1735): Recurrence of hand and shoulder disability unproven
G.F. claimed a recurrence after returning to full postal duty with accepted wrist, hand, and shoulder conditions. Her doctors noted pain and later treatment but did not explain that the accepted conditions disabled her from May 2007. Some reports discussed unaccepted neck problems or suggested a…
H.W. and Department of the Army, Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA
H.W. (ECAB 12-1684): Disability recurrence after retirement not proven
H.W. retired from a light-duty dispatcher position and claimed a recurrence of disability beginning on his retirement date. His later medical reports did not identify a change in the accepted cervical condition at that time or explain why he could no longer do the dispatcher duties. The Board found…
Y.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Philadelphia, PA
Y.C. (ECAB 12-1407): Accounting clerk wage capacity unchanged
OWCP had set Y.C.’s wage capacity based on an accounting clerk job. She later sought modification, citing physical and psychiatric conditions. The Board found no sufficient medical evidence of a material change in the accepted cervical condition that prevented her from doing the accounting clerk…
A.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Danville, IL
A.B. (ECAB 12-1392): Leg impairment not tied to accepted injuries
A.B. sought a leg impairment award after accepted strains and lumbar spondylosis from a patient assault. Her doctor rated permanent impairment in both legs but did not reconcile his later findings with earlier examinations showing no radicular symptoms or explain how the accepted injuries caused…
Neupauer Masonry, Inc.
Default remanded over unlicensed representative
An administrative law judge dismissed Neupauer Masonry's contest after the company failed to answer the Secretary's complaint or respond to an order to show cause. The default order affirmed three citations and $43,560 in proposed penalties. On review, Neupauer said it had hired Julio Vargas for…
S.G. and Department of Agriculture, Personnel Operations, Washington, DC
S.G. (ECAB 12-1283): Wage capacity modification not established
S.G. asked OWCP to modify a formal wage-capacity determination after reporting worsening neck symptoms and total incapacity. Her doctor’s notes did not explain a material change in an accepted injury-related condition, and some discussed conditions OWCP had not accepted. She did not show vocational…
P.M. and Department of Agriculture, APHIS Plant Protection Quarantine, Davie, FL
P.M. (ECAB 12-1212): Requested physician change denied
P.M. requested a different physician because the office was more convenient and he considered his current doctor inattentive and unprofessional. The Board found the seven-mile trip reasonable and no evidence of inadequate treatment or misconduct. An OWCP medical adviser considered the existing care…
M.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, San Francisco, CA
M.P. (ECAB 12-1208): Disability after May 2008 not due to accepted conditions
M.P. sought continued disability compensation for accepted anxiety, depression, and PTSD. Treating and referral doctors disagreed, so OWCP obtained an impartial psychiatric opinion. The specialist found that a nonwork personality disorder, rather than the accepted conditions, caused disability…
Secretary of Labor v. Tripple H Coal, LLC
Auger-helper noise citation affirmed
An MSHA full-shift sample found that a coal-auger helper at Tripple H Coal's Auger #1 mine received a noise dose of 150 percent, above the 132 percent permissible level including the error factor. The miner wore hearing protection, so the inspector treated hearing loss as unlikely and the violation…
W.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Keary, NJ
W.N. (ECAB 13-51): Wage loss not linked to accepted thumb injury
W.N. claimed wage loss for several weeks after an accepted thumb laceration. Her doctors’ forms and notes did not explain how that injury disabled her during the claimed dates; other reports discussed pain or possible conditions that OWCP had not accepted. The Board affirmed the wage-loss denials…
D.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Denver, CO
D.O. (ECAB 12-1889): Emotional condition consequence needs specialist review
An OWCP referral physician reported that D.O. had reactive depression related to his accepted thumb injury. OWCP expanded the physical claim but rejected the emotional condition because the physician lacked psychiatric expertise. The Board held that the report raised an issue OWCP had to develop…
A.C. and Social Security Administration, Birmingham, AL
A.C. (ECAB 12-1866): Reconsideration refused without new evidence
A.C. asked OWCP to reconsider an earlier claim decision and said new medical evidence would follow. The record contained no such evidence, new relevant legal argument, or identified error of law. The Board affirmed OWCP’s refusal to reopen and did not review the underlying merits.
M.H. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Stratton Veterans Administration Medical Center, Albany, NY
M.H. (ECAB 12-1815): Neck recurrence and hearing request denied
M.H. claimed total disability after returning to light duty for an accepted neck sprain. She did not show that the job changed or that the accepted condition worsened enough to prevent the work. Her medical reports mainly discussed other cervical or arm conditions without a reasoned connection to…
S.M. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Oakland, CA
S.M. (ECAB 12-1703): Occupational claim denied and hearing abandoned
S.M. attributed back and hip symptoms to standing on concrete and climbing stairs at work. The record lacked a physician’s reasoned opinion linking diagnosed scoliosis to those duties. She also missed a scheduled telephone hearing and did not timely seek another. The Board affirmed the occupational…
E.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Hamilton Station, Baltimore, MD
E.C. (ECAB 12-1671): Dual-benefit overpayment and fault affirmed
E.C. elected federal retirement benefits but continued receiving FECA wage-loss compensation for eight overlapping days. The Board upheld the $817.38 overpayment. His election form explained that the two benefits could not ordinarily be received together, so he should have known the later…
G.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Richmond, CA
G.O. (ECAB 12-1658): One-week wage loss not tied to accepted injury
G.O. sought a week of wage-loss compensation after accepted shoulder and cervical sprains from 2009. Her doctor attributed absence generally to a flare of pain but did not explain a spontaneous return of the accepted condition or why it prevented work on the claimed dates. A separate new injury…
C.K. and U.S. Postal Service, Management Section Center, Baltimore, MD
C.K. (ECAB 12-1487): Schedule award claim not reopened
C.K. twice sought reconsideration of a schedule award determination. She repeated a previously reviewed impairment argument, challenged a doctor without proof of the asserted disciplinary action, and submitted no new medical rating relevant to leg impairment. The Board held that none met the…
P.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Omaha, NE
P.T. (ECAB 12-1439): Reduced work hours not proven as recurrence
P.T. returned to eight-hour modified duty, then worked only four hours per day for a short period. His physician cited increased pain medicine but did not explain an objective worsening or which full-time duties the accepted condition prevented. The Board found the medical reasoning insufficient to…
J.G. and Department of the Air Force, Robins Air Force Base, Warner Robins, GA
J.G. (ECAB 12-1748): Compensation suspension for missing form upheld
OWCP requested a completed earnings and employment disclosure form and warned J.G. that compensation would be suspended if it was not returned within 30 days. The record showed no timely response or extenuating circumstance. The Board affirmed the suspension.
R.H. and Department of Defense, Defense Logistics Agency, Fort Belvoir, VA
R.H. (ECAB 12-1731): Termination of injury compensation upheld
R.H. challenged termination of benefits after a workplace fall. OWCP sent conflicting medical views to an impartial orthopedic specialist. He found that the accepted knee injury had resolved and continuing back complaints reflected a preexisting condition, with no current work restrictions from the…
J.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Baytown, TX
J.R. (ECAB 12-1639): Carpal tunnel medical conflict remained unresolved
J.R. claimed bilateral carpal tunnel and ulnar nerve conditions from repetitive postal duties. Treating and referral doctors disagreed. The impartial examiner rejected a work link without addressing the accepted repetitive tasks or giving enough explanation. The Board held that his opinion did not…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.