S.F. and U.S. Postal Service, Post Office, Edison, NJ (Board decision, December 22, 2022)
Board upholds denial of postal handler's COVID-19 continuation of pay (ECAB 22-0929)
Apply this precedent to your situation
This is citable Board precedent from 2022, and it may have been appealed since. Ezel checks how it stands today and answers your situation, with citations.
ECAB final decision. The Board affirmed OWCP's March 21, 2022 denial of continuation of pay because S.F. filed her injury form beyond the 30-day period. A party may petition the Board for reconsideration within 30 days of issuance unless this decision specifies another period, under 20 C.F.R. § 501.7(a). FECA compensation decisions are generally not subject to court review under 5 U.S.C. § 8128(b).
Plain-English summary
S.F., a postal mail handler, reported work exposure to COVID-19 on January 4, 2022. She filed her injury form on March 12. The Board treated January 4 as her last exposure date under OWCP's COVID-19 guidance and found that the form was filed more than 30 days later. It upheld the denial of continuation of pay.
Decision snapshot
- Authority: FECA continuation-of-pay filing period, 5 U.S.C. §§ 8118(a), 8122(a)(2).
- Outcome: Continuation of pay denial affirmed.
- Key point: The injury form was filed more than 30 days after the last reported exposure.
Full text (ECAB public release)
United States Department of Labor
Employees’ Compensation Appeals Board
________
)
S.F., Appellant
)
)
and ) Docket No. 22-0929
) Issued: December 22, 2022
U.S. POSTAL SERVICE, POST OFFICE,
)
Edison, NJ, Employer
)
__________ )
Appearances: Case Submitted on the Record
Appellant, pro se
Office of Solicitor, for the Director
DECISION AND ORDER
Before:
ALEC J. KOROMILAS, Chief Judge
PATRICIA H. FITZGERALD, Deputy Chief Judge JANICE B. ASKIN, Judge
JURISDICTION
On May 23, 2022 appellant filed a timely appeal from a March 21, 2022 merit decision of the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP). Pursuant to the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act1 (FECA) and 20 C.F.R. §§ 501.2(c) and 501.3, the Board has jurisdiction over the merits of this case.
ISSUE
The issue is whether appellant has met her burden of proof to establish entitlement to continuation of pay (COP).
FACTUAL HISTORY
On March 12, 2022 appellant, then a 45-year old mail handler, filed a traumatic injury claim (Form CA-1) alleging that she contracted COVID-19 on January 4, 2022 while in the performance of duty. She noted that she was exposed to COVID-19 and had a positive COVID-
1
5 U.S.C. § 8101 et seq.
19 test. On the reverse side of the claim form, the employing establishment noted that appellant was in the performance of duty when she contracted COVID-19. Appellant stopped work on January 4, 2022 and returned to work on January 21, 2022.
By decision dated March 21, 2022, OWCP denied appellant’s claim for COP, finding that she had not reported the January 4, 2022 injury on an OWCP-approved form within 30 days of the date of injury.
LEGAL PRECEDENT
Section 8118(a) of FECA authorizes COP, not to exceed 45 days, to an employee who has filed a claim for a period of wage loss due to a traumatic injury with his or her immediate superior on a form approved by the Secretary of Labor within the time specified in section 8122(a)(2) of this title.2 This latter section provides that written notice of injury shall be given within 30 days. 3 The context of section 8122 makes clear that this means within 30 days of the injury. 4
OWCP’s regulations provide, in pertinent part, that to be eligible for COP, an employee must: (1) have a traumatic injury, which is job related and the cause of the disability and/or the cause of lost time due to the need for medical examination and treatment; (2) file Form CA-1 within 30 days of the date of the injury; and (3) begin losing time from work due to the traumatic injury within 45 days of the injury. 5
FECA Bulletin No. 21-09 at subsection II.2., however, provides that, “The FECA program considers COVID-19 to be a traumatic injury since it is contracted during a single workday or shift (see 20 C.F.R. § 10.5(ee)), and considers the date of last exposure prior to the medical evidence establishing the COVID-19 diagnosis as the Date of Injury since the precise time of transmission may not always be known due to the nature of the virus.”6
2
Id. at § 8118(a).
3
Id. at § 8122(a)(2).
4
E.M., Docket No. 20-0837 (issued January 27, 2021); J.S., Docket No. 18-1086 (issued January 17, 2019); Robert M. Kimzey, 40 ECAB 762, 763-64 (1989); Myra Lenburg, 36 ECAB 487, 489 (1985). 5 20 C.F.R. § 10.205(a)(1-3); see also T.S., Docket No. 19-1228 (issued December 9, 2019); J.M., Docket No. 09- 1563 (issued February 26, 2010); Dodge Osborne, 44 ECAB 849 (1993); William E. Ostertag, 33 ECAB 1925 (1982). 6 FECA Bulletin No. 21-09.II.2. (issued April 29, 2021). On March 11, 2021 the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) was signed into law. Pub. L. No. 117–2. OWCP issued FECA Bulletin No. 21-09 to provide guidance regarding the processing of COVID-19 FECA claims as set forth in the ARPA. Previously, COVID-19 claims under FECA were processed under the guidelines provided by FECA Bulletin No. 20-05 (issued March 31, 2020) and FECA Bulletin No. 21-01 (issued October 21, 2020). FECA Bulletin No. 21-09 supersedes FECA Bulletin Nos. 20-05 and 21-01.
2
ANALYSIS
The Board finds that appellant has not met her burden of proof to establish entitlement to COP.
The record reflects that appellant filed written notice of her Form CA-1 on March 12, 2022 alleging that on January 4, 2022 she was exposed to COVID-19 while in the performance of duty. She stopped work on January 4, 2022.
As previously noted, FECA Bulletin No. 21-09 defines date of injury as the date of last exposure, which, in this case, was January 4, 2022.7 As appellant filed her Form CA-1 on March 12, 2022, more than 30 days after the January 4, 2022 date of injury, the Board finds that appellant has not met her burden of proof.
Appellant may submit new evidence or argument with a written request for reconsideration to OWCP within one year of this merit decision, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 8128(a) and 20 C.F.R.
§§ 10.605 through 10.607.
CONCLUSION
The Board finds that appellant has not met her burden of proof to establish entitlement to COP.
7
Id.
3
ORDER
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the March 21, 2022 decision of the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs is affirmed.
Issued: December 22, 2022
Washington, DC
Alec J. Koromilas, Chief Judge
Employees’ Compensation Appeals Board
Patricia H. Fitzgerald, Deputy Chief Judge Employees’ Compensation Appeals Board
Janice B. Askin, Judge
Employees’ Compensation Appeals Board
4
Does this precedent still control your case?
Ezel checks whether it still stands, including any court review since, and applies it to your situation with citations.
Opens in Ezel Pro.
- Checks the law as it stands today, not only this page
- Cites every source it relies on, so you can verify it
- Chat, drafting and research in one workspace