Federal Agency Decisions

Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.

63,882 decisions and counting · Latest decision October 28, 2026
63,882 decisions

No decisions match these filters

Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.

COMM

D.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Fort Worth, TX

D.N. (ECAB 13-38): Surveillance monitor wage capacity upheld

D.N., a former postal clerk with accepted left shoulder conditions, challenged a compensation adjustment based on a surveillance monitor job. He argued that the job was unavailable, exceeded his restrictions, required more training, and paid a different wage. The Board found that a vocational…

August 28, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bethpage, NY

A.L. (ECAB 12-1839): Benefit termination for refused job reversed

A.L., a postal mail handler with an accepted back injury, lost compensation after declining a modified mail handler job. OWCP treated the offer as suitable work. The Board compared the job description with the treating physician’s limits and found that the job required more hours of pushing…

August 28, 2013 ·ECAB
Vacated
COMM

T.M. and Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons, Olean, NY

T.M. (ECAB 13-1194): Engineering report did not reopen medical claim

T.M., a Bureau of Prisons painter, had an accepted electrical shock injury and sought coverage for additional conditions and physical therapy. His reconsideration request relied on a report from a biomechanical engineer about carpal tunnel syndrome and treatment. The Board found that the disputed…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

T.W. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Battle Creek, MI

T.W. (ECAB 13-1125): Patient lifting claim lacked a medical link

T.W., a VA nursing assistant, attributed arm, neck, back, and leg conditions to lifting patients and other duties. Her physician identified diagnoses and work activities, but did not explain how those activities caused or aggravated the conditions. The Board found that statements about symptoms…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

P.C. and Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Petaluma, CA

P.C. (ECAB 13-939): Part time wage capacity ruling upheld

P.C., a Census Bureau worker with an accepted left ankle injury, returned to temporary part time field representative work. OWCP used her actual wages to determine her remaining earning capacity and later refused to change that determination. The Board found the wages fairly represented her…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.G. and Department of the Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC

L.G. (ECAB 13-927): Injury denial upheld; medical expense issue returned

L.G. reported fainting in a workplace elevator and striking her head. The Board found that the submitted medical reports did not diagnose a condition resulting from that incident; unsigned hospital instructions did not supply qualifying medical evidence. It therefore upheld OWCP’s denial of the…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Modified
COMM

L.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Milwaukee, WI

L.D. (ECAB 13-695): Mortgage interviewer wage capacity unchanged

L.D., a former postal carrier with an accepted right shoulder injury, challenged a wage capacity finding based on mortgage loan interviewer work. She said continuing shoulder symptoms kept her from working full time. The Board found that her treating physician described her condition as unchanged…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

N.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Albuquerque, NM

N.M. (ECAB 13-635): Reconsideration denial upheld

N.M., a rural postal carrier, sought reconsideration after OWCP ended her medical and wage loss benefits for an accepted neck and shoulder injury. She submitted additional reports from her treating physician. The Board found that the reports repeated evidence already in the record and did not…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

N.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Harrisburg, PA

N.B. (ECAB 13-513): Postal clerk's shoulder claim returned for development

N.B., a postal clerk, claimed that repetitive mail handling and lifting caused right shoulder tendinitis and impingement. OWCP denied the claim after finding that she had not established the alleged workplace exposure. The Board found her accounts of those duties consistent and supported, despite…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

E.R. and Department of Veterans Affairs, James J. Peters Medical Center, Bronx, NY

E.R. (ECAB 13-422): Surgery recovery wage claim returned for review

E.R., a nursing assistant, sought wage loss compensation while recovering from surgery for an accepted shoulder injury. OWCP denied the claimed period but considered only one form from her surgeon. The Board found that OWCP had overlooked other reports addressing her surgery, therapy, and recovery…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

S.L., claiming as widow of C.L., and City of Chandler Police Department, Chandler, AZ

S.L. (ECAB 12-1525): Undercover officer found eligible for federal death benefits

S.L. sought survivor benefits after her husband, a local undercover narcotics officer, was fatally shot during a planned drug transaction. OWCP found that he was not an eligible officer under the federal compensation provision. The Board found that he was actively working to prevent a federal drug…

August 27, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

D.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Brooklyn, NY

D.V. (ECAB 13-1114): Hip and elbow occupational claim denied

D.V., a postal carrier, claimed that his work duties caused or aggravated right hip and left elbow conditions. His physician diagnosed those conditions and described a prior fall at work. The Board found that the physician did not explain how the ongoing duties identified in this occupational…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

E.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Indianapolis, IN

E.P. (ECAB 13-1021): Back injury claim denied for lack of diagnosis

E.P., a rural postal carrier, fell backward while moving a large box at work and claimed a back injury. OWCP accepted that the incident happened but found the medical evidence insufficient. The Board agreed because the physician reported back pain without diagnosing a back condition or explaining…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.F. and Department of Commerce, 2010 Decennial Census, Dallas, TX

A.F. (ECAB 13-937): Termination of census worker's wage benefits upheld

A.F., a census enumerator, received wage loss benefits for accepted spine and sacral injuries. OWCP ended those benefits after finding that her disability for work had ceased. The Board relied on a second opinion examination and her treating physician's report, both of which supported her ability…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Facility, Medford, OR

J.G. (ECAB 13-919): Late reconsideration request denied

J.G. sought reconsideration of a previously denied claim for back, hip, and leg conditions after pushing a mail container. Her request came more than one year after the Board's last decision on the merits. The Board found the request untimely and concluded that the later medical reports did not…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

G.T. and Department of the Army, Fort Carson, CO

G.T. (ECAB 13-895): Asbestos disease claim denied

G.T., a former Army floor layer, claimed a respiratory disease from asbestos exposure at work. OWCP accepted the exposure but denied the disease claim. The Board gave special weight to a referee physician's examination and chest imaging, which found no pulmonary condition caused by the exposure. It…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

B.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Glenside, PA

B.W. (ECAB 13-793): Back disability recurrence claim denied

B.W., a postal worker with accepted back conditions, claimed that she could no longer perform her light duty job beginning in September 2012. She said the work had grown more demanding. The Board found no corroborating evidence that her assigned duties had changed or exceeded her restrictions. It…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
ALJ

Stoltzfus Welding & Rentals, LLC

Late contest relief denied

OSHA issued Stoltzfus Welding & Rentals two serious citations and one repeat citation with proposed penalties totaling $8,360. The employer argued that it missed the contest deadline because an OSHA letter said no citation would be issued for one item. The judge found that the actual citations…

August 26, 2013 ·Keith E. Bell ·OSHRC
Procedural
COMM

D.S. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Test & Evaluation Command, White Sands, NM

D.S. (ECAB 13-401): Hearing award upheld; hearing aid request returned

D.S., an Army employee, challenged the duration and start date of a schedule award for work related hearing loss and sought hearing aids. The Board upheld the six percent binaural impairment rating and the date of maximum medical improvement. It found that OWCP lacked a sufficient medical opinion…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

F.D., claiming as widow of S.D., and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Spring Valley, CA

F.D. (ECAB 13-235): Widow's death benefits claim returned for medical review

F.D. sought death benefits after her husband, a postal employee, died of colon cancer. The claim required a medical decision on whether accepted workplace factors and the resulting emotional condition caused or worsened his cancer. The Board found that the impartial specialist had largely adopted…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

G.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Colorado Springs, CO

G.S. (ECAB 13-57): One knee surgery covered, earlier surgery denied

G.S., a postal carrier, sought payment for two right knee surgeries after a work related vehicle collision. The Board upheld OWCP’s refusal to authorize the August 2010 surgery, finding the medical evidence did not link it sufficiently to the accepted injury. For the May 2012 surgery, OWCP had…

August 26, 2013 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

Professional Directional, Ltd.

Settlement order set aside for correction

Professional Directional agreed to withdraw its contest of five citation items and pay a reduced penalty of $13,600. After the judge approved the settlement, the Secretary reported that one sentence mistakenly said the employer "did ensure" safety data sheets were available when the agreement…

August 26, 2013 ·OSHRC
Remanded
COMM

Andrew McGarey and Thomas B. Russell v. Electric Boat Corporation

McGarey and Russell v. Electric Boat (BRB 12-0672 and 13-0020): late payment assessments returned for review

Andrew McGarey and Thomas Russell worked for Electric Boat and sought ten percent assessments because compensation for their hearing loss was paid after the company's own audiograms. Two administrative law judges denied the assessments because the company paid soon after each worker filed a claim…

August 23, 2013 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Andrew McGarey and Thomas B. Russell v. Electric Boat Corporation

McGarey and Russell v. Electric Boat (BRB 12-0672 and 13-0020): late payment assessments returned for review

Andrew McGarey and Thomas Russell worked for Electric Boat and sought ten percent assessments because compensation for their hearing loss was paid after the company's own audiograms. Two administrative law judges denied the assessments because the company paid soon after each worker filed a claim…

August 23, 2013 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

R.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Los Angeles, CA

R.A. (ECAB 13-1188): Reconsideration denial upheld

R.A., a postal mail handler, claimed that computer training during vocational rehabilitation caused right carpal tunnel syndrome. After OWCP denied the claim, he submitted a later report from his physician with a reconsideration request. The Board found that the report repeated a diagnosis and…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.N. and Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons, Lompoc, CA

L.N. (ECAB 13-1187): Reconsideration of arm impairment award denied

L.N., a Bureau of Prisons worker, sought reconsideration of a schedule award following a work related neck injury. He argued that OWCP had omitted an accepted condition from its arm impairment calculation. The Board found that OWCP's medical adviser had considered the accepted injury when rating…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

F.E. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Philadelphia, PA

F.E. (ECAB 13-1062): Denial of disability compensation upheld

F.E., a postal clerk, sought compensation after her temporary appointment ended in December 2008. OWCP had accepted a recurrence of her knee condition but found that she had not shown an inability to work during the claimed period. The Board found that she was performing her regular duties when the…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.E. and U.S. Postal Service, South Tyler Annex, Tyler, TX

C.E. (ECAB 13-0933): Overpayment decisions set aside after notice was returned

OWCP said C.E. had received $1,744.89 too much in compensation because it had failed to deduct insurance premiums. It denied waiver of recovery after concluding that she had not responded to its preliminary notice. The Board found that the postal service had returned that notice as undeliverable…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

D.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Southeastern PA

D.B. (ECAB 13-0882): Overpayment decision set aside for a new pay calculation

OWCP found that D.B., a postal mail processing clerk, had received $2,486.37 too much in compensation because it used an incorrect pay rate. The Board could not verify the correct rate from OWCP’s findings about her work history and pay. It also found that OWCP’s calculation appeared to include…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

W.Z. and U.S. Postal Service, South Shore Annex, Staten Island, NY

W.Z. (ECAB 13-0873): Overpayment upheld, fault and recovery findings set aside

W.Z., a postal worker receiving disability compensation, did not report $500 she earned for singing at a birthday party. An earlier OWCP decision forfeited her compensation for the period covered by her earnings report. The Board upheld OWCP’s calculation of a $33,161.07 overpayment for that…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

B.P. and AmeriCorps, National Civilian Community Corps, Denver, CO

B.P. (ECAB 13-0788): AmeriCorps member did not establish FECA coverage

B.P., an AmeriCorps corps member, claimed a knee injury from playing team flag football. OWCP asked for information showing that her position qualified as federal employment for FECA coverage. She returned the questionnaire with a signature but left its questions unanswered. The Board explained…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

G.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Austin, TX

G.V. (ECAB 13-0596): Recurrence denial set aside to consider a medical report

G.V., a postal worker, appealed OWCP’s denial of a claim for a recurrence of disability beginning in April 2012. OWCP said it had received no new medical evidence. The Board found that G.V. had submitted an October 2012 medical report before OWCP issued its decision. OWCP therefore had to consider…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

J.J. and Department of the Navy, Naval Training Center, Great Lakes, IL

J.J. (ECAB 13-0584): Recurrence claim returned for a new decision

J.J., a Navy worker, sought benefits for a recurrence of disability connected to a 1993 back injury. OWCP denied the 1993 injury claim in July 2012 for lack of medical causation evidence and did not decide the recurrence. In a separate May 2012 letter, OWCP had said that the original claim had…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

R.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, North Augusta, SC

R.D. (ECAB 13-0402): Schedule award denial upheld for lack of impairment evidence

R.D., a postal rural carrier, sought a schedule award after injuries from a vehicle collision and later neck surgeries. OWCP accepted several conditions, including a right shoulder condition and cervical problems. The Board explained that FECA does not provide a schedule award for the spine or the…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

B.C. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases, Fort Detrick, MD

B.C. (ECAB 13-0081): Infection claim returned for further fact gathering

B.C., an animal caretaker at an Army research institute, claimed that he contracted a parasitic infection while cleaning primate cages. OWCP accepted that he encountered primates and their waste at work but denied the claim for lack of medical proof linking that work to the infection. The Board…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

S.N. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Citrus Heights, CA

S.N. (ECAB 12-1222): Rescission of injury claim upheld

S.N., a postal mail carrier, said a falling tree branch struck his head while he was delivering mail. OWCP initially accepted several injuries and paid benefits, then rescinded its acceptance after receiving new evidence about the incident. The Board found that a witness’s sworn account differed…

August 23, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

D.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Islandia, NY

D.L. (ECAB 13-1226): Injury claim denial upheld with incident finding changed

D.L., a postal letter carrier, said he slipped on ice while delivering mail and injured his right knee and ankle. OWCP denied the claim because it did not accept that the fall occurred as described. The Board found his prompt report, same day treatment and consistent account sufficient to establish…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Modified
COMM

G.W. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Milwaukee, WI

G.W. (ECAB 13-1019): Wage loss compensation suspension upheld

G.W., a Veterans Health Administration nurse practitioner, received compensation for an accepted right wrist condition. OWCP mailed her a form asking her to report work and income during the prior 15 months and warned that benefits would be suspended if she did not return it within 30 days. She did…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Nashville, TN

S.R. (ECAB 13-1012): Refusal to reopen back injury claim upheld

S.R., a postal mail processing clerk, sought reconsideration of OWCP’s denial of a back injury claim. Her attorney said he enclosed new medical records, but the Board found no evidence that OWCP received those records before deciding the request. The reconsideration request also did not show a…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Madison Square Post Office, New York, NY

A.G. (ECAB 13-0860): Knee injury claim denial upheld

A.G., a postal letter carrier, reported feeling a pop in his right knee while walking his route. OWCP accepted that the workplace incident occurred but denied the injury claim for lack of proof that it caused a diagnosed condition. The Board found that imaging showed a meniscal tear, but the…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Y.C., claiming as widow of G.C., and Department of the Air Force, Ramstein Air Force Base, Germany

Y.C. (ECAB 13-0800): Survivor benefit suspension upheld

Y.C. received survivor benefits after OWCP accepted that her husband’s death was connected to his federal employment. OWCP requested the annual form reporting changes in marital status and dependents, then suspended payments when it received no completed form or written equivalent. The Board found…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

R.W. and Department of the Navy, Meridian Naval Air Station, Meridian, MS

R.W. (ECAB 13-0582): Hearing loss schedule award denial upheld

R.W., a Navy police officer, was exposed to aircraft and firearms noise at work. OWCP accepted that his bilateral hearing loss was work related but denied a schedule award because the measured loss was not ratable under the applicable standard. The Board reviewed the audiogram and the medical…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

V.P. and Department of Homeland Security, Customs & Border Protection, San Diego, CA

V.P. (ECAB 13-0137): Wage earning capacity reduction left in place

V.P., a former immigration inspector with accepted neck and related conditions, received reduced wage loss compensation after OWCP found she could earn wages as a receptionist. She sought to change that determination, submitting reports that said she could not work. The Board found that those…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Aberdeen, WA

S.D. (ECAB 13-0090): Postal route worker’s coverage sent back for fact finding

S.D. delivered mail on a highway contract route and claimed injuries from a fall at a post office. OWCP denied FECA coverage after the Postal Service said she was a contractor rather than an employee. S.D. described detailed Postal Service control over her route and work, while documents in the…

August 22, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

M.K. and Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, Memphis, TN

M.K. (ECAB 13-1160): Lower extremity schedule award denial upheld

M.K., an IRS worker with an accepted back strain, sought a schedule award for impairment of her legs. Her doctors and OWCP’s examiners gave different ratings, so OWCP obtained an impartial examination. The Board found that the later impartial examiner applied the required impairment guide and…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

G.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Birmingham, AL

G.W. (ECAB 13-1035): Thumb impairment award sent back for a supported rating

G.W., a Postal Service clerk, injured his right thumb when he hit it on a postal machine. After surgery, OWCP granted a schedule award for 10 percent permanent thumb impairment. The Board found that OWCP’s medical adviser had treated the thumb joint’s contribution to overall motion as an impairment…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

P.E. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Phoenix, AZ

P.E. (ECAB 13-0987): Shoulder injury denial and late hearing request upheld

P.E., a Postal Service clerk, claimed she hurt her left shoulder while lifting trays at work. OWCP denied the claim, and she later requested an oral hearing. The Board found material conflicts in her accounts of when the incident occurred, when she began work that day, and what she told others…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

K.N. and Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Engraving & Printing, Washington, DC

K.N. (ECAB 13-0911): Late reconsideration denial upheld

K.N., a printing plant worker, claimed that chemical and ink exposure caused a respiratory illness. OWCP had accepted the reported workplace exposures but denied the claim for lack of medical proof connecting them to her condition. She sought reconsideration of the March 2011 merit decision in…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Gary, IN

S.G. (ECAB 13-0896): Shoulder disease denial upheld for lack of medical explanation

S.G., a Postal Service supervisor, claimed that a period of pushing, pulling, lifting, and sorting mail caused shoulder problems. OWCP accepted that she performed those tasks but denied her occupational disease claim. The Board found that her physician described a possible connection to work…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.P. and Department of Defense, Defense Logistics Agency, Fort Belvoir, VA

J.P. (ECAB 13-0862): Hearing loss claim returned for a current medical opinion

J.P., a Defense Logistics Agency quality assurance specialist, claimed that workplace equipment noise caused hearing loss in both ears. OWCP denied the claim in 2013 based on medical opinions prepared in 2003. The Board found that these opinions were too old to support a current decision, and the…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

H.L. and Department of the Navy, Puget Sound Naval Shipyard, Bremerton, WA

H.L. (ECAB 13-0815): Hearing loss claim denial upheld

H.L., a former Navy shipyard firefighter and driver, claimed that years of workplace noise caused his hearing loss. The Board accepted that he had been exposed to noise at work. His examining physician initially said the pattern of loss could fit past noise exposure, but had not yet reviewed the…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

T.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sioux Falls, SD

T.V. (ECAB 13-0748): Denial of schedule award reconsideration upheld

T.V., a Postal Service letter carrier with an accepted back condition, received a schedule award for four percent impairment of his left leg. He asked OWCP to reconsider, saying the award did not reflect his pain and other symptoms. The Board found that his request repeated facts OWCP had already…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

E.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Brookline Post Office, Brookline, MA

E.H. (ECAB 13-0559): Emotional condition claim denial upheld

E.H., a Postal Service customer service supervisor, attributed stress and anxiety to heavy work demands, a dispute with her manager, and personnel actions. OWCP denied her claim. The Board found that the evidence did not substantiate her overwork allegation as a compensable work factor, even though…

August 21, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.E. and Department of the Army, Rufus, OR

J.E. (ECAB 13-1022): Hearing loss schedule award denial upheld

J.E., an Army crane operator, had an accepted claim for hearing loss caused by workplace noise. He sought a schedule award, but OWCP found that the loss did not reach a ratable level under its impairment guide. The Board agreed with the medical adviser’s calculation from a physician’s audiogram…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

K.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Bingville Station, Savannah, GA

K.R. (ECAB 13-1071): Finding that hearing request was abandoned upheld

K.R., a Postal Service letter carrier, requested a hearing after OWCP denied her emotional condition claim. OWCP sent notice to her address with the time and call details for a telephone hearing. She did not call in or request another hearing within 10 days after the scheduled date. The Board held…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.H. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, East Boston, MA

J.H. (ECAB 13-1047): Work incident accepted but injury denial upheld

J.H., a transportation security officer, reported back pain after stacking inspection bins at work. OWCP accepted that the August 2010 work incident occurred but denied the claim for lack of medical proof of an injury caused by it. The Board found that one doctor described pain without a clear…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, San Francisco, CA

L.C. (ECAB 13-0938): Reduced compensation based on available work upheld

L.C., a Postal Service clerk with accepted neck and arm conditions, received total disability compensation after limited duty work ended. OWCP reduced her benefits based on a surveillance system monitor job it found she could perform. The Board agreed that the supported medical opinion allowed that…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Portland, OR

L.L. (ECAB 13-0829): Left arm condition claim denial upheld

L.L., a Postal Service rural carrier, claimed that scanner use at work caused left arm pain. OWCP denied her claim. The Board found that the physician reports and imaging studies in the record addressed her separate right arm condition rather than explaining a left arm condition caused by scanner…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.R. and Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Hot Springs, NC

J.R. (ECAB 13-0575): Injury claim denied despite accepted work vehicle accident

J.R., a Forest Service technician, was in a motor vehicle accident while working and claimed back, neck, and rib injuries. OWCP accepted that the accident occurred but denied the injury claim. The Board found that the medical reports described pain and existing conditions without a reasoned…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.Y. and Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, San Diego, CA

L.Y. (ECAB 13-0242): Forest Service emotional condition claim denial upheld

L.Y., a Forest Service botanist, attributed an emotional condition to disputes with her supervisor and coworkers, personnel actions, and alleged harassment. OWCP denied the claim. The Board found that her account concerned administrative and personnel matters rather than stress from her regular…

August 20, 2013 ·ECAB
Affirmed

What these documents are

  • The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
  • Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
  • ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
  • Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
  • Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.