Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
P.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Carson City, NV
18-0962 (ECAB): Reconsideration of thumb impairment denied
P.D. asked OWCP to reconsider a schedule award decision involving her right thumb. The Board found that OWCP did not receive additional impairment evidence with her request. Her submission did not meet the requirements for renewed merit review. It affirmed OWCP’s September 19, 2017 nonmerit…
D.H. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Brandon, FL
18-0457 (ECAB): Left-arm impairment rating remanded
D.H. sought a schedule award greater than 12 percent impairment of her left upper extremity. The medical record contained competing impairment evaluations for accepted shoulder and cervical conditions. The Board found the record insufficient to decide the extent of impairment and ordered further…
S.W. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Milwaukee, WI
17-1837 (ECAB): Claim status clarified on remand
S.W. appealed an OWCP decision that vacated an earlier claim denial but also stated that she had not proved medical causation. The Board could not determine whether the claim remained denied or pending from that decision. It set aside the August 4, 2017 decision and ordered OWCP to issue a clear…
Rose June Stiltner v. Harman Mining Corporation and Old Republic Insurance Company
Stiltner v. Harman Mining (BRB 18-0492 BLA): counsel fee upheld
Harman Mining appealed an attorney fee order entered on remand in Rose Stiltner's black lung case. The labor judge had approved time for several attorneys and legal assistants, resulting in a $21,976.25 fee. The employer challenged the time allowed and quarter-hour billing. The Board found that the…
Clem and Spencer v. Computer Sciences Corp.
Nuclear-site retaliation liability vacated for new causation findings
Computer Sciences Corp. IT employees Kirtley Clem and Matthew Spencer raised concerns about staffing, errors, and worker-safety risks in medical-clearance software at the Hanford nuclear site. The Board affirmed findings that their complaints were protected under the Energy Reorganization Act, the…
M.L. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, San Bernardino, CA
19-0909 (ECAB): Disputed pallet-jack injury claim denied
M.L. claimed she injured her lower back while handling a pallet jack at work in November 2018. The employer’s records and supervisor statements conflicted with her stated time of injury, and she did not resolve the discrepancy when OWCP requested details. The Board found that the alleged incident…
C.B., claiming as widow of S.B., and Department of Veterans Affairs, Wainwright Memorial Medical Center, Walla Walla, WA
19-0866 (ECAB): Widow wins review of schedule award claim
C.B. asked OWCP to reconsider a schedule award claim filed by her deceased husband. OWCP had denied the award for lack of proof that he had reached maximum medical improvement. The Board found that her first reconsideration request raised a relevant new argument about the effect of his death on…
A.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Santa Barbara, CA
19-0842 (ECAB): Continuation of pay denied
A.B. sought continuation of pay after reporting right shoulder problems from modified postal duties. She later described the condition as developing over more than one work shift. The Board held that the claim was for occupational disease, which did not qualify for continuation of pay under the…
M.B. and Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Omaha, NE
19-0828 (ECAB): Back injury and reconsideration denials affirmed
M.B. claimed a back condition after an accepted May 2018 work incident. The Board found that the medical reports did not establish a diagnosed condition caused by the incident. It also found that his reconsideration request supplied no new relevant evidence or legal argument. The Board affirmed…
M.G. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Charlie Norwood Veterans Administration Medical Center
19-0823 (ECAB): Schedule award denied for lack of impairment rating
M.G. sought a schedule award for permanent impairment after an accepted back injury. Her physicians did not adequately establish maximum medical improvement or describe a ratable permanent impairment of a scheduled limb or function. The Board found the medical evidence insufficient to support an…
T.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Levittown, NY
19-0780 (ECAB): Occupational lumbar condition claim denied
T.B., a postal letter carrier, attributed a lumbar condition to repetitive job duties. The Board accepted the identified work factors but found that the medical evidence did not adequately explain how those duties caused or aggravated the diagnosed condition. It affirmed OWCP’s November 27, 2018…
O.C. and Department of the Army, Army Benefit Center, Fort Riley, KS
19-0551 (ECAB): Knee and wrist claim returned for findings
O.C. claimed medical conditions after an accepted February 2018 work incident. A physician supplied diagnoses, but OWCP did not make adequate findings or explain whether the conditions were caused by the accepted incident. The Board set aside the December 19, 2018 decision and remanded for a…
O.R. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Miami, FL
18-1583 (ECAB): Consequential knee claim returned for complete record
O.R. sought to add a right knee condition as a consequence of accepted back injuries. OWCP’s decision and its medical examiner relied on evidence from related claim files that had not been placed in the record before the Board. The Board could not review the knee ruling on an incomplete record. It…
A.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Lincolnton Station, New York, NY
18-1556 (ECAB): Late reconsideration request denied
A.S. asked OWCP to reconsider an earlier traumatic injury claim denial after the one-year filing period. The Board found that the request was untimely and did not demonstrate clear evidence of error in the prior ruling. It affirmed OWCP’s February 14, 2018 refusal to reconsider.
L.D. and Department of the Air Force, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado Springs, CO
18-1347 (ECAB): Life-insurance overpayment returned for findings
OWCP found that L.D. owed an overpayment arising from insufficient life-insurance premium deductions. Its final decision addressed fault and waiver but did not explain the fact or amount of the overpayment, and the record lacked a ruling on subpoena requests. The Board set aside the January 2, 2018…
James Doherty, Jr. v. Electric Boat Corporation
Doherty v. Electric Boat (BRB 19-0453): appeal dismissed as premature
Electric Boat appealed a district director's order while its timely reconsideration motion was still pending before the district director. It asked the Board to stay the appeal until that motion was decided. The Board held that its rule required dismissal of an appeal filed during timely…
Richard J. Wilson v. Creamer-Sanzari Joint Venture
Richard J. Wilson v. Creamer-Sanzari (BRB 19-0076): river navigability unproved at bridge work site
Richard Wilson sought benefits for work-related hearing loss from dockbuilding work that included a bridge project on the Passaic River. He had worked on floating stages, so the question was whether the river at that location was navigable for commercial use. The administrative law judge found that…
Debra Ann Tidwell v. Chevron Mining, Incorporated
Tidwell v. Chevron Mining (BRB 18-0587 BLA): survivor benefits award upheld
Debra Tidwell sought modification of a denied survivor claim after her husband's death. A different labor judge reviewed new medical evidence and found that Chevron Mining had not rebutted the presumption that the miner's death was due to pneumoconiosis. Chevron appealed, but the Board upheld the…
Marty W. Kiblinger v. Ranger Fuel Corporation and Pittston Company
Kiblinger v. Ranger Fuel (BRB 18-0478 BLA): benefits award affirmed
Marty Kiblinger received black lung benefits after a labor judge found he was totally disabled by legal pneumoconiosis. With fewer than ten years of credited coal mine work, he relied on medical proof rather than the 15-year presumption. Ranger Fuel challenged the judge's handling of competing…
Administrator, Wage and Hour Division v. Fernandez Farms, Inc. and Gonzalo Fernandez
Administrator v. Fernandez Farms, Inc. and Gonzalo Fernandez (DOL ARB 2016-0097): successor debarment denied without written notice
The Wage and Hour Division sought to debar three individuals and two businesses as successors to Fernandez Farms based on H-2A program violations. Those proposed successors were not named in the enforcement notices and first faced requested relief during the ALJ hearing. The Board held that the…
D.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Chicago, IL
19-0817 (ECAB): Shoulder and neck occupational claim denied
D.S. attributed right shoulder and cervical conditions to repetitive lifting, pushing, and pulling at work. Her physician generally supported a work connection but did not adequately explain the medical cause of the conditions. The Board found the evidence insufficient to establish causation from…
G.J. and Department of Defense, Defense Logistics Agency, Seaside, CA
19-0801 (ECAB): Emotional condition claim denied
G.J. attributed emotional distress to a workplace teleconference and alleged harassment by managers. The Board considered the identified incident and found no established verbal abuse, harassment, or employer error that qualified as a compensable work factor. It affirmed OWCP’s January 14, 2019…
E.A. and Department of the Army, Tank-Automotive & Armaments Command, Anniston Army Depot, AL
19-0747 (ECAB): Hearing award and late review request affirmed
E.A. sought a schedule award greater than 56 percent binaural hearing loss. The Board found the impairment rating supported by the audiogram and medical adviser’s calculations. It also found that his request for written-record review was filed more than 30 days after OWCP’s merits decision. It…
L.C. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Southern Arizona Veterans Administration Health Care System, Tucson, AZ
19-0564 (ECAB): Thirteen percent right-arm award affirmed
L.C. sought a schedule award greater than 13 percent impairment of her right upper extremity. The Board reviewed evaluations addressing her accepted conditions, including complex regional pain syndrome. It found the medical adviser’s assessment supported the existing rating and the other reports…
D.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Oklahoma City, OK
18-1792 (ECAB): Existing leg awards affirmed
D.M. sought schedule awards greater than 30 percent impairment of his left leg and 46 percent of his right leg. The Board reviewed impairment evidence for his accepted lumbar conditions and prior awards. It found no supported rating exceeding the percentages already compensated. It affirmed OWCP’s…
M.V. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Kalamazoo, MI
18-1132 (ECAB): Lumbar injury claim denied
M.V. claimed a lumbar condition after an accepted February 2013 workplace incident. The Board found the medical records did not adequately explain how that incident caused a diagnosed lumbar condition. The earliest emergency report described back pain but did not identify the specific incident as…
K.H. and Department of Defense, Pentagon Force Protection Agency, Washington, DC
18-0036 (ECAB): Left knee injury claim denied
K.H. sought compensation for a left knee condition after an accepted March 2014 workplace incident. The Board found that some medical reports listed a diagnosis but did not state whether the incident caused it. The remaining evidence did not provide a sufficient reasoned causal opinion. It affirmed…
N.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Jefferson, GA
19-0928 (ECAB): Shoulder injury claim denied
N.G. reported right shoulder pain after turning a heavy package at work in October 2017. The Board accepted the incident but found the medical reports lacked a clear diagnosis or a reasoned explanation of how the incident caused the claimed shoulder injury. It affirmed OWCP’s January 24, 2019…
G.H. and Department of the Interior, National Park Service, Staten Island, NY
19-0847 (ECAB): Reconsideration of arm award denied
G.H. asked OWCP to reconsider a schedule award for right upper extremity impairment. The Board treated his correspondence as a reconsideration request and found it did not supply a new medical rating or other material requiring merit review. It affirmed OWCP’s February 4, 2019 refusal to reopen.
D.C. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Boonsboro, MD
19-0716 (ECAB): Workplace fall established; medical issue remanded
D.C. reported falling on a postal loading dock in November 2018. OWCP denied the claim because it doubted that the incident happened as described. The Board found the account sufficiently supported and set aside OWCP’s February 4, 2019 denial. It remanded for OWCP to decide whether the incident…
G.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bridgewater, NJ
19-0657 (ECAB): Bilateral wrist claim returned for medical development
G.M. attributed bilateral wrist conditions to repeated postal duties. Her physician diagnosed carpal tunnel syndrome and tenosynovitis and described how her work loaded the wrists. The Board found that the reports warranted further medical development before OWCP could decide causation. It set…
M.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Bel Air, MD
19-0656 (ECAB): Lumbar diagnoses recognized but injury denial upheld
M.A. sought compensation for lumbar conditions after an accepted November 2018 workplace incident. The Board found that the record established diagnosed lumbar conditions, correcting OWCP on that point. It found the medical evidence still did not adequately connect those conditions to the incident…
C.M. and Department of the Army, Corps of Engineers, East Alton, IL
19-0651 (ECAB): Reconsideration of shoulder claim denied
C.M. asked OWCP to reconsider an earlier left shoulder injury claim. The Board found that his request did not identify a legal error, raise a new relevant argument, or provide new evidence bearing on medical causation. It affirmed OWCP’s August 13, 2018 refusal to reopen the merits.
R.T. and U.S. Postal Service, Processing & Distribution Center, Las Vegas, NV
19-0604 (ECAB): Late reconsideration ruling returned for reasons
R.T. requested reconsideration more than a year after the last merit decision, so OWCP properly treated it as untimely. But OWCP did not discuss the new medical evidence when it found no clear evidence of error. The Board set aside OWCP’s August 29, 2018 decision and remanded for findings and…
M.C. and Department of Justice, Federal Correctional Institute, Berlin, NH
18-0841 (ECAB): Reconsideration of knee claim denied
M.C. sought reconsideration of a left knee injury claim after an accepted May 2017 workplace incident. The Board found that his request raised no new relevant legal argument or medical evidence addressing causation. It affirmed OWCP’s September 18, 2017 refusal to reopen the merits.
Lexington Container Company
In re Lexington Container Company (EAB CAA Appeal No. 19-03C): $110,000 portable-fuel-container settlement
Lexington Container Company sold food-grade, survival, and other containers from Kentucky. EPA alleged that between January 1, 2014, and June 1, 2016, the company sold, offered for sale, introduced into commerce, and imported 12,887 portable fuel containers that were not covered by an EPA…
Best Choice Products, Inc.
In re Best Choice Products, Inc. (EAB CAA Appeal No. 19-02C): $99,000 portable-fuel-container settlement
Best Choice Products, Inc. sold products online from California. EPA alleged that between March 4, 2014, and May 18, 2017, the company imported and sold 11,191 portable fuel containers that were not covered by an EPA certificate of conformity, were not labeled as required, and did not meet the…
Rifat Dedic v. Fluor Federal Global Projects and Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania
Dedic v. Fluor Federal Global Projects (BRB 19-0149): psychological injury sent back
Rifat Dedic injured his back while working as a tow truck operator in Afghanistan and later reported anxiety and depression. The labor judge denied additional disability benefits and found the psychological conditions unrelated to work. The Board upheld the finding that Dedic did not prove…
Azad Karim v. Mission Essential Personnel and Zurich American Insurance Company
Karim v. Mission Essential Personnel (BRB 19-0010): fee award increased by $66
Azad Karim's counsel appealed a fee order entered after settlement of a Defense Base Act claim. The labor judge had reduced requested rates and disallowed several time entries. The Board upheld nearly all of that analysis, but found that preparing proofs of service was compensable legal assistant…
William L. Belt v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining
Belt v. Island Creek Kentucky Mining (BRB 17-0682 BLA): reconsideration denied
Island Creek Kentucky Mining sought reconsideration of a Board decision affirming William Belt's black lung benefits award. It argued that the labor judge had not been properly appointed and challenged the Board's review of disability evidence. The Board held that the company raised the appointment…
Aityahia v. Aviation Academy of America
Flight academy outside AIR21 coverage
Aziz Aityahia alleged that Aviation Academy of America fired him for making safety complaints. The Board agreed with the ALJ that no evidence showed the academy was an air carrier or a contractor or subcontractor of an air carrier covered by AIR21. Its corporate relationship to any company…
D.R. and U.S. Postal Service, Cardiss Collins Post Office, Chicago, IL
19-0878 (ECAB): Bilateral foot condition claim denied
D.R. attributed conditions in both feet to accepted postal work duties. The Board found that the medical reports did not adequately explain how those duties caused or aggravated the diagnosed conditions. It affirmed OWCP’s December 11, 2018 denial.
N.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Arlington, VA
19-0872 (ECAB): Overpayment amount returned for recalculation
N.M. returned to part-time postal work while still receiving compensation for total disability. The Board upheld OWCP’s finding that this created an overpayment. It found the stated $2,435.95 amount unsupported because OWCP used inconsistent dates for the compensation and overpayment periods and…
R.A. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Indianapolis, IN
19-0821 (ECAB): Reconsideration request denied
R.A. asked OWCP to reconsider an earlier claim decision. The Board found that she supplied no new legal argument or evidence with the request and instead referred to records already considered. It affirmed OWCP’s September 13, 2018 refusal to reopen the merits.
T.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Beachwood, OH
19-0798 (ECAB): Achilles tendinitis claim denied
T.B. claimed left Achilles tendinitis from accepted postal work factors. Her physician diagnosed the condition and set work restrictions but did not explain whether the duties caused or aggravated it. The Board found the medical evidence insufficient on causation. It affirmed OWCP’s January 18…
F.M. and Department of Veterans Affairs, James H. Quillen Veterans Medical Center, Mountain Home, TN
19-0748 (ECAB): Left shoulder injury claim denied
F.M. claimed a left shoulder injury after catching a patient who was falling from a scale in January 2018. The Board accepted the incident but found that the medical reports did not adequately link his rotator cuff condition to it. One report described a gradual onset of shoulder pain before the…
J.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Willowick, OH
19-0715 (ECAB): Disability recurrence returned for impartial review
J.B. claimed a recurrence of total disability after an accepted ankle fracture and sacroiliitis. OWCP treated two medical opinions as conflicting, but one examiner disregarded the accepted sacroiliitis condition and could not create a valid conflict. A later examiner’s opinion did conflict with the…
M.R. and Department of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau, Philadelphia, PA
19-0518 (ECAB): Wage-loss termination affirmed
OWCP terminated M.R.’s wage-loss compensation effective April 29, 2018, after an accepted 2002 injury. The Board found the medical evidence supported the termination and did not establish later work-related disability. It affirmed OWCP’s November 13, 2018 decision.
C.G. and U.S. Postal Service, General Mail Facility, Amarillo, TX
19-0357 (ECAB): Schedule award pay rate affirmed
C.G. disputed the pay rate OWCP used to calculate his February 2018 schedule award. The Board reviewed his history of disability and intermittent modified work after the accepted injury. It found that OWCP had chosen the correct statutory pay-rate date and affirmed the August 15, 2018 decision.
Social Security Administration and International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers, Association of Administrative Law Judges
Social Security Administration and AALJ (FLRA 0-AR-5365): Redacted misconduct records ordered
Two Social Security administrative law judges under misconduct investigation requested hearing recordings, complaints, and agency investigation letters for their private attorneys. The union adopted their grievances and information requests, and an arbitrator ordered the agency to provide redacted…
Walter Willis v. Virginia International Terminals, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association, Limited
Willis v. Virginia International Terminals (BRB 19-0249): stroke claim denial affirmed
Walter Willis experienced a stroke during a shift as a crane operator and sought Longshore Act disability benefits. The labor judge applied the presumption of work causation but found the employer rebutted it and that the evidence as a whole did not link the stroke to shift work. The Board upheld…
Barry Maggard v. Kat Ran Enterprises, Incorporated and Commerce & Industry/Chartis
Maggard v. Kat Ran Enterprises (BRB 18-0451 BLA): complicated pneumoconiosis finding sent back
Barry Maggard sought black lung benefits in a subsequent claim after the labor judge credited 15 years of coal mine work but denied entitlement. The judge discounted a positive biopsy and medical opinions because he required proof that complicated pneumoconiosis remained after the sampled lung…
M.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Capital Performance Cluster, Washington, DC
19-0927 (ECAB): Left knee condition claim denied
M.F. sought compensation for a left knee condition after an accepted January 2016 work incident. Following an earlier Board remand for medical development, OWCP again denied the claim. The Board found that M.F. had resubmitted a previously considered report and still lacked reasoned medical…
L.M. and U.S. Postal Service, South Jersey District, Bellmawr, NJ
19-0705 (ECAB): Rescission of disability recurrence affirmed
OWCP rescinded its earlier acceptance of L.M.’s recurrence of disability after a postal injury. The Board found that the report underlying the acceptance actually described her as capable of the offered limited-duty job. It held that OWCP met its burden to show the prior acceptance was erroneous…
A.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Middletown, DE
19-0704 (ECAB): Lumbar condition claim denied
A.S. attributed lumbar conditions to an accepted October 2014 workplace incident. The Board found that her physician diagnosed conditions but did not adequately explain how the incident caused them. It affirmed OWCP’s October 11, 2018 denial.
F.B. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Administration Medical Center, Houston, TX
19-0683 (ECAB): Coworker injury claim denied
F.B. claimed a right arm injury involving a coworker in July 2018. OWCP sought details to determine whether the incident arose from work or from a private dispute, but he did not answer the specific questions. The Board found that the factual record did not establish an injury in the performance of…
F.M. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Fort Knox, KY
19-0672 (ECAB): Reconsideration of injury claim denied
F.M. requested reconsideration of an earlier injury claim decision. The Board found that she identified no legal error or new relevant argument and did not submit medical evidence that addressed the underlying causation issue. It affirmed OWCP’s December 14, 2018 refusal to reopen the merits.
B.Z. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Seattle, WA
19-0644 (ECAB): Right foot infection claim denied
B.Z. claimed a right foot infection after walking on difficult terrain at work in October 2018. The Board found that some submitted forms lacked legible physician signatures and none adequately explained how the work incident caused the diagnosed condition. It affirmed OWCP’s December 12, 2018…
R.T. and Department of the Air Force, Rhode Island Air National Guard, Cranston, RI
19-0474 (ECAB): Hearing loss award denied
R.T. sought a schedule award for hearing loss related to workplace noise. The Board recognized a work-related high-frequency loss but found the audiometric results yielded no ratable impairment under the applicable schedule award method. It affirmed OWCP’s August 15, 2018 denial of an award.
J.R. and Department of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration, Tulsa, OK
19-0120 (ECAB): Shoulder disability recurrence denied
J.R. claimed total disability beginning February 2016 from an accepted right shoulder injury. The Board found that a new report attributed back and neck symptoms to a January 2016 work incident, without linking the claimed disability to her accepted 2013 right shoulder injury. It found no proof of…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.