Federal Agency Decisions

Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.

63,882 decisions and counting · Latest decision October 28, 2026
63,882 decisions

No decisions match these filters

Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.

COMM

S.L. and Department of the Air Force, Randolph Air Force Base, TX

Board returns right arm impairment award for uniform rating (ECAB 17-0666)

S.L., an Air Force employee, sought more than a ten percent right arm impairment award. The Board found that OWCP had applied inconsistent methods to upper extremity ratings. It ordered a uniform rating method and a new decision on the award.

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

J.E. and Department of Justice, Bureau of Prisons, Fort Dix, NJ

Board upholds termination of prison employee’s benefits (ECAB 17-0564)

J.E., a Bureau of Prisons employee, received wage-loss and medical benefits for a 2005 work injury. OWCP ended the benefits effective September 28, 2015. The Board found that the accepted injury no longer caused residuals or disability and that J.E. had not established later continuing disability…

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

L.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bedford Park, IL

Board upholds shoulder claim and reconsideration denials (ECAB 17-0258)

L.C., a postal employee, claimed a right shoulder injury after an accepted April 1, 2016 work incident. The Board found that she had not established a causal link and that OWCP properly refused merit reconsideration. It affirmed both decisions.

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

R.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bellmawr, NJ

Board orders referee review of left arm impairment (ECAB 17-0130)

R.H., a postal worker, had an award for eight percent left arm impairment from carpal tunnel syndrome. Her physician and OWCP’s medical adviser disagreed about an additional cervical nerve deficit. The Board ordered an impartial physician to resolve the conflict and determine the proper impairment…

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
ALJ

Wright Touch Landscaping & Heavy Equipment, Inc.

Fall-protection and reporting items affirmed

Wright Touch Landscaping performed tree-trimming work using an aerial lift and from the roof of a Miami residence. A worker was hospitalized after sustaining a head injury at the worksite and later died without leaving the hospital. The judge found that Wright Touch employed the worker because the…

March 5, 2018 ·Covette Rooney ·OSHRC
Mixed result
COMM

J.Q. and U.S. Postal Service, Network Distribution Center, Greensboro, NC

Board upholds denial of postal worker’s injury claim (ECAB 16-1703)

J.Q., a postal employee, claimed that she was injured in the performance of duty on November 13, 2014. The Board found that she had not established an injury arising from that claimed event. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

E.G. and Department of Justice, U.S. Marshals Service, Phoenix, AZ

Board upholds denial of right knee claim (ECAB 16-0923)

E.G., a U.S. Marshals Service employee, claimed a right knee condition after an accepted October 23, 2014 work incident. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish a causal link. It affirmed the denial.

March 5, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
ALJ

Arctic Glacier U.S.A., Inc.

Partial settlement approved and penalties set

Arctic Glacier operated an ice-manufacturing facility that received seven serious citation items and one repeat item with $67,000 in proposed penalties. The parties reached a partial settlement that vacated five serious items, accepted the repeat item and two other items, and reclassified one…

March 2, 2018 ·William S. Coleman ·OSHRC
Settled
COMM

Lillie M. Hall v. Clinchfield Coal Company

Hall v. Clinchfield Coal (BRB 17-0079 BLA): survivor's denial returned for evidence review

Lillie Hall sought survivor's benefits after her husband, a coal miner, died. The judge found no total respiratory disability or pneumoconiosis and denied the claim. The Board held that the judge had not compared medical descriptions of the miner's physical limits with his job demands or considered…

March 1, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Jenkins v. United States Environmental Protection Agency

Jenkins v. EPA (DOL ARB 2015-0046): Default judgment for discovery violations affirmed

EPA scientist Cate Jenkins alleged that the agency fired her for disclosures and complaints protected by federal environmental whistleblower laws. The administrative law judge suspended a 2012 hearing after EPA failed to produce required discovery. Following further discovery and Jenkins's…

March 1, 2018 ·DOL ARB
Affirmed
COMM

M.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Oklahoma City, OK

Board upholds denial of wrist condition claim (ECAB 17-2007)

M.B., a postal employee, claimed a right wrist condition after an accepted May 11, 2017 work incident. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish that the incident caused the condition. It affirmed the denial.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

V.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Princeton, NJ

Board upholds denial of spine occupational disease claim (ECAB 17-1925)

V.P., a postal worker, attributed neck and lower back conditions to factors of his federal employment. The Board found that the medical evidence did not establish the required causal relationship. It affirmed the denial.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

A.C. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Chicago, IL

Board upholds denial of lumbar condition claim (ECAB 17-1869)

A.C., a VA employee, claimed a lumbar condition from an accepted June 23, 2016 work incident. The Board found that the medical evidence did not adequately establish a causal link between the incident and the condition. It affirmed the denial.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

R.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Greenville, SC

Board upholds denial of leg impairment award (ECAB 17-1864)

R.R., a postal worker, sought a schedule award for impairment of either leg. The Board found that the evidence did not establish ratable permanent impairment of the right or left lower extremity. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

M.V. and Department of the Army, Red River Army Depot, Texarkana, TX

Board upholds abandonment of telephonic hearing (ECAB 17-1795)

M.V., an Army depot employee, requested a telephonic hearing before OWCP. He said he had not received notice of the hearing. The Board found that OWCP properly determined that he abandoned the request and affirmed its decision.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Buena Park, CA

Board restores medical benefits but upholds wage termination (ECAB 17-1716)

J.F., a postal worker, had a work-related left foot condition. The Board found that OWCP could end wage-loss benefits and that she had not proved continuing disability. Her doctors still recommended orthotics, however, so OWCP had not justified ending medical benefits. The Board affirmed in part…

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Mixed result
COMM

M.P. and Department of Homeland Security, Federal Aviation Marshal Service, Brooklyn Heights, OH

Board orders merit review of renewed disability claim (ECAB 17-1199)

M.P., a federal air marshal, sought benefits after his light-duty assignment ended. He argued that OWCP should consider his claim under the proper claim type if it rejected a recurrence theory. The Board found that this was a new relevant legal argument requiring merit reconsideration. It ordered…

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

C.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Government Mails, Washington, DC

Board upholds denial of emotional condition claim (ECAB 16-1862)

C.T., a postal employee, claimed that he sustained an emotional condition in the performance of duty on April 14, 2016. The Board found that he had not established a compensable work-related emotional condition from the alleged event. It affirmed OWCP’s denial.

March 1, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Missouri Basin Well Service, Inc.

Well-site fire citation vacated

Missouri Basin Well Service was circulating an oil well when flammable vapors from a discharge tank ignited near a diesel mud pump, causing a fire that gave an employee second-degree facial burns. The Commission found that placing the ignition source less than 30 feet from the vapor discharge…

March 1, 2018 ·OSHRC
Citations vacated
COMM

Ramon Rivera v. Ameri-Force and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association

Rivera v. Ameri-Force (BRB 17-0438): employer fee award reversed

Ramon Rivera filed a claim for work-related hearing loss. The district director ordered the employer to pay his attorney fee, but the Board found that the required conditions for employer-paid fees had not been met. It reversed the fee award against the employer.

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Vacated
COMM

Jesse Franklin v. Greystar Corporation and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association

Franklin v. Greystar (BRB 17-0395 and 17-0395A): premature fund ruling removed

Jesse Franklin received temporary total disability and medical benefits for a work-related back condition. The Board upheld the findings that his condition had not reached maximum medical improvement and that the employer’s request for special fund relief was premature. It struck the judge’s…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Modified
COMM

Herbert F. Stacy, Jr. v. Stoney Gap Coal Company, Incorporated

Stacy v. Stoney Gap Coal (BRB 17-0334 BLA): benefits denial upheld

Herbert Stacy appealed the denial of his black lung benefits claim. The labor judge credited him with at least fifteen years of underground coal mine work but found the evidence did not establish a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The Board upheld that finding and affirmed the denial.

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Hyle E. Johnston v. Southern Ohio Coal Company and East Coast Risk Management

Johnston v. Southern Ohio Coal (BRB 17-0307 BLA): benefits award upheld

Hyle Johnston received black lung benefits after the labor judge credited medical opinions linking his disabling lung condition to coal mine dust. The employer appealed, and Johnston filed a cross-appeal. The Board upheld the findings of legal pneumoconiosis and disability causation and affirmed…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Wint Gouge, Jr. v. Morris Trucking Company, Incorporated and West Virginia Coal Workers’ Pneumoconiosis Fund

Gouge v. Morris Trucking (BRB 17-0302 BLA): disability and rebuttal sent back

Wint Gouge received black lung benefits under the fifteen-year presumption. The Board found that the labor judge had not adequately evaluated the medical opinions on total respiratory disability and the employer’s evidence on legal pneumoconiosis. It vacated those findings and remanded for further…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

William R. Fluharty v. Donaldson Mine Company

Fluharty v. Donaldson Mine (BRB 17-0272 BLA): benefits award upheld

William Fluharty received black lung benefits after the labor judge found 24 years of underground coal mine work and total respiratory disability. The Board upheld the finding that he invoked the fifteen-year presumption. It also upheld the judge’s evaluation of the employer’s medical evidence and…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Norma Jean Parsons v. Westmoreland Coal Company

Parsons v. Westmoreland Coal (BRB 17-0266 BLA): survivor denial upheld

Norma Parsons sought modification of a denied survivor benefits claim. The Board upheld the labor judge’s finding that the evidence did not establish pneumoconiosis as a cause of her husband’s death. It affirmed the denial of benefits, finding no reversible error in the modification ruling.

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Sara E. Mosley v. Blackwood Fuel Company and Liberty Mutual Insurance

Mosley v. Blackwood Fuel (BRB 17-0261 BLA): disability evidence sent back

Sara Mosley appealed the denial of survivor benefits after her husband’s death. The Board found errors in the labor judge’s evaluation of pulmonary function testing and medical opinions on total disability. It vacated the disability finding and the resulting fifteen-year presumption ruling, and…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Mary Anderson on behalf of the Estate of and widow of Raymond Carl Anderson v. Clintwood-Elkhorn Mining Company

Anderson v. Clintwood-Elkhorn Mining (BRB 17-0244 and 17-0294 BLA): miner and survivor awards upheld

Mary Anderson defended awards in her late husband’s miner claim and her survivor claim. The Board upheld the finding that the employer had not rebutted the fifteen-year presumption in the miner’s claim. Because the miner’s award remained in place, the Board also affirmed her automatic survivor…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Dovie Simmons v. Raider Mining, Incorporated and Employers Insurance of Wausau

Simmons v. Raider Mining (BRB 17-0233 BLA): survivor award upheld

Dovie Simmons received survivor benefits after the labor judge applied the fifteen-year presumption to her late husband’s claim. The employer contested whether it had rebutted the presumption that pneumoconiosis contributed to his death. The Board upheld the judge’s assessment of the medical…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Peggy S. Dutton v. Clinchfield Coal Company

Dutton v. Clinchfield Coal (BRB 17-0231 BLA): autopsy evidence sent back

Peggy Dutton appealed the denial of survivor benefits after her husband’s death. The Board upheld the finding that total respiratory disability had not been established for the fifteen-year presumption. It found that the labor judge had not adequately evaluated autopsy evidence bearing on…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Elbert Williams v. Whitaker Coal Company and Wells Fargo Disability Management

Williams v. Whitaker Coal (BRB 17-0228 BLA): complicated pneumoconiosis sent back

Elbert Williams received black lung benefits after the labor judge found complicated pneumoconiosis. The Board found errors in the judge’s evaluation of the X-ray and medical opinion evidence. It vacated the complicated pneumoconiosis finding and the resulting award, and remanded for a new…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Charles M. Blankenship v. Mingo Logan Coal Company and Arch Coal, Incorporated

Blankenship v. Mingo Logan Coal (BRB 17-0193 BLA): rebuttal sent back

Charles Blankenship received black lung benefits on a subsequent claim. The Board upheld uncontested findings but found that the labor judge had applied the wrong approach to whether the employer disproved legal pneumoconiosis. It vacated the rebuttal finding and remanded for reconsideration under…

February 28, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
ALJ

Central Site Development, LLC

EAJA fees awarded after citations vacated

Central Site Development sought attorney fees after it prevailed against two OSHA citation items arising from a fatal incident at a construction site. The underlying decision vacated a general duty clause item alleging a struck-by hazard and a recordkeeping item alleging failure to provide an OSHA…

February 28, 2018 ·John B. Gatto ·OSHRC
Procedural
COMM

North Eastern Precast LLC Masonry Services, Inc. dba MSI

Duplicative power-line item vacated

North Eastern Precast and Masonry Services worked near energized power lines carrying up to 13.2 kilovolts while erecting a multistory building. Despite utility cease-and-desist orders and an OSHA warning, work continued until employees built a masonry wall around part of the live line and a crane…

February 28, 2018 ·OSHRC
Mixed result
COMM

Seward Ship’s Drydock, Inc.

Respirator assessment item vacated

Seward Ship’s Drydock employees welded inside enclosed voids on a deck barge, using rods that could release carbon monoxide and iron oxide fumes. OSHA alleged that the company failed to identify and evaluate respiratory hazards under 29 C.F.R. § 1910.134(d)(1)(iii). The Commission held that this…

February 28, 2018 ·OSHRC
Citations vacated
COMM

United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons, Federal Correctional Complex, Tucson, Arizona (Agency) and American Federation of Government Employees, Council of Prison Locals, Local 3955 (Union)

FCC Tucson and AFGE Local 3955 (FLRA 0-AR-5247): Pre-shift overtime award narrowed

An arbitrator awarded prison officers overtime for pre-shift and post-shift activities, including travel between the control center and their posts. The Authority held that travel by relief officers was not compensable merely because they might need to respond to incidents while walking. It also…

February 28, 2018 ·FLRA
Modified
COMM

Melyndia Ann Bryan on behalf of Bert Fowler Bryan v. Island Creek Coal Company and Wells Fargo Disability Management

Bryan v. Island Creek Coal (BRB 17-0277 BLA): benefits award upheld

Melyndia Bryan defended an award in the late miner’s black lung claim. The Board upheld the finding that the miner invoked the fifteen-year presumption. It also upheld the labor judge’s assessment that the employer did not rebut the presumption and affirmed the award.

February 27, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Carol Templin on behalf of Paul R. Templin, Sr. v. Valley Camp Coal Company

Templin v. Valley Camp Coal (BRB 17-0259 BLA): coal hauling work sent back

Carol Templin appealed a denial on remand of the late miner’s black lung claim. The Board found that the labor judge had wrongly excluded some work hauling coal from the mine to customers when calculating coal mine employment. It vacated the finding that the miner had fewer than fifteen qualifying…

February 27, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded
COMM

Larry K. Browning v. Mingo Logan Coal Company and Arch Coal Company

Browning v. Mingo Logan Coal (BRB 17-0250 BLA): benefits award upheld

Larry Browning received black lung benefits on a subsequent claim. The Board upheld the labor judge’s finding that he invoked the fifteen-year presumption through qualifying coal mine work and total respiratory disability. It also upheld the finding that the employer had not rebutted the…

February 27, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

Robert Spence, Jr. v. National Mines Corporation and Old Republic General Insurance Corporation

Spence v. National Mines (BRB 17-0170 BLA): benefits award upheld

Robert Spence received black lung benefits on a subsequent claim. He had thirteen years and ten months of coal mine work, so the fifteen-year presumption did not apply. The Board upheld the labor judge’s findings that medical evidence established pneumoconiosis, total respiratory disability, and…

February 27, 2018 ·BRB
Affirmed
COMM

A.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Stratford, NJ

Board orders impartial examination in postal worker’s knee case (ECAB 17-1855)

A.D. claimed a right knee injury after an accepted November 29, 2014 work incident. His treating physician attributed a meniscal tear and aggravation of degenerative changes to that incident. OWCP’s referral physician instead attributed the conditions to degeneration and prior surgery. The Board…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

S.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Network Distribution Center, Kansas City, KS

Board orders review of whether postal worker’s arm award duplicates prior awards (ECAB 17-1826)

S.M. requested another schedule award for permanent impairment of her right arm. OWCP compared a current 12 percent rating with earlier awards totaling 15 percent and denied an additional award. The Board explained that the percentage comparison alone did not establish whether the current…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

C.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Network Distribution Center, Springfield, MA

Board upholds denial of postal worker’s recurrence claim (ECAB 17-1633)

C.W. sought compensation for total disability beginning March 20, 2017 after an accepted workplace vehicle collision. He had been offered light duty but declined it because the hours conflicted with childcare duties. The medical note submitted for the claimed recurrence said he had requested time…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

D.F. and Social Security Administration, Great Lakes Program Service Center, Chicago, IL

Board upholds denial of Social Security worker’s emotional condition claim (ECAB 17-0970)

D.F., a Social Security claims authorizer, attributed an emotional condition to treatment by her supervisors and workplace decisions. The Board found no established compensable factor of employment. Requests for a transfer, promotion, and different training concerned personnel matters, and the…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bedford Park, IL

Board sends postal carrier’s knee claim back for medical review (ECAB 17-0629)

S.G., a letter carrier, reported a left knee injury after slipping while delivering mail on December 30, 2015. OWCP rejected her claim after finding that she had not established the incident. The Board found that the incident occurred as alleged and that a delay in reporting it did not defeat the…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

O.V. and U.S. Postal Service, General Mail Facility, Denver, CO

Board orders a consistent impairment rating for postal worker’s right arm (ECAB 17-0619)

O.V., a mail handler, appealed a schedule award for nine percent permanent impairment of his right arm. His accepted conditions included carpal tunnel syndrome, an ulnar nerve lesion, and a ganglion cyst. The Board found that OWCP had to apply a consistent method for rating the arm conditions…

February 26, 2018 ·ECAB
Remanded
COMM

Meadows Construction Company, LLC

Citations upheld despite expired inspector credential

OSHA inspected Meadows Construction’s public-school roofing project after receiving a complaint that employees were working without fall protection. The administrative law judge affirmed machine-guarding, ground-fault protection, housekeeping, power-tap, and fall-protection items, assessing $24,400…

February 26, 2018 ·OSHRC
Citations affirmed
COMM

Matter of Tomas MENDEZ

Misprision of felony is a crime involving moral turpitude

The Board reviewed the appeal of a Dominican Republic national and conditional permanent resident who was convicted in federal court of misprision of felony under 18 U.S.C. § 4. The Immigration Judge found that conviction to be a crime involving moral turpitude, which made the respondent…

February 23, 2018 ·BIA
Affirmed
COMM

N.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, New York, NY

Board upholds denial of postal officer’s left knee claim (ECAB 17-0190)

N.G., a postal police officer, claimed that prolonged standing and foot patrols caused or aggravated a left knee condition. OWCP accepted the work activities and the diagnosis but found the medical evidence inadequate to establish causation. The Board found that his physician had not explained how…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

Administrator, Wage and Hour Division v. Government Training, LLC

Government Training (DOL ARB 2016-0049): H-1B wage award affirmed with interest added

Government Training failed to pay H-1B employee Puneet Sharma the required wage during two labor condition application periods. An administrative law judge ordered $47,855.82 in back wages, and the company appealed. The Board held that neither regulatory exception to the wage obligation applied and…

February 23, 2018 ·DOL ARB
Modified
COMM

B.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Clarksdale, MS

Board upholds denial of continued physical therapy for postal worker (ECAB 17-1825)

B.J. sought continued physical therapy for accepted back and spinal conditions. His treating physician described pain relief and help with daily activities from earlier therapy. OWCP’s medical adviser found the requested treatment medically unnecessary and recommended home exercise. The Board found…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Manager Processing & Distribution Center, Tallahassee, FL

Board upholds denial of postal worker’s back claim (ECAB 17-1798)

S.J., a postal mail handler assistant, claimed a back condition from her work. OWCP asked her to identify the specific activities she believed caused the condition. The Board found that her submissions did not clearly establish those work factors, so it did not reach medical causation. It also…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Cincinnati, OH

Board upholds $1,280.18 benefit overpayment recovery (ECAB 17-1791)

J.C., a postal worker receiving wage-loss compensation, was paid $1,280.18 too much because OWCP had not deducted postretirement basic life insurance premiums. OWCP found him without fault but denied waiver of recovery. The Board found that his assets exceeded the applicable resource limit and that…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

S.P. claiming as widow of F.M. and Department of the Army, Corps of Engineers, Walla Walla, WA

Board upholds denial of late reconsideration request in widow’s claim (ECAB 17-1708)

S.P. sought widow’s benefits, alleging that her husband’s lung cancer and death were related to workplace asbestos exposure. This appeal concerned only her request for reconsideration of OWCP’s earlier decision. The request arrived more than one year after the last merit decision. The Board found…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

C.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Parkway Branch, Sacramento, CA

Board reverses termination of postal clerk’s wrist benefits (ECAB 17-1325)

C.M., a postal window clerk, received benefits for accepted right hand and wrist tenosynovitis. OWCP terminated wage-loss and medical benefits effective November 5, 2015 based on a second opinion. The Board found that the physician had not adequately explained how the accepted condition had…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Vacated
COMM

K.J. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Miami, FL

Board upholds denial of TSA officer’s disability claim (ECAB 16-1805)

K.J., a transportation security officer with accepted foot conditions, sought wage-loss compensation for total disability beginning February 22, 2015. Her physician took her off work briefly but did not explain how an accepted condition caused her inability to work during the claimed period. Later…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
COMM

J.O. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Walla Walla, WA

Board upholds termination of Army worker’s injury benefits (ECAB 16-1401)

J.O. received compensation for an accepted 1983 back injury. OWCP ended his wage-loss and medical benefits effective August 18, 2015. The Board gave weight to a second opinion physician who examined J.O., reviewed his records, and explained that the accepted conditions had resolved. It also found…

February 23, 2018 ·ECAB
Affirmed
ALJ

Secretary of Labor v. Original Sixteen to One Mine, Inc.

Simplified-proceeding discovery request limited

In three simplified civil-penalty cases, MSHA's conference and litigation representative asked the mine for policies, training records, inspection requests, weighing records, storage information, and purchasing records tied to five citations. Judge William B. Moran held that the requests went…

February 22, 2018 ·William B. Moran ·FMSHRC
Procedural
COMM

Mac A. Coleman v. Christin Coleman Trucking and Kentucky Employers Mutual Insurance

Coleman v. Christin Coleman Trucking (BRB 17-0262 BLA): benefits start date corrected

Mac Coleman received black lung benefits after the labor judge found the employer had not rebutted the presumption supporting his claim. The Board upheld entitlement but found that the benefits commencement date needed correction. It modified the award to make benefits begin in August 2012 and…

February 22, 2018 ·BRB
Modified
COMM

Eddie D. Bryant v. Travis Trucking, Incorporated and West Virginia Coal Workers’ Pneumoconiosis Fund

Bryant v. Travis Trucking (BRB 17-0254 BLA): operator and mine work sent back

Eddie Bryant received black lung benefits under the fifteen-year presumption. The Board found that the labor judge had not adequately resolved which employer was responsible or whether all of Bryant’s work qualified for the presumption. It vacated those findings and the rebuttal ruling and remanded…

February 22, 2018 ·BRB
Remanded

What these documents are

  • The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
  • Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
  • ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
  • Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
  • Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.