Federal Agency Decisions
Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB), each with a plain-English summary, the law it cites, and whether it counts as precedent. More agencies are coming.
No decisions match these filters
Try fewer or different words, check the spelling, or clear the filters to browse everything.
J.S. and Department of Veterans Affairs, North Florida/South Georgia Health System, Gainesville, FL
On duty status recognized; injury causation returned to OWCP
J.S., a VA pharmacy technician, reported arm and hand injuries after a workplace altercation while performing union representational work on official time. OWCP denied the claim on the ground that the incident was outside the performance of duty. The Board found that she was performing authorized…
J.T. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Palo Alto Veterans Administration Medical Center, Palo Alto, CA
Wage loss termination upheld after recovery
J.T., a VA social worker, had an accepted right forearm fracture after falling at work. His treating physician reported that he could return to his regular duties and had no continuing disability from the injury. The Board found that OWCP met its burden to terminate wage loss benefits effective…
C.U. and Department of the Army, Anniston Army Depot, Anniston, AL
Hearing loss claim denied for insufficient causal proof
C.U., a small arms repairer, claimed hearing loss from noise at the Army depot. The Board reviewed new evidence after an earlier appeal and found that it still did not adequately establish a medical causal link to his federal work. It affirmed OWCP’s October 10, 2019 denial.
K.F. and U.S. Postal Service, James A. Farley Station, New York, NY
Recurrence and reconsideration denials upheld
K.F., a postal carrier, had an accepted right shoulder sprain after a 2014 fall at work. She claimed renewed disability beginning January 3, 2019 and later requested reconsideration. The Board found no adequate medical evidence of disability on the claimed dates and no new ground requiring OWCP to…
D.O. and U.S. Postal Service, Kearny Post Office, Kearny, NJ
Lower extremity impairment rating returned for clarification
D.O., a postal mail handler, sought a schedule award above 21 percent impairment of each lower extremity. OWCP relied on an impartial examiner’s rating, but the examiner did not adequately explain how the rating standards and modifiers produced his result. The Board set aside OWCP’s March 4, 2019…
U.S. Department of Justice, Executive Office for Immigration Review (Agency) and National Association of Immigration Judges, International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers, Judicial Council 2 (Union)
EOIR and immigration judges' union (FLRA WA-RP-19-0067): Judges excluded from bargaining unit
The Executive Office for Immigration Review asked to remove immigration judges from a bargaining unit on the ground that they are management officials. A regional director denied the request, finding that judges applied existing law and policy rather than making agency policy. The Authority vacated…
Elmer Julio Perez Mendez d/b/a Julio Perez
Late contest dismissed because mail neglect was not excusable
OSHA issued willful fall-protection and grouped injury-reporting citations after an employee fell approximately eight feet from a residential roof and died. The citations proposed a total penalty of $138,118 and were delivered by certified mail to the address Perez had supplied, where a temporary…
E.P. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Milwaukee VA Medical Center, Milwaukee, WI
Emotional condition claim denied for insufficient medical proof
E.P., a VA nurse, reported an emotional condition after a September 20, 2018 workplace harassment incident. OWCP accepted that the incident occurred. The Board found that the medical evidence did not adequately establish a diagnosed emotional condition causally related to it. It affirmed OWCP’s…
C.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Northside Post Office, St. Petersburg, FL
Knee impairment rating returned for impartial examination
C.B., a letter carrier, sought a schedule award greater than 26 percent permanent impairment of her left lower extremity. Her physician and OWCP’s physician reached materially different ratings for the accepted knee condition. The Board found a medical conflict and set aside OWCP’s October 30, 2019…
B.D. and U.S. Postal Service, Baytown Post Office, Baytown, TX
Intermittent disability claim denied for missing date specific proof
B.D., a letter carrier with an accepted injury, sought compensation for eight days of total disability between February 2 and October 20, 2018. The Board found no medical evidence addressing those specific dates or showing that she attended medical appointments on them. It affirmed OWCP’s September…
A.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Sterling, VA
Abdominal condition claim returned for medical causation review
A.P., a postal carrier, attributed an abdominal condition to repeated lifting and carrying at work. OWCP had rejected his account of the work factors. The Board found that his statements and job description established those duties as alleged. It reversed OWCP’s September 24, 2019 decision and…
Turner Construction, Inc. of Naples
Repeat fall-protection citation affirmed
An employee of Turner Construction handled a concrete hose on a narrow upper-level surface without a harness, guardrail, safety net, or other fall protection. The employee was 11 feet 5 inches above the next concrete surface and near an outside edge approximately 20 to 22 feet above the ground. The…
Matter of Jongbum PAK
Matter of Pak (BIA ID 3998): substantial evidence of a fraudulent prior marriage bars a later visa petition
The Board reviewed an appeal from the denial of a visa petition filed by a United States citizen for her husband. The beneficiary’s first marriage had previously led to a denied visa petition, and the record included inconsistent accounts, a site visit, and other evidence that the first marriage…
Marlos Lovejoy v. Aegis Defense Service and Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania
Lovejoy v. Aegis Defense Service (BRB 20-0538): employer appeal withdrawn
Aegis Defense Service and its insurer asked to withdraw their Board appeal in Marlos Lovejoy’s Defense Base Act case. Lovejoy did not object. The Board granted the request and dismissed the appeal with prejudice. This order does not decide the underlying benefit issues.
Thomas Monnens v. TEMCO, LLC and Signal Mutual Indemnity Association, Limited
Monnens v. TEMCO (BRB 20-0255): hearing-loss benefits affirmed
Thomas Monnens worked at grain facilities for decades and later at TEMCO, where he was an assistant plant manager. Tests showed progressive hearing loss, and a judge found TEMCO’s workplace noise contributed to it. The employer argued other noise exposure explained the condition and challenged the…
Anthony S. DePetro v. Carpentertown Coal and Coke Company and Birmingham Fire Insurance/AIG
DePetro v. Carpentertown Coal (BRB 20-0055 BLA): black lung award affirmed
Anthony DePetro filed a later black lung claim after 16.5 years of coal mine work, including more than fifteen years underground. The judge found total respiratory disability, applied the fifteen-year presumption, and awarded benefits. The employer challenged the medical findings used to rebut that…
Charles Blankenship v. Mingo Logan Coal Company and Arch Coal, Incorporated
Blankenship v. Mingo Logan Coal (BRB 20-0014 BLA): award after remand affirmed
Charles Blankenship’s later claim returned to the judge after an earlier Board decision required a different legal test for rebutting legal pneumoconiosis. The judge again found the employer had not rebutted the fifteen-year presumption and awarded benefits. The Board upheld the judge’s reasons for…
Lecil Cordell v. Jim Walter Resources, Incorporated, Walter Energy, Incorporated, and Warrior Met Coal, LLC
Cordell v. Jim Walter Resources (BRB 19-0510 BLA): disability denial remanded
Lecil Cordell had more than twenty-seven years of qualifying coal mine work, but the judge denied benefits because she found no total respiratory disability. The Board held the judge needed to reconsider medical opinions against the demands of Cordell’s usual mine job and address errors in an…
Timothy E. Moore v. Rockspring Development, Incorporated
Moore v. Rockspring Development (BRB 19-0508 BLA): black lung award affirmed
Timothy Moore had 36.47 years of underground mine work and a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The judge applied the fifteen-year presumption and awarded black lung benefits. The employer challenged total disability and argued that its medical evidence rebutted the presumption. The Board…
William E. Stump v. Pitt Fair Coal, Incorporated and West Virginia Coal Workers’ Pneumoconiosis Fund
William E. Stump v. Pitt Fair Coal (BRB 19-0490 BLA): black lung award partly vacated for new disability analysis
William Stump sought black lung benefits after working in underground coal mines. The judge awarded benefits under the fifteen-year presumption, finding a totally disabling respiratory impairment. The Board held that the judge had not addressed an opposing physician’s criticisms of two qualifying…
Garnie N. Sykes v. Consol Energy, Incorporated and Island Creek Coal Company
Garnie N. Sykes v. Consol Energy (BRB 19-0478 BLA): black lung denial remanded for pulmonary test review
Garnie Sykes appealed the denial of his black lung claim without counsel. The judge found at least fifteen years of underground coal mine work but concluded Sykes had not proved total disability. The Board held that the judge had not adequately explained why he rejected qualifying pulmonary…
Ronald L. Jackson v. Black Butte Coal Company
Black lung denial affirmed despite dissent
Ronald Jackson sought black lung benefits and argued that his chronic obstructive pulmonary disease was related to coal mine dust. The judge found fewer than fifteen years of coal mine work and rejected the medical opinions offered to establish legal pneumoconiosis. The Board majority held that the…
K.R. and Department of Agriculture, Food & Safety Inspection Service, Seguin, TX
Related injury files ordered combined before decision
K.R., a federal veterinarian, sought compensation for conditions involving her limbs and back after workplace incidents. An OWCP hearing representative had ordered related injury files combined, but OWCP decided the present claim without doing so. The Board set aside OWCP’s December 20, 2019…
Janice Daniels and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Chicago, IL
Schedule award denial upheld for lack of scheduled impairment
Janice Daniels had an accepted work-related umbilical hernia and later sought a schedule award. The Board found that the medical record did not establish permanent impairment of a body part or function covered by the FECA schedule. It affirmed OWCP’s July 17, 2019 denial.
M.R. and Department of the Army, Guthrie Ambulatory Health Care Clinic, Fort Drum, NY
Retirement benefit overpayment recovery upheld
M.R., an Army clinic nurse, received FECA wage loss compensation while also receiving Social Security age-related retirement benefits without the required offset. The Board upheld OWCP’s finding of a $26,125.80 overpayment for August 1, 2015 through August 17, 2019, although she was without fault…
R.L. and Department of Agriculture, Inspection Operations Program, Minneapolis, MN
Benefit suspension and late hearing denial upheld
R.L., a federal poultry inspector, had accepted wrist and hand conditions and received compensation. OWCP suspended wage loss and medical benefits after she failed to attend a scheduled medical examination. The Board found that the suspension was proper and that her request for review of the…
T.P. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, West Haven, CT
Hip arthritis claim returned for specialist opinion
T.P., a letter carrier, claimed that repeated walking, lifting, and climbing at work aggravated left hip arthritis that required a replacement. Her orthopedic physician suggested how those duties could have worsened the condition, without enough explanation to prove causation. The Board found the…
Theodore Oesau v. Rogers Group, Inc.
Faxed review petition considered but denied
Theodore Oesau sought Commission review after an ALJ dismissed his discrimination complaint. His counsel filed the petition only by fax even though the Commission had warned that pandemic conditions prevented it from monitoring fax and physical mail. Because the rules still permitted fax filing…
Antonio Diaz-Maldonado v. Conrad Industries, Incorporated and American Longshore Mutual Association
Antonio Diaz-Maldonado v. Conrad Industries (BRB 20-0460): late Longshore appeal dismissed
Antonio Diaz-Maldonado appealed a Longshore compensation decision without counsel. The judge’s original order was served in March 2020, and an order denying reconsideration was served on April 24, 2020. Even assuming the reconsideration request extended the appeal period, the Board found that an…
Ruth Joan Lilly, on behalf of and widow of Earl H. Lilly, Jr., v. Consolidation Coal Company
Miner and survivor black lung denials affirmed
Ruth Joan Lilly pursued both her late husband’s black lung claim and her own survivor’s claim. The judge denied the miner’s claim after finding that the evidence did not establish a basis for benefits, and denied the survivor’s claim after finding that his death was not due to pneumoconiosis. The…
Ruth Joan Lilly, on behalf of and widow of Earl H. Lilly, Jr., v. Consolidation Coal Company
Miner and survivor black lung denials affirmed
Ruth Joan Lilly pursued both her late husband’s black lung claim and her own survivor’s claim. The judge denied the miner’s claim after finding that the evidence did not establish a basis for benefits, and denied the survivor’s claim after finding that his death was not due to pneumoconiosis. The…
Dill E. Adams v. Benham Coal, Incorporated, Self-Insured Through Avistar
Dill E. Adams v. Benham Coal (BRB 19-0555 BLA): black lung award for complicated pneumoconiosis affirmed
Dill Adams received black lung benefits after a judge found complicated pneumoconiosis related to his coal mine work. His employer challenged the medical evidence supporting that diagnosis. The Board held that the judge permissibly weighed the x-ray readings and CT scans and could credit the…
Charles Leonard Gray v. Powell Construction Company
Black lung denial after remand affirmed
Charles Gray sought black lung benefits after work in underground and comparable surface mine conditions. A prior Board decision had sent his award back for a better explanation of the work history and disability evidence. On remand, the judge found that Gray had not proved a totally disabling…
Williams v. FedEx
Board case dismissed after district-court filing
Christopher Williams Jr. alleged that FedEx retaliated against him for activity protected by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. OSHA dismissed the complaint, an ALJ later dismissed it on cross-motions for summary decision, and Williams petitioned the Board for review. More than 210 days after his OSHA filing…
Jain v. ACI InfoTech, Inc.
H-1B back-wage calculation affirmed
ACI InfoTech sponsored Nikhil Jain for H-1B computer work and agreed in its labor condition applications to specified annual wage rates. The Wage and Hour Division found that the company owed Jain $15,852.22, and an ALJ increased the award to $22,801.22 plus interest for wages not paid on time. ACI…
C.C. and Department of the Air Force, Robins Air Force Base, Warner Robins, GA
Shoulder injury and reconsideration denials upheld
C.C., an Air Force sheet metal mechanic, reported shoulder and arm symptoms after working beneath an aircraft wing on December 13, 2019. OWCP accepted the incident but denied his injury claim. The Board found that the medical reports recorded pain without an adequate diagnosed condition and causal…
M.B. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Levittown, NY
Knee file combination and medical review ordered
M.B., a letter carrier, sought to add knee osteoarthritis, two lumbar conditions, and a left heel spur to an accepted claim. The Board found that OWCP needed to combine a related file to assess the knee condition. For the lumbar conditions and heel spur, it found that Dr. Scarpinato’s report…
E.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Quincy Post Office, Quincy, MA
Hip impairment rating remanded; subpoena denial upheld
E.S., a postal carrier, sought a schedule award above 21 percent impairment of his right lower extremity after an accepted hip condition. The Board found that the medical rating needed further analysis of hip movement measurements and grade modifiers. It set aside that part of OWCP’s December 2…
R.M. and Department of Homeland Security, Federal Protective Service, National Capital Region, Washington, DC
Knee claim returned for combined file review
R.M., a Federal Protective Service officer, claimed a left knee condition after several work-related incidents. OWCP had denied the present claim as duplicative of an earlier one, but had not combined their files. The Board set aside OWCP’s November 22, 2019 decision and directed it to combine the…
A.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Winfield Post Office, Winfield, MO
Back injury claim returned for medical development
A.G., a rural carrier, claimed a back injury from loading heavy mail into her vehicle on January 17, 2018. Her physician described a lumbar disc herniation and explained how lifting could compress a nerve root. The Board found that the report warranted further medical development, set aside OWCP’s…
C.L. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Northport VA Medical Center, Northport, NY
Reconsideration denial upheld in back injury claim
C.L., a VA dental assistant, had claimed a back injury from lifting trays of instruments at work. She requested reconsideration after her claim was denied. The Board found that her arguments repeated points already considered and that the other submissions did not meet a ground for reopening the…
T.U. and U.S. Postal Service, Flagler Station Post Office, Miami, FL
Work related contusions recognized; other conditions denied
T.U., a city carrier assistant, fell while handling mail in her vehicle on April 20, 2019. The Board found that medical evidence established work-related contusions of the head, right shoulder, both wrists, and the thoracic and lumbar spine, but did not establish the other claimed conditions. It…
L.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Washington, DC
Postal vehicle collision recognized as on duty incident
L.F., a city carrier assistant, reported neck, back, and leg symptoms after another vehicle struck her postal vehicle on April 1, 2019. OWCP denied the claim, disputing that the incident occurred in the performance of duty. The Board found that the work incident occurred as alleged, set aside…
Brady SoCal, Inc.
One scaffold guardrail violation affirmed and two allegations vacated
Brady SoCal supplied a scaffold for its framing and drywall work at a casino renovation where an employee of another subcontractor later fell from the roof and died. OSHA cited Brady for an inadequate scaffold inspection and for missing guardrails at two locations. The judge declined to apply…
American Federation of Government Employees, Local 2338 and United States Department of Veterans Affairs, John J. Pershing VAMC, Poplar Bluff, Missouri
AFGE Local 2338 and Pershing VAMC (FLRA 0-AR-5626): Authority leaves information-and-training award intact
AFGE Local 2338 sought information about training leave after the Pershing VA Medical Center required Union representatives to charge training against the Union's official-time bank. An arbitrator found that the agency unlawfully failed to respond to the information requests and changed the…
United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Health Resources Center and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 1822
VA Health Resources Center and AFGE Local 1822 (FLRA 0-AR-5607): Authority upholds bargaining over teleworker medical verification
A disabled veteran who worked remotely sought leave for a medical appointment under a negotiated VA policy. The policy required employees to show proof to a supervisor after returning, but it did not explain how a full-time teleworker could do that without transmitting private information or…
United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Nashville Regional Office, Nashville, Tennessee and American Federation of Government Employees, Local 2470
Nashville VA Regional Office and AFGE Local 2470 (FLRA 0-AR-5534): Authority upholds reduced discipline
The Nashville VA Regional Office suspended a public contact representative for fourteen days after inappropriate language during a call with a veteran. An arbitrator found discipline warranted but concluded that the suspension was disproportionate under the agreement's just-cause standard…
Bremerton Metal Trades Council, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Local 290 and United States Department of the Navy, Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility, Bremerton, Washington
Bremerton Metal Trades Council and Puget Sound Naval Shipyard (FLRA 0-AR-5530): Authority upholds denial of investigative file
A shipyard employee sought the investigative file from the Navy's inquiry into his harassment and retaliation complaint. The Navy denied his Freedom of Information Act request under deliberative-process and personal-privacy exemptions, then denied Union and employee requests under other…
S.O. and Department of Defense, Defense Agencies, Long Beach, CA
Overpayment recovery and late hearing denial upheld
S.O. received FECA wage loss and Social Security age-related retirement benefits without the required offset. The Board upheld a $37,200.97 overpayment for June 1, 2016 through June 22, 2019, although she was without fault. It also upheld denial of waiver, deductions of $707.74 every 28 days from…
P.L. and Department of the Navy, Naval Air Station, Pensacola, FL
Carpal tunnel surgery authorization denial upheld
P.L., a Navy carpenter, had accepted left arm and nerve conditions after lifting sheetrock at work. He sought authorization for carpal tunnel surgery. OWCP’s medical adviser found the proposed procedure was not needed for the accepted work conditions, and the Board found no abuse of discretion in…
J.S. and U.S. Postal Service, Linden Post Office, Linden, NJ
Shoulder condition claim returned for specialist opinion
J.S., a postal distribution clerk, claimed a right shoulder condition after handling heavy mail and a cart incident at work. His orthopedic physician offered a reasoned explanation connecting his shoulder findings to the accepted November 6, 2017 incident. The Board found that the report required…
A.M. and Department of the Army, Corpus Christi Army Depot, Corpus Christi, TX
Late reconsideration denial upheld
A.M., an Army aircraft electrician with an accepted shoulder injury, sought reconsideration of an OWCP decision after the one-year filing period. The Board found that the request was untimely and did not demonstrate clear evidence of error. It affirmed OWCP’s September 16, 2019 denial.
R.B. and U.S. Postal Service, NW Rochester Processing & Distribution Center, Rochester, NY
Overpayment established; amount returned for recalculation
R.B. received FECA wage loss compensation and Social Security age-related retirement benefits without the required offset. The Board held that an overpayment had occurred, but OWCP had not adequately explained its $8,907.41 calculation for January 1 through June 22, 2019. It affirmed the existence…
T.T. and Department of Agriculture, Food Safety & Inspection Service, Kinston, NC
Late reconsideration denial upheld in shoulder claim
T.T., a federal food inspector, had accepted upper extremity conditions and sought reconsideration of a denied consequential right shoulder claim. OWCP received the request more than a year after the latest merit decision on that issue. The Board found it untimely and insufficient to show clear…
Tom Kubricky Company, Inc.
Trench egress and cave-in violations affirmed
Tom Kubricky Company excavated more than 20 feet below a residential street to repair a broken sewer force main. Two employees worked in a lower trench without a stairway, ladder, or other reliably safe emergency exit. The judge found the earthen end slopes unsafe because they were soft, irregular…
Latite Roofing & Sheet Metal, LLC
Repeat roof fall citation affirmed
Latite employees removed and transported roof tiles on a low-slope commercial roof with unprotected edges 16 feet above the ground. A safety monitor was present, but he faced away from an employee pushing a wheelbarrow near the edge, and no warning line or personal fall-arrest system was in use…
G.B. and U.S. Postal Service, New Augusta Postal Facility, Indianapolis, IN
Benefit termination reversed for flawed medical opinion
G.B., a postal tractor trailer operator, had an accepted left knee sprain and temporary aggravation of osteoarthritis after using a clutch at work. OWCP terminated his wage loss and medical benefits based on a physician who disputed that the accepted sprain had occurred and gave a conclusory…
M.G. and U.S. Postal Service, Dallas Network Distribution Center, Coppell, TX
Multiple condition claim returned for medical development
M.G., a postal mail handler, attributed joint, spine, and nerve conditions to repeated physical duties at work. In a December 21, 2018 report, Dr. Skinner reviewed examinations and imaging and explained how her work duties could cause the diagnosed conditions. The Board found that report sufficient…
A.H. and Department of Veterans Affairs, Manchester VA Medical Center, Manchester, NH
Back injury claim returned for causation review
A.H., a VA nursing assistant, reported back symptoms after helping transfer a patient on October 2, 2019. Physicians diagnosed a lumbar strain and contusion, contrary to OWCP’s treatment of the record as lacking a diagnosed condition. The Board set aside OWCP’s December 20, 2019 denial and remanded…
J.J. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Edison, NJ
Reconsideration denial upheld in recurrence claim
J.J., a postal mail processor, sought reconsideration of a denied recurrence claim involving accepted wrist and hand conditions. His renewed statements repeated arguments that OWCP had already considered and did not supply a pertinent new basis for review. The Board affirmed OWCP’s June 18, 2019…
What these documents are
- The agencies: Federal workers' compensation appeals from the Department of Labor's Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB), federal-sector labor-relations cases from the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), mine-safety cases from the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission (FMSHRC), workplace-safety cases from the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (OSHRC), Longshore Act and Black Lung Benefits Act appeals from the Department of Labor's Benefits Review Board (BRB), precedent decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), environmental permit and penalty appeals from the EPA's Environmental Appeals Board (EAB), and whistleblower and other labor appeals from the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). Each decision page names its agency.
- Commission, Board and Authority decisions: Rulings by the agency's highest review level (the Commission at OSHRC and FMSHRC, the Authority at FLRA, the Board of Immigration Appeals, the Administrative Review Board at Labor, and the Environmental Appeals Board at EPA). These are citable as precedent, though a decision may have been appealed to a U.S. Court of Appeals after issuance.
- ALJ decisions: Rulings by the agency's Administrative Law Judges after a hearing. When no Commissioner directs review, an ALJ decision becomes a final order that binds the parties in that case but is not binding precedent: under 29 U.S.C. § 661(j) at OSHRC, and after the 40-day window of 30 U.S.C. § 823(d)(1) at FMSHRC.
- Why finality matters: Every page here says which kind of decision you are reading, so you know whether it is precedent you can cite or a final order that only shows how one judge ruled on one set of facts.
- Where they come from: Every page links the official public release from the deciding agency, and the full text on the page is that release. The plain-English summaries are written by Ezel.